We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Court Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Coconut Court Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Garrison Historic Area, Hastings BB15156, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hastings
abu dhabi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“fantastic hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2005

We stayed at the coconut court from the 17th march to the 24th and had a brilliant time. Our room (ocean view efficiency room) was down one flight of stairs (they are hardly "dingy!"). The room was large, clean and had a balcony overlooking the beach - just stunning. We stayed in a room only basis, but ate at the hotel a number of times - the food was really lovely. All the staff were friendly - from the check in staff to the bar staff. The beach was beautiful and even had coral and loads of fish just a few meters from the shore! The hotel rented out snorkels and even provided free snorkelling tours most mornings. The hotel prides itself on being an 'environmental' hotel - they have lots of env info around the place and recycling bins etc. The red rooster across the road serves good food and we never heard any noise from it - in our room we could only hear the sea and the fan! The hotel is in a great location - 10 mins from bridgetown and 10 mins from st lawrences gap. There's a bus stop outside the hotel so don't bother with taxi's - a bus only costs around 40p and they come round all the time. We really recommend this hotel - clean, very very friendly, great location and lovely beach!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    566
    223
    70
    51
See reviews for
222
666
49
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New England
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2005

Spent a week at CCBR with my husband and our two 18-year old girls. We were looking for a low key, relaxed vacation and this fit the bill perfectly. Our room was simple but pleasant, the food was quite good (we were not on the full board, but ended up eating all lunches and two dinners at the pretty open air restaurant). The breakfast buffet is excellent--lots of hot and cold choices. One thing I really liked was the availability of everything--the beach is large (though the pool is small) and there was none of this having to rush to the beach at 6 am to reserve a chair. The resort has people from around the world--it's not an American ghetto. If you're looking for glitz, go somewhere else, but if you want a pleasant, relaxed vacation with low-key entertainment (live music 4 nights a week) go here. There were lots of other things made available through the resort (tours, snorkeling, etc) but I cannot comment on those because I spent the week stretched out in the beach chair!!

Do note that some rooms are not airconditioned. There is a steady breeze in Barbados, but if you have to have AC. make sure to request that.

Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2005

We went to Barbados in November 2004. (2 single females). It was horrible. We stayed in this hotel for 1 night. We slept in our clothes as we didn't feel comfortable at all. Our room was down these dark stairs. The room was not clean. The manager in the restaraunt bordered on rude. The wait staff was pretty nice. We moved to the Casaurina hotel the very next morning.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2005

Just got back from a week at the Coconut Court, and we had a great time. I think the Coconut Court is probably the best in its price class, and outdoes some of the more expensive places as well. It's kind of funky, but that gives it charm; much better than the newer, sterile-looking places we saw nearby. Plus, their beach is great. Rooms are basic, but clean and comfortable. They have great activities, a nice pool, a great buffet breakfast, and nice restaurant. All told, we couldn't have done better.

Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2005

We stayed at the Coconut Court in February of 2005 and needless to say that we were pleasantly surprised. It's a great place to stay if you are looking for no frills. The staff are very nice (with the exception of some of the breakfast staff), clean rooms with a very efficient cleaning staff, clean beach, and overall comfortable setting. We highly recommend renting a car (thanks Judy!) for getting around. The roads are narrow but easy to follow making it pretty hard to get lost. If you get a chance, go to North Point and Crane beach (the most beautiful beach!).
The food was very expensive there, but it makes it a little easier knowing before you go so that there are no surprises.
Thank you Coconut Court for giving us Canuks a warm home away from home!!!

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2005

Have just got back from the Coconut Court after a 2 week stay. This is a great wee hotel, nothing fancy but clean and comfortable. The staff are excellent, very friendly and helpful ...as for Kevin the pool guy - sings and jokes all the time, but also does a great job at keeping the area spotless. The hotel looks nothing much from the front, so it was a pleasant suprise to see how nice the pool and the beach were at the back. We had a deluxe room with air conditioning but sometimes the ceiling fan was enough. Spoke to the management once and they said that they have plans to improve the hotel especially the food that they offer in the restuarant. The hotel is situated in a good central location on the South coast and there are plenty of buses that stop right outside, do try the vans - they are supposed to hold 14 people but usually pack in at least 20 - good way to get up close and personal with the locals! Overall I preferred the South Coast to the more upmarket West Coast, I thought that the South beaches were wider and better and also that the atmosphere was more relaxed. Rockley beach (at Accra hotel) just along the road was particularly nice.

Overall the holiday was excellent and I definetely will be back - and I have NEVER before returned to the same place twice!

Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2005

We have just returned from 10 days at Coconut Court (10th-26th Jan). This was a last minute booking for us and a first time visit to the Caribbean, so we were a little unsure of what to expect.

Starting from the beginning, we received a warm welcome and a swift check in.

We had pre-booked a room upgrade, which we were glad we had done. We stayed in room 58 on the top floor. With no lifts this was at least a good source of excercise! It was a very spacious room and whilst not plush it was clean and in fairly good order, with a fantastically large bed and shower. In our room we had air conditioning which we think was a must, especially when we visited another room that did not have it.

There has been a lot mentioned about the Red Rooster Pub on this site. Our room was in the furthest block away from the pub so whilst the noise from there was loud on occassions, once in our room or on the balcony we could not hear the music.

Breakfast is buffet style with lots on offer. We expected a school dinner dining experience as we had booked all inclusive, but we were pleasantly surprised with the quality of the food, which was served a la carte for lunch and dinner.

The pool is small and ok, but in our view, why sit by the pool when the clean beach with it's own reef and beach bar (not to mention Charles the happiest bar tender ever) is right by.

As an excursion we would really recommend the Turtle trips. We booked ourselves onto catamaran trip and swam with them, which was an amazing experience. Another must is a trip to Oistens Fish Market on a Friday or Saturday night, were you can sample local food and listen to the local music. Lastly if you have the time and the stomach, try a helicopter ride for a breath taking view of the island.

Overall we found this hotel extremley good value for money with very friendly staff, especially in the restaurant and beach bar.

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Court Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Court Beach Hotel

Address: The Garrison Historic Area, Hastings BB15156, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Court Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning, family owned hotel located directly on the beach in the heart of the South Coast. All 112 ocean facing Studios equipped with free WIFI, air conditioning, cable TV and limited kitchenette facilities. Full self catering apartments also available for families and long stay visitors. Located within the UNESCO World Heritage Site district within easy walking distance to several historic sites, duty free shops and restaurants. Bridgetown, St. Lawrence Gap and Oistins fishing town are a short bus or taxi ride away. Winner of Trip Advisor certificates of excellence 2011, 2012 and 2013. The Blades family has owned and operated Coconut Court Beach Hotel since 1975 and their passion and commitment to customer service and to hospitality excellence is evident in the welcoming, relaxed atmosphere of the hotel. Coconut Court truly offers Simple Charm and Bajan style! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coconut Court Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Court Beach Hastings
Coconut Court Beach Hotel Barbados/Hastings

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Court Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.