We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The SoCo Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The SoCo Hotel to your Saves list
The SoCo Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   South Coast Boardwalk, Hastings, Barbados   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hastings
Toronto, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

What can I say this was a great experience for me and the family to get away to a beautiful Hotel in paradise. If your thinking of going do not hesitate, just make the plans and GO! GO! GO! This is a wonderful hotel, and you can't go wrong. The staff is extremely helpful in every aspect of your needs. The hotel is very clean, and you can't beat the views in the morning... every room faces the beautiful ocean. It's also situated on an ideal spot. Very safe to go down to the beach and do some snorkeling along the rocks, an abundance of vivid colors will embrace you. Also, there's a great boardwalk just along side of the hotel, for pleasure walks, or for jogging. The food was delicious, and the drinks divine. Way to go SOCO!!! If your undecided, don't be... GO! GO! GO! to the SOCO!!! Thanks again SOCO, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    61
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
32
214
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
salisbury
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Excellent accommodation at this hotel which suited our requirements for a good quality hotel without the trappings of a resort complex hotel. All the hotel staff were extremely helpful with every aspect of our 9 day holiday - unlike some other reviewers we had no problems with insects on the top floor - although I imagine the access stairs would not suit those with walking disabilities. Michelle's varied rum and non-alcoholic cocktails from the ocean view terrace bar were wonderful. The restaurant was a stylish fine dining experience, with a limited choice menu but excellent quality food and the menu was changed every few days to give greater choice - including some speciality local fish dishes as well as other English and Italian options. The hotel location on Barbados was very convenient for the island tours and the catamaran sailing trips. The boardwalk gave picturesque views along the shore, one evening we were able to see some hawksbill turtle hatchlings make their way to the ocean. The traffic noise in the early morning and evenings from the road outside was slightly irritating but this is outside the hotel's control and ceased during night hours. We weren't bothered by the limited number of sun beds on the hotel terrace, preferring to be out and about exploring the island rather than sunbathing. Being at the end of the boardwalk the beach was a bit of a magnet in the afternoons for some loud local teenagers who made a bit of a nuisance of themselves, however this only happened on a couple of afternoons. The local Bajan community was otherwise very helpful to us as tourists. Overall an excellent holiday experience and for us, great value for money. I would also recommend using online booking for the flight back to the UK to avoid the worst of the check-in queues at Bridgetown.

Room Tip: You would need to take into account whether you have walking disabilities if choosing a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Last month we stayed 12 wonderful nights at the SOCO. We had spent a lot of time researching hotels before our trip and we were not disappointed with our choice.

Having previously stayed on the west coast we wanted something different and that is the SOCO. It is beautifully boutique in the best sense of the word. It does not offer buffet food with birds hovering or endless rowdy activities, it lets its guests enjoy freshly cooked, delicious meals in an air conditioned restaurant (1 of only 3 on the island) and, in a grown up way, choose their own activities.
We got to know nearly all of the staff who, unobtrusively, made us so welcome. If we asked for help with arranging trips they were a mine of information. (They even ordered a female taxi for our 2 daughters when they were heading off to Harbour Lights!) There are so many examples of the hotel's individual service.In true boutique style, when we returned from a day out ( with a delicious hotel packed lunch) they asked us all about it and involved us in menu changes by letting us sample possible additions. We were also witnesses at their first ever SOCO wedding (thanks Mark and Charlie!). When baby turtles hatched on a nearby beach one evening they telephoned our rooms to let us know, as we had expressed an interest earlier in the day. They remembered our favourite drinks our menu preferences....nothing was too much trouble. When my husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary Alicia and her wonderful team made us feel so special with another delicious meal from chef Andrew, Renee and Danny. Every day,Felix, Michelle and Erleen were on hand to tempt us with delicious drinks and advise us of any interesting local events taking place. Their kindness and humour meant every day was fun.

The SOCO gives you the choice to sit in elegant surroundings looking out at a fabulous view ( delicious cocktail in hand!) or decide to head out for the day and explore the beautiful island. We felt it was one of the most relaxing holidays we had experienced because we made all the choices. There are so many staff I have not mentioned that made our stay so memorable but I will write to them. Ralph, the owner, who is keen to chat and dine with his guests, has chosen some very talented staff.

The SOCO is exactly what it says it is: a beautiful boutique hotel. If you want an exclusive, grown up holiday visit it! You will not be disappointed.
Thank you everyone at the SOCO!

Room Tip: As all the rooms have sea views and balconies it is hard to make a comment, however we had rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Teething problems but otherwise a nice friendly hotel, Staff very willing to help, Rooms clean and tidy and have stunning views, food is Ok but not reliable, bar is stocked and Michelle and Erleen good at the cocktails, Would go back for another visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Having stayed at the 4 star Anse Chastenet in St Lucia the previous summer we had expectations of what a 4 star Caribbean hotel would provide. I can't understate our disappointment with the Soco which is not a 4 star hotel in any way. This could be a great hotel and the problems are solvable however there doesn't seem to be an appetite to sort them out.

On a positive note Michelle is amazing. The time, care and attention she gives to the guests are all exceptional. We travelled with 2 children who loved sitting at the bar talking to Michelle - it was as if they had a best friend! Michelle could utilised by the hotel to do so much more than make cocktails - her talents in making guests feel at home and understanding their requirements would make her an exceptional manager.

