We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Base for an Amazing Holiday!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Court Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Coconut Court Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Garrison Historic Area, Hastings BB15156, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hastings
West Midlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The Perfect Base for an Amazing Holiday!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

We returned from Barbados on 8th June and we are already looking forward to going back again!

I wont go into every little detail about Coconut Court but I will give you an insight which hopefully will help you decide if it's the hotel for you.

Ill start with the things that weren't perfect!

It is a 3 star hotel so dont expect 5 star fixtures and fittings.... You will be disappointed!
The bathrooms are dated, not a problem as everything works just fine. I personally would have prefered a bath with shower head or at least a handheld shower but the fixed one worked and the water was always hot, all that anyone really needs. (I would be dubious about showering a toddler in it though!)

Staff in the Deck Restaurant are actually quite grumpy and some quite rude!

Now for the good bits!

The best thing by a mile about Coconut Court is the beach. It is beautiful, the sea in front of the hotel is calm, warm and crystal clear! There are little caves that have been placed in the water for the fish and they swim right by you which is quite lovely!
The kids seemed to love it which is great as the pool at the hotel looked quite deep.

There were always plenty of chairs while we were there, though this is out of season so not sure what its like at other times of the year.

We also had a free upgrade to a superior beachfront room. The view was fabulous!
The room was simply furnished but very comfortable. We had a wardrobe, cable TV, two twin beds and a table and chairs.
The room had air conditioning so although it was 30 degrees outside with about 80% humidity, it was always perfectly cool.
You also have a microwave, kettle, toaster and a fridge freezer.

The breakfast is toast, rolls, croissants, cereal and sometimes biscuits or cakes (presumably to cater for americans!) and fruit. You dont get fruit juice though, its pineapple or orange squash! Again, If you want fresh juices and a better breakfast selection then you should probably go to a more expensive hotel.

The beach bar is just great! Sean and Antonio are lovely and work like mad to keep customers happy.

We didnt spend any evenings at the hotel, we prefered to go out, either to St Laurence Gap or Oistins.

Overall, Coconut Court is outstanding value for money compared to other hotels in Barbados. We would definately go back and definately recommend it to friends and family.

I have only mentioned a few points that could be considered negative as there really arent that many at all!

Security and maintenance staff are lovely, always smiling and ready to help if you look lost!
Ted (Ted's Tour's) is great! A native barbadian with so much knowledge of the island. Surf spots etc.

The owners of the hotel giftshop are also really nice people. They will help with trips, car hire, directions and anything else that they can.

If you havent been to Barbados before, give the Coconut Court Beach resort a try. Hire a car, see the island and you will have the holiday of a lifetime!

We usually go to big all inclusive resorts but this really would be a waste of time in Barbados! Go to restaurants, see the sights, beaches etc. try some watersports, there are loads to choose from, including jet ski rental.

Barbados is a beautiful place and Coconut Court is the perfect base for your holiday.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    565
    223
    70
    51
See reviews for
221
666
49
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010 via mobile

Perfect location right between st lawerance gap and Bridgetown. Staff very friendly. Tours can be booked on site. Highly recommend this location

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

If you are planning on staying in Barbados for leisure and would like to explore the island, you may want to stay here. The location is perfect, in between Oistins and Bridgetown. You can easily take the public transportation up and down the main road, pass many beaches and The Gap. The hotel staff is very knowledgeable and friendly. Yes, there is complimentary breakfast, but we purchased extra breakfast items such as bacon and pancakes and the prices are great!! The rooms are very comfortable, spacious and nice balcony deck to look out onto the ocean. The hotel is also settled on a beach, so if you would like pool time, it's there, or jacuzzi, or ..the beach. I would recommend this place for persons on leisure time and not for someone looking for peace and quiet. The only issue, since there were a lot of people, they were low on towels & wash clothes but solved matters quickly.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk Ireland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

We stayed at the Coconut Court for 20 nights from April 29th and really enjoyed our stay. BA managed to mislay our bags on the outward journey but the hotel staff were most helpful and sympathetic. Generally the service was good and friendly. Our accommodation was simple but very clean with daily housekeeping. The view from our balcony was stunning. This really is a beachfront hotel-and what a beautiful beach it is! There was a change to the (much commented on) breakfast routine while we were there. Out went the 'free seating' and daily egg choice and in came a 'wait to be seated' and no eggs regime with a printed menu (items individually priced). However after about ten days the old routine was re-introduced-but the eggs did not reappear! We are not breakfast people so it made no difference to us but it was amusing to watch Tripadvisor power in action! We only had one dinner in the hotel and it was OK. Don't miss the generous "Managers Rum Punch Party" on Tuesdays.Nearby do not eat in Juros or TGI Fridays but Mama Mia's is quite good. Along the Boardwalk 'Tapas' is excellent and in the Gap 'McBrides' is good for both food and drink. We did not enjoy 'Ted's Tour' His constant use of silly puns was annoying and the weak rum punch was pathetic. To see this small beautiful island use the local buses. This was our first visit to Barbados and our enjoyment of the Coconut Court is a great reason to return. We will do so. Thanks to all the staff for some great memories

