We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Vacation Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Savannah Beach

Save Saved
You added Savannah Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Savannah Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hastings, Hastings, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Hastings
Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Family Vacation Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We absolutely loved being at Savannah Beach. The staff were incredibly friendly and our kids had a blast. The food was great and always available. Pool-side drinks were great and the layout of the 'grounds' made it easy to get from beach to meals to your room to the pool, etc. Take a walk up the beach, either way, and you get a real dose of B'dos' beautiful beaches. Dinner at Rachel's was great too - nice work Henderson!

Room Tip: With kids, try to get a room closer to the pool....otherwise, the layout of the grounds made it easy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahManagement, Manager at Savannah Beach, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear MarkTravels 1968,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your review with us. Thank you for complimenting our staff and our Chef Henderson Butcher. It is always rewarding to read reviews such as this that highlight your enjoyment of every aspect of the property.

Our Family Centre and Kids Club are always a winner with the kids and~ those kids at heart. As it features games and activities for the young ones, teens and adults, it really does add an extra benefit to staying at our property. Our guests have the option of playing pool, shooting darts, playing with the latest gaming technology or leaving the young ones with Carol-ann our kids club coordinator. She always has a hosts of activities and fun times planned for the kids, giving the parents a chance to have a care-free holiday.

It is also exciting to learn that you had the chance to stroll the south coast beaches. An evening stroll on the boardwalk is always therapeutic and relaxing~ the added bonus is, you will also have a first class view of the evening's mesmerizing sunsets.

Once again, thank you for sharing your review with us. We definitely look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to your new-found home in Barbados.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    234
    191
    53
    17
    17
See reviews for
120
279
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

1st visit there will not be last staff great food exellent. the sea at hotel has lot of coral in it but with right foot ware you can walk out quite far and see the life under the waves.kids club is very good and the games are great aswell. there is an x box and wii with a good variety of games. there is pool and air hockey aswell. birds at breakfast are a pain.most entertainment good but could go on for longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was our 3rd visit to The Savannah this year. All I can think of on the down side to the hotel are the birds at breakfast, I really can't think of anything else. Everything else is fantastic from the maintenance guys to the bar staff and the management. Fabian and Andre and the other bar staff make great rum sours. Wayne and the lady's look after you at breakfast, nothing is ever too much trouble. This time we took our 6 year old grand daughter and she met some friends Cassie and Ashton who went out turtle hunting on the beach and were lucky enough to see a nest hatching whilst they were there. We have only been home a week and already planning to go for Christmas 2014. I'd just like to thank all the staff who treat us like family for another wonderful holiday!!!

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

we have just returned from 2 weeks at this hotel it was our honeymoon -on our 2nd day we returned to find a bottly of bubbly in an ice bucket with 2 glasses waiting for us. The staff were very friendly (except for Andreus behind the bar who really ought to consider finding another job as he seems to hate working there- judging by the puffing and blowing and inability to crack a smile).
We thought the food was just lovely I would recommend you try one of the omelettes from Wayne in Rachels at breakfast and the girls working in Drifters were just lovely especially Keither, Amy, Jackie and Keisha.On my last day I was feeling a bit under the weather and nothing on the menu was appealling to me so Amy arrange for the chef to make something light for me. Unlike 'meme33' review our towels were changed almost daily, The rooms were clean and more than sufficient.
Drifters bar is on the beach and we too had the privelage of seeing the baby turtles hatch. The entertainment was pretty normal for hotels.
The races were on when we were there and the racecourse is across the road - it was a definite must.... they call it Bajan time ie everything is laid back and happens when it happens and this also applied to the races which ended up with each race being 20 mins later than it should be - but this was quite funny as the whole race meeting was extended by about 1.5 hrs !
I would recommend you avoid the tour operators tour of the island and go to the hotel just a few hundred yards away called Coconut Court and go book Teds tours - hes just sooo entertaining and its definitely worth the money - also his friend has a catamaran, its cheaper than Virgin trip and he will only allow 14 people so it was roomy very enjoyable and again worth booking. You really should go to Big Hals carpark Tues or Wed in St Lawrence Gap - for the most entertaining night of karaoke with some amazing local talent.
Avoid the government buses unless you want to stand for your journey and just go on the reggae buses - white privately owned minibuses - certainly an experience.
All in all we really enjoyed the holiday and this hotel - however I really do have a fear of birds and felt like i was in a Hitchcock movie at breakfast time - blackbirds all over the tables - you could not move away from the table - if you needed to return to the buffet room as the birds would be there in a heartbeat taking your food and drinking the milk (after they removed the clingfilm from the jugs) and at lunchtime they would be over by the food containers - if flapping and squawking birds dont bother you then you will enjoy this hotel and holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahManagement, Manager at Savannah Beach, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Judy j,

