We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Bay Barbados

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sugar Bay Barbados to your Saves list
Sugar Bay Barbados
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Garrison Historic Area, Hastings, Barbados (Formerly Amaryllis Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Chaguanas, Trinidad
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pretty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

It was a nice hotel.......we got the room at a reasonable price as it was off season. The pool needed a bit of a cleaning but overall it was always clean. The food was ok.........nothing spectacular. The one thing that was fantastic was hoe close the beach was.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    8
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

The hotel was old and obvious that the owner didn't upkeep! Nice to know it's being refurbished because for the price....it was a complete waste of money....the only saving grace was the beach was literally 100 feet...what a view!! The locals are beautiful and kind people who always had a smile for you......LOVE BARBADOS.........THE BEAUTY IS WORTH ANY CRAPPY HOTEL. I will return to this beautiful island with beautiful people!

Room Tip: Wifi completely sucked!! Some if us have to work while we are vacationing. Internet speed was terrib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel when it was the Asta many moons ago! Four times I think, and we loved it. Anyway, after its refurb and reopening in 2006 we stayed there again ...... worst thing we ever did, surly staff, paid you attention if you flash your money etc, etc, general security dodgy (and that is from our own experience - not gossip). The beach is lovely and the lagoon! (or it was). Anyway, I believe the Bougainvillea Hotel in Christ Church has taken this over (only what I have heard, so I could be wrong). Knowing the Bougainvillea it will be a lovely hotel once again, just needs new staff.

Room Tip: If you know the number of a good room from other visitors experience, ask for it!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

Stayed at the Amaryllis Beach Resort in April/May 2014.
Good beach front location although sea bed rocky for swimmers.
Hotel in need of updating and refurbishment.
Hotel at bottom of the hill near The Garrison Savannah, steep walk up to the road.
Good location for The Garrison Savannah, Carlisle Bay and Bridgetown
First room I was given in my opinion was not very clean, grotty, looked out at eye level
on people in Turtle Nest Pool. Window and curtains hard to operate/did not close.
Second room on 3rd floor had beautiful sea/beach view. Room desperate need of updating.
Air con broken and made awful noise and dripped on bedside cabinet. Bathroom very compact
needed updating and bathroom extractor fan which came on with light made horrendous noise, this was a problem in other rooms too as you could hear them rumbling through the walls.
Good bed and linen.
Internet kiosk ( computer set up in library/information area) Had to be paid for at reception but access codes didn't work.
Food standards varied from very good to poor. Bar/Restaurant service hit and miss.

When I was in Barbados Nov/Dec 2014 walked passed Hotel and saw all closed up.

Was told by good source:
Hotel has been taken over by a (Good 4*) Hotel located on South Coast. It was hoped to operate Amaryllis in present condition but found in need of more work than expected so has decided to Close Hotel for Refurbishment and then reopen.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my partner in February of this year. We opted to pay the extra for a sea view. We are so happy we did, the view we had was fantastic! The best sea view I've ever had and I've stayed at a lot of hotels in the Caribbean!
The hotel overall could do with some updating. The bathroom was pretty tired & so was the kitchen. Saying that though it was very adequate for what we needed. We stayed at the hotel on a room only basis so it suited us fine as we were always eating out. There was the kitchen available though so that was handy for making a snack.
The hotel pool was very cold as it was mainly in the shade so we didn't really use it. However there is a lovely hot tub which we used a lot.
The hotel staff were always very friendly and very helpful - they helped my partner arrange a surprise evening at Sandy Lane hotel for my Birthday!
We hired a car and drove around the whole island on one of the days. We drove to the East coast to watch the sun come up - that was truly amazing!
We also visited the burnt down/derelict Sam Lord's Castle. I'd stayed at that hotel when I was 8 years old 21 years ago so it was so strange and quite sad to see it the way it is now as it was a fantastic hotel at the time.
Overall we had a great holiday & would definitely go back to Barbados. This hotel was very good value for money so if you are looking for a good base for exploring the island, this is your answer.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view room on the second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

This hotel is located in one of the best spots to Bridgetown and to the action of the South. The service is average or a little however it can do with some make over TLC in the rooms... Lots of potential!

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

we are a couple from England aged 52 we stayed here in April 2014 all inclusive the location is stunning right on the beech and we had a sea view which makes this hotel so special you are right on the beech, the ground floor rooms would not be so good as you would be looking at the palm trees and sand so try to get upper floors.
The rooms were fine very clean air con a bit noisy and you have to pay for the safe in the room however its just part of the hotel cost so no problems.

Food on the A/I was of a very high standard with set three coarse meals and Buffett on some days, we found the food very good and you are able to see some dishes being cooked for you.

On the A/I the drinks were free including cocktails which were very nice we managed to work our way though all of them over two weeks. There was only one bar open when we were there which was the one at the end of the restaurant by the beech which was fine the service was fast and very friendly we left after two weeks feeling like we had loads of new friends.
The Hotel has lovely gardens to walk in and the beech right on the grounds, there are rocks making a barrier out in the bay so you can swim with children in a nice lagoon environment.
We travelled around on the local buses for 2 dollars its about 5 minutes into Bridgetown.
Location is first class hotel is very clean staff are helpful I would be happy to tell my friends to stay there and I would probable go there again even though I don't go back to the same place twice as I like to try new places.
A lovely little hotel in a lovely place

Room Tip: higher sea view rooms are nicer A/I was good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sugar Bay Barbados? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Bay Barbados

Address: Garrison Historic Area, Hastings, Barbados (Formerly Amaryllis Beach Resort)
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sugar Bay Barbados 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Bay Barbados is a newly renovated, 138 key, All-Inclusive Resort located on the Majestic South Coast of Barbados. Sited in the UNESCO World Heritage Garrison Historic Area, this property straddles a magnificent stretch of crystal clear turquoise waters. The lagoon itself is a fantastic swimming area with gentle waves lapping at white and pink sandy shores, sheltered by rows of coconut trees swaying in the trade-winds. Sugar Bay is not only two minutes outside of Bridgetown it is also right on the liveliest Coast on island offering easy access to many different activities, places to see and dining opportunities. The Boho-Chic style property offers 5 restaurants; 5 bars with Premium Alcohol Drinks Free; excellent kids facilities; lush tropical gardens; spa; hair-salon; arcade and so much more is just waiting for you to visit and explore this island in the sun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sugar Bay Barbados reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaryllis Beach Hotel Hastings
Amaryllis Beach Hastings
Amaryllis Beach Resort Barbados
Amaryllis Barbados
Sugar Bay Barbados Hastings

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Bay Barbados, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.