We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Savannah Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Savannah Beach to your Saves list
Savannah Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hastings, Hastings, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hastings
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was a beautiful hotel staff were brilliant and couldn't do enough for you the food was excellent .rooms very big clean and lovely veiws .I will definitely go to this hotel again thank you to all staff for a lovely relaxing holiday

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    231
    73
    17
    17
See reviews for
168
349
12
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Cala d'Or, Spain
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We're currently staying here at the Savannah Beach Hotel, Barbados. The hotel and staff are great, very accommodating, very pleasant and courteous, not afraid to help in anyway.
The only "but" we have is, The Entertainment. Whilst the variety of evening entertainment at the Drifters Bar, so far has been very good, the only criticism is, by 10.30pm, everything has finished, and whilst the bar stays open until 1.30am, there are not many of us left, as it is very quiet. Could be as the average age of the guests seem to be of retirement age, and we are not quite there yet!!!

If you are a beach person, the beach is not one for swimming, but don't let that put you off, as the hotel puts on complimentary shuttle to a fantastic beach a few minutes away, also, whilst the pool is only 3.6 metres throughout, it is a great place to lay around, chill and unwind and cool down in.

Otherwise, cannot fault this hotel, it is a 3.5 star hotel, and you get what you pay for. It is well kept, well managed and good value for money.

A "must" is, get on the local bus, just 2 local bucks will take you anywhere, and quite an experience...all good fun!
We have another 10 days here, and certainly look forward to it.

Room Tip: Would advise against the rooms at the top of the hotel where reception is, as the road is a little n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahManagement, Manager at Savannah Beach, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. As always, we value your input as it allows us to gain a first-hand knowledge of our guests' experiences. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed our live entertainment as we diligently try to provide bands and varied types of entertainment that offer different music genres, amusement and enjoyment. As our guests often travel from varied parts of the world and are oftentimes on different time schedules we try to establish a balance which serves to have everyone's interest at heart. The established entertainment time-schedule allows everyone to partake in the entertainment whilst ending at a suitable time that will allow those who may want to retire early to do so.
We are happy to learn that you also had time to experience the island using our public transportation~ this is truly an experience as you get to indulge and explore the island's scenery, culture and our people. There is also a great late-night experience in St. Lawrence Gap where they are nightclubs and street vendors that serve up more Bajan culture, eats and drinks. We definitely look forward to welcoming you back home with us; where our friendly staff can cater to your every request while you relax around our pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanley, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Just returned from The Savannah Beach. Had a lovely holiday.

Flight out with Virgin was excellent.Transfer was 30 mins. Check in 5 mins. Taken direct to room by reception staff. We had a Pool View Deluxe Double , and bought Club direct from the Hotel. The room was spot on. Massive comfortable bed, large room and balcony, adequate bathroom. Very quiet except for the birds to wake you up, and the tree frogs to send you to sleep.
Two main restaurants Drifters ( on Beach) for lunch and buffet dinners. Rachels for breakfast and Waiter Dinner. Service is what you would expect in barbados, laid back and with a smile but not quick. You just go with the flow.
Food. Bearing in mind that this is a 3 Star Hotel the quality is good...however there is no excuse for the food being cold , which more often than not it was. The Head Chef is responsible and I would replace him because it drags the repute down. That is my only grouse.
If you are interested in Bajan history this is the prefect base, within easy walking distance are The Garrison/ Racecourse/Parliament/Presidents House etc. Racing is every fortnight and was great fun ( 800 yards away). If you walk to the other side of The Hilton, early in the morning, you will see the boys exercising the horses in the sea.
Club upgrades give you a Club room with fully stocked bar/fridge. Club decking on the beach, with deluxe beds served with drinks by the very hard working Dexter and Jacqueline, every 30 mins and other treats. Please tip them!
The Beach:- had I believed some reviews I would have worried. All beaches in Barbados are Public. The "Savannah" beach is protected as it is a Turtle area ( in season) . Forty feet to the left is a warm beautiful swimming area ( just outside The Amaryllis Hotel) There are tides of over 8 feet in Barbados, so you can see rocks!
The Hotel swimming pool is adequate, but the lazy river pool is perfect. Cool and clear.
We booked a Catamaran/swimming with Turtles trip from the Uk with Silver Moon. Fantastic. Only twelve passengers. All Inc.

Overall if you want a 1,000 bed Resort, with all day entertainment this hotel is not for you. It is 80 beds with good evening entertainment, good facilities and rooms. It just needs improve its food husbandry.

Room Tip: The House rooms are basic, but very cool and not so quite. The new building rooms are excellent and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at the Savannah Beach Resort in January 2013 for 1 week on our Honeymoon and had an excellent time.

The Resort is a half hour drive from the Airport, 10 mins drive from St Lawrence Gap (Restaurants & Beaches) & 5 minute Drive from the centre of Bridgetown (Boat Tours & Diving).

