We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“#1 GUIDE IN BARBADOS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ted's Tours

Ted's Tours
The Garrison Historic Area | Coconut Court Beach Hotel, Hastings BB15156, Barbados
+1 246-262-8687
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Mondays and Wednesdays: Ted will drive along the coast, passing through all of the town and making stops at: *Speighstown *Cherry Tree Hill *Bathsheba *St Johns Church *Sunbury Plantation House for a lunch and a tour. Barbadian lunch and drinks included. The price is $75 USD per person, kids half price. Fridays: *Speighstown *Cherry Tree Hill *Bathsheba *St Johns Church Light snacks and drinks included. The price is $60 USD per person, kids half price. Private Tours Available for small and large groups.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“#1 GUIDE IN BARBADOS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

It was an absolute pleasure meeting this fine Bajan gentleman Mr barefoot 'Ted' Blades who gracefully explained every view you saw out of the left and right windows on his air-conditioned coach with such finesse and skill you'd swear he was reading from a script. Interspersed with well-timed gaffs he also gave you a proper history lesson whenever we passed popular buildings. If you want a brilliant tour of the island & i mean from the Carib Sea over to the Atlantic etc TED'S TOUR is the one to book. Well worth the money. You get rum stops and then the wonderful bajan buffet. I wont say anymore...just book it and you'll see. MAGIC. Gwaaaarn Ted you the man!!!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    16
    3
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

What can you say about Ted’s Tours? The man is a legend and a bare foot encyclopaedia on his home island.
If you’re looking for a serious tour of Barbados, look elsewhere, but if you’re looking for the best tour of the island Ted’s your man. As soon as he has rounded up his crew of “rascals “for the day and set off on the tour you will be treated to a seemingly effortless commentary full of local information, history and gossip all interspersed with some of the corniest jokes ever! With frequent “rum punch” refuelling stops (fruit punch is available for those of nervous disposition) and an excellent lunch at the Sunbury plantation house there is no better way to see the island in all its glory.
Once you have been on Ted’s Tour you will appreciate how passionate he is about his home and the depth of his knowledge all delivered in the easy going style of a man who loves to impart information in a way that engages his passengers.
Do not miss this chance to make a friend in Barbados.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Best accident of our trip. (I'll explain)
Ted was awesome! Nothing boring about this tour.
Saw the beauty of the island, learned a little history, enjoyed some rum punch, a great lunch and a lot of laughter.
Our plan was to go shopping in Bridgetown, we had some shuttle issues. Vaida, Ted's wife, chased him down as the tour bus was leaving, he agreed to drop us off. Within a few minutes, we realized this was the best accident of our trip. As we pulled into Bridgetown we asked Ted if we could remain on for the day's tour. (Of course his good natured ribbing about wasting a beautiful sunny day shopping helped!) Ted, you were right, "Shopping can be done at night"

Planned stops for restrooms, local vendors, and Ted keeps an eye on everything.
What a day!!!
Thank you Ted for a great day!
We will never forget our tour.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orsett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“100% recommend this trip.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We have been to Barbados three times, we had never seen or heard of Ted's tours until I saw it on trip advisor.

This is one of the best trips we have done on Barbados. From the moment we met Ted and he welcomed us onto his coach (giving the girls a big hug and the boys a mans hand shake) we had a lot of fun.

He is a local and has been doing tours for 30+ years, he runs out of Coconut Court Hotel but we booked him from the UK. Yes his jokes can be a little corny, but he told us so much about his island, his fellow Barbadians, its culture and its history. As well as some info on many many more things.

We attended site we had visited before but we were given so much insight by Ted. We also stopped a number of time for a rum punch (or a fruit punch). At a local plantation we had a nice 2 course lunch.

This trip is a full day, yes its a little bumpy on the way (some of the roads have seen better days) , but a really great day :-)

Ted can not be more helpful or more accommodating.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The one and only Ted is amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

On a Thompsons hol and the rep recommended Teds. He is such a knowledgable and amusing character. Rum punch at every stop, even as he puts it " liquor with the vicar" in a church stop. The visit and lunch at the plantation house was fantastic a real sense of Bajan past. We saw a taste of the whole island which gave us ideas for future visits. We would never have seen beautiful Bathsheba without him. Ted is forever etched in mind as having a real love for his home and a fount of knowledge of history and folklore. If you are planning a visit to Barbados Teds tours will enrich your stay.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ted's Tours also viewed

Saint James Parish, Barbados
Saint Joseph Parish, Barbados
 
Saint Thomas Parish, Barbados
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 

Been to Ted's Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ted's Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.