We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Steak and chips” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fred's Bar & Grill

Fred's Bar & Grill
Maxwell Road, Hastings, Barbados
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 33 Restaurants in Hastings
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Durham
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Steak and chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Best steak we had in Barbados. Great food and company. Will definitely go back if we return to that area.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    12
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Get well soon Fred, miss your steaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Back in Barbados again, 26 years we have been coming here.
Called at Fred's, shocked it wasn't open, ate somewhere else and called in on our way back, sad to hear Fred had a heart attack on Saturday, place will never be the same without him.
Get well soon Fred we miss you and your fabulous steaks

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fantastic place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Fred's was a brilliant experience. The food on several occasions was first class. And the involvement of all Fred's family gave the bar a lovely atmosphere. This is our second visit to Barbados, unfortunately the first time round we never found Fred's bar, but it is a total definite that our next visit to the island will include a few stops at Fred's bar.
And loved Fred's suggestion of vodka with lemon twist (shandy) most enjoyable, and a constant lovely reminder of holiday, along with the numerous rums.

from the friendly couple from Norwich, Norfolk, England.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Terrible atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Sat outside, which was right up against road. Very loud. Food was okay but my husband reported that his fish was a bit undercooked.

Waitress was not friendly and in fact, appeared a bit hostile. Chose this restaurant based on previous trip advisor reviews and would not recommend it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“This place is just a guy, a grill, a bunch of stories”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Fred is a 70 something Brit who came to Barbados during the Korean War and never left. He is really nice, sells reasonably priced cold beer, and will tell you some great stories. Worth it to stop by.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fred's Bar & Grill also viewed

Hastings, Christ Church Parish
Hastings, Christ Church Parish
 
Hastings, Christ Church Parish
Hastings, Christ Church Parish
 

Been to Fred's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fred's Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.