We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location makes up for tired hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amaryllis Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Amaryllis Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amaryllis Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Garrison Historic Area, Hastings, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Hastings
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful location makes up for tired hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed here for one week in a ground floor room 114 with direct access to the beach via French doors. Hotel and rooms could do with a refurbishment, and while everything worked. - generally, not up to 4 or 5 star standard. A 3 star rating is fair. Staff are great, and location for beach, bars, restaurants, and Bridgetown excellent. Tip : book a sea view room, worth that little extra.
Tip: buses are B$2 anywhere on the island. Bus stops outside hotel entrance.

I would use this hotel again at the price. If you prefer a modern , sterile hotel use the Hilton or Marriott Courtyard close by

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    243
    122
    78
    44
See reviews for
79
266
18
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Lovely location and beach but unhelpful, unknowledgable staff. The Amaryllis is a nice, clean hotel on the south east coast. Walkable to the Gap or Harbour Lights and not too far from the likes of the West Coast or Oistins (mind you, Barbados is small). The only problem is the staff, to an extent. Everytime I asked them a question about local places, or where I could buy something, or just a general question they were clueless and/or unwilling to help. Several times I had to ask for simple things like clean towels when they were forgotten. There was a toaster in our room, so I asked for a plate and knife so I could have some toast, and I had to ask 3 times and wait 1 hour for it to be 'sent to my room immediately'. They wouldn't just give me one at reception and let me carry it up. I was also under the impression that local landline phone calls were free, but they weren't (I wasn't told this). Internet also costs a ridiculous amount (about £5 for 15 minutes, it's not included). Finally, even by Bajan standards, service at the bar is painfully slow. However, the beds are comfortable, the rooms are spacious and get cleaned daily, and you are literally next to a lovely beach and a walk from most of Barbado's day and nightlife.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This was our third visit to Barbados and the first time at this resort. We didn't want to pay a fortune for this holiday so we got reasonable flights with Thomsons (half of what Virgin were asking) which we had no problems with at all. You shouldn't spend much time in a hotel room anyway in Barbados, as long as it's clean and cool that should be enough. We were on a room only basis which was a studio on the second floor with cooking facilities. We ate out some nights (but also ate in some nights) and yes it is quite expensive to eat out but after going into the hotel restaurant one night to see what they were serving we were glad we were on room only! Part of the experience of Barbados is riding the ZR taxis, which we call the boogey buses, that run up and down the road all the time. It's a good way to meet the locals who are always ready to talk and help you if you're not sure when to get off. We hired a car for three days and went over onto the east side of the island and up to Speightstown, it was a great way to see more of how the Bajan people live. The setting of this hotel is perfect and when you look at what you would pay at the Hilton just a few hundred yards away it is very reasonable. It is Barbados not Benidorm! If you want a comfy bed in a clean room on a fantastic beach with snorkeling in the shallow waters right on your doorstep you can't do better. If you want 4/5 star facilities this is not for you so pay alot more somewhere else on the island.

Room Tip: Second floor studio overlooking pool/beach with cooking facilities ideal if you want to do your own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanquhar
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The hotel layout is perfect as everything is within easy access. After a long battle we finally got the ground floor accommodation we had requested and the room was perfect, kept clean and had efficient air-conditioning. We had issues with the lack of hot water which was non-existent for the first 24 hours but improved after that.
The general staff, without exception, were efficient and friendly. The management staff were friendly but inefficient.
It took 2 weeks to get an admission from the General Manager that the hotel was at fault for issuing guests with very out of date information about the time and location of meals. Apart from that we were meant to be full-board but instead of getting the option of taking 3 restaurant meals a day we got 2 meals a day and a lunchtime choice in the snack bar.
The Saturday night BBQ was held at the snack bar which was open to the hedges where we occasionally saw a rat. We declined and had dinner in our room.
And then we got transferred to another hotel. We were very fortunate that our travel company had such an efficient Operations Manager.
There are lots of interesting places to see in Barbados and best done in a private taxi with a knowledgable driver. Try Reggie - works the hotel-airport runs but can be booked for however many hours you want and his costs are minimal compared to the organised trips.
If you are interested in the wildlife talk to David the Bird Man who is a gardener at the hotel. He will tell you what's what. We saw Whistling Frogs on our patio; adults are about the size of your thumbnail but they can leap about 2 feet at a time! There are sparrows and Carribean blackbirds but also Wood Doves and the Yellow Breast which is lovely to see. Ospreys winter there and can be spotted circling the high tree where they hide.
This could be the best hotel in the area but the Management seem to be terribly disorganised.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

+ Location = Near beach and close to Bridgetown
+ Beach = Very nice beach
+ 39 Steps = Restaurant very close by the hotel (Great food & service)
+ Coffee bean = Cafeteria very close by the hotel (Great snacks and coffee)
+ Cheap taxi tour around Barbados = Ask Reggie for 4h tour (taxi driver in front of the hotel)
- Check in = Takes forever
- Breakfast = Staff don't care about the customers
- Beach bar = Stay away (Unless you have a lot of spare time to wait)
- Hotel restaurant = Stay away (Not worth eating here)
- Internet = Not working or slow (with speed limits)
- Safety = Separate cost per night

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Arrived on 29th December before picking up Wind star Cruise (absolutely fabulous) and was greeted with 3 couples complaining abut the hotel! We thought we would give them the benefit of the doubt as we were only staying for one night. It was ok but we were then booked in for 4 nights when we returned from cruise. After returning from a wonderful trip round Caribbean we were then faced once again with checking into Amaryllis with a load of a people complaining!! We checked into our room which was on ground floor and we had requested an upper floor which was full of Mosquitos, unclean and depressing at least. We requested to be moved and after a lot of discussion was offered another room which was higher but of no better standard. The worst thing is there is no customer service, no one cares and too much time is spent trying to deal with complaining customers! After one night found the most fantastic hotel which was an oasis on the East side of the island (the Atlantis) which we moved to and it takes a bit of finding but very much worth it!

Amaryllis is Faulty Towers at its worst - beware!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The location of this hotel could not be better its right on a marvelous beach. I find myself looking at other reviews of it and wonder what people are looking for in a resort, yes the rooms need to be up-dated, but they serve the purpose, they are clean and well kept by the cleaners, we had no problems. the hot water was off on 2 occasions but during the day and allways back on in the morning and evening. we were all inclusive the main restaurant did have a limited menu, but the food was allways well presented and good, the breakfast buffet was great but had some odd choices, but then again you are in a different culture, they also had themed nights which mixed it up a bit, the turtle bar menu again was small but offered enough, had no trouble at the bars service was fine.But they need to have both bars open during the day. The staff were brilliant , friendly and helpfull. People must remember they are in a different country with a different culture and way of life, it's so much slower and relaxed there. If your looking for somewere to just lay on the beach and relax this is it. Not sure its a family resort if you've got small children as menus don't seem to cater, The coffee shop up the hill has free wi-fi worth bearing in mind as hotel charges. As to eating off site can be expensive, tgi was poor, mama mia over priced, bubba's a mixtur of both. Over all we were there for 12nights 8 would have probably been enough, we had a good time and enjoyed the wamth shown to us by the staff. Thank you x

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amaryllis Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaryllis Beach Resort

Address: Garrison Historic Area, Hastings, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amaryllis Beach Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Amaryllis Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaryllis Beach Hotel Hastings
Amaryllis Beach Hastings
Amaryllis Beach Resort Barbados/Hastings
Amaryllis Barbados

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amaryllis Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.