We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Antonios beach bar!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Court Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Coconut Court Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Garrison Historic Area, Hastings BB15156, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Hastings
heswall
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Antonios beach bar!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Just returned from a great stay at the 'CC', in an updated room on the 2nd floor, very clean, nice little kitchenette, good shower and bathroom. Cool AC and a decent flat screen TV.
It's a great location to get all over the island with the local busses and vans, all $1US anywere! amazing.
Breakfast was good but keep an eye on your ceral or toast as the open plan to the beach allows all the birds to fly in & nick your bran flakes!
Nice pool, and great safe beach... no need for umbrellas as the beach is full of shade from all the trees, just move your sun lounger about a bit..
Best of all though was the attentive Antonio, who gets to know everyones names once you have been to the bar and he has looked after you, seriously, he runs all over the beach looking after your needs.. I wish I had him working for me.. Happy hour 12 - 1 and 5 - 6 each day, 2 - 4 - 1 drinks.
Only problem was a bit of noise from the road, and those flippin' frogs at night.. mind a few extra drinks at happy hour and sleep comes very easy in Barbados!!

Room Tip: ask for a refurbished room, all seemed to have balconies with sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandgirl1972, Owner at Coconut Court Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Friend, thank you for taking the time to write this review for us and I am really pleased that you had such a great time while staying with us. Coconut Court has one of the best beaches on the island. There is usally quite a breeze so rather than using umbrellas to shade our guests, we have been planting trees over the years. Barbados is very close to the Equator and our sunshine is very strong. Much stronger than what you are used to at home. The only way to enjoy the beach for any length of time is to sit in the shade. With the trees on our beach, you can enjoy the beach for the entire day and not get a sunburn. This is seriously important as too much sun can ruin your holiday. Thanks for mentioning Antonio - he is totally awesome, I agree. He is the best bartender I have ever met and a genuinely nice person. He makes mean cocktails too so enjoy! I laughed when I read your comments about our whistling frogs. This sound is one that is dear to all Bajans and our island would not be the same without these little creatures. When I went away to school in Canada (and I still have this problem when I travel) I could not sleep as the room was so completely still. I like to enjoy the breeze and all of the tropical sounds that go along with it. Barbados is the gem of the Caribbean - enjoy! See you again soon.
One love, Linda, Jason, Mark and your friends at Coconut Court.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,241 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    389
    537
    204
    65
    46
See reviews for
200
621
40
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swanage, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

What an amazing location, right on the beach, so relaxing. The water is cristal clear and warm, you dont really need a mask and snorkel you can see the fish on the reef without it as the water is so clear. The staff are all so helpful and friendly. Our room was very spacious and cool, with a beautiful view of the ocean, beach and palm trees. Coconut court is in a great location, with a bus stop just outside the hotel that will get you to anywhere on the island. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

we travelled to this hotel in october 12 had a very good time especially at the beach bar with antonio and happy hour and the guy who stood in when he was off. we stayed in standard room they are fine with sea veiw they have everything you need and more. breakfast was ample and not too busy. security guard addy was great help and always cheerful, as were reception staff. went to great cheap restraunt shakers got the bus so far then walked back stopping at bars on the way back to the blue room where anthony and jason kept us well watered you can even charge the bill to your room. met some great people hello jonny and lorraine!. beautiful beach loads of fish hope to go back one day and want to do teds tour as meant to be really good

