We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thought at first we had found the perfect hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Savannah Beach

Save Saved
You added Savannah Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Savannah Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hastings, Hastings, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Hastings
home
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Thought at first we had found the perfect hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Hi folks, enjoyed a really great 4 days here before going on a cruise and looked forward to another week here after before going home. What happened while we were away? It might be the guests who have changed but we feel we are at a Butlins holiday camp. No choice on restaurants (all inclusive hotel) and food not as good as previous week. Really will be glad to leave as we thought it was a well run, well organised hotel for the deserving guests who want to have choice, tasteful entertainment but with fun. This does not have to be tacky. Please take note, all staff are very hard working and really do give the impression they care about their guests. As we are not keen all inclusive perhaps this is not the hotel for us. We have stayed in much better on this wonderful island of Barbados. Rooms vary and we had a suite the first time. coming back it was a deluxe room. The first room was not great and not worth the extra money. Now it is very noisy, help! Please take us home.

Room Tip: Book before prices drop out of season as guest really do influence the joy of your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahManagement, Manager at Savannah Beach, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us! It is very important for us to listen to our guests and learn from their experiences. We regret that you did not find the second part of your holiday as enjoyable as the first and sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. It is always our intention to provide satisfaction and consistency in our delivery of service and to provide all our guests with favorable experiences. We will most definitely look into your concerns to see what may have caused your dissatisfaction and make every effort to prevent any reoccurrence in the future. Once again, thank you for sharing your comments with us; we certainly hope that you will allow us another opportunity to regain your confidence in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    283
    210
    63
    17
    17
See reviews for
150
319
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from this resort (me, husband, daughter & son in law) & it was fabulous. Agree with all the comments in the wilsonwelling review (who we had the pleasure of meeting & spending time with @ this resort). We had a week @ the savannah then embarked the carnival valor ship (virgin organised) for a week cruise around Caribbean islands (also fab)! We were asked by virgin rep Donna before we left for cruise if we wanted to opt for the savannah's 'check out & chill' for our last day. This is to leave the ship @ 11am, picked up & transported back to the savannah, use all the all inclusive facilities, room to shower in before departure, cases taken before us & not seen again till landing in UK! Boarding cards given to us before leaving savannah (so no queuing for check in)! We took this fab option as flight @ 7pm (well worth the equivalent of £22). Thoroughly recommend the Savannah.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

None of this information is intended as a criticism, because I don't have any criticisms. None.

The rooms were spacious and airy, and extremely clean. The food was magnificent, and varied. The night time entertainment at the beach bar was very good, live music, dancing, karaoke etc, 5 nights a a week.

The service is phenomenal , the response to EVERYTHING is "You're Welcome".

Even if you're on the beach, and can't be bothered to go to the bar, the pool bar staff will visit you and see if you want anything.

Technical stuff:
If, for some reason, watching TV in Barbados is a priority to you, then grainy cable TV is on offer in the rooms, a max of 18 US channels, not all of which work.

If you are talking your tablet or laptop, then your UK Netflix works fine, with USA content.

If you're taking a laptop TAKE AN ETHERNET CABLE as there is a socket in the rooms and Wi Fi, although present, is patchy indoors.

The kids club is well and professionally run, and great fun, and our daughter enjoyed her visits immensely. It is NOT 7 days a week though, it was closed on Sunday and Thursday when we were there.

