We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Enough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amaryllis Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Amaryllis Beach Resort to your Saves list
Amaryllis Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Garrison Historic Area, Hastings, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Hastings
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice Enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

It's not that I didn't like this place. It's really that other places were nicer. The service was good, but the rooms seemed a little dated. Also, they looked better in the daylight (the lights were horrible). It seemed like my room needed more circulation in the bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    245
    123
    76
    44
See reviews for
79
271
19
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Our first trip to the Amaryllis but have been to Barbados many times before.
The hotel is well laid out, we had a lovely room just a few paces from the beach.
The beach is nice with lots of natural shade and plenty of sunbeds. The sea is nice for snorkelling but I always wore swimming shoes as there are lots of rocks but they are not sharp.
We usually go all inclusive which we did here, the food was nice. Lunch was a bit repetitive and often slow, the evening menu changes every Monday. The hotel was quiet so there was only one eating place available. Although all inclusive we had to pay extra for the safe and pay to use the pool table. There is no place to get tea and coffee like other hotels, here you have to ask at the bar which is not open until 11:00. When we arrived we wanted a hot drink, I got told off by the bar lady for taking some milk to make tea in my room which was a bit weird, the waitresses were more helpful.
Most of the staff were very nice, our lovely waitress Venice and also the chef, I think her name was Shekera, she was always pleasant. I do think the bar staff could have smiled occasionally, Maria was nice when she was there.
I looked at the hotels next door and I do think this one looked better.
It was a nice stay and we did enjoy ourselves but I'm not sure if it will be on my short list when We go back to lovely Barbados.

Room Tip: We had ground floor, sea front room which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This is our second stay at this hotel and this time we chose a suite so we could do more self catering. This is no reflection on the food at the hotel, it's just that we tend to spend a lot of time out and about and don't want to rush back for meals. but we did have very good breakfast here with lovely mangoes from the garden.

Lunch was reasonably priced and we only waited about 10 minutes-which we thought quite quick.

We were welcomed with a rum or fruit punch and shown to our room within a short time. We were in 318, which is a garden view, this was our choice as it's much more interesting than a sea view.

The basket of fruit and wine we received as it was our second stay came in very handy.

The staff are fab, friendly and helpful. Thank you to Victor, Jason, Emily, Tracy and all the others who did little things for us-you know who you are. Huge thanks for the mangoes.

This hotel is well situated if you like to get out and about, The Garrison is a two minute walk away, as is a very good pizza place and a great bar-The Blue Room. Mind the pavements as they are not good here.
Buses and Z-vans stop right outside and you can get into Bridgetown in about 6-10 minutes for BD$2.00, also Oistins, The Gap, MoJO.
We have walked back from The Gap, never felt unsafe.

We hear the hotel has been sold and is up for a refurb. I hope this doesn't change the overall atmosphere and that the staff are the same. It's a totally 'chill out' atmosphere, clean tidy and the gardens are lovely. This also one of the few hotels that gets no road noise, despite the busy traffic.
Hope to see you all again next year.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Booked this through Thomas Cook for two weeks all inclusive..
Arrived at the hotel reception for check-in mid afternoon and the best part of check-in was the aircon in the reception. It was a very unwelcoming check-in/Greeting. Not very informative about where to find things, meals etc - had to find all that out ourselves. No welcome drink, as I'd been used to at other places I've stayed around the world.

The bar opened at 11am and shuts at 11pm and there were many times that when 11am arrived the bar was unmanned.

Food was very repetitive. 3 days a week is 'a la carte' in the main restaurant,the Almond Tree Restaurant (which is the only hotel owned/run restaurant). There isn't much choice on these days and it was repeated several times over the 2 weeks.
The fish was very nice
Lunch times it would take between ½ hour to an hour to get the food we'd ordered and even ordering ice cream desserts took between 20 - 40 minutes and all this is in low season, I'd hate to see how long it would take if we were in high season.

The 19th Hole, The Coffee bean and the 39 steps wine bar are all independently owned and are chargeable. If you are here on a self catering basis then that isn't an issue but remember that your all inclusive package doesn't include any food or beverages from these places.

Our room was ok, basic but clean. We didn't have a kettle in our room and when I had to request one 3 times before I finally got one.
The air conditioning wasn't working in our friends room and it took several complaints and 4 days before it was resolved I we were upgraded to a suite. The aircon in the suite worked but leaked and we didn't want to complain any more so we just put the bin underneath it.

The free wifi at the bar is very temperamental and unreliable and the alternative paid wifi around the hotel is quite expensive at approx £8 per day.

The beach at this hotel is very stoney/rocky in the sea. I recommend that you take your aqua shoes. The Accra beach beach is a lovely beach and there are no rocks/stones and this can be reached by a 20 minute walk down the boardwalk or by reggae bus.