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 1 week at this fabulous hotel January 8th 2013 for 1 week and we were beyond satisfied! It was my birthday January 9th and the hotel clearly upgraded us from our standard room to room 18 upon check in. We received a beautifully renovated room (which after youTubing we had very low expectations assuming we would get an non-renovated one). Room was very clean, bed was comfortable and the view from our room/balcony was exceptional! The only complaint we had was the lack of hot water for the morning showers until 3 days into our stay which was a little unpleasant, mind you we finished our holiday at a different hotel on the west side of the island and encountered the same issue, so we ended up surmising that this may be an island wide issue. The staff at this hotel were extremely friendly - notably Antonio (of course) the bartender at the beach bar (who never made you wait for a refill) and Andy one of the hotel security guards. The beach at this hotel is massive and always easy to find a lounge chair either in the sun or under the shade of one of the many palm trees. Food at the bar and/or restaurant was excellent and a good value for the money. Always arrived in a timely manor as well which is important after a long day of sight seeing. Happy hour twice a day was delightful, mind you we found the drinks to be quite cheap even without it. Our package included free breakfast which included a few hot items like hard boilled eggs, hashbrowns, beans and oatmeal as well as the usual toast, cereals, and pastries etc. which we found to be more than decent. Internet computer stations in the lobby were awesome for those of us who don't bring our smart phones on vacation. Our room was supposed to have a safe but it didn't, no matter mind you, we were set up with a safety deposit box located in the lobby at no charge. We have traveled to many Caribbean islands in recent years and have stayed at many higher priced hotels but the value we found in this hotel is truly noteworthy. What else can I say? This hotel exceeded our expectations in every possible way and the staff should feel very proud of this resort. It's a $1 US 10 minute or less bus ride to anywhere you want to explore like st Lawrence gap, bridgetown, oistins, concord museum etc. just fantastic! Staying at any other hotel in the south of the island would be harder on the pocket book as well as a potential disappointment. Don't risk it! Stay here!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akersberga, Sweden
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Coconut Court Beach hotel is a decent hotel with a perfect location. But I think that some rooms need a refurbishment. I will recommend other guests to avoid the Standard rooms and book an Ocean Front or Oceanview Room instead. We stayed in a Standard Room and we had a limited ocean view. The noise from the heavy traffic in the highway was really disturbing in the evening when you tried to get some sleep. The complimentary continental breakfast was really poor. Coffee, toast and some beans in tomato sauce. Really boring when you stay 14 nights. No vegetables and no fresh fruit (except for some apples or bananas some days). But what a wonderful beach! Free deck chairs in the shade of the coconut trees. And a really warm sea to swim and snorkel in. We had up to 30 degrees C in the water during our stay. We also really enjoyed the beach bar with happy hour between 12:00 and 13:00 and 17:00 to 18:00. A local beer, Banks, for only 3 BBD (ca 10 SEK) and a glass of Rom Punch for 4 BBD (ca 14 SEK) during the happy hours. And the very competent bar guy, Antonio, serving us always with a smile and a joke. It couldn't be better. And finally, if you will stay at this hotel, don't miss Ted's island tour by bus. Really an entertaining experience. We will go back to Barbados and Coconut Court Beach hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I've stayed at Coconut Court several times - this last time in December 2012 was really great! Although not super fancy, CC is clean, has excellent customer service and is conveniently located on the south coast.

Things that improved since my last stay that really made me happy (it's the little things):
* Added eggs/protein to continental breakfast (Yay!!!!)
* Free WiFi now available in rooms (Double Yay!!!!)

Things that are always good and make me happy:
* Staff + Management - Super friendly and will go out of their way to fulfill your request
* The beach - possibly one of the best hotel beaches on the south coast
* Antonio at the beach bar - Takes it to the next level! He could work anywhere and has chosen to stay at CC. Lucky us!

Thing that made me not so happy:
* A/C in room was dripping - not a big deal for me as it's near the door, etc.
* A bit noisy as we were on the first floor (but really, how long is one in one's room in Barbados???)

All in all - a wonderful stay and most certainly not my last!!!! Thank you CC!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I came to coconut court in May 2012 with my boyfriend. We spend a week at the hotel, it was our first trip to Barbados. Our stay included breakfast and we had an ocean view room.

The room was very spacious and clean. The balcony had a picturesque view of the Caribbean Sea; we was very impressed upon arrival partially down to the very speedy check in process. One of the main credits I can give this hotel is the food, during our stay we ate at the hotel restaurant “the deck” and found the food to be delicious and well priced. The buffet breakfast which was included in the price of our stay was pretty basic although the food was nicely prepared and tasted great. There was also plenty of choice and a varied menu.