We stayed in a Delux Garden view Room at the top of the complex, overlooking the Gardens and fountains and it was perfect. As you can see in the photo's, the rooms are very spacious, well decorated and have a LARGE four poster bed. Everything was spotlessly clean and the friendly housekeeping guys came in everyday.

It's a nice quiet are of the resort at night and the view from the balcony overlooking the fountains and gardens is beautiful. It's also a good distance from the Beach Club at the bottom of the resort so you if you want to get an early night, you wont be able to hear the Live Bands playing down there. (although I would recommend going to watch the live music as it's a great night and the guys at the bar make great cocktails).

There's also free WIFI throughout the Resort, and although I didn't get good signal in the room, It was perfect out on the Balcony. There is also a computer with free Web Access in the Main Reception area of the Hotel.

The beach at the bottom of the complex is a little small and the sea can be hard to navigate due to the large amount of Coral in that area. It's not great for swimming, but it's still a very nice place to be. We hired a Mini-Moke for the week, so we spent a lot of our time exploring the hundreds of other beaches on the island.

I cant really comment on the food a the Hotel as we ate out everyday in the local restaurants which are excellent and well worth a visit.



Overall, The Savannah Beach is a fantastic, quiet little resort which is in a great location if you like to spend your days out and about. We had an excellent time there, due in no small part to the friendliness of the Staff who are always happy to help. I would definitely recommend this as a great place to stay in Barbados and We will definitely make our way back there soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for ten nights in January. Being a three star hotel, we didn't have unrealistic expectations and so were able to enjoy the hotel very much. On most levels it exceeded our expectations. Rooms are very spacious, big half tester beds, nicely furnished large balconies and spacious, if dated, bathrooms. Hotel is kept really clean. Food was much better than we expected, the A La Carte at Rachel's was normally delicious. Portions are on the small side, but with the overall volume of food consumed during the day, that is quite welcome by the evening!
Drifters beach cafe was fine for lunch a good buffet selection of hot and cold dishes, but I don't understand why people would choose to eat there again at night, when Rachel's offers a much nicer evening experience, it feels like going out for a proper dinner, rather than the canteen like atmosphere at Drifters. Breakfast was a bit of a disappointment. Although there is the egg station, which is fine, it's baffling that a Carribean hotel should rely so heavily on tinned fruit and carton juices, when there must surely be an abundance of fresh fruit available? We have stayed at similar quality hotels on other Carribean islands and been delighted with the fresh fruit on offer.
Staff are generally excellent, friendly, professional and very hard working. The only exception were some of the reception staff, who seem to have forgotten how to smile. The hotel,is well positioned, it's lovely to be able to stroll along the beach in both directions, to the right you can walk to the Hilton Hotel, cut through the lane just before it, skirt round onto Carlisle Beach, and walk all the way into Bridgetown if you want (about 45 mins). This walk will take you past the other beach that the hotel shuttle runs to, by the Cococabana Bar. Many reviewers have preferred this wider beach to the one outside our hotel, but we like the more intimate feel,of the Savannah beach area. It's handy though to be able to use your all inclusive tag to get a drink at Cococabana whilst on a beach walk, but remember, they will,only honour this on the days the Savannah shuttle runs (Tues, Thurs, Sat & Sun). Walk to the left on the Savannah beach and you are soon on the Boardwalk, we enjoyed the stroll right along to Accra Beach ( about 30 mins), and rewarded our efforts with a nice cocktail at Champers, high up,over the beach with wonderful views.
There are a few little niggles about this hotel that stop it from getting the full 5 points. They seem to have a problem with their bathroom linen, getting hand towels in your room was a bit of a lottery, no one knew from one day to the next if they'd get any, and housekeeping would just say they'd run out, surely an easy thing to fix? The one adjective we used repeatedly was 'happhazard', the weekly entertainment and dining list was always wrong, something that was scheduled to happen never did, but then a completely unscheduled act would turn up elsewhere ! It kept us guessing, so no chance to get bored!
On the whole through, this is an excellent little hotel, the charm and friendliness of the staff seem to rub off on the guests, we have never had such a nice time on holiday chatting to so many other couples.
A final word about trips out, as its so easy to stroll from the hotel we only did two proper trips, a one day car hire ( beware at peak times it's quite a struggle to organise car hire) to tour the island, a great day out and really nice to see the very different character of each coast. We did a catamaran trip (Cool Runnings) which was amazing - see separate Trip Adviser review. And - being just across the road, we sauntered over to the Race Track for a Saturday afternoon meet, at about £3 a head for a seat in the stand, fantastic value and great fun.
It's a great little hotel and a lovely island with very friendly people, a perfect holiday destination!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Like most I read but don't review. Having read some of the negative reviews I felt I had to put fingers to keys.