On a less positive note the most disappointing aspect of the holiday was the food. We were pleased to read before we travelled that the menu was changing twice a week. When we arrived we realised this wasn't true. Management explained this by telling us that it was their PR company that was responding to comments on TripAdvisor and not them. We repeatedly complained and "specials" were added to the menu - this meant a piece of chicken instead of fish with the sauce from the fish... 5 items to choose from for 8 days in a row (which was our experience) was simply not acceptable and neither the chef nor the manager could sort this out (in spite of repeated feedback).

Management lets this hotel down. At the manager's cocktail party we asked why there were no umbrellas on the beach where it was impossible to get any shade. Management told us that they appreciated our feedback and would order some umbrellas (which would unfortunately take a month to arrive from the US mainland) - does it take guest feedback to realise you need to offer shade on the beach in the Caribbean? Likewise the rooms have no fridges in them, again we were told our feedback would be taken into consideration and fridges ordered - where the temperature is regularly above 30 degrees cold water in your room is essential (and the tap water was constantly warm and on several occasions not hot enough for a shower).

We hired a jeep and explored the island. Whilst the south coast has much to offer we soon realised our mistake in not booking a hotel on the west coast where the beaches are much nicer. We loved the island and had a great holiday but sadly were let down by the Soco.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The frozen north.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We spent a fantastic week here in July/August and had the pleasure of being the first couple married at the SoCo.

The hotel itself is intimately sized (perfect in my opinion) and when coupled with the low occupancy during our stay, made for an incredibly service orientated experience. We got to know all the staff, from the kitchen to housekeeping, the vast majority by name. As the first wedding couple we were very much made to feel the 'local celebrities', whilst having our privacy respected at all times. Nothing was too much for the staff. The one thing I noticed was the way that each member of the SoCo team was an individual who had a personality and skill-set perfectly suited to their role within the hotel. Whether that be the super-friendly and effervescent Michelle behind the cocktail bar or the professional Alecia, keeping a watchful eye over dinner service with the kind of attention to detail and easy charm only a true professional can combine. I can't mention everyone but to the last they were helpful, friendly and went about their business with a warm easy-going caribbean charm, that was relaxing to be around. Thankyou all.

The accommodation was great. The room size was good and furnishings light, modern and very comfortable - fantastic king bed, leather couches, big-screen tv etc. Bathroom was pleasant enough if not amazing. There is room for the pedants to pick holes in areas like final finishings, but the overall feel is one of a good sized, high spec room with a balcony that offers some of the most amazing sea/beach sunsets and views over the pool. Wonderful.

The wedding was organised simply but beautifully and surpassed what we had wanted. If anyone else is looking to get away from the modern 'circus-wedding' philosophy and get back to basics against a beautiful relaxing backdrop, surrounded by people who are dedicated and really care, then you too might find what you are looking for at the SoCo.

I have read the critical points raised by others and whilst, there are one or two I recognise as being issues for some (menu variety maybe but menu standard was very high throughout our stay), we were very happy at the SoCo. For couples wanting a relaxing, intimate, and 'grown-up' week away, with beautiful beach surroundings and the ability to explore Barbabos and return to great service, food and drink, the Soco and its amazing team are for you. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Yes we had a fantastic time in Barbados, a beautiful country with the most stunning beaches in the world and the bajans are so friendly and helpful.
Now where do I start about Soco hotel?
Lets begin with the good:-
Nice welcome from Andrew, elegant reception area followed by free rum cocktail and wet towels.
Rooms modern and good size
Amazing view from balcony.
Management team, Andrew, Alicia, Christine and Nicole very attentive and ready to accommodate.

Bar staff and waiters
Michelle the "queen of cocktails" Felix the chatterbox, Neil just funny. We like Erline, Victoria, Melanie and Benitta too.

We chose the Soco because it was small and expecting a lot more for the package we paid for.
As mentioned by other reviewers, the hotel lacks in so many for a 4 star complex.
The menu selection is poor so was the food.
Entertainment nothing at all except for the one bar, which is ok if you like lots of alcohol
Recorded music same over and over, we got to know what song will come next after so many days.

The complex itself is not that spacious, it will be overcrowded if the hotel was full.
There is no secluded area or shade to go to.

If it was not for the staff( especially Michelle) Soco hotel would be lost. It would be good if the owner could take his cook to see what other 4 star chefs are offering in the area and how often do they change their menu! Changing a menu every 4 days is not on especially when you expect to experience Barbadian food fusion.

We will be revisiting Barbados one day in the meantime, we would like to wish Soco all the best and many thanks to all the staff that made our holiday enjoyable despite the negatives.

Room Tip: All rooms are sea view but a room on the right will be away from the bar and a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The SoCo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The SoCo Hotel

Address: South Coast Boardwalk, Hastings, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The SoCo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SoCo Hotel, located in the heart of Barbados’ south coast, offers an all-inclusive holiday in a boutique environment. Ideal for the discerning traveller looking for a modern, high quality hotel facility, The SoCo Hotel provides an uncluttered, chic holiday. Great food and drinks, friendly service, and one of the best views in Barbados are all part of The SoCo Hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Regatta Hotels so you can book your The SoCo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The SoCo Hotel Barbados/Hastings

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The SoCo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.