We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best holiday ever !!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Savannah Beach

Save Saved
You added Savannah Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Savannah Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hastings, Hastings, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Hastings
london
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Our best holiday ever !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I spent 10 days at the Savannah Beach from 8th of January. We stayed in The Plantation house and just adored it, high ceilings, shuttered windows, wood floors and wonderfullly light and airy, full of charm and history ( this is the oldest hotel on the Island ). We had a look at the other rooms in the newer building and they were lovely too but more executive/modern style. The staff are all friendly, helpful and courteous and we thought the food was amazing both at Rachels restaurant and buffet style at drifters, compliments to the chef and all the kitchen staff. I loved the birds flying around as I was having breakfast.. How could you not?
There isn't a bad beach in Barbados if one isn't to your liking then just walk five minutes either direction they are all public, just the beds belong to the hotels not the sea and the sand!
Oistins on Friday night is fun but busy for tables to eat so get there early ( we had to wait about 1 hour to be served )
We loved the virgin ahoy catamaran trip once again great staff and food aboard and we swam with turtles and snorkelled. We booked this with Donna the rep who was efficient and available and friendly.
We took a walk to the race track and the staff were welcoming at the trainers stables and allowed us to walk around the yard and meet the race horses, goats, sheep and kittens.
We can recommend the Barbados museum by the race track and the garrison area in general as it's a unesco world heritage site.
We travelled every where by bus or foot, the buses are frequent and only 1 US dollar each and play great music.
We also went horse riding at Ocean echo stables and had a wonderful time even though my partner has never riden a horse before, the horses were well cared for and obviously loved.
All in all we had the perfect holiday and I would definitely go back to the Savannah beach as I felt it was a home from home. All the staff should be congratulated a big hug to the adorable Susan and hopefully we will see you again. Many thanks Ruth and Nick

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    231
    190
    53
    17
    17
See reviews for
118
278
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Was very impressed by the quality of this hotel lovely rooms over looking the winding river pool all very new the beach bar was fantastic served a lovely lunch and staff very friendly and helpful - beach was clean and when the tide is out lovely and calm and warm.
We used this venue for the day from our cruise till we had to go to the airport and we were treated very well - we would stay here for a few days.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Im still here on the 20th jan room 170please do not panic about the bad reports they must be right miserable gits this hotel ticks all the boxes for us the rooms Are big and cleaned everyday all towels are provided , the staff carnt do enough for you and we never had 1 bad peace food there's plenty of variety , my best was managers BBQ and seafood night, ok the small beach right outside the hotel has got some coral in it so take a 3 min walk near the Hilton and go there if you want to surf or swim but the beach is nice to chill and you can take your drinks on there , some people complained about the wild birds in the resturant but it's ok cus I seen it at a 5* hotel as well and they don't bother you , make sure u don't forget your camara the sunset is breath taking , the gym and games room are all free.donna the rep is very helpful.the horse race track is across the road so that's worth a visit on Saturdays. Cabanna beach is worth going you get your pack up from the hotel and the free bus takes you , when your there , there is a beach bar where your drinks are free and they have no motorised water sports which are free just ask at the bar , I carnt tell you anymore cus I'm still here but dont panic the staff and hotel is brill .

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed from 4th to 14th of January, it was a really special trip as it was my partner's 40th birthday on the 10th and we also got married.What a perfect location and the most memorable day of our new lives together.
We had the privilege to meet some lovely people who made the holiday for us, thank you so much to you all I won't mention all your names as you know who you are
The trip with VIrgin was fantastic from beginning to end we were looked after so well by the staff at Savannah, they all go out of their way to help and cater to all your needs with a smile and impeccable manners, a real joy to see and hear these days.
Please do not be put off by negative comments if people cannot find food and drink they love at this beautiful island and hotel then stay at home. The selection is massive and varied and we tried them all. You can eat at both restaurants and the quality is top notch, varied well presented and so tasty. Remember your visiting a foreign country so try everything they do provide pasta,burgers chips etc but the fish, chicken and meat dishes are delicious.
A special thanks go to all the staff from senior managers to the cleaners who all go about their jobs with a smile and are very conscientious and professional. The location is fantastic and yes the hotel beach and sea has rocks but its home to all the sea life so just walk on the beach 100 yards left or right and swim in crystal clear waters.
Walking to Bridgetown takes 30 minutes and to Copa Cabana about 20 but remember there are free shuttle buses. We jet skied and went on a catamaran and swam with turtles. We hired car from Donna the virgin rep and drove around visiting various beaches and rest of the island which is stunning we have never seen beaches like this before
We would love to re-visit Barbados and would return to this hotel in a heart beat we left 30+ degrees and came home to minus 6 what a shocker !!!!!
Be careful in the sun it's really really strong and saw lots of burnt skin which could spoil your trip so high factors are a must
To sum up the hotel has loads of character the room we had was superb and huge beds that were so comfy we stayed in 416 and have NO complaints
Thank you Barbados for giving me and my new lovely wife the most memorable start to our lives together

