We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best steak in barbados” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fred's Bar & Grill

Fred's Bar & Grill
Maxwell Road, Hastings, Barbados
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 33 Restaurants in Hastings
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
leeds
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“best steak in barbados”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Although it could do with a lot of tlc ,you will not be disapointed in the food .Excellant !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    12
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“In one word - awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We were there for dinner one night and would never go there again.
Service was SO slow. It took Fred about 30 minutes just to put the fish on the grill.
By the time they were ready the french fries were overcooked and cold.
The fish portions were small and tasted like nothing.
If you want my advise go to Oistins instead. In fact, anywhere else...

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area, CA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best Fry in Barbados”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Fred is behind the bar. He obviously loves Cricket. Ask him the bar special..."Banks" ( the local beer)
He's like your cute crotchety uncle. Love him!
His sons help out some nights.
This place was directly across the street from our house so we had a great time here on multiple nights.
Fresh flying fish, barracuda, mahi mahi etc etc are on the menu.
As Fred is an expat you can have your fish with mushy peas n chips or a salad. Honestly both are great- but as Barbados cuisine is 80% fried, I recommend the salad which is the best I had on our trip.
Get a table outside on the patio where Fred fry's up ur dinner.
Its always nice out here.

Freds is the place we'll miss the most.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

A simple bar on Hastings Road just short of the Boardwalk (run by an Australian), with outside tables for barbecued fresh fish or meat. Expertly done, extremely nice single course supper.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Not impressed on the whole”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We ate here last Wednesday. It was close by to where we were staying (across from the Tapas restaurant down the road) and had read the good reviews on Trip Advisor.

The place is a bit small with a lot of two seat tables on the inside and a bar. It's small but seems like it has a lot of charm. There are some picnic tables on the outside.

We went there for fish and they had about 6 fish items on the menu. Unfortunately though, they pretty much had no fish in stock. All they had was one serving of marlin, one serving of baracuda, flying fish, king fish and something else I can't remember. Turns out their fisherman was on a bit of a bender and wasn't fishing to keep them supplied. It's a funny story but at the same time, I don't know why they just don't go down to Oistin's get some fish if they are going to be out of stock.

It also turns out that only the king fish was fresh and everything else was frozen (which we found out after we ordered and our food was cooking).

The portions were small. For the flying fish there were only two pieces. I was the lucky one with the marlin which had two larger pieces.

There is another review that the people enjoyed the french fries. I find this hard to believe as we were served overcooked frozen fries.

The cost was $30 BBD for each plate and I think the beers were $6-8 BBD each. For the four of us with 5 beers, it was $166 BBD which, for the size of the portions and the quality of the fries is really over priced. You'd get a better meal at Oistin's and much better deal just doing it yourself.

The one positive was that the cook was really nice to us.

I wouldn't go back but as a suggestion to others, if you are going to go, call first to see what they have in stock and what is fresh since that may make a big difference.

If you are going for meat rather than fish, then maybe it is less of a problem.

Still though, the small portions and poor quality fries would still take away even if the fish was in stock and fresh.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fred's Bar & Grill also viewed

Hastings, Christ Church Parish
Hastings, Christ Church Parish
 
Hastings, Christ Church Parish
Hastings, Christ Church Parish
 

Been to Fred's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fred's Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.