We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Golden Oldie” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Savannah Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Savannah Beach to your Saves list
Savannah Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hastings, Hastings, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hastings
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Golden Oldie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Savannah hotel of Barbados is located within the historic Garrison District of this wonderful island. While the original property dates back to the early 1800's it is my understanding that the facilities were essentially redesigned and rebuilt 20 years ago. The architect did an amazing job as a long river-like swimming pool meanders alongside the suites as the building falls towards the Caribbean.
A five star hotel with a three star price tag. I have stayed at the hotel over the years but it was only this past week that I returned and was reminded of how great a place this is to stay. Well managed in every respect which show via the professional and friendly staff. Worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    231
    73
    17
    17
See reviews for
168
349
12
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Luton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel has an interesting layout on a south-facing slope leading directly to the Caribbean Sea. It has a kids pool and one with a fascinating design crossed by bridges. Lovely sandy beach though coral rocks prevent sea swimming close by.Our room had a south-east facing balcony taking in the sun until early afternoon. We had a number of rain-showers this being November, but the balcony allowed us to sit out to read. Our walk to the restaurant was sheltered and we found the gym was adequate. All our meals were buffet-style and very varied. The whole area is clean and the staff showed us a lot of interest. The hotel is very well air-conditioned throughout and provides free WiFi and a free PC in the reception.

The hotel is close to Bridgetown and the "reggae-reggae bus" an entertaining way to get there at the same cost as the less regular service buses. Round-the-island trips can easily be done in a day but there are sadly only a few tourist attractions. Trips such as the Jolly Roger and the catamaran that take to the water provide greater pleasure.

You must visit Oistins for an excellent fish meal in a great atmosphere. Fridays is extremely busy so other days if you prefer a more peaceful trip. St Lawrence Gap is your Saturday entertainment with a good choice of clubs. These are easily accessed from Savannah, by bus going out and a taxi back for less than £10.

Mosquito cream saves you getting bitten though malaria is not a risk. We heard a number of reports first hand that their bites cause a severe flu-like illness bringing severe pain and stiffness to adults and children so use the protection!

Room Tip: The rooms that overlook the pool also look towards the opposite balcony. Higher floors avoid being o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My girlfriend and i fancied some summer sun (First week in December) so we booked this hotel based on reviews and the cost of the holiday in comparison to other 4 star hotels. This hotel is 3.5 star and the standard of food, drink and service matches this rating. We are so pleased that we didn't double the amount of money we spent just for an additional half star.

We enjoyed eating at Rachel's in the evenings and the lunchtime buffet in Drifters had more than enough of a selection. The pool, beach and bar are all great, as are the staff. Richard in the cocktail bar was fantastic but i did feel sorry for him at times as he had to provide service to both the bar and restaurant. He only has one pair of hands so look after your best staff, he really is a credit to the resort.

We visited the caves, mount gay rum factory, Oistins and a few beaches all in a week. Don't be afraid to jump on the taxis that beep you as they go past. 2$ will get you anywhere on the island. If that's not your bag then a 10 minute walk either way down the beach is worthwhile.

The room was cleaned very well daily, fresh towels are provided when requested and the air-con was great. The bathrooms a little basic and old in comparison to the bedroom but its what we expected.

Great value and remember you get what you pay for. If you want Michelin star food, service to your lounger and a toilet that flushes itself then you need to look at more expensive hotels. If like us you want value for money and Sun then go ahead and book it. You wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed at the southern palms previously and this is the only other hotel in barbados that we have as a comparison for savannah beach. (Southern Palm is more expensive).

The room: we had a deluxe pool room. It far exceeded my expectations and was much nicer than the garden view room we had at Southern Palm. The only downside was the bath/shower in the bathroom which was old and grubby and didn't work very well. The rest of the room was lovely.

The service: the reception team were great. Unfortunately the staff in the rest of the hotel were not so helpful. One day we returned to the room to find we had no towels. We rang reception and asked for some. We waited an hour before any appeared and even then it took four calls to reception!

Food: chopsticks was good and was restaurant quality. Breakfast was ok. The food at Rachel's and drifters was not so good. Not much choice at lunch. We never eat out on holiday but we went out twice as we just werent looking forward to our evening meals as we usually would be. However we got a good deal which was cheaper than many room only options so we didn't mind so much.

Location: a little too far from the shops bars restaurants of Hastings to walk to at night.We got the bus or taxi which was no problem. The beach right in front of the hotel was full of coral but only about 20 metres to the rights was an area with sand to cool off in although not deep enough to swim. Another 50m either way was the lovely beach in front of the hilton or a beach the other side. The hotel runs a shuttle two days per week to the beach at Bridgetown which was a good alternative.

Other points: many 3* hotels in barbados are much the same, they tend to be run down in places and you get what you pay for. Savannah was no different and I actually think if they did b&b it would get better reviews as most ppls main gripe is about the food.
All in all if we got a good deal we would go again.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahManagement, Manager at Savannah Beach, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Wheatleyrose,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. Your detailed review allows us the opportunity to examine your experience and determine how we may continuously improve our operations.