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

The hotel is dated but has certain homely charm to it. The rooms are a good size wth basic furnishings. Rooms included fridge,micro,kettle and toaster. Breakfast is as dscribed by others, limited and no hot items. I dont like this concept of something between a full breakfast and a continental breakfast, mainly because websites state breakfast and many people could expect a full breakfast if they did not read tripadvisor

The beach is wide for Barbados and there were plenty of sun loungers available. The sea has a reef about twenty feet out and this means it is great for snorkelling, especially at low tide, when the water is at is clearest.

There might be free wifi, but I dodn't like to take my laptop on holiday and was charged 20B$ for 30mins internet. This is an extortionate rate. A cafe down the road at the central shopping centre charges 8B$ for 30 mins.

There is basic bar acoss the road from the hotel and the locals are friendly and the Karioke on the sunday night was a laugh.

I found this hotel very relaxing, but would have preffered a location closer to "the gap" for more entertainment choices at night.

Over good value for money, nice beach, pleasent staff, relaxing surroundings and an enjoyable holiday

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

We were looking for somewhere that wasn't too expensive, was on the beach, was quiet, would give us a Caribbean experience, was clean and had friendly staff..and that's just what we got!

The rooms was basic and a bit "tired but we had everything we needed but the view from the balcony made up for this and did not spend much time in it anyway,

It was a bonus to be able to access free wifi in some areas of the hotel and outside.

The breakfasts were a bit hit and miss, a lot of cakes and pastries if you like that sort of thing, usually a couple of fresh fruit choices and one tinned fruit choice - not quite what we were expecting, bread/toast with jams etc and, if we were lucky, some cheese! There is an option to purchase additional breakfast items.

The beach bar was a great place to meet other people and the staff running the bars were very friendly and welcoming.

There was not a lot going on around the hotel area so we used the local buses which stopped outside the hotel to see some of the island and also to go to the busier nearby areas where there were plenty of restaurants to chose from.

We would go back to this hotel again as we felt it was good value for money, we loved the beach, (I found I needed to wear beach shoes in the water as there was some shingle and rocks) and felt very "at home".

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

The Coconut Court Hotel was basic hotel obviously built a long time ago, with some good facilities. The wifi in my room was excellent, thanks to a wifi antenna right outside my room. The room was adequate. Unfortunately I had 2 single beds. The kitchenette and full size frigde were good. The shower was far too small. The views of the beach were truly amazing. The hotel is really sensible about ceasing entertainment at 10pm on the nights it has it. The breakfast is truly awful. I ended up going to the supermarket to buy my own. However, dinner at the same restaurant was fabulous. I'm constantly annoyed about "Happy Hour" supply 2 drinks for the price of one on anything alcoholic, but ignoring those of us who don't drink. That's discriminating. The beach was good, although there are a lot of rocks in the water you need to wade through to get out to the sandy area. There are no laundry facilities at this hotel, either DIY or paid. Eating options around the hotel were good. A fabulour Italian restaurant across the road called Mama Mia's was truly devine. TGI Fridays is 100m away and a nice bar/restaurant is right across the road. All in all, it was fine for a 3 star type hotel. My experience is slightly critical as more than half our party stayed up at the much nicer looking and much newer Amaryllis about 200m up the road.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Court Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Court Beach Hotel

Address: The Garrison Historic Area, Hastings BB15156, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Court Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning, family owned hotel located directly on the beach in the heart of the South Coast. All 112 ocean facing Studios equipped with free WIFI, air conditioning, cable TV and limited kitchenette facilities. Full self catering apartments also available for families and long stay visitors. Located within the UNESCO World Heritage Site district within easy walking distance to several historic sites, duty free shops and restaurants. Bridgetown, St. Lawrence Gap and Oistins fishing town are a short bus or taxi ride away. Winner of Trip Advisor certificates of excellence 2011, 2012 and 2013. The Blades family has owned and operated Coconut Court Beach Hotel since 1975 and their passion and commitment to customer service and to hospitality excellence is evident in the welcoming, relaxed atmosphere of the hotel. Coconut Court truly offers Simple Charm and Bajan style! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coconut Court Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Court Beach Hastings
Coconut Court Beach Hotel Barbados/Hastings

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Court Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.