We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel in idyllic setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Court Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Coconut Court Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Garrison Historic Area, Hastings BB15156, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hastings
Stevenage
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great value hotel in idyllic setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Our first time at Coconut Court, but our eighth in Barbados. The hotel is 3-star so not ultra-luxurious, but rooms are large and perfectly adequate, with aircon, kitchenette and TV. We worried a little beforehand about the noise from the road, but it didn't keep us awake once. All rooms have balconies facing the ocean.
The most impressive thing about the place is its position - beautiful white sand beach (in our view just about the best in Barbados) and safe bathing, as there is a reef not far out. This means that it is good for children and non-swimmers, who are able to paddle out towards the reef and see the fabulous fish. The beach has lots of palm trees too, if you need shade.
The staff here are very friendly and the security on the beach is good - stopping you being pestered by people selling stuff, which happens a lot on other beaches.
There are plenty of cafes and restaurants nearby - Mama Mia opposite, an Italian cafe with beautiful food, the Coffee Bean cafe for great coffee and wifi. A short walk will get you to a very smart little mall, with Italian, Syrian and Chinese restaurants, and a Subway and a great Haagen Dazs cafe.
Very near is Bridgetown and in the other direction, Oistins, both easily reachable very cheaply by bus, We hired a small car for the two weeks, which you can get a really good deal on, if you do the research,
We found wifi didn't work anywhere in the hotel, but there are two hotdesks in reception - ideal for social media junkies like myself.

Room Tip: We chose a ground floor room, as there is no lift and I have a knee problem, but if stairs are not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandgirl1972, Owner at Coconut Court Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Friends, thank you so much for deciding to give us a go for your last visit to Barbados. Eight times? You are almost a local! My dad, Charlie always said, location, location, location and Coconut Court certainly has that. Thanks for mentioning our lovely beach. We work hard to keep it clean and we pride ourselves on making sure that all of our guests feel comfortable and secure. I am sorry that you had issues with the hotel WIFI. It's normally a pretty good service so I will need to check and see what went wrong while you were visiting with us. Sorry for any inconvenience caused. The two wireless computers at the Front Desk are great for those folks that dont want to travel with a laptop or Ipad. Thanks again for getting in touch and we hope to welcome you back to Coconut Court again soon.
Best regards, Linda, Jason, Mark and your friends at the Coconut
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    565
    223
    70
    50
See reviews for
220
665
49
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Just back from Fabulous holiday here at '""THE COURT"" As always so good to see the place and beach front wonderful as well as good food and god value for the dollar . One can be safe and rest assured the staff is most helpful and always pleasant any time night or day .
Family friendly safe water to drink and well secured beach front .
Will be looking forward to a return in the near future !! Miss the Rum and the Sun already !
Thanks folks.

Room Tip: all wel in place for breezes and a/c works well but no need really for this with sea breezes
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandgirl1972, Owner at Coconut Court Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Friend, you are so welcome. Thank you too for staying with us. We are not a fancy hotel but there is something special about this place isn't there? Our guests really make it an interesting experience too. I must say that I am always amazed to meet our guests from all over the world. All well traveled and interesting to talk to. You mentioned all of our star points so thank you for letting everyone know about us. Please come back to see us again soon. I am sure that the Canadian winter must be very cold and blustery. I know exactly what you are going through - I still remember my school days up there... walking to school in -42 degree temperatures with gale force Tundra winds parctically blowing me over... I used to arrive for class almost frozen solid! Dont worry, we'll keep plenty of sunshine and rum punch for your next visit. ☺
Best wishes, Linda, Jason, Mark and the Coconut Crew!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

A lovely place to stay. Family run with that extra attention. All staff so friendly. Love it will return. Check out Ted's tours, a fun day out. Happy hour fantastic. A real treat for all. Staff very helpful e.g. sorting my airport transfers, and arranging trips. Very friendly manager too

Room Tip: just add earplugs due to reggae buses running along road outside. loved it there
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandgirl1972, Owner at Coconut Court Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Friends, thank you so much for writing this review for us. I am very pleased that you had such a wonderful holiday. It's great when you have worked hard all year and saved up for a much needed holiday and you have such a fantastic time. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Yes, I think that you are right, it makes a big difference when a business is privately owned and operated so I am glad that you enjoyed that extra attention. Coconut Court has been in my family now for 38 years and it is a labour of love! Sorry that you had some disruption from the reggae buses. Some folks are fine and other folks find them a little noisy. If in doubt, please request a quiet room or bring ear plugs with you. Most folks seem to be fine with it though. Come and see us again really soon ok. ☺
Best wishes from sunny Barbados, Linda, Jason, Mark and friends at Coconut Court.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heswall
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Just returned from a great stay at the 'CC', in an updated room on the 2nd floor, very clean, nice little kitchenette, good shower and bathroom. Cool AC and a decent flat screen TV.
It's a great location to get all over the island with the local busses and vans, all $1US anywere! amazing.
Breakfast was good but keep an eye on your ceral or toast as the open plan to the beach allows all the birds to fly in & nick your bran flakes!
Nice pool, and great safe beach... no need for umbrellas as the beach is full of shade from all the trees, just move your sun lounger about a bit..
Best of all though was the attentive Antonio, who gets to know everyones names once you have been to the bar and he has looked after you, seriously, he runs all over the beach looking after your needs.. I wish I had him working for me.. Happy hour 12 - 1 and 5 - 6 each day, 2 - 4 - 1 drinks.
Only problem was a bit of noise from the road, and those flippin' frogs at night.. mind a few extra drinks at happy hour and sleep comes very easy in Barbados!!

