We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel with the best staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Savannah Beach

Save Saved
You added Savannah Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Savannah Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hastings, Hastings, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hastings
southampton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel with the best staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for ten days in October, booking it at a days notice following the loss of a long planned trip of a lifetime elsewhere that fell through. The staff in this hotel are excellent and so attentive. Nothing is too much trouble for them and they show you what a wonderful safe and frieindly country this is.The bus to the beach is convenient, but it would be even more perfect if they could just make the beach here swimmable, as other hotels along the coast have. We spent three days with a hire car exploring the island, following the staff recomendations and met the real friednly Bajans at Oistins for the fish fry. So many people and so much fun. We spent several days diving with Rogers Dive Shack just along from the hotel. They were great fun and so helpful- best dive experiences for a long time. Again, great staff and nothing too much trouble. In short, Barbados is a great place to visit and the people do their country proud on all counts. Well done Savannah and Rogers and hope to see you all again soon

Room Tip: Noise from the pool bar during the vening but you have such a relaxing time during the day- you dont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahManagement, Manager at Savannah Beach, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very happy that you chose our property on short notice and that we were able to provide you with a memorable and satisfying experience. We recognize that our beach may cause dissatisfaction to some of our guests. As a result we have taken the necessary steps and applied to the relevant government offices for permission to erect a groin. This erection would allow for the beach to be swimmable and more enjoyable. As our beach is home to turtles and other protected species these offices must undertake extensive and detailed research that would ensure this structure causes minimum harm and alteration to our natural coastline and marine life. To this end, we cannot with any certainty say when final approval will be granted.
However, to compensate for this shortfall we offer shuttle service to the nearby Copacabana beach on select days of the week. They are also swimmable areas on either side of the beach that are approximately 3 minutes walk.
Your comments regarding the attentiveness of the staff will most definitely be shared with the team, as we are committed to providing quality and unforgettable service to each and everyone of our guests. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and we hope to see you soon in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    214
    65
    17
    17
See reviews for
158
321
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We had an all too brief stay here from 4th - 7th November 2012 as we were joining a cruise ship for a week. It was a lovely introduction to the Caribbean as we had never been this far from home before. Our room was fabulous, such a surprise. We stayed in 372 which is one of the beach front suites. The room was airy and spacious. So much storage space and very clean. We had problems initially turning on the bedside lamps due to the location of the wall switch. It was hidden behind the very heavy bed head quite low down. My husband managed to reach it though. The bed was very high but very comfortable. The beach directly outside the hotel is a bit rocky but 100yds either way you will find sandy beaches. Within hours of arriving we had already spotted our first bit of wildlife. A humming bird right outside reception, that evening we also had the turtles hatching on the beach. On our last full day there we also had the joy of encountering the green monkeys coming through the grounds. Every day we were entertained by the birds trying to share breakfast in Rachels. Never leave your table unattended or they will peel the cover off the milk and drink it and nibble away at the crumbs on your plate. The staff are very good and change the milk frequently. All the staff are very friendly and polite. I felt so relaxed after our stay here and we returned briefly at the end of our cruise to check in with Virgin before our flight home. It was lovely seeing the place again. I would recommend this hotel to friends (so long as they don't stay in the main plantation house).

Room Tip: Plantation house rooms have further to walk to the beach and back and don't have a balcony to la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Just returned home from a fortnight here, 5th - 19th November 2012. We had a fantastic break, with excellent weather, and were very pleased with the hotel.

All the staff were friendly and attentive. The beach bar, Drifters, was a great place to relax at any time of day, and the food was plentiful. A special mention must go to the coconut ice which the served for afternoon tea on a couple of occasions - extremely moreish! Rachel's restaurant served great food, with a table d'hote menu which changed daily, along with their standard a la carte. Breakfast was also plentiful; a particular favourite was the pancakes, which didn't feature often enough for our liking! Although we were all inclusive, we did try one or two of the local restaurants - Tapas (down towards Rockley, on the boardwalk) was particularly good. Also the Artsplash juice bar was excellent. And the Oistins fish fry on a Friday night is a MUST.

The beach is a bit rocky, but you can still swim - we recommend beach shoes in the water. As previous reviewers have said, take the free 5-min shuttle to the Copacabana beach club in Carlisle Bay; it's a beautiful, sandy beach with great swimming, and you can snorkel out to six sunken wrecks in the bay, from the beach. The first time we did that, we saw turtles!

