We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Friendly Staff, Amazing Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Court Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Coconut Court Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Garrison Historic Area | Hastings, Hastings BB15156, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hastings
Oxford
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Location, Friendly Staff, Amazing Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Our first trip to Barbados, for our 5th wedding anniversary, and we enjoyed every minute.

The hotel is located in Hastings, about 20 mins from the airport by taxi (cost us 37 B$).

At checkin we were upgraded to a room on the top floor (3rd). Was a bit worried about what some other people were writing about steep steps, but didn't need to be. There are 3 flights of about 15 steps, so nothing too demanding, although when wet can be slippery (just tread with caution).

Room had aircon, plus a ceiling fan (which is all we put on at night), a balcony looking out onto the beach and above the trees to the sea. Another building does block the actual sunset from the balcony (room 54), but you can go down to the beach, or further along the coast to see that better. There's even a fridge, microwave and toaster in the room, although only the fridge we used for keeping our bottled water nice and cool (fill up empty bottles in the bathroom taps, the water is clean as anything).

With the sun rising at about 5.15am, you'll be awake by 6, so get washed and go down to breakfast for 7am and avoid the rush. Don't overlook the "hot tray" with cakes in it. Rainbow cake and banana cake were amazing ! Usual cereals, toast, fruit, coffee, tea, juices (although not fresh), plus some hot dishes (normally egg, occasionally fish, and baked beans). Try not to leave your table unattended when you go for more as the birds will fly down and help themselves to your plate.

Transport: There a 3 types of public transport in Barbados. The offical Blue "school" buses with yellow stripe, the yellow buses with blue stripe, and the little white minivans with a red-stripe (number 11 goes past hotel). All cost 2B$ (or 1US$) wherever you are going.
We took white ones on our first day as they were the first ones to pass the bus stop. It went all around the side roads and took nearly an hour to get to Bridgetown. When we took a blue bus the following day, we were shocked to note that it took only 4 mins to do the same journey. So if you can wait for the regular running blue ones, they are much quicker on such journeys.
One warning - at around 2.45-4pm the children take the blue buses to get home from school as they are free for them. This is not a comfortable ride, with all sorts of body parts pushed in your face. Either avoid this time to travel, or get a yellow or white bus.

Oistins is great on a Friday night, walk around to take in the different kiosks, and then try "Pat's Place". Just Grillin' is down the road from the hotel (you can walk or take a bus for about 5 mins) and does a nice plate of grilled fish with grilled vegetables, macaroni pie and other sides. Try the mauby juice - very unusual.
Shakers is worth a visit, although best to take a taxi at night as it's a bit off the main road. Very good fish dishes and good prices too.

All in all, an well located great hotel in an amzing country.
We will be back - and will stay here again.

Room Tip: All have view of the sea, although if you are on the ground floor you will get all the people at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandgirl1972, Owner at Coconut Court Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Friends, thanks for taking a few moments to write this review for us. I am really glad that you chose Barbados and Coconut Court to celebrate your 5th wedding anniversary. Very romantic! You have written some great tips here for future guests so, thanks very much for being so thorough. Please note that we now operate a taxi/shuttle service from the hotel and we offer free airport pick up for all guests booked direct with us (minimum stay of five nights) and we can offer this service for all other guests that need it at a reasonable cost. Thank you once again for writing such a great review. Take care and we will hope to see you soon again!
Best wishes, Linda, Jason, Mark and all of your friends at Coconut Court!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    602
    233
    75
    54
See reviews for
232
725
56
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seminole, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

In 2009 the service and the people were AWESOME. NOV 2012, just the opposite. If it can be bad, it was. Management does not care. We spoke to them and checked out This was the best value on the island back in 2009. Now, not at all. More breakfast if you get there around 9:15, even though it is suppose to last to 10:00, sorry, all gone. Or if you like your eggs over easy, there is an additional charge. Do not ask for a menu from the hostess if you step into the area without shoes, but you can drink at the bar, just do not step 3 inches.

