We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
South Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rockley at Accra Beach, Hastings, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hastings
lehighton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

This is both a time share and hotel. Housekeeping best of all of our timeshares. Free wifi, free use of laundry facilities and an oven, and full refrigerator in all 1 bedroom units. Location great for eating facilities. Management quite responsive to concerns and needs.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    64
    22
    12
    6
See reviews for
48
89
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

It's the second time we have visited Barbados and the second time around was by far the best.
We stayed in this brilliant private hotel for
7 days and couldn't complain about a thing. Clean rooms and facilities, polite and very friendly staff. It has a great pool and bar area.
The surrounding area as plenty of restaurants and bars, so plenty to do.
The beautiful beach is straight across the road.
The people of Barbados are very friendly and polite. If your waiting to cross a road they stop for you and let you cross safely.
If fact whether it's day or night we always felt safe, wherever we where on the island.
I highly recommend this GREAT HOTEL and certainly recommend Barbados.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We go to Barbados every year and we like to try differnet hotels, I actually booked this hotel by mistake meant to book South Gap, However I left it as it was and I am so glad I did. This hotel is about 15 min from St Lawence Gap, however, its in a brilliant location , right accross the road from the beach and a taxi service. There are plenty of shops and resturants right next to it along with a chemist and doctors. The Hotel is a boutique like hotel. very personal and the pool area and chairs are very miami like. The room are so spacious and clean and all views are pool view. The staff provide a welcome pack of butter, cheese, coffee , milk etc it was all left in the fridge and it was free ( how lovely) . The balcony is quite spacious and we actually enjoyed a take away one evening looking out onto the pool. The beach is 2 min away and is stunning, there is also a long boardwalk which is perfect if you enjoy a long stroll or even for jogging or running. The staff were briliant and could not be more helpful. There is a check out rook with a lovely shower and tv for guests to use free on the day you check out if you are awaiting coaches or flights. We ate breakfast in the resturant on 3 occasions it was nice but expensive but then I find breakfast is quite expensive in Barbados anyway as most places were the same, even the cafe next door . All in all we had a fantastic holiday and this hotel made it very special. we are booking to go back in Nove and next June for our wedding . I would give it 10/10.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

OK you can better and higher graded hotels on Barbados but this little gem combines comfort and value to get the most out of your stay and the staff are attentive, very friendly and accommodating whilst being "efficient" in the Caribbean way.
Five star hotels have their place and if it is an all singing all dancing place you want this is not for you, nor does it try to be but it delivers what it promises. The staff are very friendly and the hotel manager, Veronica, being very proud of her establishment is on hand to listen and advise. A special mention also to Sade on reception who looked after us and pointed us in all the right directions.
The rooms are self cateringare, well furnished and clean with all that you need to live comfortably. A recent refurbishment means that all rooms and equipment is new and up to date.
There is a pool side bar (not in operation during low season) but you can get drinks from the restuarant if need be. The restaurant caters for all meals but we didn't try it. The pool is adequate and if you can put up with the noise from the road you will be fine as the sun shines on the pool terrace from first to last light.
The location, whilst being close to a busy road, is perfect for getting to see the busier and happening places on the island with a great beach just 100 yards across the road and the recently built boardwalk which winds its way along 2km of great coastline.
Getting out amongst the locals and trying some of the miriad eateries is an absolute must with everything from basic to (almost) Michelin star restaurants and everthing in between including two great sports bars. Honorary mentions go to the Tapas bar (great host, food and location)Bert's Sports bar (on the quiter side but good food and sports coverage), Bubbas Sports bar having a little more atmosphere but also noisier. Just Grillin' lierally next to the hotel gives good value and never disappointed, the legendary Chicken George beach bar (now run by Jason who is the son of George) does great chicken in a basket and knock out rum punch (literally!)
Other things to try are the local rum shops (great to hear the banter of the locals) to get cheap drinks, and if able to drive I would recommend at least a three day car hire to see the island, it is so diverse and small enough to see the very different coastlines and views which are mind blowing in the three days. Looking for little secluded beaches is great fun.
A vist to St. Nicholas Abbey is an absolute must. This is an old sugar plantation turned now in to a top class rum distillery. Great history and cognac like rum, hopefully Simon will be on hand to make your day special.

Oistins fish market is a must and so to is the hustle and bustle of Lawrence Gap for a night out.

Anyway back to the hotel, it gives great value, it's location on the south of the island gives a great combination of happening and quiet, the people are great and you will not leave disappointed - guaranteed.

Dean & Pat Barron

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

My stay was excellent. I paid for a studio and got a free upgrade to a one bedroom and it was very nice. The staff were very friendly, I don't remember their names but I won't forget their faces. When I got there I received a complimentary glass of rum punch and boy that was the best rum punch I ever had. Will stay their again in the future

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

This is a great base if staying on south of island. Directly opposite Rockley beach.
The staff at front desk are really friendly and very helpful, especially Lynette.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

The hotel was in a perfect location. Right across the street from Accra Beach and close to many restaurants. The staff was nice and catered to your needs. I strongly recommend this hotel and i will come back anytime.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Hotel

Address: Rockley at Accra Beach, Hastings, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — South Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Beach is in a location that is hard to beat! The property is located directly across from one of the best beaches on the island, as well as a beautiful new boardwalk, which is great for an afternoon sunset stroll or early morning jog. South Beach offers a combination of Studios, One Bedroom Suites and One Bedroom Penthouse Suites, all with kitchenettes or kitchens respectively; offering comfort, convenience and value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Beach Hotel Vacation
South Beach Hotel Barbados/Hastings

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.