We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Savannah Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Savannah Beach to your Saves list
Savannah Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hastings, Hastings, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hastings
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“lovely holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

we stayed 3rd june for 7 nights, this was our 2nd time here. great room, wonderful staff and lovely food.best position for the races or nights out at the gap. we especially enjoy the beach bar of an evening which is open till 1am, we,ll be returning next year x

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    217
    67
    17
    17
See reviews for
162
330
11
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Once we arrived at SAVANNAH BEACH we where ready to eat! We just got off a 6hour flight...It was tea time.. CAKES, COOKIES, CHEESE!!! NO MEAT AND BREAD! LOL... We where use to just going to get something to eat somewhere in the resort...Savannah Beach was different that all the other resorts we have been too..So we talked to management we told them how we felt..That this wasn't what we thought it would be..WE told them we wanted to go to another hotel..NOOOOOO! They didn't want to hear that..They asked us what is it that we want we need ..They will make it happen,and if where still not happy in 3day's they will take us somewhere else and refund our money...After the first day ,we got use to the way things where around there..WE where fine!!!! the kids LOVED it there..They became friends with all the kids around there! We love it and the kids too!!! the food was wonderful! The rooms was wonderful! Everything was wonderful..Can't wait to visit again!!!!! IT WAS VERY DIFFERENT!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahManagement, Manager at Savannah Beach, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We regret that your holiday started off on a less than favorable note. However, we truly appreciate you allowing us the opportunity to provide the service that resulted in a memorable holiday for you and the family. Special thanks also for rating us 5 stars for overall experience. We are very passionate and dedicated about ensuring all our guests leave with positive memories and unforgettable experiences. Now that you and your family have become part of our extended family, we definitely look forward to seeing you in the near future and to welcoming you back home again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Excellent small & intimate hotel - perfect for couples.

Pros:
- one minute walk to the beach
- staff (particularly at Rachels and Reception) a credit to the hotel
- bedroom immaculately cleaned daily
- Rachel's A La Carte meals were outstanding
- Cocktails at Drifters excellent!

Cons:
- The noise of the frogs and crickets at night!! (not the hotel's fault though!)

Room Tip: We were in room 261 - a pool access room. Bath could do with being updated but the room itself is ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

