We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improvements noted! Thanks Coconut Court!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Court Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Coconut Court Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Garrison Historic Area, Hastings BB15156, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hastings
Ottawa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Improvements noted! Thanks Coconut Court!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I've stayed at Coconut Court several times - this last time in December 2012 was really great! Although not super fancy, CC is clean, has excellent customer service and is conveniently located on the south coast.

Things that improved since my last stay that really made me happy (it's the little things):
* Added eggs/protein to continental breakfast (Yay!!!!)
* Free WiFi now available in rooms (Double Yay!!!!)

Things that are always good and make me happy:
* Staff + Management - Super friendly and will go out of their way to fulfill your request
* The beach - possibly one of the best hotel beaches on the south coast
* Antonio at the beach bar - Takes it to the next level! He could work anywhere and has chosen to stay at CC. Lucky us!

Thing that made me not so happy:
* A/C in room was dripping - not a big deal for me as it's near the door, etc.
* A bit noisy as we were on the first floor (but really, how long is one in one's room in Barbados???)

All in all - a wonderful stay and most certainly not my last!!!! Thank you CC!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    574
    225
    73
    51
See reviews for
227
682
50
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I came to coconut court in May 2012 with my boyfriend. We spend a week at the hotel, it was our first trip to Barbados. Our stay included breakfast and we had an ocean view room.

The room was very spacious and clean. The balcony had a picturesque view of the Caribbean Sea; we was very impressed upon arrival partially down to the very speedy check in process. One of the main credits I can give this hotel is the food, during our stay we ate at the hotel restaurant “the deck” and found the food to be delicious and well priced. The buffet breakfast which was included in the price of our stay was pretty basic although the food was nicely prepared and tasted great. There was also plenty of choice and a varied menu.

The staff where always friendly and welcoming I must also mention that the man who worked at the beach bar was always smiling and made a great rum punch. The drinks where reasonably priced and the beach bar had a great atmosphere. The beach its self was well kept and was spotless. The hotel was in an ideal location and was within walking distance to many other great restaurants and bars.

There was always enough sun loungers to go around and the pool side always had tables and seats available. Once a week the hotel throws a “managers party” every guest receives a complementary rum punch and can pay for a BBQ buffet. We opted in and the BBQ was brilliant, we had a selection of grilled fish, chicken and beef to choose from not to mention all you can eat sides and veggies. There was live music and a lovely welcoming atmosphere.
We also took an island tour which we booked through the hotel called “teds tours” the tour was fun and reasonably priced compared to other tours that was being offered by other companies on the island.

I would recommend this hotel to anybody who is planning to travel to Barbados. The staff are friendly and helpful at all times and the beach location is beautiful. Me and my boyfriend had a wonderful experience.

The only negative points I can make about my stay are; the décor of the room was slightly dated although the room was very clean and well kempt, when you come out of the hotel the path to shopping mall and St. Laurence gap is quite narrow and you have to be careful not to walk in the road, there is also a guy who comes onto the beach to sell jewellery and souvenirs and he can be quite a pushy seller, we had to say no thank you to him several times before he would leave us alone and even then he lingered by us for some time before moving on to other guests.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

One of the best family run hotels in Barbados and most likely beyond. This is why | provide them with a free ad on congabay.com/caribbean connect page. Have been a guest there for almost twenty years and as an ex Police officer, I am a believer in a good hotel security detail.

Room Tip: Ar room with a view of the beach. But if you have problem climbing stars, the second floor is still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

Plus points:
1) Location - bus top to everywhere outside (including the Airport for a couple of UK pounds)
2) Beach outside our room
3) Free Breakfast
4) Air Conditioning
5) Maid service every day


Negative Points:
1) Very basic room even though we had a deluxe
2) Birds landing on table at brekkie can get annoying

Room Tip: We paid around 420 between 2 adults, and although I wrote may 2012, it was may 2011
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This was our first visit to Coconut Court and we were disappointed! Our room was on the top floor. Our air conditioning leaked all week and at various times they came to fix it but to no avail, so we ended up with a bucket under it!
The room was spacious and clean but basic.
There are no umbrellas on the small beach in front of the hotel. We waited for 20 minutes on the day of our departure for someone to help us with our cases which was offered to us by one of the receptionists. We gave up and carried cases and bags down ourselves and then they said they had forgotten!
The beach is ok but the sea is full of rocks and stones, so we took the bus to Dover Beach each day.

Room Tip: There are no lifts so rooms on the lower floors are better particularly if not good with stairs. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed in a newly refurbished room which was clean and comfortable. The view from the Room (No. 19) is beautiful at sunset and has a good overall view of the pool and dining area. The location is great for easy traveling to Bridgetown or Oistin or you can easily walk to Tappas, TGI or the boardwalk. The staff at front desk are really polite, especially Ms. Donna who greatly assist us with a little mishap after it had rained. I must say the gift shop is very reasonable and cheerful. We wanted to prepare meals, however the kitchenette needs more basic utensils. Room service was quiet good, especially on Christmas Day. The breakfast as expressed by other guest is very basic but which is normal for "continental", although it would be nice to add more fruits. Nevertheless we enjoyed our stay at Coconut and would return in the future!

Room Tip: Very lovely view from Room 19
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Essex
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Some changes since 2011, but still a great overall experience.
Some changes to the breakfast the fruit salad has gone but some hot choices available, so overall its about the same and included when you book direct.

Better room this time as it was on a lower floor and this had much reduced traffic noise.

Nice low key entertainment including a steel pan on Boxing day which could be heard from the beach. They also now have the blue room straight across the road, which did some great burgers and entertainment, plus two happy hours!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Court Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Court Beach Hotel

Address: The Garrison Historic Area, Hastings BB15156, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Court Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning, family owned hotel located directly on the beach in the heart of the South Coast. All 112 ocean facing Studios equipped with free WIFI, air conditioning, cable TV and limited kitchenette facilities. Full self catering apartments also available for families and long stay visitors. Located within the UNESCO World Heritage Site district within easy walking distance to several historic sites, duty free shops and restaurants. Bridgetown, St. Lawrence Gap and Oistins fishing town are a short bus or taxi ride away. Winner of Trip Advisor certificates of excellence 2011, 2012 and 2013. The Blades family has owned and operated Coconut Court Beach Hotel since 1975 and their passion and commitment to customer service and to hospitality excellence is evident in the welcoming, relaxed atmosphere of the hotel. Coconut Court truly offers Simple Charm and Bajan style! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Regatta Hotels, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Coconut Court Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Court Beach Hastings
Coconut Court Beach Hotel Barbados/Hastings

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Court Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.