We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Fantastic holiday"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Savannah Beach

Save Saved
You added Savannah Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Savannah Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hastings, Hastings, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Hastings
York, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“"Fantastic holiday"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We spent 2 weeks at the Savannah Beach 29th October-12th November. We had a fabulous time at the Savannah we stayed in room 326 which was very spacious and clean. All the Staff are a credit to this hotel as they were very friendly and helpful, special thanks to Michael on the bar who always had a drink ready for us when we arrived at the bar!. Food was delicious in both Drifters Bar and Rachaels. The weekly BBQ was good, all the staff and management joined in to make this a great afternoons entertainment.

We were very fortunate to see turtles hatching on the beach whilst we were at the Savannah. We also saw the green monkeys in the grounds twice during our stay.

We had a great holiday and will return to the Savannah as this was great value for money.

Joe & Sue

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahManagement, Manager at Savannah Beach, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Joe and Sue,

We are glad to see you had a fantastic holiday with us. All the managers enjoy the weekly BBQ by the beach, as its our opportunity to show the Chef that we can cook delicious dishes too!!! We find that all of our guests really enjoy the day and have loads of fun by participating in our beach races, volleyball and hula hoop competitions. They also learn about the history of the island when we do our Barbadian quiz competition. The best part is when the winners of the competitions can show-off their prizes to everyone. This is the best day of the week for the staff as well. They get a chance to play around and compete against guests and each other all whilst working. All in all, its real fun day for everyone at the Savannah Beach Hotel!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    281
    210
    63
    17
    17
See reviews for
149
318
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
oxfordshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Just returned from a 2 week visit and will return. Concerned about the November weather but sun every day with whispy white clouds and temperatures mid eighties low nineties. All english speaking guests and staff made it easy to make friends .The hotel is on an incline so you enter on the 5th floor which is where Rachels the breakfast and main dining area is as well. We had a pool access room on the first (ground) floor which in reality is access the 3ft 6in deep river which goes in a complete loop. The main pool is small and again 3ft 6 so no good if your into diving etc. You can leave the room via the pool access door but must remember to lock it via the inner handle first.You are not given a key to enter via this door so have to go around to the front door to enter with the card key providing that is you have'nt forgot and left it in the room!
Food was acceptable both in Rachels and Drifters with a variety each day. Location of the hotel was ideal with Bridgetown and more local shops and restaurants (if you fancy a change) all close by. Buses are plentiful for travelling anywhere with bus stops close by. Surprisingly the only fast food chain that has made it on to the island is KFC although they have a McBurger equivalent called Cheffete if your into that.
Took previous reviewers advice and took our beach shoes which are needed even for light paddling on the hotels pebbly beach. Better sandy beaches for swimming close by though. You must take the free shuttle which goes 4 times a week to close by Carlisle bay. It really is beautiful plus you get free sun beds and drinks. We travelled all around the islands beaches including Crane which is rated top 10 worlds best but thought Carlisle better,
Early sleepers so did not see much of the entertainment at Drifters but we could here it finish at around 11 each night.
Must mention the frogs which although the size of a postage stamp can make an incredibly loud whistle throughout the night. So if your a light sleeper then take earplugs.
Check out my pictures. I've tried to include some a bit different from already posted.

Room Tip: Our poolside room 125 was perfectly located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahManagement, Manager at Savannah Beach, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your coments with us. We are always looking at creative ways to continuously improve our guests experience. Reading reviews like yours gives us that motivation to think way outside the box with regards to every aspect of the operation. We are very excited about the upcoming holidays; we will be celebrating 12 days of Christmas and more! Just to give you a sneak peak; there is a planned itinerary showcasing loads of activities such as Christmas carolling, Santa visits, holiday entertainment, special treats and much much more. Kids will be particularly excited about the decorated kids club area and the daily recreational activities we have planned for them. Not to mention the holiday food specials and Barbadian festive dishes we will offer. It will definitely be a holiday to remember!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I spent 10 days here and loved every aspect of it.... Beautiful surroundings, great food, the friendliest staff ever and a bar that is only 20 footsteps from the sand and sea !

Our rooms were great with direct access to the pool - perfect for having a little morning paddle after a night in Drifters bar ! - and the staff were always on hand and ready to help with anything we needed.

This was my first trip to beautiful Barbados and staying here convinced me I will be returning.

