We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“9.99 out of ten” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Savannah Beach

Save Saved
You added Savannah Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Savannah Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hastings, Hastings, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Hastings
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“9.99 out of ten”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

If you read the reviews about this Hotel you will see they are all very very consistent, with the odd exception of people who really have not got a clue. Ignore the poor reviews as they are clearly from people with an axe to grind. This should speak volumes and having just returned from a ten day trip, then I can vouch for the very consistent reviews.

The beach is great for bathing (the Club deck is better still) - but yes the sea is rocky, but with water shoes then no issue or WALK literally 3-4 minutes either way for the same beaches but a rock free sea area - Hilton beach to the right as you come onto the beach was our preferred one.

Hotel does have steps but nothing too onerous at all. We were on the third floor and it really was not an issue at all. Even when it poured down a couple of nights, only my stupidity in wearing thongs/flop flops caused me any risk of being unsafe.

Had no issue with insect bites at all, save the first day we got there and dopily sat in the bar that night having put no spray on. Rooms are sprayed on request (get done when you arrive) and use a low-medium level repellent spray - it worked for us.

Food was average to good with the odd meal exceptional at both Drifters and Rachels. We did not eat at Chop Stix and in fact never saw anybody whilst we were there either....

Drinks are plentiful and Jackie on the beach (Club area) is simply superb. I would get a nudge on my shoulder and there she would be with another rum punch or beer or dacquori (depending on what I had been drinking that day). The only reason that I have not rated excellent and given 9.99 out of ten is because at times in both bars staff continued to chat with other staff members and not serve customers. Never more than a couple of minutes, but annoying and I know this frustrated other guests much more than me. This one change amongst the staff would in my opinion make huge huge differences to the whole experience.

Rooms cleaned very well every day and beach towels available, albeit you had to sometimes ask for them to be swapped over - again hardly an ordeal but some people love to moan.

This was my 6th time to Barbados and so have done all the trips before. Nonetheless I would happily vouch for them all. I did deep sea fishing using a company called Seascapefishing.com and for the price you pay for two people to go on a shared Virgin trip you get the boat to yourself and they throw in a cheeky swim with turtles at the end also..

For the golfers, you can get a good deal to play the Barbados Golf Club through Virgin when in resort. Cobra Clubs, shoes, return transport (taxi) and a trolley (can pay at course for buggy if required) was only £70 each which in my humble opinion for a PGA course was superb!!

Final tip is to book the private transfer. It is about a tenner extra if booked upfront and means you do not wait for the bus to go via other hotels and also your cases go with you and not onto the luggage drop off van.

If you want a relaxed and enjoyable trip away from the hassle of life then Barbados and Savannah Beach is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    283
    210
    63
    17
    17
See reviews for
150
319
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We just returned last might. We were upgraded the minute we got there. Service is a bit slow. But that is the pace of the entire island. I was disappointed at the very slow pace of refills. I thought the food was good. Presentation was great at Drifters. This is not a place to go if you want non-stop entertainment. They are a quiet place and it is very calm there. The beach is rocky. Didn't like that. But there were easy options if you wanted to go somewhere else for free. Wifi was only available at Rachel's and at beach area. Sometimes we could get it from balcony. But we only needed it to check in with our kids. The TV is limited. So, go to the bar instead. Lots of great people watching. My husband hated the birds that were relentless at breakfast and lunch. I thought they were funny. They were quite bold. Perhaps Rachel's could put fishing line across the open air areas to keep the,mat bay a little more. But they clear the dishes so quickly, the birds have little time to scavenge. Overall, this trip was so relaxing, I would go back even by myself.

Room Tip: Anything with a balcony is great!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

After my visit to this hotel i was so disappointed. I stayed at a different hotel in Barbados
last year which was superb. I found the staff to be very rude, the service was disgraceful
and i did not appreciate drinking coffee out of plastic cups because they did not have any cups. The food was terrible and i had to take my family out most nights to eat, costing me a fortune.The money would have been better spent on a better hotel. I booked two rooms but was only given one for a family of 4 adults. I was told i could have an addition room for £1000. Who can afford that on top of what you have already paid for your holiday.There was a couple of days when we did receive the service you would expect but, that was only because the management happened to be on duty. I believe this hotel could run with half the staff if they worked as you would expect. If i employed them half would have been sacked .After reading the reviews before i booked i have to wonder if the other holiday makers stayed in the same hotel. I am very surprised at virgin holidays for choosing this hotel. I have booked many times with them and have never been disappointed. It takes a year to save for a holiday and 10 days for it to be ruined.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahManagement, Manager at Savannah Beach, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We sincerely regret that you did not have an enjoyable experience at our hotel and apologize for any inconvenience. It is always our intention to ensure that all our guests leave with positive memories of their holidays. In this situation, we are confident that we provided the accommodations and services you reserved, and, that we made every effort to ensure the comfort of you and your family. We contacted your travel agent to clarify if there was a possibility that an error may have been made on our end. After they confirmed that you had booked only one room with them, we decided to extend the offer of a second room at a substantially discounted price. We never like our guests to be unhappy and always extend additional services and amenities that will guarantee their satisfaction and comfort. We value all our guests and are saddened that we were not able to turn this situation around for you. Once again we thank you for you review and look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

