We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not recommend this hotel to anybody” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Savannah Beach

Save Saved
You added Savannah Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Savannah Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hastings, Hastings, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Hastings
A TripAdvisor Member
“Would not recommend this hotel to anybody”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

After my visit to this hotel i was so disappointed. I stayed at a different hotel in Barbados
last year which was superb. I found the staff to be very rude, the service was disgraceful
and i did not appreciate drinking coffee out of plastic cups because they did not have any cups. The food was terrible and i had to take my family out most nights to eat, costing me a fortune.The money would have been better spent on a better hotel. I booked two rooms but was only given one for a family of 4 adults. I was told i could have an addition room for £1000. Who can afford that on top of what you have already paid for your holiday.There was a couple of days when we did receive the service you would expect but, that was only because the management happened to be on duty. I believe this hotel could run with half the staff if they worked as you would expect. If i employed them half would have been sacked .After reading the reviews before i booked i have to wonder if the other holiday makers stayed in the same hotel. I am very surprised at virgin holidays for choosing this hotel. I have booked many times with them and have never been disappointed. It takes a year to save for a holiday and 10 days for it to be ruined.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahManagement, Manager at Savannah Beach, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We sincerely regret that you did not have an enjoyable experience at our hotel and apologize for any inconvenience. It is always our intention to ensure that all our guests leave with positive memories of their holidays. In this situation, we are confident that we provided the accommodations and services you reserved, and, that we made every effort to ensure the comfort of you and your family. We contacted your travel agent to clarify if there was a possibility that an error may have been made on our end. After they confirmed that you had booked only one room with them, we decided to extend the offer of a second room at a substantially discounted price. We never like our guests to be unhappy and always extend additional services and amenities that will guarantee their satisfaction and comfort. We value all our guests and are saddened that we were not able to turn this situation around for you. Once again we thank you for you review and look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    234
    191
    53
    17
    17
See reviews for
120
279
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
england
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

hotel nice staff so friendly and helpful. Hotel could do with a make over and pool was not what we expected, very small. Ideally located for the races and coco beach 5 minutes on bus. Food was nice but became a little repetative we liked to eat in Rachel's and nothing too much for the staff. Jackie and Lucy were great as was Wayne. The beach was nice but bathing in the sea was difficult as lots of pebbles and a reef to get past.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Had a great time at this hotel as part of our honeymoon. Stayed in one of the suites- room 237, this was fantastic with two floors & two balconys (one bedroom). Room kept clean on a daily basis and staff always happy to help.
Food was fantastic at both Drifters bar and Rachels restaurant, although we prefered Rachels for the A La Carte rather than the buffet. I am a very fussy eater but could always find something to eat.

As mentioned several times, the sea is quite rocky but still beautiful and it is only a short walk to another beach.

Good location for getting anywhere and the use of the bus will take you over the island. We also enjoyed the horse racing just over the road from the Savannah.

The only thing that prevents this being a 5 star is the lack of activities during the day. Although we were only there for 5 days so it was perfect for a rest. If we had stayed longer, we could've done with some music/ sports activities during the day.

Overall we loved our stay & have happy memories of our honeymoon.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kessingland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This was our 4th visit to Savannah hotel in 16 months.It has got better and better .How many hotel managers cook the barbaque for guests .Mr Fred Smith does. Tracia and her food and beverage team do an excellent job Nothing is to much trouble for them .From Omar at the pools to Elsid on the beach ,They are all a great Savannah family. Michael and I cannot wait to return. Pat and Michael Button

Room Tip: room162 is great for getting straight into the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahManagement, Manager at Savannah Beach, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Pat & Michael,

Thank you for choosing our property once again and for sharing your experience with us. It is always our pleasure to welcome you home again and we certainly look forward to several return visits in the future, Your compliments will definitely be passed on to all those mentioned and to our entire staff. We always like to take special care of our family and with you there is no exception. We look forward to seeing you soon in the near future and to welcoming you back to you 'home away from home'!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

we stayed 3rd june for 7 nights, this was our 2nd time here. great room, wonderful staff and lovely food.best position for the races or nights out at the gap. we especially enjoy the beach bar of an evening which is open till 1am, we,ll be returning next year x

