We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Savannah Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Savannah Beach to your Saves list
Savannah Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hastings, Hastings, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hastings
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Fully recommend you try this hotel.

Food is excellent and the staff in both restaurants and bars were so friendly they became our family.

Thank you Lynette and Jackie and all the gang, you were amazing.

See you soon from the Kester family room 324 xx

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    231
    73
    17
    17
See reviews for
168
349
12
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain, Trinidad
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

it was a trip of a life time the aura of the place was worth the money the food out of this world and the service left nothing to be desired. my wife did not want to leave the place . Also the manager would come around asking the guest about any problems they have and there were activitity designed for the guest that the staff would take part in as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahManagement, Manager at Savannah Beach, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Mervinp_13,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. Congratulations on your wedding; we are delighted that you chose the neighboring island of Barbados for your honeymoon. Special thanks for choosing our property for your honeymoon. We always like to welcome our fellow islanders and are always excited to showcase our Bajan hospitality, food and culture.

We are also very happy that your wife did not want to leave and that you enjoyed and participated in our guests activities. It is always our intention to create memorable experiences for our guests and we capture every opportunity to ensure our guests are satisfied before they depart.

Once again, congratulations and best wishes for many happy years together. We hope that your honeymoon celebration with us would have paved the way for you to consider spending your anniversaries and many more special occasions with us. We certainly look forward to all your future visits
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Station, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

I love the hospitality of the staff. The staff in the reception area were very friendly and accommodating. The food is excellent and the friendliness of the bar men and the servers was lovely. We had a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We absolutely loved being at Savannah Beach. The staff were incredibly friendly and our kids had a blast. The food was great and always available. Pool-side drinks were great and the layout of the 'grounds' made it easy to get from beach to meals to your room to the pool, etc. Take a walk up the beach, either way, and you get a real dose of B'dos' beautiful beaches. Dinner at Rachel's was great too - nice work Henderson!

Room Tip: With kids, try to get a room closer to the pool....otherwise, the layout of the grounds made it easy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahManagement, Manager at Savannah Beach, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear MarkTravels 1968,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your review with us. Thank you for complimenting our staff and our Chef Henderson Butcher. It is always rewarding to read reviews such as this that highlight your enjoyment of every aspect of the property.

Our Family Centre and Kids Club are always a winner with the kids and~ those kids at heart. As it features games and activities for the young ones, teens and adults, it really does add an extra benefit to staying at our property. Our guests have the option of playing pool, shooting darts, playing with the latest gaming technology or leaving the young ones with Carol-ann our kids club coordinator. She always has a hosts of activities and fun times planned for the kids, giving the parents a chance to have a care-free holiday.

It is also exciting to learn that you had the chance to stroll the south coast beaches. An evening stroll on the boardwalk is always therapeutic and relaxing~ the added bonus is, you will also have a first class view of the evening's mesmerizing sunsets.

Once again, thank you for sharing your review with us. We definitely look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to your new-found home in Barbados.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

1st visit there will not be last staff great food exellent. the sea at hotel has lot of coral in it but with right foot ware you can walk out quite far and see the life under the waves.kids club is very good and the games are great aswell. there is an x box and wii with a good variety of games. there is pool and air hockey aswell. birds at breakfast are a pain.most entertainment good but could go on for longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was our 3rd visit to The Savannah this year. All I can think of on the down side to the hotel are the birds at breakfast, I really can't think of anything else. Everything else is fantastic from the maintenance guys to the bar staff and the management. Fabian and Andre and the other bar staff make great rum sours. Wayne and the lady's look after you at breakfast, nothing is ever too much trouble. This time we took our 6 year old grand daughter and she met some friends Cassie and Ashton who went out turtle hunting on the beach and were lucky enough to see a nest hatching whilst they were there. We have only been home a week and already planning to go for Christmas 2014. I'd just like to thank all the staff who treat us like family for another wonderful holiday!!!

