We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Court Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Coconut Court Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Garrison Historic Area, Hastings BB15156, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Hastings
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2005

Have just got back from the Coconut Court after a 2 week stay. This is a great wee hotel, nothing fancy but clean and comfortable. The staff are excellent, very friendly and helpful ...as for Kevin the pool guy - sings and jokes all the time, but also does a great job at keeping the area spotless. The hotel looks nothing much from the front, so it was a pleasant suprise to see how nice the pool and the beach were at the back. We had a deluxe room with air conditioning but sometimes the ceiling fan was enough. Spoke to the management once and they said that they have plans to improve the hotel especially the food that they offer in the restuarant. The hotel is situated in a good central location on the South coast and there are plenty of buses that stop right outside, do try the vans - they are supposed to hold 14 people but usually pack in at least 20 - good way to get up close and personal with the locals! Overall I preferred the South Coast to the more upmarket West Coast, I thought that the South beaches were wider and better and also that the atmosphere was more relaxed. Rockley beach (at Accra hotel) just along the road was particularly nice.

Overall the holiday was excellent and I definetely will be back - and I have NEVER before returned to the same place twice!

Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    387
    539
    207
    65
    46
See reviews for
194
615
40
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
devon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2005

We have just returned from 10 days at Coconut Court (10th-26th Jan). This was a last minute booking for us and a first time visit to the Caribbean, so we were a little unsure of what to expect.

Starting from the beginning, we received a warm welcome and a swift check in.

We had pre-booked a room upgrade, which we were glad we had done. We stayed in room 58 on the top floor. With no lifts this was at least a good source of excercise! It was a very spacious room and whilst not plush it was clean and in fairly good order, with a fantastically large bed and shower. In our room we had air conditioning which we think was a must, especially when we visited another room that did not have it.

There has been a lot mentioned about the Red Rooster Pub on this site. Our room was in the furthest block away from the pub so whilst the noise from there was loud on occassions, once in our room or on the balcony we could not hear the music.

Breakfast is buffet style with lots on offer. We expected a school dinner dining experience as we had booked all inclusive, but we were pleasantly surprised with the quality of the food, which was served a la carte for lunch and dinner.

The pool is small and ok, but in our view, why sit by the pool when the clean beach with it's own reef and beach bar (not to mention Charles the happiest bar tender ever) is right by.

As an excursion we would really recommend the Turtle trips. We booked ourselves onto catamaran trip and swam with them, which was an amazing experience. Another must is a trip to Oistens Fish Market on a Friday or Saturday night, were you can sample local food and listen to the local music. Lastly if you have the time and the stomach, try a helicopter ride for a breath taking view of the island.

Overall we found this hotel extremley good value for money with very friendly staff, especially in the restaurant and beach bar.

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston Mass
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2005

Anyone who complains about this hotel should not have gone there. I spent two weeks there every thing was perfect. The Red rooster is not a problem. If you want total quiet stay home. I have stayed all over the carribbean and this place is the best you will get. Every thing was great. They have a band allmost every day playing great music. These people do there best to see that you are happy. I suggest using public transportation. If you want to see the island which is a must take the island tour. They have two tours Take both .Its worth the money and you will really see the island. I cant wait to go back and by the way I stayed on the top floor . It was worth the walk Its 5 flights 4 anyway. and Im retired. The down town area is great plan to spend the day . No one will hassel you to buy anything. Go there to enjoy yourself and you will have the best vacation you ever had.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2005

Stayed at the Coconut Court from Jan 10-16th. We attended the Jazz Festival and got a recommendation from a friend to stay at the Hotel. I always do alot of internet research regarding a location beforehand so I knew what to expect.
We are both light sleepers so I requested a room furthest away from the Red Rooster as possible. Check-in was swift and we were given room#110 which was the furthest away from the Red Rooster (more on that later). The breakfast at the Hotel was excellent. I would recommend it. It fills you up till dinner. We chose not to go full inclusive because we wanted to fully explore the Island. The bus stop is directly in front of the Hotel. It costs 1.50 barbados. The ride in to Bridgetown or the Gap is usually crowded but nobody gives you a second look.
The beach in front of the Hotel is great. If you go out far enough with snorkling equipment you can see turtles. Restaurants that we patonized were Harlequin (great), Suga Suga (great), Red Rooster (average), Coconut Hotel (suprisingly great) and the Oistins fish fry night on Friday.
The music at the Festival was worthwhile. Ellis Marsalis was enjoyable but the Alicia Keys show was somewhat dissapointing. She only played for a hour. Overall our trip was great. You have to watch yourself when you deal with the cab drivers. Get a quote beforehand. Quotes do vary. The St. Lawrence Gap area at night is the place to be. Great restaurants, people watching and a fun sports bar. We saw the kicker for the Jets really blow it.
The Coconut Court has a very friendly staff. The rooms are basic. The swimming pool is small. The nighttime bartenders aren't too friendly. My only complaint would be the noise coming from the street and the Restaurant. The music coming from the Red Rooster drove us crazy. It goes on till the wee hours of the morning. I talked to a few other people and they had the same opinion. It could hinder us from staying at the Hotel in the future. Other than the noise factor this is a very good deal in Barbados. If your going down soon, I would advise you to contact the Hotel and request a room furthest away from the Red Rooster.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2005