Room Tip: If you want poor service, stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandgirl1972, Owner at Coconut Court Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Friend, thank you for writing this review of yoru recent stay with us. We sincerely tried to make you feel comfortable and welcome. All of our efforts were refused so after four nights of trying to win you over, we refunded you for the four nights that you stayed with us and all of the remaining nights that you had booked with us and said our farewells. We are essentially the same management team that was here in 2009 and we love what we do here.
I know that this is a public forum and you are entitled to your opinion but I do think that your expectations were very unreasonable while staying with us and I also think that you have written an extremely unfair review of our hotel, staff and service.
I would ask anyone reading this to also read the hundreds of other reviews about our hotel. We are not perfect but we work hard to offer friendly, efficient service at an affordable price. The majority of the reviews on this Travel Site are a testimony to that as is the high percentage of repeat guests and our recently awarded Certificate of Excellence from Trip Advisor. Please read them and make your own decision.
Thank you and I hope that you will continue to visit Barbados in the future while staying at one of our island's fine resorts.
Best wishes, Linda, Jason, Mark and the Coconut Court team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Québec
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed from nov 10th to nov 24th and we enjoyed every moments. We were there for our 25th wedding anniversary, e-mailed the hotel about it, and we got a bottle of Chile sparkilng wine waiting for us at arrival. You can ask to be pick-up at the airport, also.
Hotel directly on the beach, room ocean view with balcony and breakfast included local food. ( there is also cereals, oatmeal and toasts ). The staff will do everything to give you satisfaction, just ask them...They are so good people.
We go out to local restaurant every night, with the RZ buses, ( fun and safe ) and enjoyed the local food. We tried everything, everything. And not expensive. Booked a tour, and got a map of the Barbados from the office at the hotel, to visit St-Nicholas Abbey the rum factory : 4 stops.
Visit Hunte’s garden : beautiful place even if you are not a gardener, and Anthony is a passionnate ( if you go, give him our regards : from Nicole and Michel sweet nothing ). Stop by Batsheba : picture of the beach is out of this world. Stop at Morgan Lewis Mills. And finally St-Nicholas Abbey : rum factory, you can buy the rum only there, no whereelse on the island. The bottle are sandblasted and numbered. This place is almost 350 years old.
We can find Barbadian cigars a the Pelican craft center. Cuban cigars at the Cuban house of cigars in Bridgetown. Barbadian chocolate at Best of Barbados store at the Quayside center, by bus 5 minutes, or at the airport. Barbadian perfume at the airport. We went to the horse track just around the corner. There is a convenience store just across the street to buy Bank’s beer, wine, rum, cold cut, cheese, bread, local chips... There is also the Big B grocery store if you go by bus 5 minutes, 2 BDS = 1 US dollar per person each way. Beside the convenience store across the street, there is Delish Deli where you can buy lunch between 11:30 and noon for 5 US dollars, a lot of choice and big portion !
We can go on and on with a whole lot of information, just write us.
In conclusion, the hotel is a bargain for a 3 stars if you pay half the regular price, like all the visitors did...but the staff are 5 stars people.
Like they say in Bajan : enjoy !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I travelled to Coconut Court Beach Hotel last November (November 2011) and had a very nice stay. We are in our early forties and are beach lovers, yet also like the opportunity to be able to walk around at night, find and try different restaurants, do some shopping, talk to locals, etc. CCBH is located in Hastings on a very beautiful stretch of beach. It is a smaller hotel (as compared to big all-inclusive type resorts) which makes it nice as it is beachfront and you are literally on the beach within steps of your room. The pool, restaurant and jacuzzi all front the beach as well. There is a small reef just off the beach at CCBH, which makes swimming really nice as the waters are calm, and there is also great snorkelling without having to leave your hotel. The waters and beach are sandy, but the entrance to the water can be a bit pebbly (due to the reef), so it wouldn't hurt to bring some water shoes.

We really enjoyed the location of CCBH because it was just aside a very long beautiful boardwalk that takes you along the coast, all the way to Accra Beach. It's a nice walk and the sunsets along here are gorgeous too. There are some restaurants along the boardwalk too, or you can get off at the end, walk across the beach to the road (near Accra Beach Hotel) and just across from there is a great little outdoor restaurant called "Just Grillin". We ate here a few times as had wonderful jerk chicken, peas and rice, fish, pork, etc. It was delicious. Then we would walk back along the road, where we would find other restaurants to try during our stay (we did not choose the all-inclusive option at the hotel). One reason was because our room had a kitchenette with fridge, toaster, microwave, plates, utensils, kettle, etc. and we bought some groceries and had breakfast usually in our room on our balcony, and sometimes even lunch. We always went out for dinner though. The hotel's restaurant had very good food too. We never had a bad meal in Barbados.