There was no entertainment and very little to do in the hotel and for a change there are plenty of local eateries close by that are cheap and with a lovely atmosphere.

All the islanders are very friendly and you will never get any hassle. Getting around the island is cheap with local buses and also the reggae buses only charge US$1 or $2bbd (about 60p) to any where.

I would definitely return to Barbados but wouldn't consider this hotel again, unless I was going self catering. Not a hotel to consider if you are all inclusive!

Room Tip: Best rooms, especially if you are a group or a family is the suites which have a bathroom, living ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clydebank
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Arrived around 2.30pm, yes check in is a little slow but when your basking in 85 degrees heat you just have too slow down.
Found this hotel to be absolutely Smashin with a capital S. Beach facing room on the ground floor 103 was heaven, 3 steps and into the pool, 10 steps and onto the beach.
A La Carte service in this hotel for all food and drink at meal times, which was an entirely different experience to what we have normally had at A/I and we cannot fault the service. (Just don't expect fast food) All staff, room, bar, reception were very helpful, friendly and courteous. Cocktails galore and plenty of laughs. Thank you Amaryllis.

Room Tip: room 103 although on the ground floor was excellent, although maybe a little noisy during the busy t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut, Usa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We have stayed at this facility (and other southern coast facilities) many times and can comfortably confirm that the Amaryllis represents comfortable, convenient lodging at a reasonable price. A few observations to share:

- The front desk staff was more helpful this visit compared with previous visits. They will never be seen as speedy or paragons of efficiency, but they are friendly, courteous, and eager to help.

- The grounds are very attractive and the beach delivers uncrowded relaxation; the clearest blue waters; and comfortable wave action. At other south coast resorts, the wave action can be overwhelming and the crowds of tourists more pronounced.

- They are not quite as assiduous re thoroughly raking the beach clean every day. It certainly is not to suggest that their beachfront area is dirty, but it takes more than an occasional cleanup to deal with the detritus that unthinking or inconsiderate tourists tend to leave.

- The ocean waters directly contiguous to its beach do have their share of stones. Some of the swimming areas around the Gap, in contrast, have significantly fewer stones and predominantly sandy bottoms.

- The location of the Amaryllis is not necessarily the most central – there are few restaurants or bars and no tourist-oriented stores within the immediate walking area. Granted, you can walk up to Rockley and start to find things, but otherwise you are somewhat isolated. Flip side of that is that it’s not abuzz in people coming and going – you can just relax in the quiet of the area.

- Relative to the waters that attract folks to Barbados, it is quite well located. It is an easy snorkel swim out past the barrier to see some of the shallow sites that area dive shops take their SCUBA customers. I’ve seen everything from small reef fish and colorful nudibranchs to barracuda and even an 8’ manta ray. Likewise, it is within easy walking distance of some of the best South Coast shell-collecting areas.

- The rooms are comfortable, well-kept, and spacious. The showers could be updated, but certainly were amply functional. The fridge, stove top, and microwave let you prepare an occasional snack or meal, but be forewarned that the nearest supermarket is more than an ambitious walk away (i.e., you will want to use the Zed or the public bus).

- The housekeeping staff do a good job of keeping your room clean. Little amenities like a foot wipe mat on each side of the bed help to deal with the sand that you are bound to bring back from the beach on your feet. While we took advantage of the in-room safe ($5 BD/day), I felt comfortable leaving electronic devices out and about when housekeeping staff came in to clean our unattended room. From many years of visits, we know many of this staff, so this comfort/respect is something the staff had earned, rather than a reflection of us being lax or careless tourists.

- Food at the hotel, like all food in Barbados, is not cheap. Their breakfast buffet spreads have always been nice, but we have never eaten dinner at its restaurants, so I can’t say if it is any good. The snack bar quick foods (basic things like sandwiches, French fries) were underwhelming this visit.

Overall, the Amaryllis represents good value for a vacation to Barbados – not as glitzy as some West Coast or Gap hotels, but then again, that’s what we wanted to avoid!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Tucked away off the main road and a nice resort with some friendly locals, small bar but they make the most of it and have managers cocktail evening on a Tuesday. Took advantage of the volleyball net and reasonably priced bar with the shop being a little bit more expensive then local shops. The main gripe is location, as you have to catch local transport but this is at the top of the resort and is inexpensive although cabs are a must on travelling back from nights out due to lack of pavement on the road.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amaryllis Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaryllis Beach Resort

Address: Garrison Historic Area, Hastings, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amaryllis Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Amaryllis Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaryllis Beach Hotel Hastings
Amaryllis Beach Hastings
Amaryllis Beach Resort Barbados/Hastings
Amaryllis Barbados

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amaryllis Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.