We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel experience!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Savannah Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Savannah Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Savannah Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hastings, Hastings, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Worst hotel experience!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I am writing this review in the hope that you will re-think staying at the Savannah Beach Hotel. Our holiday to Barbados back in March was supposed to be a once in a lifetime trip that we had saved up for months in order to be able to afford, yet we were left absolutely disgusted by the treatment we received here and the non-existent customer service. After 5 hours sleep and an 8 hour flight all we wanted to do was go to our room, but we were left waiting around for almost an hour without a clue what was going on. It was 5pm local time by this point; check in was at 3pm.

After finally receiving a key and taking our own bags up 3 flights of stairs just so we didn't have to wait any longer, we got an even more unwelcome surprise. Our room was appalling (cupboard doors falling off, bare wiring on the walls, dirty bathroom) not at all what we had booked, and to top it all it was right on a busy road with single glazed windows. I promptly went back downstairs to reception where I demanded to know why we had not been given the ‘deluxe courtyard view room’ that we had booked. Their reply was ‘do you have some wine in your room’? I briefly remembered seeing a cheap bottle of fizz, so I replied yes. ‘Oh right, you have been downgraded.’ Apparently the hotel was at full capacity and they had no other rooms. They NEVER apologised and NEVER accepted any blame/responsibility for these actions and merely stated that we would have to speak to our rep (who didn't appear until the next day).We would also have to wait until people left on Wednesday (3 days into our 7 day holiday) to get something else. I was absolutely distraught and spent the majority of the first few days of our ‘dream, romantic, paradise holiday’ crying my eyes out.

So the question is…had I not gone downstairs to complain would I have been told about the downgrade at all or just left to figure it out? We should have been informed about this by the hotel the minute that they knew which must have been for some time because you don’t organise the bookings the day the guests arrive, it is worked out months in advance. We booked the holiday for MARCH in JANUARY, so there was absolutely no excuse for this failing whatsoever.

On the first night of our holiday and after all the above drama we went to dinner, waited half an hour for a table, waited 45 mins for tiny portions of mediocre food and promptly left before dessert arrived. In the morning we went to get breakfast, hoping that this would revive us. We were completely ignored for about 10 mins until we finally sat down at the dirty table, only to be uprooted once again while they cleaned it. We then waited 30 mins to get any offer of tea/coffee/water, whilst other holiday goers got theirs topped up frequently. It felt like we were invisible and I have never been treated so rudely in my life. We then spent the first day of our holiday waiting around ringing people to try and find a solution. We should have been on the beach drinking a cocktail; instead I was crying and waiting for the rep to talk to every other disgruntled holiday maker at the hotel before us.

Eventually the operations manager made an appearance and was able to promise us the best room possible for the following day. Unfortunately this really was too little too late. On the third day we finally got to unpack our suitcases, move into the room we had originally booked and start our holiday. Because of the incompetence of the Savannah Beach Hotel we lost out on 3 whole days of our holiday. After numerous complaints we were eventually compensated for these sleepless nights, but it will never make up for ruining our holiday. It put a dark cloud over our time spent on the island of Barbados and has made us never want to return.

However, if you are thinking of going then I recommend staying in St James (see my review of the Tides and Lobster Alive restaurants), where tourists are actually treated well and not with disdain. Maybe it is just the attitude of the people living here but we did not have a good experience. Although the Savannah’s saving grace was the beach to the right of the hotel which is beautiful and quiet. Best things to do are: hire a catamaran and go sailing, snorkelling, scuba diving and horse-riding. Stay clear of: Oistin’s Fish fry (unless you like loud music, pickpockets and terrible overpriced food), the buses (an experience to say the least), Bridgetown at night (unless you want to be mugged), Harrison’s caves and the Rum tours (these are a waste of money).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahManagement, Manager at Savannah Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review with us as we value your comments. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced whilst you stayed with us in March 2012. We are always disheartened when our guests have a less than satisfactory experience as it is our aim to always provide fond memories. To this end, our operation is continuously evolving to provide our guests with variety, additional amenities and an overall dynamic experience. We sincerely hope that you would consider giving us another opportunity this year, or in the near future to experience our new menu options, cultural entertainment and friendly staff. We would appreciate nothing more than you giving us another opportunity to welcome you back to our property to experience the changes and improvements we have made over the last year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    288
    90
    22
    21
See reviews for
223
425
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, U. K.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at the savannah over christmas and the new year...We sometimes stayed at Escape @the Gap but since it closed we followed the staff who have become friends of ours to the Savannah were we made even more friends, we stayed in the Plantation House which was a delightful change from the rooms we have stayed in.... thats not to say the usual rooms are any less appealing it was olde worldy really nice, the staff were on the ball we even named Tyrone TIGHT SHIP Tyrone because he was so efficient,Zac the Chef was an absolute gem, nothing was to much trouble, Keitha, Carol-ann, Andre, and the guy who took our luggage to our room...whose name escapes me whenever we called on him was only too eager to help.
The Food was lovely, rooms were clean as were all the public areas, the oonly drawback was the beach the sea is not where you can plunge staight into as it is rocky and not very deep, however it is nothing to jumping on a bus and going down to Dover beach, 10 bajan dollars for bed and brolly for the day, pence...Although it says ALL INC that really only includes local beers and spirits anything else there is a charge for
Would I go Back?....YES I WOULD

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is the nicest hotel ever made and yes the people who have complained must be idiots and did not see the fun side of Barbados I have just came off holiday from there and Donna the rep was very lovely and we are planning to come back soon I only had 1 bad meal but the rest was brill! We went on the boat and swam with the turtles it was the time off my life loved it lots thank you bar staff cleaners could right more but lie stop, thanks Donna xxxx love the mccue's xoxo

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

what can we say !!!!!! the first holiday my wife and i have had on our own for 21 years ...............where do i start food was lovely all the staff very nice nothing too much trouble , the people staying on our 10 night trip where all very nice which helps ! room was great we had a meal at chopstix which was great ! we didnt go on any trips we just chilled for 10 nights the only decision every day was wether to go to the beach or the pool and what to have to drink ! we see a lovely couple get married on the beach which was nice , my only negative was we didnt stay for longer . A fantastic holiday fantastic staff .