My husband and I spent one week in March 2004. We were married in July and this was a delayed honeymoon. They supply so many little extras that most places don't even think about. When we arrived we had a bottle of champagne on ice sitting in our room. They supply fresh beach towels daily. Every night, except for one, we had live music to listen to from our porch. The staff is very pleasant and the food was wonderful. They also take great care in cleaning the beach daily. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2004

Me and my boyfriend spent 10 days in barbados. We came back only 2 days ago and cant wait to go back there.
It was my first time in barbados and i really loved it. the weather was superb and people v happy always. even sometimes they drive you mad because being so happy. i was really worried first what the hotel will look like. but it was a very nice and friendly hotel. Not fancy but has a Caribbean style. we were pleased with our room and enjoyed it. most of the day we were out anyway so you didnt spend much time indoor. we aslo visited some other hotels for a drinks and they were little boring.
If you go on the holiday dont have all inclusive because you get bored eating the same thing again and again. we visited very nice restaurants on the south coast. very good food in Josef's in St. Laurence Gap, Greek restaurant OPA! amazing food and also our favourite was Champers. They said it is as good as Cliff but half price and that was true. Otherwise everything seems to be there london prices but cocktails are cheaper. We also did some activities during the day and the best was El Tiger 5 hour lunch cruise with capten Jimmy.It was great day, snorkeling and swimming with turtles. Also rent a car and drive to east coast, its beautiful. and make sure to look carefully signs because they are tricky and we got lost several times.
otherwise amazing trip and good nice hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2004

My vacation was perfect at Coconut Court! The people are very friendly and courtoues, we never waited long to check in or out. The were even able to remember my name AND my room number when I'd talk to them!! The breakfast was good, (which was inclusive with our plan - but to eat there breakfast/lunch/dinner runs approx $25 US each person!!) there are other places to eat within walking distance, I recommend Mamma Mia or PizzaZ. The rooms are clean (we had 3rd floor, furthest from restaurant/pool area) BEAUTIFUL views of the ocean. The beach is HUGE! Plenty of room - I never felt cramped - even thought the whole hotel was booked - and there were lots of kids - but the property is very generous! Plenty of other beaches to walk to also - I recommend walking to Needham's Point - very nice beach there. Hotel has a free shuttle to take you to and from Bridgetown to do some shopping (I even got my nose pierced!) Everyone there is very nice (understanding without toursists, they wouldn't have much) so they are very pleasant to talk to - sometimes, you have to be the first to say 'hello' but that's all it takes. I HIGHLY recommend calling Boyce's Tours aka Boyce's Garage for all your tours - they do private tours for very cheap - ask for KIETH!! He was born there and is so friendly and knows all the spots tourists never see! DON'T do Ted's tour!! (He's co-owner of the hotel by the way) It's very cramped and hot on the tour van - go with Boyce's!! You've got to experience this place - we're going to stay at Coconut Court next time we visit Barbados!

  • Stayed November 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coconut Court Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Court Beach Hotel

Address: The Garrison Historic Area, Hastings BB15156, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Court Beach Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award winning family owned hotel is located directly on a lovely white sandy beach in the heart of the South coast. The beach is secluded and quiet with plenty of free beach lounges and shade under the coconut trees. The large protected lagoon is safe for both swimmers and snorkelers of all ages, year round. Coconut Court is the nesting beach to over 300 critically endangered Hawksbill marine turtles each year from July to November. The South Coast boardwalk connects the Coconut Court beach to Rockley beach with Lanterns Mall, shops, bars and restaurants along the way.Coconut Court Beach Hotel is located within the UNESCO World Heritage Site district of the Garrison Historic Area. Within easy walking distance to the Barbados Museum, George Washington House, the National Armoury, the and the famous Garrison Savannah Racetrack. The capital city of Bridgetown with excellent duty free shopping, St. Lawrence Gap, Harbour Lights nightclub and Oistins Bay fishing town with its popular "Friday Night Fish Fry" are a short bus or taxi ride away. Rockley Golf course is also close by the hotel.The hotel offers 112 studios and 5 self-catering apartments. All studios face the ocean and enjoy beautiful sea views from a private balcony or terrace. All guest rooms have free WIFI, air conditioning, ceiling fan, electronic safe, cable TV, telephone, fridge, microwave, toaster, kettle, hairdryer, and iron and board. The Island View Apartments are located off site in the Annex (directly across the street from main hotel entrance) and are fully self-catering with separate kitchen, lounge area, private balcony, bedroom(s) with ensuite bathroom(s). Please note that the Island View Apartment bedroom(s) are air conditioned only. Hotel facilities include 2 full service restaurant and bars with live entertainment and Manager's Cocktail Party weekly and daily happy hours, a lively beach bar serving lunches and cocktails right on the beach, a fresh water swimming pool, a whirlpool, a kiddies paddling pool, activities desk, gift shop, currency exchange, 24 hour security and front desk service, taxi and island tour services. Coconut Court is a Travelife GOLD award winner for their continued efforts to protect and preserve the environment. The hotel was also honoured with the Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence in 2011, 2012 and 2013 for achieving consistently outstanding traveller reviews. The Blades family has owned and operated Coconut Court Beach Hotel since 1975 and their passion and commitment to customer service and to hospitality excellence is evident in the welcoming, relaxed atmosphere of the hotel. Coconut Court truly offers Simple Charm and Bajan style! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Regatta Hotels, Expedia, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Coconut Court Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Court Beach Hastings
Coconut Court Beach Hotel Barbados/Hastings

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Court Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.