We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big al” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Savannah Beach

Save Saved
You added Savannah Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Savannah Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hastings, Hastings, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Hastings
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Big al”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We have been to barbados before and had a brill time we went again jan 14 2013 with our very good friends and had an equally brill time at savannah beach hotel not going to write a book like the people who had a worst hotel experience because they must be extremely difficult to please or just utter snobs you could not wish to be in a better place with wonderful people to look after you we had the most fantastic holiday and we are booking to go back next year but this time for longer just brilliant roll on jan 2014

Room Tip: Pool access room and balcony great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    283
    210
    64
    17
    17
See reviews for
151
319
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Just arrived back in the UK,after two lovely weeks in the Savannah.We first booked a room in the large main building,room210,but there was a slight problem with the shower,and after a nice chat with the staff,they offered us room number 326 EmeraldWing.We over looked the small winding pool,and our access to our room was by lift or two flights of steps.No problems.The service and food,was for us,enjoyable,and the choice was good,even by UK hotel standards.Listen,if you are going abroad and want a full english,dont expect it to be like the one you get down the road,but boy,do they try to make you feel at home.Cannot fault this hotel in the attitude to you regarding any problems that may occur.Yes,it can take time,but hey,this is the Caribbean and things are more laid back than back home.Just one request management---In the Drifters bar in the evening,you could really do with some crisps and peanuts on the tables to help wind away the lovely warm rum filled nights!!!---Savings up already to come back to see you all,Susan,Tricia and everybody-------------GARY&DINA

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was my first time in Barbados and some where I have always wanted to go. So for my 50th birthday on January 18th 2013 my husband & I stayed at the Savannah. We arrived on the 14th January and the hotel and the bedroom for perfect. We had a four poster deluxe room number 364 which is just in the right location quiet and not to far from Rachel's where you have breakfast in the morning and from Drifters where you have lunch and evening meals. Drifters is right by the beach and although there is coral there you can walk left or right to find your perfect spot. The staff are all friendly at the Savannah and the bedrooms and bathroom are cleaned everyday. Although this was our first visit to the hotel we are definitely going back there again as we both loved the location. We used the Reggie buses all the time and it was 2 barbadian dollars per person every time and they do give change not like the normal buses that don't. They play Reggie music as they drive along and drop you door to door. We booked it all through Virgin and everything was perfect. Thank you Savannah and Virgin for making all holiday and Virgin so special. Wish we could have stayed longer than a week.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the beach are great but nearer to the music at night. A pool view is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was our 7th visit to Barbados and this is the best hotel we have stayed at. We had a deluxe pool access room which was great with a big comfortable bed and a flat screen TV and a good shower over a bath in the bathroom. There are plenty of sun beds around the pool area and the beach which is small but you don't feel crowded, and although there is some coral rock in the sea if you go to the left you can swim in front of the Amaryllis. The pool has a swim up bar where you just ring the bell to get a drink whist still relaxing in the water, the lazy river pool is great too. The food is great with lots of choices at the buffet at Drifters bar or a la carte at Rachel's ( you have to book a table but this can be done at breakfast). The staff are all friendly and like to inter act with the guests, keep wearing those shirts Wayne and next time I'll bring some more for competition!
Another bonus at this hotel is the free shuttle bus (book with reception for the bus) to Carlisle Bay Beach with drinks included at the Copa Cabana Bar and sun beds with umbrellas.
In the evenings there is usually some local entertainment laid on at Drifters, it stops before midnight, and if you are lucky like us the baby turtles hatch and when the rescue people come along you can help release them back into the sea away from the bright lights of the hotels, over 400 turtles released in our 2 week stay.
We would always return to this hotel. Thanks everyone Bob & Carol

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I am writing this review in the hope that you will re-think staying at the Savannah Beach Hotel. Our holiday to Barbados back in March was supposed to be a once in a lifetime trip that we had saved up for months in order to be able to afford, yet we were left absolutely disgusted by the treatment we received here and the non-existent customer service. After 5 hours sleep and an 8 hour flight all we wanted to do was go to our room, but we were left waiting around for almost an hour without a clue what was going on. It was 5pm local time by this point; check in was at 3pm.

After finally receiving a key and taking our own bags up 3 flights of stairs just so we didn't have to wait any longer, we got an even more unwelcome surprise. Our room was appalling (cupboard doors falling off, bare wiring on the walls, dirty bathroom) not at all what we had booked, and to top it all it was right on a busy road with single glazed windows. I promptly went back downstairs to reception where I demanded to know why we had not been given the ‘deluxe courtyard view room’ that we had booked. Their reply was ‘do you have some wine in your room’? I briefly remembered seeing a cheap bottle of fizz, so I replied yes. ‘Oh right, you have been downgraded.’ Apparently the hotel was at full capacity and they had no other rooms. They NEVER apologised and NEVER accepted any blame/responsibility for these actions and merely stated that we would have to speak to our rep (who didn't appear until the next day).We would also have to wait until people left on Wednesday (3 days into our 7 day holiday) to get something else. I was absolutely distraught and spent the majority of the first few days of our ‘dream, romantic, paradise holiday’ crying my eyes out.

So the question is…had I not gone downstairs to complain would I have been told about the downgrade at all or just left to figure it out? We should have been informed about this by the hotel the minute that they knew which must have been for some time because you don’t organise the bookings the day the guests arrive, it is worked out months in advance. We booked the holiday for MARCH in JANUARY, so there was absolutely no excuse for this failing whatsoever.