Room Tip: ask for a refurbished room, all seemed to have balconies with sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandgirl1972, Owner at Coconut Court Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Friend, thank you for taking the time to write this review for us and I am really pleased that you had such a great time while staying with us. Coconut Court has one of the best beaches on the island. There is usally quite a breeze so rather than using umbrellas to shade our guests, we have been planting trees over the years. Barbados is very close to the Equator and our sunshine is very strong. Much stronger than what you are used to at home. The only way to enjoy the beach for any length of time is to sit in the shade. With the trees on our beach, you can enjoy the beach for the entire day and not get a sunburn. This is seriously important as too much sun can ruin your holiday. Thanks for mentioning Antonio - he is totally awesome, I agree. He is the best bartender I have ever met and a genuinely nice person. He makes mean cocktails too so enjoy! I laughed when I read your comments about our whistling frogs. This sound is one that is dear to all Bajans and our island would not be the same without these little creatures. When I went away to school in Canada (and I still have this problem when I travel) I could not sleep as the room was so completely still. I like to enjoy the breeze and all of the tropical sounds that go along with it. Barbados is the gem of the Caribbean - enjoy! See you again soon.
One love, Linda, Jason, Mark and your friends at Coconut Court.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanage, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

What an amazing location, right on the beach, so relaxing. The water is cristal clear and warm, you dont really need a mask and snorkel you can see the fish on the reef without it as the water is so clear. The staff are all so helpful and friendly. Our room was very spacious and cool, with a beautiful view of the ocean, beach and palm trees. Coconut court is in a great location, with a bus stop just outside the hotel that will get you to anywhere on the island. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

we travelled to this hotel in october 12 had a very good time especially at the beach bar with antonio and happy hour and the guy who stood in when he was off. we stayed in standard room they are fine with sea veiw they have everything you need and more. breakfast was ample and not too busy. security guard addy was great help and always cheerful, as were reception staff. went to great cheap restraunt shakers got the bus so far then walked back stopping at bars on the way back to the blue room where anthony and jason kept us well watered you can even charge the bill to your room. met some great people hello jonny and lorraine!. beautiful beach loads of fish hope to go back one day and want to do teds tour as meant to be really good

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 1 week at this fabulous hotel January 8th 2013 for 1 week and we were beyond satisfied! It was my birthday January 9th and the hotel clearly upgraded us from our standard room to room 18 upon check in. We received a beautifully renovated room (which after youTubing we had very low expectations assuming we would get an non-renovated one). Room was very clean, bed was comfortable and the view from our room/balcony was exceptional! The only complaint we had was the lack of hot water for the morning showers until 3 days into our stay which was a little unpleasant, mind you we finished our holiday at a different hotel on the west side of the island and encountered the same issue, so we ended up surmising that this may be an island wide issue. The staff at this hotel were extremely friendly - notably Antonio (of course) the bartender at the beach bar (who never made you wait for a refill) and Andy one of the hotel security guards. The beach at this hotel is massive and always easy to find a lounge chair either in the sun or under the shade of one of the many palm trees. Food at the bar and/or restaurant was excellent and a good value for the money. Always arrived in a timely manor as well which is important after a long day of sight seeing. Happy hour twice a day was delightful, mind you we found the drinks to be quite cheap even without it. Our package included free breakfast which included a few hot items like hard boilled eggs, hashbrowns, beans and oatmeal as well as the usual toast, cereals, and pastries etc. which we found to be more than decent. Internet computer stations in the lobby were awesome for those of us who don't bring our smart phones on vacation. Our room was supposed to have a safe but it didn't, no matter mind you, we were set up with a safety deposit box located in the lobby at no charge. We have traveled to many Caribbean islands in recent years and have stayed at many higher priced hotels but the value we found in this hotel is truly noteworthy. What else can I say? This hotel exceeded our expectations in every possible way and the staff should feel very proud of this resort. It's a $1 US 10 minute or less bus ride to anywhere you want to explore like st Lawrence gap, bridgetown, oistins, concord museum etc. just fantastic! Staying at any other hotel in the south of the island would be harder on the pocket book as well as a potential disappointment. Don't risk it! Stay here!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Court Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Court Beach Hotel

Address: The Garrison Historic Area, Hastings BB15156, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Court Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning, family owned hotel located directly on the beach in the heart of the South Coast. All 112 ocean facing Studios equipped with free WIFI, air conditioning, cable TV and limited kitchenette facilities. Full self catering apartments also available for families and long stay visitors. Located within the UNESCO World Heritage Site district within easy walking distance to several historic sites, duty free shops and restaurants. Bridgetown, St. Lawrence Gap and Oistins fishing town are a short bus or taxi ride away. Winner of Trip Advisor certificates of excellence 2011, 2012 and 2013. The Blades family has owned and operated Coconut Court Beach Hotel since 1975 and their passion and commitment to customer service and to hospitality excellence is evident in the welcoming, relaxed atmosphere of the hotel. Coconut Court truly offers Simple Charm and Bajan style! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coconut Court Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Court Beach Hastings
Coconut Court Beach Hotel Barbados/Hastings

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Court Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.