CCBH allows you to walk to St. Lawrence Gap, but it's about an hour walk to get there. But on a nice morning or afternoon - i would definately recommend it - the Gap is really a nice spot. We also walked into Bridgetown from the hotel, also about an hour or so to walk there, but we like walking so it didn't bother us at all. There are lots of taxis all around though, so it would not be hard to flag one down.

The hotel room we had was on the 4th or 5th floor (near the top - i think there are only 5 floors), and we paid for the "Beachfront Superior" room. This is supposed to be the 'top" grade of room with unobstructed views of the beach from the room/balcony. We did have a beautiful view, however our room overlooked the pool deck, and beach, and had some palm trees too. We were high enough that the trees did not block our view of the sea, but i don't think the room we were in was the beachfront room - i think they gave us an "oceanfront" room, yet charged us the higher price. In my opinion, since all the rooms face the sea anyway - don't waste your money on the 'beachfront' view rooms - the oceanview superior rooms are just as good. I did ask the front desk about this but they kind of gave me the run-around so i just let it go as we still did enjoy our view and our room was fine for the time we were there. Some rooms have been renovated, some have not. Ours was not and was very bare bones. No pictures on the walls, very simple, but was clean and large and had a big king sized bed, small table and chairs to eat at and a lovely view. We also had a safe and a large wardrobe unit to hang our clothes. A small tv that got a few english speaking channels.

If we returned to Barbados, I think we would like to try staying in the Gap next time, but if you are looking for a great little hotel between the Gap and Bridgetown on a nice beach, Coconut Court Beach Hotel would be a great choice.

Room Tip: Dont bother paying more for a "beachfront superior" room - you will have just as nice a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandgirl1972, Owner at Coconut Court Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Friend, thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It has been awhile though (one year) and we have made quite a few improvements since your last visit so it is definitely time to return. Please note that the room category names were changed this year as follows: Superior Beachfront Room to OceanFront Room/ Superior OceanView Room to OceanView Room and Standard OceanView Room to Standard Room. We have refurbished fourteen of our guest rooms and these are called OceanView Studios. For further information on our room types please visit our website and take a virtual tour. All of our rooms face the ocean but some have better views than others and we have tried to be as specific and accurate as possible to avoid any confusion or disappointment. Thank you again for taking the time to write about us. We hope that you will return to stay with us again soon. Please visit our website to join our mailing list for new specials and updates.
Best wishes, Linda, Jason, Mark and the team at Coconut Court Beach Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Great staff, very good location, rooms very nice and typical of the area.
excellent beach barman. Minor downside - breakfast a bit low average - adequate and a bit of a bunfight but fine. They could have more fresh fruit and not serve the hot food like a school dinner! But the setting is marvellous.
would definitely return.

Room Tip: We paid a little extra for one of the upgraded rooms and i think it was worthwhile - top floor so lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandgirl1972, Owner at Coconut Court Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Friend, thanks for this nice review. I am happy that you enjoyed yourself so much and are planning to return soon. Please be sure to join our mailing list to receive updates and special offers. I am sorry if you had any issues with the breakfast. We are working hard to make it a positive experiience for all of our guests. We try to take everyone's opinion on board and implement changes and improvements when we can. Take care and see you soon. Thanks again for taking the time to share your thoughts.
Best Wishes, Linda, Jason, Mark and the CC team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Don't come here for a quiet, restful stay!

We've just returned from an eleven day stay in this hotel. We chose it after reading many reviews on tripadvisor and had thought that the negative reviewers must have been exaggerating. Sadly, they weren't. The main factor in our choice was that all rooms are ocean-facing, although standard rooms have "limited ocan views". The photo attached to this report shows our view - a corrugated iron roof over the kitchen and dining areas and other buildings with the ocean beyond. It doesn't show the cooking smells or constant noise from the large extractor fan, which made our balcony unusable.

We booked through B.A. and in the past had been very satisfied with the standard rooms on offer in other hotels. I emailed the hotel a week before our arrival to request a room on a high floor so that we could appreciate the view and enjoy a peaceful time to celebrate my husband's birthday. To their credit, the hotel had put a complimentary bottle of Rum Punch in the room with a "Happy Birthday" slip, but I was so upset by the room and view that I initially thought it was standard practice for all guest rooms.