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Once we arrived at SAVANNAH BEACH we where ready to eat! We just got off a 6hour flight...It was tea time.. CAKES, COOKIES, CHEESE!!! NO MEAT AND BREAD! LOL... We where use to just going to get something to eat somewhere in the resort...Savannah Beach was different that all the other resorts we have been too..So we talked to management we told them how we felt..That this wasn't what we thought it would be..WE told them we wanted to go to another hotel..NOOOOOO! They didn't want to hear that..They asked us what is it that we want we need ..They will make it happen,and if where still not happy in 3day's they will take us somewhere else and refund our money...After the first day ,we got use to the way things where around there..WE where fine!!!! the kids LOVED it there..They became friends with all the kids around there! We love it and the kids too!!! the food was wonderful! The rooms was wonderful! Everything was wonderful..Can't wait to visit again!!!!! IT WAS VERY DIFFERENT!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahManagement, Manager at Savannah Beach, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We regret that your holiday started off on a less than favorable note. However, we truly appreciate you allowing us the opportunity to provide the service that resulted in a memorable holiday for you and the family. Special thanks also for rating us 5 stars for overall experience. We are very passionate and dedicated about ensuring all our guests leave with positive memories and unforgettable experiences. Now that you and your family have become part of our extended family, we definitely look forward to seeing you in the near future and to welcoming you back home again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Excellent small & intimate hotel - perfect for couples.

Pros:
- one minute walk to the beach
- staff (particularly at Rachels and Reception) a credit to the hotel
- bedroom immaculately cleaned daily
- Rachel's A La Carte meals were outstanding
- Cocktails at Drifters excellent!

Cons:
- The noise of the frogs and crickets at night!! (not the hotel's fault though!)

Room Tip: We were in room 261 - a pool access room. Bath could do with being updated but the room itself is ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Savannah Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Beach

Also Known As:
Savannah Beach Hotel
Savannah Beach Hotel Hastings
Savannah Christ Church
Savannah Hotel Christ Church
Savannah Hotel Barbados
Savannah Barbados
Savannah Beach Barbados/Hastings
Address: Hastings, Hastings, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savannah Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the historic Garrison Savannah on the pristine coastline of Barbados, Savannah Beach Hotel is a beachfront four-star resort that easily ranks as one of the most idyllic destinations on the island. It is a Caribbean paradise that simply must be experienced! Forget everything you’ve ever known or experienced about all-inclusive hotels… Savannah is distinctly different. It is an all-inclusive hotel with style! Dive in… Savannah is an excellent choice for a relaxed Caribbean holiday. You are just steps from the beach, ensuring a blissful holiday in the Caribbean sun. Spoilt for choice, there are 2 swimming pools, 1 that meanders through the garden courtyard and has a 4-storey waterfall, the other is located down by the beach. When it comes to family holidays, children and teens are extremely well catered for at this hotel, there is an extensive family entertainment centre (opening Easter ’12) to keep even the most energetic children entertained! For those romantic moments, why not go down to the beach for a moonlight romantic stroll before heading to the late night bar. Live entertainment 5 nights per week, including themed nights and floor shows. Weekly manager’s barbecue party. Three restaurants; the main restaurant has a twist on Caribbean gourmet dining, open for buffet breakfast, buffet lunch and dinner 7 days a week. The Beach restaurant and bar is open 7 days a week for lunch and 5 days a week for dinner serving a wide range of barbecue, pastas, grilled fish and burgers for lunch and in the evening a themed dinner including Mexican, Indian, Chinese as well as Caribbean cuisine. There is also an Asian fusion* restaurant open 5 nights a week for dinner (16 years and over only, a supplement of $25 BDS per person will apply). 4 bars including a late night bar that opens from 11.00pm – 1.00am. Afternoon tea is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., TripOnline SA, Venere, Otel, HotelsClick and Expedia so you can book your Savannah Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savannah Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.