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This was my first time to Barbados and I am glad I stayed here. Kudos to the management at Savannah. They did their best to accommodate our desires. This is a wonderfully quaint tropical location that is a hidden gem. I want to thank you all for making my birthday extra special. I would have liked more night life on the resort but getting out on the town was great. God bless you all and keep displaying those beautiful smiles. MUAH!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Came to this hotel 10 days ago, just about to go home to the UK. This is not a 5 star hotel, nor is it claiming to be! What this hotel stands for is great value for money, excellent service, the friendliest most helpful staff I have ever had the pleasure of dealing with, beautiful food and great fun. Looked through the last lot of reviews and felt disappointed at some of the unfair comments being left. For example, comment left on 9th of January by pashpash - I spoke to his wife who told me she has gained lots of weight with eating and drinking, so quite a contradiction compared to the (in my opinion) unfair review he left. He also spent the majority of holiday drinking rum punch. The bottom line? If you want a 5 star hotel, save harder for longer, don't come here and slag it off for not being Sandy Lane. If you are looking for Magners cider, Irish coffee, egg and chips, go to Benidorm! If you want to embrace the Carribean culture, beautiful local food and drinks, come here. Our special thanks to Tamorra, Tracia, Fabian, Shanae, Azan, Curlene, Lucy, Keitha, Roseanne and Shameka for giving us an unforgettable experience. PS the food on the a la carte evenings at Rachel's is amazing.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahManagement, Manager at Savannah Beach, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review, and for giving us a rating of 5 for overall experience and satisfaction. Our management team and staff are dedicated and passionate about the service we deliver and always aim to exceed expectations. The lot of staff you mentioned will be delighted to know that their hard work was successful in bringing you favorable memories and an enjoyable experience. We will continue to endeavor to provide memorable experiences in every aspect of our operation, as nothing makes us happier than seeing the smiles on our guests faces. We truly look forward to your return and to welcoming you back to your home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the savannah for 10 days between the 28th of December and 7th of January. On the whole the hotel was very good, staff were extremely friendly and always eager to do everything they can for you. We booked the club room, was a little bit disappointing as the mini fridge was not always stocked when it should have been and the cold towels on the beach sometimes weren't given out. Food was fantastic and the hotel was very clean. The beach is not rocky as others have mentioned,it's coral and also it's more sandy on the right hand side of it. Entertainment was very good, and would highly recommend Oistings on a Friday late evening, the atmospheres amazing. Would also highly recommend the silver moon catamaran, swam with turtles and it was fantastic!
Had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel but its definitely a 3 star not 4 and wouldn't recommend the club room package.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Savannah Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Beach

Also Known As:
Savannah Beach Hotel
Savannah Beach Hotel Hastings
Savannah Christ Church
Savannah Hotel Christ Church
Savannah Hotel Barbados
Savannah Barbados
Savannah Beach Barbados/Hastings
Address: Hastings, Hastings, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savannah Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the historic Garrison Savannah on the pristine coastline of Barbados, Savannah Beach Hotel is a beachfront four-star resort that easily ranks as one of the most idyllic destinations on the island. It is a Caribbean paradise that simply must be experienced! Forget everything you’ve ever known or experienced about all-inclusive hotels… Savannah is distinctly different. It is an all-inclusive hotel with style! Dive in… Savannah is an excellent choice for a relaxed Caribbean holiday. You are just steps from the beach, ensuring a blissful holiday in the Caribbean sun. Spoilt for choice, there are 2 swimming pools, 1 that meanders through the garden courtyard and has a 4-storey waterfall, the other is located down by the beach. When it comes to family holidays, children and teens are extremely well catered for at this hotel, there is an extensive family entertainment centre (opening Easter ’12) to keep even the most energetic children entertained! For those romantic moments, why not go down to the beach for a moonlight romantic stroll before heading to the late night bar. Live entertainment 5 nights per week, including themed nights and floor shows. Weekly manager’s barbecue party. Three restaurants; the main restaurant has a twist on Caribbean gourmet dining, open for buffet breakfast, buffet lunch and dinner 7 days a week. The Beach restaurant and bar is open 7 days a week for lunch and 5 days a week for dinner serving a wide range of barbecue, pastas, grilled fish and burgers for lunch and in the evening a themed dinner including Mexican, Indian, Chinese as well as Caribbean cuisine. There is also an Asian fusion* restaurant open 5 nights a week for dinner (16 years and over only, a supplement of $25 BDS per person will apply). 4 bars including a late night bar that opens from 11.00pm – 1.00am. Afternoon tea is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., TripOnline SA, Venere, HotelsClick, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Savannah Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savannah Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.