Congratulations on your wedding and honeymoon celebrations! Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your special holiday with us. We understand how the birds can be a nuisance and are actively working on a solution that would minimize their presence. We apologize for this inconvenience. Your compliments will be shared with the team members you highlighted and we will also address your concerns with Andre. We are happy to learn that Amy was able to take special care of you and assist in helping you to feel better before your flight.

It is always an unforgettable experience to witness nature at its best with the hatching of the turtles on the beach. To enjoy part of our culture at the Historic Garrison Savannah Racetrack was also an added bonus. Special thanks also for sharing your tips on the public transportation and about the island's nightly entertainment; there is always so much culture to experience here.

Once again, congratulations and best wishes for a happy future. We definitely look forward to welcoming you back to celebrate several anniversaries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I have read a lot of reviews on TA about this hotel which we noted before we went, therefore this is my opinion on what we experienced:

The food was the best we have ever had on an All Inclusive holiday. There were plenty of choices from fresh fish, meat, vegetarian and fast foods. The wine was very drinkable for AI and there was a good selection of Cocktails and beers etc. Eggs were cooked to order at breakfast (including poached and boiled which were always perfect) I can only wonder what the people who reviewed the food as limited and repetitive are used to? I never made the same choice twice. The birds are a problem so we went to get breakfast separately because they didn't come near the table if someone was sitting there. (Surely, the hotel could fit mesh blinds which could be pulled down so the view isn't obscured but the birds are kept out during mealtimes) It did put me off a bit when I saw them walking over cutlery and tablecloths etc. I even watched them pecking cake off the serving slice in Drifters so made sure I always used a clean knife after that)

The accommodation was adequate. The beds were very comfortable with nice pillows and sheets. The aircon was brilliant. The bathroom let the place down as it is shabby. I realise there is a renovation programme going on at the hotel so I'm not complaining that the bathroom was outdated - the bath, basin and loo were clean but the tiling was grubby and needed regrouting. The sealant round the bath was grotty and the floor was only clean in the middle. The edges and corners needed to be given a thorough clean. The chair in our bedroom was stained - yet it would only take a few minutes with upholstery cleaner to bring it up to scratch so I don't think there is any excuse for it not being done. Other guests commented on very similar things and I also read similar comments on TA before we went so you would think the hotel would do something about it.

The hotel offered a shuttle bus to a nearby beach with tokens for free drinks. The beach was really within walking distance but due to the heat it made sense to get the minibus. Evening entertainment was very good but finished a bit too early (10pm) but due to the close proximity of the bedrooms to Drifter's bar it probably suited some people who like early nights. The bar is on the edge of the beach though so it was lovely to sit out at night relaxing hearing the sea lap the shore just a few yards away. The hotel has a decent pool and a lazy river which went directly past our room. It was literally 2 steps off our patio into the water which was great for us but I wouldn't recommend it to anyone with young children.

The floors became dangerously slippy after a shower of rain but I don't see what they can do to overcome this. There are a lot of split levels and steps but there is also a lift for anyone with mobility problems.

Overall, the staff were very helpful and accommodating. I think this hotel could be improved even further by paying a little more attention to detail and I hope they do as it would then be worthy of 4* plus

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor is travelling with young children as it is very close to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahManagement, Manager at Savannah Beach, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear PAULINEHighPeakUk,

Thank you for sharing your review and providing us with suggestions. We value your opinions as they create insight into how we can improve our operation. It is our regret that the birds were a constant bother to you. Thus, our decision to soon fit netting on the outskirts of the restaurant to minimize their presence during breakfast. We appreciate you highlighting your observations of your room and we will encourage our maintenance and housekeeping team to be more vigilant on the upkeep of the bathrooms and room furnishings. You are correct in stating the importance of attention to details and the small things are often the ones that make the difference.