Accomodation is fine; the room was spacious, the air con was effective and the bed was huge. We had a courtyard view room, and could see down to the beach from our balcony. There is usually some form of evening entertainment in Drifters, so if you go early to bed, take some earplugs.

Do explore the island - you can go by bus anywhere for 2 dollars, and Bathsheba is worth seeing. And don't listen to the rep about the reggae buses; they're great fun and again, will take you into Bridgetown or along to Oistins for 2 dollars.

Another place worth a visit is Lime Grove, on the West Coast. There is a free shuttle bus from the hotel but we went one evening and saw Skyfall in what must be one of the poshest cinemas we've ever been in - and all for the same cost as your bog-standard Vue, Odeon or Showcase at home!

Our final recommendation is the Silver Moon catamaran trip - beautiful, cheap at half the price (£40-ish for 5 hours, inc lunch and free drinks). Absolute bliss.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are very near Drifters Bar - not good if you like an early night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahManagement, Manager at Savannah Beach, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Barbados! We are glad to see that you had an opportunity to explore Beautiful Barbados. Great choices on the local restaurant selections and thumbs up to the Oistins Friday night fish fry! Oistins is always a great way to welcome the weekend and it gives you a glimpse into Barbadian culture with lots of Bajan foods, rum and drinks, music, dancing and lots of cultural entertainment. Barbados celebrates its independence on November 30th so, for the next few weekends there will be lots of cultural and festive activities to see and experience at Oistins and across the island. Unfortunately, you will miss out on seeing the independence parade, which is usually across the street from the hotel at the Garrison Savannah horseracing track. As mentioned the reggae buses or public transportation can take you anywhere on the island, or if you want to explore at your own pace you can rent a car. This is another option that will allow you to drive around the island and visit the east coast and central scenic points like the well renowned Harrison's Cave, Farley Hill, The Wildlife Reserve; just to name a few. Or, there is yet another option where you can book an Island Safari adventure tour and sip rum punch all day and enjoy the island breeze and scenic views. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We spent 2 weeks at the Savannah Beach 29th October-12th November. We had a fabulous time at the Savannah we stayed in room 326 which was very spacious and clean. All the Staff are a credit to this hotel as they were very friendly and helpful, special thanks to Michael on the bar who always had a drink ready for us when we arrived at the bar!. Food was delicious in both Drifters Bar and Rachaels. The weekly BBQ was good, all the staff and management joined in to make this a great afternoons entertainment.

We were very fortunate to see turtles hatching on the beach whilst we were at the Savannah. We also saw the green monkeys in the grounds twice during our stay.

We had a great holiday and will return to the Savannah as this was great value for money.

Joe & Sue

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahManagement, Manager at Savannah Beach, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Joe and Sue,

We are glad to see you had a fantastic holiday with us. All the managers enjoy the weekly BBQ by the beach, as its our opportunity to show the Chef that we can cook delicious dishes too!!! We find that all of our guests really enjoy the day and have loads of fun by participating in our beach races, volleyball and hula hoop competitions. They also learn about the history of the island when we do our Barbadian quiz competition. The best part is when the winners of the competitions can show-off their prizes to everyone. This is the best day of the week for the staff as well. They get a chance to play around and compete against guests and each other all whilst working. All in all, its real fun day for everyone at the Savannah Beach Hotel!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Just returned from a 2 week visit and will return. Concerned about the November weather but sun every day with whispy white clouds and temperatures mid eighties low nineties. All english speaking guests and staff made it easy to make friends .The hotel is on an incline so you enter on the 5th floor which is where Rachels the breakfast and main dining area is as well. We had a pool access room on the first (ground) floor which in reality is access the 3ft 6in deep river which goes in a complete loop. The main pool is small and again 3ft 6 so no good if your into diving etc. You can leave the room via the pool access door but must remember to lock it via the inner handle first.You are not given a key to enter via this door so have to go around to the front door to enter with the card key providing that is you have'nt forgot and left it in the room!
Food was acceptable both in Rachels and Drifters with a variety each day. Location of the hotel was ideal with Bridgetown and more local shops and restaurants (if you fancy a change) all close by. Buses are plentiful for travelling anywhere with bus stops close by. Surprisingly the only fast food chain that has made it on to the island is KFC although they have a McBurger equivalent called Cheffete if your into that.
Took previous reviewers advice and took our beach shoes which are needed even for light paddling on the hotels pebbly beach. Better sandy beaches for swimming close by though. You must take the free shuttle which goes 4 times a week to close by Carlisle bay. It really is beautiful plus you get free sun beds and drinks. We travelled all around the islands beaches including Crane which is rated top 10 worlds best but thought Carlisle better,
Early sleepers so did not see much of the entertainment at Drifters but we could here it finish at around 11 each night.
Must mention the frogs which although the size of a postage stamp can make an incredibly loud whistle throughout the night. So if your a light sleeper then take earplugs.
Check out my pictures. I've tried to include some a bit different from already posted.