The staff where always friendly and welcoming I must also mention that the man who worked at the beach bar was always smiling and made a great rum punch. The drinks where reasonably priced and the beach bar had a great atmosphere. The beach its self was well kept and was spotless. The hotel was in an ideal location and was within walking distance to many other great restaurants and bars.

There was always enough sun loungers to go around and the pool side always had tables and seats available. Once a week the hotel throws a “managers party” every guest receives a complementary rum punch and can pay for a BBQ buffet. We opted in and the BBQ was brilliant, we had a selection of grilled fish, chicken and beef to choose from not to mention all you can eat sides and veggies. There was live music and a lovely welcoming atmosphere.
We also took an island tour which we booked through the hotel called “teds tours” the tour was fun and reasonably priced compared to other tours that was being offered by other companies on the island.

I would recommend this hotel to anybody who is planning to travel to Barbados. The staff are friendly and helpful at all times and the beach location is beautiful. Me and my boyfriend had a wonderful experience.

The only negative points I can make about my stay are; the décor of the room was slightly dated although the room was very clean and well kempt, when you come out of the hotel the path to shopping mall and St. Laurence gap is quite narrow and you have to be careful not to walk in the road, there is also a guy who comes onto the beach to sell jewellery and souvenirs and he can be quite a pushy seller, we had to say no thank you to him several times before he would leave us alone and even then he lingered by us for some time before moving on to other guests.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coconut Court Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Court Beach Hotel

Address: The Garrison Historic Area, Hastings BB15156, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Court Beach Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award winning family owned hotel is located directly on a lovely white sandy beach in the heart of the South coast. The beach is secluded and quiet with plenty of free beach lounges and shade under the coconut trees. The large protected lagoon is safe for both swimmers and snorkelers of all ages, year round. Coconut Court is the nesting beach to over 300 critically endangered Hawksbill marine turtles each year from July to November. The South Coast boardwalk connects the Coconut Court beach to Rockley beach with Lanterns Mall, shops, bars and restaurants along the way.Coconut Court Beach Hotel is located within the UNESCO World Heritage Site district of the Garrison Historic Area. Within easy walking distance to the Barbados Museum, George Washington House, the National Armoury, the and the famous Garrison Savannah Racetrack. The capital city of Bridgetown with excellent duty free shopping, St. Lawrence Gap, Harbour Lights nightclub and Oistins Bay fishing town with its popular "Friday Night Fish Fry" are a short bus or taxi ride away. Rockley Golf course is also close by the hotel.The hotel offers 112 studios and 5 self-catering apartments. All studios face the ocean and enjoy beautiful sea views from a private balcony or terrace. All guest rooms have free WIFI, air conditioning, ceiling fan, electronic safe, cable TV, telephone, fridge, microwave, toaster, kettle, hairdryer, and iron and board. The Island View Apartments are located off site in the Annex (directly across the street from main hotel entrance) and are fully self-catering with separate kitchen, lounge area, private balcony, bedroom(s) with ensuite bathroom(s). Please note that the Island View Apartment bedroom(s) are air conditioned only. Hotel facilities include 2 full service restaurant and bars with live entertainment and Manager's Cocktail Party weekly and daily happy hours, a lively beach bar serving lunches and cocktails right on the beach, a fresh water swimming pool, a whirlpool, a kiddies paddling pool, activities desk, gift shop, currency exchange, 24 hour security and front desk service, taxi and island tour services. Coconut Court is a Travelife GOLD award winner for their continued efforts to protect and preserve the environment. The hotel was also honoured with the Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence in 2011, 2012 and 2013 for achieving consistently outstanding traveller reviews. The Blades family has owned and operated Coconut Court Beach Hotel since 1975 and their passion and commitment to customer service and to hospitality excellence is evident in the welcoming, relaxed atmosphere of the hotel. Coconut Court truly offers Simple Charm and Bajan style! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Coconut Court Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Court Beach Hastings
Coconut Court Beach Hotel Barbados/Hastings

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Court Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.