OK . . . where to start . . . We booked the Savannah by accident. We were looking to get married in Barbados and this package from Virgin offered direct flights from Manchester. Not the most romantic of considerations, but Hey Ho. The previous reviews on Trip Advisor were good, the price was right, and it only cost 1300 quid to tag the wedding on - cheaper than a pastie and peas reception for everyone at Horwich RMI.
FLIGHTS: Thanks to Virgin for a fantastic flight. We upgraded to Premium and weren't disappointed. Word of advice: You are given landing forms to fill out on the plane and told that the head of the family can fill out one form for everyone. This isn't the case. All passengers must have a form to hand in, so ask for one each to prevent frantic scribbling in the arrivals hall. Also, you aren't told that there is no tobacco allowance in Barbados. There is a potential charge of $65BD per 200 cigs you take in with you. I hid mine in various orrifices but needn't have bothered because they didn't check . . .but be warned.
TRANSFER: A return private taxi transfer cost £50, booked through Virgin. We were at the hotel within 40 mins of landing.
HOTEL: A 15 minute journey in the taxi. The hotel is an old plantation house built next to the road, and the property is terraced from the road to the beach at the bottom. It is small - only about 90 rooms, so there is a more intimate feel to it from the moment you arrive.
The welcome at Reception was lovely. We were greeted by Susan Hall - our Wedding Co-Ordinator - and check-in was quick and easy. Your luggage is taken straight to your room (Tip the bellman $1BD per case). We were in room 264 - a pool access Club Room on the 2nd floor, and found the room spotlessly clean (and it was kept that way by the housekeeping staff for the entire fortnight). It was spacious with plenty of wardrobe and cupboard space. We had 2 really comfy double beds and a balcony overlooking the mid-section of the pool.
Yes . . there are steps . . . lots of them, and Yes . . .they get slippy in the wet, but common sense tells you to take your time and leave your 6" heels in your case. The staff work hard to make the steps safe when it rains (and it does rain) - just be careful.
POOLS & BEACH: The hotel has a pool that meanders through the cental part of the courtyard in a loop, and another pool at the side of 'Drifters' bar. The pools are all 3'6" deep, so no diving, and they are all kept very clean by a guy who sings as he vacuums the bottom. We were there during half term, and it was busy during our first week, but there were no shortage of sun loungers by the main pool or on the beach.
One slight niggle . . .we had a pool access room which has stairs from the balcony to the pool deck. You can lock the door on exit, but you can't get back in - the key card only works on the main door to the room, so you get out the pool and drip your way the long route back.
The beach is raked clean daily. It is rocky with strong currents, but a short walk either way and you find breakwaters that calm the current down enough for you to swim. Wet shoes are a must, and don't leave the kids unattended in the sea. The hotel lays on a shuttle bus service to nearby beaches (book through reception), so you have the option of calmer waters if you wish. Remember that all beaches in Barbados are public and people wander up and down them all the time. You may well be approached by 'vendors' who will try to sell you their 'wares' . . .Aloe vera, jewellry, massages and other stuff you won't find in Chorley (if you catch my drift), but a polite 'No Thanks' will suffice. They are all friendly and there is never any intimidation. There are staff on the beach that keep their eye on everything and will help you if required.
The Club upgrade allows you to lay on a decked area on the beach. Comfy sunloungers, umbrellas and tables all set up for you by Michael and Martin. Special thanks to Jacqui for keeping us supplied with Rum Sours for 2 weeks - the poor woman must have walked miles to and from the bar!!
RESTAURANTS & FOOD: The food is good wherever you choose to eat. Great choice, good quality and attentive staff. 'Rachels' provides the breakfast buffet and Al a Carte dining in the evening (book a table when you're there for breakfast) and 'Drifters' provides a lunch and dinner buffet, themed throughout the week.( 'Chopstix' was shut for the 2 weeks we were there - but no matter - raw fish doesn't float my boat.)
You may be joined for dinner by the resident bird population. Opportunistic blighters out to steal your bun. They were a nuisance for the first couple of days, but you get used to them ( just like you get used to the noise the tree frogs make at night . . . .)
All the staff are lovely and hardworking, but special thanks to Edwin, Tyrone and Richard in the bars and restaurant.
If you do get bored with dining at the hotel, there are plenty of places to eat all within walking distance, and remember it's only $2BD to hop on the bus and go further afield and prices are comparible with the UK.
We found the entertainment laid on in the evenings very good indeed - if anything, they aren't on for long enough. 10.30pm and they're off!
DAYS OUT: We booked everything through 'Donna' - the Virgin rep. She was brilliant. Helpful and knowledgable without the hard sell. We did the 'Virgins Ahoy' catamaran trip (brilliant), Island Jeep Safari (excellent), the Atlantis submarine dive and the 'Gardens and Gullies' and 'Historic Houses' excursions - all of which were fantastic.
'Oistins' is a must on Friday night - food and craft stalls and a music stage - but it is packed and you may be hassled to buy food or take a taxi . . . . remember the polite 'No Thanks'!
WEDDING: What a day! Perfect weather, beautiful location and a vicar that looked like Cee Lo Green!
Practically everything was sorted out by Susan - legals, hair, flowers, cake, photographer and a bloke playing Bob Marley on the steel drums . . .all I had to do was turn up in a frock.
It was all brilliantly laid back - there aren't many Brides and Grooms who can hitch up their attire and paddle in the sea after the ceremony and not many weddings have a chap in budgie smugglers carrying a surf board wander past during the 'I Do's'!!
Cracking day - special thanks to Susan for orchestrating it so competently - unforgettable!!
USEFUL TIPS: When we were there it rained most days - usually just a quick shower, but the clouds stayed for most of the day. Cloudy or not, you will burn so don't forget the sun screen.
Mosquitoes - Most active at dawn and dusk, these little buggers will have you at anytime, so take plenty of repellent and cover yourself in it before you leave the room (they have a particular preference for ankles). We took plug-in repellents for the room, but the hotel will spray your room if they sneak in through an open door. Take antihistamine creams/sprays, and decongestant meds (you may get bunged up with the air conditioning) with you - they are available to buy at the chemist but they're not cheap.
Currency - Make sure you are clear on the currency that prices are quoted in. $2BD = $1US. US$ are accepted everywhere, but you will get BD$ back as change.
Laundry - There are no laundry facilities at the Savannah Beach so take enough clothes for your entire stay - unless you don't mind rinsing your smalls in the sink.
IN CONCLUSION . . . . Absolute cracker of a hotel. Sincere thanks to all the staff who work so hard to make your stay memorable. We'd return tomorrow if we could - but we can't - so time to save up and do it all again next year!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This hotel is a hidden gem.

The staff are incredible, they cant do enough for you, the food was amazing, must admit we did especially enjoy the carvery on Sunday!!!