It is great to see that you enjoyed our meal options and that we met your expectations with food variety and beverage selections. The visit to Copacabana beach is always enjoyable and relaxing. Drifter's beach bar also provides serenity at night as you have the option of dining under the stars with the sound of the ocean splashing in the background.

Once again, thank you for your suggestions; we take them seriously as they assist in our continued efforts to provide seamless customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back, as we intend to work on the small details and deliver that 4 star service to you on your next holiday with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

stayed at this hotel four 2 weeks never changed bath towels for 4 days birds in the dinning area eating messing all down chairs and all over your table and eating your breakfast will i be returning no not 2 that hotel .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahManagement, Manager at Savannah Beach, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Meme33,

Thank you for your review and, for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience which resulted in your unfavorable experience. It is always our intention to provide memorable holidays for our guests and it is our sincere regret that this did not happen in this instance. We will definitely look into these concerns and establish a plan of action to prevent future occurrence.

As this is not the standard service that we thrive to deliver, we truly hope that you would allow us another opportunity to regain your confidence in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

First off I would just like to say there is nothing wrong with the hotel but previously stayed at 5 star resorts and as the adage goes . You get what you pay for....
The food was ok, usual all inclusive fare but Service was quite patchy at times. One night we got asked by three different staff if we wanted drinks then the first waitress forgot to bring them over.
It was also a bit hit and miss if you recieved tea or coffee in the morning depending on the time you got to breakfast. I got the impression that certain male staff favoured the ladies and didn't want to put the effort in for us gents and would avoid eye contact and make out they was busy untill the next female came along.
Other points:
Room ok overlooked the beach but was noisy untill 1am.Your probably better of with a pool view room.
Hardly any sunbeds around the small pool and packed close together but beaches either side of the hotel are nice and suitable for swimming.
Lots of steps at the hotel and the slippery tiles are a nightmare when it rains.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahManagement, Manager at Savannah Beach, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Martin D,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It is our sincere regret that you experienced spotty service while you visited with us. We are always commited to delivering memorable and consistent service at all times to all our guests. In this instance, it appears that we may have fallen short of our commitment and for these inconvenience we sincerely apologize.

Our promise to you, will be to examine these concerns with our team to prevent any reoccurrence in the future. We will also continue our training and development with our staff to ensure a consistent service culture.

Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback and allowing us an opportunity to correct these concerns. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Savannah Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Beach

Also Known As:
Savannah Beach Hotel
Savannah Beach Hotel Hastings
Savannah Christ Church
Savannah Hotel Christ Church
Savannah Hotel Barbados
Savannah Barbados
Savannah Beach Barbados/Hastings
Address: Hastings, Hastings, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savannah Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the historic Garrison Savannah on the pristine coastline of Barbados, Savannah Beach Hotel is a beachfront four-star resort that easily ranks as one of the most idyllic destinations on the island. It is a Caribbean paradise that simply must be experienced! Forget everything you’ve ever known or experienced about all-inclusive hotels… Savannah is distinctly different. It is an all-inclusive hotel with style! Dive in… Savannah is an excellent choice for a relaxed Caribbean holiday. You are just steps from the beach, ensuring a blissful holiday in the Caribbean sun. Spoilt for choice, there are 2 swimming pools, 1 that meanders through the garden courtyard and has a 4-storey waterfall, the other is located down by the beach. When it comes to family holidays, children and teens are extremely well catered for at this hotel, there is an extensive family entertainment centre (opening Easter ’12) to keep even the most energetic children entertained! For those romantic moments, why not go down to the beach for a moonlight romantic stroll before heading to the late night bar. Live entertainment 5 nights per week, including themed nights and floor shows. Weekly manager’s barbecue party. Three restaurants; the main restaurant has a twist on Caribbean gourmet dining, open for buffet breakfast, buffet lunch and dinner 7 days a week. The Beach restaurant and bar is open 7 days a week for lunch and 5 days a week for dinner serving a wide range of barbecue, pastas, grilled fish and burgers for lunch and in the evening a themed dinner including Mexican, Indian, Chinese as well as Caribbean cuisine. There is also an Asian fusion* restaurant open 5 nights a week for dinner (16 years and over only, a supplement of $25 BDS per person will apply). 4 bars including a late night bar that opens from 11.00pm – 1.00am. Afternoon tea is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., TripOnline SA, Venere, HotelsClick, Otel and Expedia so you can book your Savannah Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savannah Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.