There is also a "teenage hangout", which has an xbox 360 and a PS3, but if your teen takes their console, controllers, and cables, you could probably hook up in your room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Savannah Beach for the Easter holidays and cannot fault it. The staff are some of the friendliest we have met. Love the breakfast buffet especially the egg station, never had to queue which is big plus point. The food was fantastic, booked the a la carte at Rachel's a few times and the menu had so much choice, we never ate the same thing twice and loved every meal. The bar staff at Drifters were always smiling and made the best cocktails, especially the BBC (Best Barbadian Cocktail - try it !) my daughters loved the (alcohol free) mango smoothies.
There was always plenty of sunbeds available either on the beach or round the pool, the beach does get rocky but as previously said a few minutes walk either way and its less rocky. We took the shuttle to Copacabana beach a few times and the beach there was picture perfect !
We booked a few trips with Donna the Virgin rep, jeep safari was a fun way of seeing the whole island and the 'Virgins Ahoy' catamaran trip was excellent. 1st stop was to swim with turtles, 2nd stop was to snorkel on the coral reef and we were served lunch with lovely view of Sandy Lane and neighbouring beaches - food was good and full bar serving any drink you wanted - definitely one of the best trips I've been on.
We hired a mini moke for the day and saw the Barbados we may have missed on an organised tour, very easy island to navigate and the Bajans are very laid back drivers so really enjoyed the freedom of getting out & about.
We thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our holiday in Barbados, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Savannah Beach to my family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, Kent
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed at the Savannah Beach hotel with my wife and 8 year old daughter for 14 nights over Easter. We had a Beach view room, which was enormous and well furnished. The hotel has just 95 rooms
Eating
Breakfast is served every morning in Rachel’s. There is a buffet and eggs are cooked to your specification – omelettes, fried or poached. A range of Twinning’s’ teas are available but the coffee is instant freeze dried stuff (there is a coffee house next door where two regular Americanos cost about £3).
Lunch is served a Drifter’s, burgers, hotdogs and daily specials are cooked to order and a buffet is also available. I recommend the grilled fish and Mac-pie with Bajan Hot Pepper Sauce.
Dinner is available buffet style at Drifter’s and A-La-Carte at Rachel’s, you can order of the menu and it won’t be charged, the prices are for people who are not All Inclusive at the hotel. Two nights per week Rachel’s is a buffet for dinner. You need to make table reservations at breakfast, don’t do it via reception as they don’t seem to tell the restaurant. There is also a third restaurant for over 16s only called Chopstix at a supplement but we didn’t eat there.
Entertainment
There is some evening entertainment. Some nights a singer or group come in and play at Drifter’s and some nights there is live piano music at Rachel’s. We also saw a Bajan floor show with limbo and belly dancing at Drifter’s. Once a week there is lunchtime BBQ and the managers come down and cook. There is a Kid’s club with lots of things for children to do and a games room with table tennis, pool, air hockey, table football and basketball.
The Gym is in the basement and pretty well equipped with two treadmills, two bikes and a stepper. There is also a set of dumbbells and a range of cable weights machines. It does get very hot though so it is better first thing in the morning.
Drinks
The cocktails are fantastic and local beer, Banks, is very nice. Soft drinks are available from the bar or from a self-service machine at Drifter’s. There is also a Nescafe Coffee machine and a range of teas at the same place. Both Richard and Azan mixed fantastic cocktails for us. Ask Azan for a special cocktail, he will happily tailor a drink to your tastes.
Beach
The Beach is rocky when the tide is out. All beaches in Barbados are public so you can walk a little way to the left or right and find sandier beaches. Three times a week you can get a free bus to Carlisle Bay, which is a beautiful beach. The bus takes you to the Copacabana Beach Bar where you can exchange tickets for two free drinks per person per day. Buses leave the hotel at 10 and 11 am and return at 1 and 3 pm. We walked back most days though. If you want more drinks on the beach a beer or a coke/sprite/ginger ale were Bajan $4, hotdogs and fries was Bajan $10 and Grilled Fish Bajan $25.
Out and about
Walking along the beach to the left for about 15 minutes will take you to the boardwalk, you can follow this to another nice Beach (about 29 minutes) and if you then carry on the road for 15 minutes more you will get to a Supermarket, we bought Mount Gay Extra Old, Bajan Hot Sauce and a few snacks here. Opposite the Supermarket is public access to Worthing Beach – another beautiful beach.
At Carlisle Bay we went on a boat for Bajan $40 per adult to swim with turtles and snorkel around a ship wreck. This took between an hour and an hour and a half (much cheaper than the Virgin trip). This is much busier if large Cruise ships are in so try and pick a quieter day.
Opposite the hotel is the Garrison race course. Races are alternate Saturday afternoons. You can go right up close for free.
We booked a horse riding trip independently (this cost the same as Virgin for an hour and a half but we paid a bit extra for two hours)
Friday night is a good night to go to Oisten’s Fish Fry, good food and music, dancing and stalls selling souvenirs. Really worth the visit – go further in to find Banks beer at 4 bottles for Bajan $10, and Fish and Macpie, chips or rice for around Bajan $25.
Buses are either Blue (Government run) Yellow (privately run) or white minibuses called ZRs or Reggae buses. All trips are Bajan $2 per person, reggae buses are great fun with music and lights inside but can be a bit packed.
We also had a few drinks in one of the local rum shops (basically a pub that looks like a shed!) they look a bit intimidating from the outside but the one we used, Bird’s Bar, on the walk back from Carlisle Bay was very welcoming.
If you choose the Savannah Beach Hotel I hope you have as much fun as we did.