We apologize or any inconvenience you may have experienced and regret that you may have found the meal options at lunchtime to be limited. For lunch at Drifter's, guests have the choice of soup, salad bar, burgers, pizza, pasta, hot dogs, grilled fish and chef's choice of meat, rice, potatoes and sandwiches. There is also a daily chef's special which are rotated on a daily basis and can range from wraps, rotis, fry fish, chicken or steak and kidney pot pies just to name a few. On Sundays, we offer a full buffet that showcase Caribbean and local dishes like jerk chicken, macaroni pie, fried fish of the day, local vegetables and more. Each evening guests can relax and enjoy afternoon tea and light snacks, then prepare to dine and experience our themed buffet evenings at Drifter's, Al la carte dinner at Rachel's or table side cooking at Chopstix Noodle Bar.

It is great to see that you were able to take the shuttle to the nearby Copacabanna Beach and that you enjoyed the comfort of your room.

We are delighted to know that you would visit again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Just back from The Savannah as a solo traveller there for the first time. I was made to feel most welcome by staff who did their utmost to make sure I did not feel like “ Billy no mates”. The friendliness and helpfulness of staff clearly rubs off on guests to create a relaxed, party feel both day and night amongst all. In the evenings staff enhance the professional entertainment by joining guests to demonstrate local dance moves. A great, fun atmosphere. Take your cameras!
The relatively new chef in Rachel’s restaurant has introduced a varied and interesting menu to appeal to all tastes [including veggies]. An evening in Rachel’s offers an opportunity to enjoy both fine dining and a reason for “dressing up”. Alternatively, Drifters restaurant offers a more casual approach. The Savannah caters really well for all tastes and age groups.
Afternoon tea in Drifter’s is much more of an occasion than previous years as waitress service and a choice of teas have raised the bar.
Rooms are spacious and comfortable and housekeeping first class. The spa is a great place to be pampered.
The priority of all staff, whatever their role in the Savannah team is to ensure guests enjoy the best holiday experience possible.
Whether it’s a day on the beach, exploring the island, swimming with turtles, wining and dining in the many Barbados restaurants, eating in at The Savannah, Friday night at Oistins or going to the races just across the road guests can be sure they will not be bored when they visit The Savannah.. This hotel with an ideal location comes in at 3.5 star prices but offers much more in value. For those who want, the nightlife of St Lawrence Gap is only 10 minutes away and for that “special occasion” the many restaurants [whether South coast or in St James] are accessible by colourful Reggae buses or an affordable taxi ride.
Is this review really true? Unfortunately rarely in life is anything 100% perfect--- this visit the downside was a couple of guests who aspired to Sandy Lane standards but were only prepared to pay much, much less. Nothing was good enough for the bombastic man and his wife who made unnecessary and unkindly remarks to staff, fellow guests and the helpful Virgin rep. Their negative comments were totally without foundation as they were not paying 5 star prices! . I even overhead another guest apologise in reception to the hotel in general for these people’s behaviour!
So forget them........The Savannah not only gives great value for money but is ideally located to provide visitors with a great base to explore the wonderful island of Barbados and meet it’s lovely people.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West England
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our sixth time in Barbados but our first to the Savannah Beach. What a lovely place in a great location.
We had a pool access room which was very nice - great bed, plenty of storage, in fact everything you could need. We also upgraded to the club service and availed ourselves of the great service and sunbeds on the club deck - wonderful.

We really enjoyed the food, particularly Chopstix and Rachaels and we loved Rachaels Bar for a pre dinner cocktail.

Must make mention of the staff who are exceptional.

Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Pool access room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have returned here for 10th anniversary and experienced a wonderful service from the staff who go above and beyond, to ensure guests get the very best of service.

The team here are well managed and long may they continue to prosper.

Many things appear to have changed over they years, along the front of this area, however this hotel, has managed to maintain its roots and long my that continue.

Room Tip: If you can't chill here, you can't chill!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Savannah Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Beach

Address: Hastings, Hastings, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savannah Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the historic Garrison Savannah on the pristine coastline of Barbados, Savannah Beach Hotel is a beachfront four-star resort that easily ranks as one of the most idyllic destinations on the island. It is a Caribbean paradise that simply must be experienced! Forget everything you’ve ever known or experienced about all-inclusive hotels… Savannah is distinctly different. It is an all-inclusive hotel with style! Dive in… Savannah is an excellent choice for a relaxed Caribbean holiday. You are just steps from the beach, ensuring a blissful holiday in the Caribbean sun. Spoilt for choice, there are 2 swimming pools, 1 that meanders through the garden courtyard and has a 4-storey waterfall, the other is located down by the beach. When it comes to family holidays, children and teens are extremely well catered for at this hotel, there is an extensive family entertainment centre (opening Easter ’12) to keep even the most energetic children entertained! For those romantic moments, why not go down to the beach for a moonlight romantic stroll before heading to the late night bar. Live entertainment 5 nights per week, including themed nights and floor shows. Weekly manager’s barbecue party. Three restaurants; the main restaurant has a twist on Caribbean gourmet dining, open for buffet breakfast, buffet lunch and dinner 7 days a week. The Beach restaurant and bar is open 7 days a week for lunch and 5 days a week for dinner serving a wide range of barbecue, pastas, grilled fish and burgers for lunch and in the evening a themed dinner including Mexican, Indian, Chinese as well as Caribbean cuisine. There is also an Asian fusion* restaurant open 5 nights a week for dinner (16 years and over only, a supplement of $25 BDS per person will apply). 4 bars including a late night bar that opens from 11.00pm – 1.00am. Afternoon tea is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Savannah Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savannah Beach Hotel Hastings
Savannah Christ Church
Savannah Hotel Christ Church
Savannah Hotel Barbados
Savannah Barbados
Savannah Beach Barbados/Hastings

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savannah Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.