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

we have just returned from 2 weeks at this hotel it was our honeymoon -on our 2nd day we returned to find a bottly of bubbly in an ice bucket with 2 glasses waiting for us. The staff were very friendly (except for Andreus behind the bar who really ought to consider finding another job as he seems to hate working there- judging by the puffing and blowing and inability to crack a smile).
We thought the food was just lovely I would recommend you try one of the omelettes from Wayne in Rachels at breakfast and the girls working in Drifters were just lovely especially Keither, Amy, Jackie and Keisha.On my last day I was feeling a bit under the weather and nothing on the menu was appealling to me so Amy arrange for the chef to make something light for me. Unlike 'meme33' review our towels were changed almost daily, The rooms were clean and more than sufficient.
Drifters bar is on the beach and we too had the privelage of seeing the baby turtles hatch. The entertainment was pretty normal for hotels.
The races were on when we were there and the racecourse is across the road - it was a definite must.... they call it Bajan time ie everything is laid back and happens when it happens and this also applied to the races which ended up with each race being 20 mins later than it should be - but this was quite funny as the whole race meeting was extended by about 1.5 hrs !
I would recommend you avoid the tour operators tour of the island and go to the hotel just a few hundred yards away called Coconut Court and go book Teds tours - hes just sooo entertaining and its definitely worth the money - also his friend has a catamaran, its cheaper than Virgin trip and he will only allow 14 people so it was roomy very enjoyable and again worth booking. You really should go to Big Hals carpark Tues or Wed in St Lawrence Gap - for the most entertaining night of karaoke with some amazing local talent.
Avoid the government buses unless you want to stand for your journey and just go on the reggae buses - white privately owned minibuses - certainly an experience.
All in all we really enjoyed the holiday and this hotel - however I really do have a fear of birds and felt like i was in a Hitchcock movie at breakfast time - blackbirds all over the tables - you could not move away from the table - if you needed to return to the buffet room as the birds would be there in a heartbeat taking your food and drinking the milk (after they removed the clingfilm from the jugs) and at lunchtime they would be over by the food containers - if flapping and squawking birds dont bother you then you will enjoy this hotel and holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahManagement, Manager at Savannah Beach, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Judy j,

Congratulations on your wedding and honeymoon celebrations! Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your special holiday with us. We understand how the birds can be a nuisance and are actively working on a solution that would minimize their presence. We apologize for this inconvenience. Your compliments will be shared with the team members you highlighted and we will also address your concerns with Andre. We are happy to learn that Amy was able to take special care of you and assist in helping you to feel better before your flight.

It is always an unforgettable experience to witness nature at its best with the hatching of the turtles on the beach. To enjoy part of our culture at the Historic Garrison Savannah Racetrack was also an added bonus. Special thanks also for sharing your tips on the public transportation and about the island's nightly entertainment; there is always so much culture to experience here.

Once again, congratulations and best wishes for a happy future. We definitely look forward to welcoming you back to celebrate several anniversaries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Savannah Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Beach

Address: Hastings, Hastings, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savannah Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the historic Garrison Savannah on the pristine coastline of Barbados, Savannah Beach Hotel is a beachfront four-star resort that easily ranks as one of the most idyllic destinations on the island. It is a Caribbean paradise that simply must be experienced! Forget everything you’ve ever known or experienced about all-inclusive hotels… Savannah is distinctly different. It is an all-inclusive hotel with style! Dive in… Savannah is an excellent choice for a relaxed Caribbean holiday. You are just steps from the beach, ensuring a blissful holiday in the Caribbean sun. Spoilt for choice, there are 2 swimming pools, 1 that meanders through the garden courtyard and has a 4-storey waterfall, the other is located down by the beach. When it comes to family holidays, children and teens are extremely well catered for at this hotel, there is an extensive family entertainment centre (opening Easter ’12) to keep even the most energetic children entertained! For those romantic moments, why not go down to the beach for a moonlight romantic stroll before heading to the late night bar. Live entertainment 5 nights per week, including themed nights and floor shows. Weekly manager’s barbecue party. Three restaurants; the main restaurant has a twist on Caribbean gourmet dining, open for buffet breakfast, buffet lunch and dinner 7 days a week. The Beach restaurant and bar is open 7 days a week for lunch and 5 days a week for dinner serving a wide range of barbecue, pastas, grilled fish and burgers for lunch and in the evening a themed dinner including Mexican, Indian, Chinese as well as Caribbean cuisine. There is also an Asian fusion* restaurant open 5 nights a week for dinner (16 years and over only, a supplement of $25 BDS per person will apply). 4 bars including a late night bar that opens from 11.00pm – 1.00am. Afternoon tea is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Savannah Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savannah Beach Hotel Hastings
Savannah Christ Church
Savannah Hotel Christ Church
Savannah Hotel Barbados
Savannah Barbados
Savannah Beach Barbados/Hastings

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savannah Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.