Room Tip: Avoid Plantation House rooms as they are on a busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I got married at the Savannah beach hotel on the 21st February and had the most amazing time, the wedding was more than we dreamt of, and was very well organised by the lovely Tamorra.
We were a party of 14 and were all made to feel very welcome by ALL the staff, Jackie and Earl at Drifters deserve a special mention for being welcoming and friendly from the start of the holiday until the end.
The beach was small and a little rocky ( invest in some aqua shoes )but just a small walk left or right there are beautiful beaches and the hotel puts on a courtesy bus to a beautiful beach at least 3 times a week!
when booking request a sea or pool view the rooms in the plantation room are beautiful but can be noisy and limited Internet.
We would most defiantly go back to Barbados it's an amazing island and most certainly stay at the savannah Beach.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahManagement, Manager at Savannah Beach, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our property and the beautiful island of Barbados for your wedding. We are so happy that we made your wedding day memorable and exceptionally special for you. Nothing is more rewarding to read such great reviews that highlight the hard work of our dedicated team. We have shared your regards with all our staff and they are all delighted about your feedback. . We look forward to being your 'home away from home' on all future visits and will still be here to deliver outstanding service for your vow renewals, 50th wedding anniversary and beyond! Congratulations and best wishes!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london.uk
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

For a lovely Birthday in Barbados... It was fantastic. Its my second solo visit to the Hotel but from the moment I arrive and saw the lovely Susan in recepton it was stress free heaven.!

I am a beach girl at heart and although the beach is a little rocky I still loved looking at the fish
and some guests saw whales out at sea my vison not so good. I snorkelled with the turtles wiv Neville at Carlisle Bay and it was wonderful. I also had a nice walk to the Hilton and saw baby turtles being rescued...

The food in Rachels was excellent please thank the chef Henderson he came out and talked to guests and I told him that I missed the Banana and ginger pancakes on the menu and he offered to make it for me before I left !! how lovely is that!! however after I tasted the Wild Berries and lemon mascapone in ginger basket this was my fave dessert!!!

Of course a long lazy breakfast was my favourite as I don't get time at home - always dashing out to work ... the staff kept me topped up with twinnngs tea.

The entertainment was great I loved the Tropicana show with the bajan dancers and the limbo...

All in all I had a wonderful time thank you to all the staff and the Manager who I didnt meet in December I think the problem with the bad reviews is that some people have booked rooms in the old plantation house through their travel agents... if you book direct with Virgin you get the Courtyard Deluxe rooms - so relaxing.
There are over places in the caribbean I want to visit ... but I know I would miss the Savannah beach and lovely staff. If you come on you own you wont feel lonely here... I met some lovely guests ...

Room Tip: Deluxe courtyard rooms or pool access rooms all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Savannah Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Beach

Address: Hastings, Hastings, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savannah Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the historic Garrison Savannah on the pristine coastline of Barbados, Savannah Beach Hotel is a beachfront four-star resort that easily ranks as one of the most idyllic destinations on the island. It is a Caribbean paradise that simply must be experienced! Forget everything you’ve ever known or experienced about all-inclusive hotels… Savannah is distinctly different. It is an all-inclusive hotel with style! Dive in… Savannah is an excellent choice for a relaxed Caribbean holiday. You are just steps from the beach, ensuring a blissful holiday in the Caribbean sun. Spoilt for choice, there are 2 swimming pools, 1 that meanders through the garden courtyard and has a 4-storey waterfall, the other is located down by the beach. When it comes to family holidays, children and teens are extremely well catered for at this hotel, there is an extensive family entertainment centre (opening Easter ’12) to keep even the most energetic children entertained! For those romantic moments, why not go down to the beach for a moonlight romantic stroll before heading to the late night bar. Live entertainment 5 nights per week, including themed nights and floor shows. Weekly manager’s barbecue party. Three restaurants; the main restaurant has a twist on Caribbean gourmet dining, open for buffet breakfast, buffet lunch and dinner 7 days a week. The Beach restaurant and bar is open 7 days a week for lunch and 5 days a week for dinner serving a wide range of barbecue, pastas, grilled fish and burgers for lunch and in the evening a themed dinner including Mexican, Indian, Chinese as well as Caribbean cuisine. There is also an Asian fusion* restaurant open 5 nights a week for dinner (16 years and over only, a supplement of $25 BDS per person will apply). 4 bars including a late night bar that opens from 11.00pm – 1.00am. Afternoon tea is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Savannah Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savannah Beach Hotel Hastings
Savannah Christ Church
Savannah Hotel Christ Church
Savannah Hotel Barbados
Savannah Barbados
Savannah Beach Barbados/Hastings

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savannah Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.