Room Tip: Our poolside room 125 was perfectly located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahManagement, Manager at Savannah Beach, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your coments with us. We are always looking at creative ways to continuously improve our guests experience. Reading reviews like yours gives us that motivation to think way outside the box with regards to every aspect of the operation. We are very excited about the upcoming holidays; we will be celebrating 12 days of Christmas and more! Just to give you a sneak peak; there is a planned itinerary showcasing loads of activities such as Christmas carolling, Santa visits, holiday entertainment, special treats and much much more. Kids will be particularly excited about the decorated kids club area and the daily recreational activities we have planned for them. Not to mention the holiday food specials and Barbadian festive dishes we will offer. It will definitely be a holiday to remember!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I spent 10 days here and loved every aspect of it.... Beautiful surroundings, great food, the friendliest staff ever and a bar that is only 20 footsteps from the sand and sea !

Our rooms were great with direct access to the pool - perfect for having a little morning paddle after a night in Drifters bar ! - and the staff were always on hand and ready to help with anything we needed.

This was my first trip to beautiful Barbados and staying here convinced me I will be returning.

A massive thank you to Edwin, the ever friendly and entertaining manager who always took the time to come and have a chat. :) x

Room Tip: Totally recommend a room with the access to the private pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were unlucky to only have had a few days at the hotel prior to joining our cruise ship. We would happily have stayed there for the full holiday and hopefully we will return in due course. Fabulous room ( 372 ) and friendly helpful staff. Lovely food, lovely people, lovely room. What more can you ask for in a holiday? Very relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Savannah Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Beach

Address: Hastings, Hastings, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savannah Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the historic Garrison Savannah on the pristine coastline of Barbados, Savannah Beach Hotel is a beachfront four-star resort that easily ranks as one of the most idyllic destinations on the island. It is a Caribbean paradise that simply must be experienced! Forget everything you’ve ever known or experienced about all-inclusive hotels… Savannah is distinctly different. It is an all-inclusive hotel with style! Dive in… Savannah is an excellent choice for a relaxed Caribbean holiday. You are just steps from the beach, ensuring a blissful holiday in the Caribbean sun. Spoilt for choice, there are 2 swimming pools, 1 that meanders through the garden courtyard and has a 4-storey waterfall, the other is located down by the beach. When it comes to family holidays, children and teens are extremely well catered for at this hotel, there is an extensive family entertainment centre (opening Easter ’12) to keep even the most energetic children entertained! For those romantic moments, why not go down to the beach for a moonlight romantic stroll before heading to the late night bar. Live entertainment 5 nights per week, including themed nights and floor shows. Weekly manager’s barbecue party. Three restaurants; the main restaurant has a twist on Caribbean gourmet dining, open for buffet breakfast, buffet lunch and dinner 7 days a week. The Beach restaurant and bar is open 7 days a week for lunch and 5 days a week for dinner serving a wide range of barbecue, pastas, grilled fish and burgers for lunch and in the evening a themed dinner including Mexican, Indian, Chinese as well as Caribbean cuisine. There is also an Asian fusion* restaurant open 5 nights a week for dinner (16 years and over only, a supplement of $25 BDS per person will apply). 4 bars including a late night bar that opens from 11.00pm – 1.00am. Afternoon tea is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Savannah Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savannah Beach Hotel Hastings
Savannah Christ Church
Savannah Hotel Christ Church
Savannah Hotel Barbados
Savannah Barbados
Savannah Beach Barbados/Hastings

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savannah Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.