We had a deluxe courtyard view room, these are nearest to Rachel's restaurant but aren't noisy. As an upper room they get either morning or afternoon sun on the balcony, something you don't really get with the poolside rooms.

We found the staff at the hotel brilliant, speaking to people that had been before, over the last year or so since Virgin took them on they've come on leaps and bounds. They were all well informed, friendly and reasonably efficient.

The food - breakfasts, a good mix of traditional english cooked, cold meats, and the star being the 'eggs to order' bar where great omlettes were made.

Drifters - For lunch there was plenty of choice and variety each day, if you stay more than a week you'll get repetition but always 3 or 4 good dishes to choose from which incorporate Bajan as well as world favourites like Lasagne.

Rachels - we ate from both the a la carte and set menus and thought the dishes were great, perhaps a better rotation of dessert would be my only criticism. Less Coldplay though please!

The entertainment in Drifterswas better than the dodgy club singers you usually encounter too. If you want a lazy beach holiday with really needing to leave the hotel you'll be well set. If you want boring corporate, stay at the big name hotel down the road, if you want a little quirkly but clean stay here. We will definitely be back.

Criticisms - The pool could be open a little more than it was. Drifters at night was occasionally not as well staffed as it could be leading to a bit of a wait for a drink (this was the exception though). Also, towels especially face cloths in the room was a bit hit and miss.

Room Tip: Deluxe Courtyard view on the Garrison side have afternoon sun on their balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wton west mids
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We only stayed here for 3 nights as part of a cruise and stay holiday and were sorry to be moving on so quickly as were enjoying it so much ! The room was lovely it was really big with a big comfy bed we had a patio with a rattan sofa outside which was nice and could be used if there were showers to sit and read in peace and quiet (we had no rain so were lucky except on the day we arrived back to Barbados)
The beach area is lovely you can walk either way from the hotel and its so peaceful , there are turtles in the sea and they lay their eggs in the sand not far from the hotel. There were lots of beautiful birds flying round and no hawkers on the beach which was good ! The hotel food is quite good . We went to the managers BBQ on our return to Barbados we went back the day of our flight, this was a really lovely way to spend our last afternoon before the coach came to take us to the airport.(note we did have to pay extra for the last day but was worth it rather than sitting 5 hours in the airport)
The night time entertainers were good we had 3 girl singers the one night who were really good and 2 other acts the other nights but all were far better than you would expect in such a small hotel. We also had quizzes which were fun.
I did not use the pool as I was quite happy sitting on the beach looking at the waves crashing in and trying to spot the turtles ! All the staff were friendly and helpful , they are all laid back and what you would expect in such a lovely place why rush round ? we have enough rushing round here in England ! The hotel was like being in an old colonial club and was great ! I would love to go back next time I go to Barbados . A great place for rest and relaxation with enough going on at night to keep you happy.

Room Tip: we had a room on the ground floor which was great for access to the beach and the beach bar/restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Savannah Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Beach

Address: Hastings, Hastings, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savannah Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the historic Garrison Savannah on the pristine coastline of Barbados, Savannah Beach Hotel is a beachfront four-star resort that easily ranks as one of the most idyllic destinations on the island. It is a Caribbean paradise that simply must be experienced! Forget everything you’ve ever known or experienced about all-inclusive hotels… Savannah is distinctly different. It is an all-inclusive hotel with style! Dive in… Savannah is an excellent choice for a relaxed Caribbean holiday. You are just steps from the beach, ensuring a blissful holiday in the Caribbean sun. Spoilt for choice, there are 2 swimming pools, 1 that meanders through the garden courtyard and has a 4-storey waterfall, the other is located down by the beach. When it comes to family holidays, children and teens are extremely well catered for at this hotel, there is an extensive family entertainment centre (opening Easter ’12) to keep even the most energetic children entertained! For those romantic moments, why not go down to the beach for a moonlight romantic stroll before heading to the late night bar. Live entertainment 5 nights per week, including themed nights and floor shows. Weekly manager’s barbecue party. Three restaurants; the main restaurant has a twist on Caribbean gourmet dining, open for buffet breakfast, buffet lunch and dinner 7 days a week. The Beach restaurant and bar is open 7 days a week for lunch and 5 days a week for dinner serving a wide range of barbecue, pastas, grilled fish and burgers for lunch and in the evening a themed dinner including Mexican, Indian, Chinese as well as Caribbean cuisine. There is also an Asian fusion* restaurant open 5 nights a week for dinner (16 years and over only, a supplement of $25 BDS per person will apply). 4 bars including a late night bar that opens from 11.00pm – 1.00am. Afternoon tea is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Savannah Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savannah Beach Hotel Hastings
Savannah Christ Church
Savannah Hotel Christ Church
Savannah Hotel Barbados
Savannah Barbados
Savannah Beach Barbados/Hastings

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savannah Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.