We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem found in Barbados” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amaryllis Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Amaryllis Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amaryllis Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Garrison Historic Area, Hastings, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Hastings
England
1 review
“A gem found in Barbados”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

We had 10 wonderful days at the Amaryillis Beach Resort Hotel. It is a beautiful setting right on the beach with accommodation and facilities to suit all needs. The staff were all so friendly and efficient and made you feel totally relaxed;nothing was too much trouble for them. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    243
    122
    78
    44
See reviews for
79
266
18
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

Great hotel,food,beach and surf. Me and my teenage son had a good time both in the hotel/resort and in the water.It was excellent!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

the hotel it has a good location the beach are as you expect but the service is not great when its coming from the (GM).who spit in my face when we were speaking,he act like knows what he doing,but alot of help in doing his work been their for little bit,try one morning to get beach towels would not if the chef did not came by,now he`s a gentleman very helpful guy went and get the towels for us.went to eat in restaurant because of what did for us early that day food was very good that night from what we read the only thing we enjoy was dinner get rid of the manager who call himself (carter) and the placewould be lovely nice chef very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin, Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

Choose this hotel because of it's three + star rating and it's proximity to the location that we needed to near. But.......buffet breakfast was not worth the $20, "king" bed was two singles pushed together, hot water/shower was next to impossible to work and front desk staff was not very friendly and almost no help when it came to suggestions for dining or actiivities in the area. Pool closes early. Cleaning staff was nice and very accomodating.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

We had a fabulous holiday thanks to the Amaryllis hotel. The room was lovely overlooking the garden, pool and we could also see the sea through the open-air restaurant. The staff were so friendly, we had great chats with the cleaners about the monkeys and birds that kept popping up around the gardens. We didn't have the all-inclusive deal, but stayed there for many of the themed nights - barbecues on the beach, wine tastings, rum punch party - the food was great. The sandy beach had plenty of sun beds and palm trees to lie under. We took the local reggae bus along to other beaches and restaurants and hired a car for 3 days and saw the whole of Barbados (it was cheaper than going on the organized trips that are offered in the hotel). Best holiday we've had, we would definitely go back to the Amaryllis hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

I spent a week on an "all-inclusive" package.

The hotel review is not high enough with respect to its actual value and location.
It is such a wonderful place for a relaxing holiday. The premises are extremely clean, the staff is very friendly and professional (special thanks to our waitress Shonelle and our cook Ricardo). Everyone made our vacation special and enjoyable.

Hotel is located on a beautiful beach and surrounded by wonderful gardens. The whole scenery gave us a big sense of peace and tranquility. I felt much better than in other 5 star hotels I've been to in Carribean.

I am definitely going back to Amaryllis and I will reccommend this hotel to all my friends and family.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

This place is ridiculous. My husband and I legally married in the US in Dec 2009 and wanted a "destination wedding" here at this resort. We were promised all sorts of things and barely any response back from Mr. Carter. When he showed us the 2 available spots the day of the wedding one was a grassy beach area that was horrid and the other was a trashy looking place next to a bush. We opted out and you could tell he was ticked.
Also our flight was apparently missing a part and we didn't make it in on the first day. The hotel promised to reimburse us but we still were stuck paying the entire price even though we didn't arrive until 4pm the next day. The only people that are helpful here are the restaurant staff and a few of the front desk.

We didn't eat here either on the included plan, but did try each of the restaurants out. They were nothing to write home about and

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amaryllis Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaryllis Beach Resort

Address: Garrison Historic Area, Hastings, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amaryllis Beach Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Amaryllis Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaryllis Beach Hotel Hastings
Amaryllis Beach Hastings
Amaryllis Beach Resort Barbados/Hastings
Amaryllis Barbados

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amaryllis Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.