On the first night of our holiday and after all the above drama we went to dinner, waited half an hour for a table, waited 45 mins for tiny portions of mediocre food and promptly left before dessert arrived. In the morning we went to get breakfast, hoping that this would revive us. We were completely ignored for about 10 mins until we finally sat down at the dirty table, only to be uprooted once again while they cleaned it. We then waited 30 mins to get any offer of tea/coffee/water, whilst other holiday goers got theirs topped up frequently. It felt like we were invisible and I have never been treated so rudely in my life. We then spent the first day of our holiday waiting around ringing people to try and find a solution. We should have been on the beach drinking a cocktail; instead I was crying and waiting for the rep to talk to every other disgruntled holiday maker at the hotel before us.

Eventually the operations manager made an appearance and was able to promise us the best room possible for the following day. Unfortunately this really was too little too late. On the third day we finally got to unpack our suitcases, move into the room we had originally booked and start our holiday. Because of the incompetence of the Savannah Beach Hotel we lost out on 3 whole days of our holiday. After numerous complaints we were eventually compensated for these sleepless nights, but it will never make up for ruining our holiday. It put a dark cloud over our time spent on the island of Barbados and has made us never want to return.

However, if you are thinking of going then I recommend staying in St James (see my review of the Tides and Lobster Alive restaurants), where tourists are actually treated well and not with disdain. Maybe it is just the attitude of the people living here but we did not have a good experience. Although the Savannah’s saving grace was the beach to the right of the hotel which is beautiful and quiet. Best things to do are: hire a catamaran and go sailing, snorkelling, scuba diving and horse-riding. Stay clear of: Oistin’s Fish fry (unless you like loud music, pickpockets and terrible overpriced food), the buses (an experience to say the least), Bridgetown at night (unless you want to be mugged), Harrison’s caves and the Rum tours (these are a waste of money).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahManagement, Manager at Savannah Beach, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review with us as we value your comments. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced whilst you stayed with us in March 2012. We are always disheartened when our guests have a less than satisfactory experience as it is our aim to always provide fond memories. To this end, our operation is continuously evolving to provide our guests with variety, additional amenities and an overall dynamic experience. We sincerely hope that you would consider giving us another opportunity this year, or in the near future to experience our new menu options, cultural entertainment and friendly staff. We would appreciate nothing more than you giving us another opportunity to welcome you back to our property to experience the changes and improvements we have made over the last year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, U. K.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at the savannah over christmas and the new year...We sometimes stayed at Escape @the Gap but since it closed we followed the staff who have become friends of ours to the Savannah were we made even more friends, we stayed in the Plantation House which was a delightful change from the rooms we have stayed in.... thats not to say the usual rooms are any less appealing it was olde worldy really nice, the staff were on the ball we even named Tyrone TIGHT SHIP Tyrone because he was so efficient,Zac the Chef was an absolute gem, nothing was to much trouble, Keitha, Carol-ann, Andre, and the guy who took our luggage to our room...whose name escapes me whenever we called on him was only too eager to help.
The Food was lovely, rooms were clean as were all the public areas, the oonly drawback was the beach the sea is not where you can plunge staight into as it is rocky and not very deep, however it is nothing to jumping on a bus and going down to Dover beach, 10 bajan dollars for bed and brolly for the day, pence...Although it says ALL INC that really only includes local beers and spirits anything else there is a charge for
Would I go Back?....YES I WOULD

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is the nicest hotel ever made and yes the people who have complained must be idiots and did not see the fun side of Barbados I have just came off holiday from there and Donna the rep was very lovely and we are planning to come back soon I only had 1 bad meal but the rest was brill! We went on the boat and swam with the turtles it was the time off my life loved it lots thank you bar staff cleaners could right more but lie stop, thanks Donna xxxx love the mccue's xoxo

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Savannah Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Beach

Address: Hastings, Hastings, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savannah Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the historic Garrison Savannah on the pristine coastline of Barbados, Savannah Beach Hotel is a beachfront four-star resort that easily ranks as one of the most idyllic destinations on the island. It is a Caribbean paradise that simply must be experienced! Forget everything you’ve ever known or experienced about all-inclusive hotels… Savannah is distinctly different. It is an all-inclusive hotel with style! Dive in… Savannah is an excellent choice for a relaxed Caribbean holiday. You are just steps from the beach, ensuring a blissful holiday in the Caribbean sun. Spoilt for choice, there are 2 swimming pools, 1 that meanders through the garden courtyard and has a 4-storey waterfall, the other is located down by the beach. When it comes to family holidays, children and teens are extremely well catered for at this hotel, there is an extensive family entertainment centre (opening Easter ’12) to keep even the most energetic children entertained! For those romantic moments, why not go down to the beach for a moonlight romantic stroll before heading to the late night bar. Live entertainment 5 nights per week, including themed nights and floor shows. Weekly manager’s barbecue party. Three restaurants; the main restaurant has a twist on Caribbean gourmet dining, open for buffet breakfast, buffet lunch and dinner 7 days a week. The Beach restaurant and bar is open 7 days a week for lunch and 5 days a week for dinner serving a wide range of barbecue, pastas, grilled fish and burgers for lunch and in the evening a themed dinner including Mexican, Indian, Chinese as well as Caribbean cuisine. There is also an Asian fusion* restaurant open 5 nights a week for dinner (16 years and over only, a supplement of $25 BDS per person will apply). 4 bars including a late night bar that opens from 11.00pm – 1.00am. Afternoon tea is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Regatta Hotels, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Savannah Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savannah Beach Hotel Hastings
Savannah Christ Church
Savannah Hotel Christ Church
Savannah Hotel Barbados
Savannah Barbados
Savannah Beach Barbados/Hastings

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savannah Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.