Room Tip: 412 lovely room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NNY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We came down out of the great white north to experience the outstanding Barbados climate. Our group chose this as our all inclusive for this trip. Nice sprawling complex from the roadway all the way down to the beach. Our room was in the lower part of the complex allowing us quick acces to the beach and drifters. Others in our group were in the main area above the lobby. These were older rooms but still ok. The buffet at drifters was great we enjoyed it more than the sit down at Rachels. I am not sure about chop stir it appeared that no one was there. The bar staff along with all the other staff was very helpful and pleasant. The pool on the other hand needs some work filtration seems to be an issue. They need to make the winding pool into a lazy river with its beautiful vegetation. There really is only one bar most of the day located at Drifters. The clientele sure like it quiet. If you are looking for rocking nightlife or even music at the bar area this isn't the place but if you are looking for quiet and relaxing this is it.

Room Tip: Rooms out of the main building provide easy beach access
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My partner and I spent 10 days at the Savannah Beach from 8th of January. We stayed in The Plantation house and just adored it, high ceilings, shuttered windows, wood floors and wonderfullly light and airy, full of charm and history ( this is the oldest hotel on the Island ). We had a look at the other rooms in the newer building and they were lovely too but more executive/modern style. The staff are all friendly, helpful and courteous and we thought the food was amazing both at Rachels restaurant and buffet style at drifters, compliments to the chef and all the kitchen staff. I loved the birds flying around as I was having breakfast.. How could you not?
There isn't a bad beach in Barbados if one isn't to your liking then just walk five minutes either direction they are all public, just the beds belong to the hotels not the sea and the sand!
Oistins on Friday night is fun but busy for tables to eat so get there early ( we had to wait about 1 hour to be served )
We loved the virgin ahoy catamaran trip once again great staff and food aboard and we swam with turtles and snorkelled. We booked this with Donna the rep who was efficient and available and friendly.
We took a walk to the race track and the staff were welcoming at the trainers stables and allowed us to walk around the yard and meet the race horses, goats, sheep and kittens.
We can recommend the Barbados museum by the race track and the garrison area in general as it's a unesco world heritage site.
We travelled every where by bus or foot, the buses are frequent and only 1 US dollar each and play great music.
We also went horse riding at Ocean echo stables and had a wonderful time even though my partner has never riden a horse before, the horses were well cared for and obviously loved.
All in all we had the perfect holiday and I would definitely go back to the Savannah beach as I felt it was a home from home. All the staff should be congratulated a big hug to the adorable Susan and hopefully we will see you again. Many thanks Ruth and Nick

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Was very impressed by the quality of this hotel lovely rooms over looking the winding river pool all very new the beach bar was fantastic served a lovely lunch and staff very friendly and helpful - beach was clean and when the tide is out lovely and calm and warm.
We used this venue for the day from our cruise till we had to go to the airport and we were treated very well - we would stay here for a few days.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
0.4 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
2.9 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#1 of 8 in St Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 stars 1,151 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#3 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 stars 2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 stars 697 reviews
12.8 mi away
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Saint Peter Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 780 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#8 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savannah Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Beach Hotel

Address: Hastings, Hastings, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savannah Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the historic Garrison Savannah on the pristine coastline of Barbados, Savannah Beach Hotel is a beachfront four-star resort that easily ranks as one of the most idyllic destinations on the island. It is a Caribbean paradise that simply must be experienced! Forget everything you’ve ever known or experienced about all-inclusive hotels… Savannah is distinctly different. It is an all-inclusive hotel with style! Dive in… Savannah is an excellent choice for a relaxed Caribbean holiday. You are just steps from the beach, ensuring a blissful holiday in the Caribbean sun. Spoilt for choice, there are 2 swimming pools, 1 that meanders through the garden courtyard and has a 4-storey waterfall, the other is located down by the beach. When it comes to family holidays, children and teens are extremely well catered for at this hotel, there is an extensive family entertainment centre (opening Easter ’12) to keep even the most energetic children entertained! For those romantic moments, why not go down to the beach for a moonlight romantic stroll before heading to the late night bar. Live entertainment 5 nights per week, including themed nights and floor shows. Weekly manager’s barbecue party. Three restaurants; the main restaurant has a twist on Caribbean gourmet dining, open for buffet breakfast, buffet lunch and dinner 7 days a week. The Beach restaurant and bar is open 7 days a week for lunch and 5 days a week for dinner serving a wide range of barbecue, pastas, grilled fish and burgers for lunch and in the evening a themed dinner including Mexican, Indian, Chinese as well as Caribbean cuisine. There is also an Asian fusion* restaurant open 5 nights a week for dinner (16 years and over only, a supplement of $25 BDS per person will apply). 4 bars including a late night bar that opens from 11.00pm – 1.00am. Afternoon tea is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Savannah Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savannah Beach Hotel Hastings
Savannah Christ Church
Savannah Hotel Christ Church
Savannah Hotel Barbados
Savannah Barbados
Savannah Beach Hotel Barbados/Hastings

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savannah Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.