We were given a room on the first floor. The hairdryer was broken, there was no plug in the washbasin and the air-conditioning started to drip during the night. The room had badly fitting doors and windows, indeed there was a half inch gap between the door and floor and a further similar gap between the door and door frame, which meant that it was impossible to block out the road noise and music from the Blue Room across the road. The patio doors at the back were not double-glazed, they fitted the frames loosely and all the music and karaoke noise from the hotel came into the room throughout our stay. The technical faults were rectified very speedily the next morning, but when I asked to change rooms after a sleepless night the receptionist was not at all helpful. I offered to pay more for a better room in another block but was told on two occasions that "This would not be possible due to the high occupancy rate". I expressed surprise that there was no possibility for the whole of our 11 day stay but was just given a blank stare.

Our room was kept immaculately clean throughout our stay and the cleaning and maintenance staff were fabulous.

I notice from reading the favourable reviews from people in the hotel at the same time as us that they were staying on higher floors in the blocks furthest away from the restaurant.

We ate in the hotel restaurant on our first evening. After an hour's wait, during which the waiter explained that the machine wasn't working properly, 2 plates of dried up food were put in front of us. We ate some of the food then, pleading jet lag, went to bed early.

Breakfast consisted of cereal (more often than not sugar-coated), toast and hot dishes such as fried eggs and a Bajan dish. The eggs were usually dried out even when a new batch came out of the kitchen. One point of hygiene, which I commented on to the hotel was that the server often left the hot food station unattended. The food was always covered but the serving spoons were left out and every day we watched birds stripping the food off them in the server's absence. Glass glasses would be nicer than plastic ones for the fruit juices.

We also ate the hotel barbecue after the cocktail party on our first evening. It was adequate but not really value for money. We found several very good restaurants within walking distance : Mama Mia, Tapas and The Thirty-Nine Steps all of which offered a welcome break from the hotel together with excellent food and service.

The best feature of the hotel is the beach, which really did live up to the on-line description. The palm trees offer very welcome shade (although the Benidorm aspect also applied here, with people "bagging" the best spots before breakfast and coming back to them later in the morning),the sea is very pleasant for swimming and snorkelling and the sunsets are spectacular.

The hotel location is also good - the historic Garrison Area is a 10 minute walk away, and there are plenty of local buses from the stop outside the hotel. We went sightseeing every day, taking buses all over the island and only returning to the hotel for a swim before sunset. We hired a car for the last 3 days and went back to some of the places we'd spotted from the buses.

To sum up: if you stay here, make sure you get a refurbished room on a high floor and don't come if you want peace and quiet. The hotel is noisy and situated on a very noisy road. I'm not a "professional complainer" and have never before felt such antipathy for a hotel.

Some responses by the hotel suggest that complaints should be made at the Monday rum punch cocktail and BBQ evening, this is neither the time nor the place to make complaints. Complaints passed to the front desk mainly about noise were frostily met.