hotel nice staff so friendly and helpful. Hotel could do with a make over and pool was not what we expected, very small. Ideally located for the races and coco beach 5 minutes on bus. Food was nice but became a little repetative we liked to eat in Rachel's and nothing too much for the staff. Jackie and Lucy were great as was Wayne. The beach was nice but bathing in the sea was difficult as lots of pebbles and a reef to get past.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Had a great time at this hotel as part of our honeymoon. Stayed in one of the suites- room 237, this was fantastic with two floors & two balconys (one bedroom). Room kept clean on a daily basis and staff always happy to help.
Food was fantastic at both Drifters bar and Rachels restaurant, although we prefered Rachels for the A La Carte rather than the buffet. I am a very fussy eater but could always find something to eat.

As mentioned several times, the sea is quite rocky but still beautiful and it is only a short walk to another beach.

Good location for getting anywhere and the use of the bus will take you over the island. We also enjoyed the horse racing just over the road from the Savannah.

The only thing that prevents this being a 5 star is the lack of activities during the day. Although we were only there for 5 days so it was perfect for a rest. If we had stayed longer, we could've done with some music/ sports activities during the day.

Overall we loved our stay & have happy memories of our honeymoon.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kessingland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This was our 4th visit to Savannah hotel in 16 months.It has got better and better .How many hotel managers cook the barbaque for guests .Mr Fred Smith does. Tracia and her food and beverage team do an excellent job Nothing is to much trouble for them .From Omar at the pools to Elsid on the beach ,They are all a great Savannah family. Michael and I cannot wait to return. Pat and Michael Button

Room Tip: room162 is great for getting straight into the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahManagement, Manager at Savannah Beach, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Pat & Michael,

Thank you for choosing our property once again and for sharing your experience with us. It is always our pleasure to welcome you home again and we certainly look forward to several return visits in the future, Your compliments will definitely be passed on to all those mentioned and to our entire staff. We always like to take special care of our family and with you there is no exception. We look forward to seeing you soon in the near future and to welcoming you back to you 'home away from home'!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

we stayed 3rd june for 7 nights, this was our 2nd time here. great room, wonderful staff and lovely food.best position for the races or nights out at the gap. we especially enjoy the beach bar of an evening which is open till 1am, we,ll be returning next year x

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Savannah Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Beach

Address: Hastings, Hastings, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savannah Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the historic Garrison Savannah on the pristine coastline of Barbados, Savannah Beach Hotel is a beachfront four-star resort that easily ranks as one of the most idyllic destinations on the island. It is a Caribbean paradise that simply must be experienced! Forget everything you’ve ever known or experienced about all-inclusive hotels… Savannah is distinctly different. It is an all-inclusive hotel with style! Dive in… Savannah is an excellent choice for a relaxed Caribbean holiday. You are just steps from the beach, ensuring a blissful holiday in the Caribbean sun. Spoilt for choice, there are 2 swimming pools, 1 that meanders through the garden courtyard and has a 4-storey waterfall, the other is located down by the beach. When it comes to family holidays, children and teens are extremely well catered for at this hotel, there is an extensive family entertainment centre (opening Easter ’12) to keep even the most energetic children entertained! For those romantic moments, why not go down to the beach for a moonlight romantic stroll before heading to the late night bar. Live entertainment 5 nights per week, including themed nights and floor shows. Weekly manager’s barbecue party. Three restaurants; the main restaurant has a twist on Caribbean gourmet dining, open for buffet breakfast, buffet lunch and dinner 7 days a week. The Beach restaurant and bar is open 7 days a week for lunch and 5 days a week for dinner serving a wide range of barbecue, pastas, grilled fish and burgers for lunch and in the evening a themed dinner including Mexican, Indian, Chinese as well as Caribbean cuisine. There is also an Asian fusion* restaurant open 5 nights a week for dinner (16 years and over only, a supplement of $25 BDS per person will apply). 4 bars including a late night bar that opens from 11.00pm – 1.00am. Afternoon tea is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Savannah Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savannah Beach Hotel Hastings
Savannah Christ Church
Savannah Hotel Christ Church
Savannah Hotel Barbados
Savannah Barbados
Savannah Beach Barbados/Hastings

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savannah Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.