The rooms were cleaned everyday and were well equiped.

The pool and beach area were lovely and were never over crowded. The beach isnt GREAT at savannah but there are no private beaches in Barbados so we walked 5 minutes up the beach the the Hilton Resort! well worth it!

Cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahManagement, Manager at Savannah Beach, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for rating us 5 stars for overall experience. We are happy that you had an enjoyable visit and appreciate your compliments of the property, food and staff. Its always rewarding to read reviews such as yours that highlight the friendliness and professionalism of our staff and the comfort of our property. We are pleased that you cannot wait to return and truly look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterborough
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Loved our stay at Savannah beach great room bathroom fine for us see other reviews wonderful staff all really friendly and helpful from reception to bar restaurant and cleaners and gardeners food at Rachel's was really great breakfast. Fine for us continental or full English with a few
bajan speciality such as plantain fishcakes and coconut bakes all very nice prefered to eat in here instead of buffet at night alacarte lots of choice thought would be to small for me but my wife's choice was a good call wine fine in here as well wife loved the rose me a beer or rum used drifterss a few times for lunch really nice to entertainment at night good singers not your usual rubbish hotel old plantation house at front New bit at back lots of great plants and vegetation all around complex drink fine for us selection of about Fifteen cocktails wine help yourself soft drinks and gin whisky brandy vodka and rum not brand names but ok for us all beach fine but as others have said not a swimming beach walk left or right for five minutes and you will find swimmable beach hotel also puts on free shuttle just up the road road to scribe bar in Carlisle bay with two drinks included if you want more beer or soft drink they cost four Barbados dollars also ate there marlin or chicken rice peas and salad 30 Barbados dollars went horse racing about 10 minutes walk from hotel about 20 Barbados dollars for grandstand seats was really fun afternoon seat right on finish line also visited the george Washington house and museum in the garrison area to did two trips vergin ahoy and island safari both arranged by our great vergin rep Donna very nice helpful lady once again thanks to all staff at the great Savannah beach hotel barbados hope to see you all again soon

Room Tip: All rooms ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramsgate
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Savannah Beach was a amazing place to stay a lot has changed since my last visit in July 2012. Not was too much trouble for any of the staff. Had a beachfront room just yards from the Drifters bar which had some of the most attentive staff that brought you drinks to the beach just in front of the bar. Jaqui - Andre- Tyronne are a asset to the hotel very hard working. Food was amazing with a mix of carribean/american food to suit all tastes. I will be recommending this hotel to others. Thanks once again for a fantastic time!

Room Tip: Would say if you are in a beach front room you are near the bar...which is open till 1:30 am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Savannah Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Beach

Address: Hastings, Hastings, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savannah Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the historic Garrison Savannah on the pristine coastline of Barbados, Savannah Beach Hotel is a beachfront four-star resort that easily ranks as one of the most idyllic destinations on the island. It is a Caribbean paradise that simply must be experienced! Forget everything you’ve ever known or experienced about all-inclusive hotels… Savannah is distinctly different. It is an all-inclusive hotel with style! Dive in… Savannah is an excellent choice for a relaxed Caribbean holiday. You are just steps from the beach, ensuring a blissful holiday in the Caribbean sun. Spoilt for choice, there are 2 swimming pools, 1 that meanders through the garden courtyard and has a 4-storey waterfall, the other is located down by the beach. When it comes to family holidays, children and teens are extremely well catered for at this hotel, there is an extensive family entertainment centre (opening Easter ’12) to keep even the most energetic children entertained! For those romantic moments, why not go down to the beach for a moonlight romantic stroll before heading to the late night bar. Live entertainment 5 nights per week, including themed nights and floor shows. Weekly manager’s barbecue party. Three restaurants; the main restaurant has a twist on Caribbean gourmet dining, open for buffet breakfast, buffet lunch and dinner 7 days a week. The Beach restaurant and bar is open 7 days a week for lunch and 5 days a week for dinner serving a wide range of barbecue, pastas, grilled fish and burgers for lunch and in the evening a themed dinner including Mexican, Indian, Chinese as well as Caribbean cuisine. There is also an Asian fusion* restaurant open 5 nights a week for dinner (16 years and over only, a supplement of $25 BDS per person will apply). 4 bars including a late night bar that opens from 11.00pm – 1.00am. Afternoon tea is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Regatta Hotels, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Savannah Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savannah Beach Hotel Hastings
Savannah Christ Church
Savannah Hotel Christ Church
Savannah Hotel Barbados
Savannah Barbados
Savannah Beach Barbados/Hastings

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savannah Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.