Room Tip: A high floor and in the block furthest to the right as viewed from the beach.(east end). Beware, eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandgirl1972, Owner at Coconut Court Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Friend, thank you for taking the time to write this reveiw about your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you were disatisfied with several aspects of your stay but would appreciate it if I could respond to some of your points if I may. Your room assignment: You booked a Standard Room but requested a high floor with a good ocean view. The Standard Room is our most economically priced room category and while the rooms are large, clean and comfortable, they are located on the car park level and first floor. As such, they do enjoy a limted ocean view (your photo clearly shows that) but are not the best rooms in the hotel. You expressed the wish to move rooms and pay for an upgrade but when the hotel is fully booked a room change is not always possible. This was the case with you. We cannot downgrade another guest that has booked and paid for an Ocean Front Room to accomodate your request. That is just not possible - it does not mean that we are not helpful or that we are rude and dont care - that could not be farther from the truth - our staff generally go above and beyond to meet our guest's requests wherever possible. We always advise guests to book and pay for the preferred room category from the start. If the hotel is fully booked we will not be able to move you into a higher room category, regardless of whether or not you are prepared to pay for it. My best advice to those persons reading this - to avoid disappointment, please book and pay for the specific room type that you prefer from the start. Please do not book the cheapest room type and request a high floor with a good ocean view hoping for the best when you arrive. If you would like to be accomodated in a room with a full ocean view on a high floor then please book an Ocean Front Room to avoid disappointment. I am glad that you enjoyed the bottle of rum punch and birthday card for your husband. These occasions are important and we always try our best to remember special times like birthdays and anniversaries. I am sorry that there were some maintenance issues with your room on arrival but I am heartened that these were attended to quickly and with minimal disturbance to you. I also would like to apologise if you were disturbed by the noise from the passing traffic. The hotel is very centrally located along the South coast road and to be fair, some folks have complained about noise but most persons seem not to be bothered. Room tip, if you are a light sleeper, please request a room located on the pool deck as these are below the car park level or a top floor room as these are generally quiet. Please also note that we are improving the windows and doors in all of the rooms that we refurbish. Breakfast: thank you for letting me know about your concerns regarding the food tongs and serving utensils. I will speak to the Food and Beverage Manager and have this rectified immediately. I am sorry if you were disatisfied with the breakfast offering and we are always working hard to offer good food at reasonable prices. We regularly receive commendation from our guests about our friendly, efficient service and tasty food so I am surprised and disappointed that you did not feel the same. I will personally discuss all of your points with the Restaurant Manager and make improvements.
It is our main goal to ensure that our guests have the best holiday ever when they stay with us. Thankfully, most folks love Coconut Court and we have a high percentage of repeat guests. Saying that, I know that we are not perfect and I am a firm believer that there is always room for improvement. Please be assured that we are making those improvements and appreciate feedback from our guests.
On a final note, I enjoy interacting with our guests and I pesonally try to reach out to as many of them as possible at our weekly Manager's Cocktail Party. I am around the hotel most days and if guests have any issues they are welcome to discuss them with me or with another member of the management team. (Jason, Mark, Peter, Sheena, Maurice, Germaine, Donna, Honor, Margaret). There are alot of us! I let folks know where my office is located and I even wear a name badge so that guests can identify who I am and can stop me anytime to chat, ask questions, or ask for help with any issues. I hope that is testimony to my guests that I enjoy what I do and that I am available to assist them whenever I can. I know that the rest of the management team feel the same and enjoy what they do here. I am sorry that you did not have a great experience with us but I am hoping that you will give us another chance. If you do decide to return to Barbados but to another hotel then I wish you and your husband great holidays on our lovely island. Bets wishes to you both, Linda, Jason, Mark and the dedicated team at Coconut Court.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Just got back from a week in the Barbados and wanted to convey how much we enjoyed the Island, and our stay at the Coconut Court Beach Hotel.

I scouted out hotels online and after having read reviews settled on the CCBH. So glad I did! We had a fabulous stay at the hotel. It was a great launch point for everything we wanted to do on the Island during our stay. It's location is pretty much perfect... not too far from St. Lawrence Gap and Oistins, not too far from Bridgetown. Bus stops right outside the door traveling either way!

The hotel itself is very clean and the beach is AWESOME. We booked an oceanfront room and it was excellent. This small establishment fit the bill for us perfectly... we weren't looking for a party zone and were not interested in staying in a large resort. CCBH is right-sized, well run and a friendly place to stay. If you're looking for 5-star digs then stay further up the coastline in the trendy spots... CCBH is family-run and isn't pretending to be anything but what it is. Comfortable, clean, well organized, cozy, friendly, personal. We loved it!

I plan on booking in again, and have no hesitation in recommending CCBH! Thank you, Blades Family, for making our stay memorable and so much fun. Y'all do things right, and you do it well!

Room Tip: Ask for an oceanfront room - it's worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Court Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Court Beach Hotel

Address: The Garrison Historic Area | Hastings, Hastings BB15156, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Court Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently renovated, award winning, family owned hotel located directly on the beach in the heart of the South Coast. All 112 ocean facing Studios equipped with free WIFI, air conditioning, cable TV and limited kitchenette facilities. Full self catering apartments also available for families and long stay visitors. Located within the UNESCO World Heritage Site district within easy walking distance to several historic sites, duty free shops and restaurants. Bridgetown, St. Lawrence Gap and Oistins fishing town are a short bus or taxi ride away. Winner of Trip Advisor certificates of excellence 2011, 2012 and 2013. The Blades family has owned and operated Coconut Court Beach Hotel since 1975 and their passion and commitment to customer service and to hospitality excellence is evident in the welcoming, relaxed atmosphere of the hotel. Coconut Court truly offers Simple Charm and Bajan style! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Regatta Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Coconut Court Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Court Beach Hastings
Coconut Court Beach Hotel Barbados/Hastings

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Court Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.