A massive thank you to Edwin, the ever friendly and entertaining manager who always took the time to come and have a chat. :) x

Room Tip: Totally recommend a room with the access to the private pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were unlucky to only have had a few days at the hotel prior to joining our cruise ship. We would happily have stayed there for the full holiday and hopefully we will return in due course. Fabulous room ( 372 ) and friendly helpful staff. Lovely food, lovely people, lovely room. What more can you ask for in a holiday? Very relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

We are returning tomorrow from savannah beach hotel Barbados . We have had a wonderful two weeks. It was my birthday and wedding anniversary and were made to feel so special. The staff are so friendly and unlike the reviews that we read some time ago. The food is delicious, the drifters bar is laden with food lunch and dinner time and Rachel's where you have to book is waitress service and food is lovely. Enjoyed all the breakfasts and plenty of coffee, tea and juices available. Swimming pool meandered through the garden and although 3ft 6 was lovely to swim in. We had large room very clean , loads of towels with 7 foot bed and needed a taxi to find your partner. It felt very personal and the hotel is manageable. Baby turtles hatched and crawled into hotel attracted by the light but that made everyone excited and busy taking them back to the water. We have had a lovely time and a big thank you to everyone who made us so welcome. Would certainly come back as they all work so hard to make it special.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahManagement, Manager at Savannah Beach, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us before you departed from the hotel. This truly means alot to us as it clearly states that we have met and satisfied your expectations on food, service and the layout of the property. Let us also take this time to offer you well wishes on your special birthday and anniversary celebrations. We are glad that you were able to spend this time with us and allow us to pamper and cater to your every need.
It is always breathtaking to spend time with the turtles and monkeys; that is an added bonus of our property~ a feature that sets us apart from the rest and a memory that lasts forever!
We certainly look forward to your next visit with us and hope we can pamper you again next year for your birthday and anniversary! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We have just returned home to England after a week at this hotel. We've never previously paid tribute to a hotel and expressed our gratitude for the service we received (frankly, that's as customers we are entitled to get decent facilities and service) - but feel that we really do owe the Savannah Beach a big thanks.
The staff are a real credit to the hotel - apart from being efficient, their frendliness and humour shines through and makes a real difference to the guests' experience. The quality of the accomodation and the food was also beyond our expectations.
We very much hope to return to the Savannah Beach again - our stay really was very special.
TripAdvisor contributors often tend to find the negative wherever they go - we hope that our comments will encourage anyone planning a trip to Barbados to consider the Savannah Beach - as long as they leave some space for us too!

Room Tip: To be honest, just about any of the rooms would be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We have just returned from a week long break returning November 10th.We stayed in room 370 deluxe pool view.
From the moment we arrived we were delighted.
Our room exceeded our expectations.It was large very clean and was very comfortable.
The balcony was large with a settee and footstool
The view fantastic.
Worth the small additional charge.
Staff could not have been more attentive and we had good service throughout.
Food and drink choice plentiful with something for every taste.We could not fault one meal
Lovely beach walk and the hotel grounds well maintained.
In and around the area perfectly safe with lots to see and do.
Lots of tours available via the Virgin rep.
Would highly recommend the jeep safari and the virgins ahoy sea cruise.
This hotel is a pure gem so happy we selected it we will return for sure.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a pool view /sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahManagement, Manager at Savannah Beach, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive feedback with us. Our housekeeping team are dedicated to ensuring all our rooms and public areas are spotlessly clean and comfortable; they will be elated to learn that their hard work and efforts are recognized. We take great pride when training our team on the importance of providing attentive service and high quality standards. We will definitely share this review with them as a means of inspiration. Our Chef is continuously training the kitchen team on new and tasty food choices, all in an effort to add variety to each and every meal. Once again, thank you for your comments; we definitely look forward to your return visit in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Savannah Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Beach

Address: Hastings, Hastings, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savannah Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the historic Garrison Savannah on the pristine coastline of Barbados, Savannah Beach Hotel is a beachfront four-star resort that easily ranks as one of the most idyllic destinations on the island. It is a Caribbean paradise that simply must be experienced! Forget everything you’ve ever known or experienced about all-inclusive hotels… Savannah is distinctly different. It is an all-inclusive hotel with style! Dive in… Savannah is an excellent choice for a relaxed Caribbean holiday. You are just steps from the beach, ensuring a blissful holiday in the Caribbean sun. Spoilt for choice, there are 2 swimming pools, 1 that meanders through the garden courtyard and has a 4-storey waterfall, the other is located down by the beach. When it comes to family holidays, children and teens are extremely well catered for at this hotel, there is an extensive family entertainment centre (opening Easter ’12) to keep even the most energetic children entertained! For those romantic moments, why not go down to the beach for a moonlight romantic stroll before heading to the late night bar. Live entertainment 5 nights per week, including themed nights and floor shows. Weekly manager’s barbecue party. Three restaurants; the main restaurant has a twist on Caribbean gourmet dining, open for buffet breakfast, buffet lunch and dinner 7 days a week. The Beach restaurant and bar is open 7 days a week for lunch and 5 days a week for dinner serving a wide range of barbecue, pastas, grilled fish and burgers for lunch and in the evening a themed dinner including Mexican, Indian, Chinese as well as Caribbean cuisine. There is also an Asian fusion* restaurant open 5 nights a week for dinner (16 years and over only, a supplement of $25 BDS per person will apply). 4 bars including a late night bar that opens from 11.00pm – 1.00am. Afternoon tea is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Otel so you can book your Savannah Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savannah Beach Hotel Hastings
Savannah Christ Church
Savannah Hotel Christ Church
Savannah Hotel Barbados
Savannah Barbados
Savannah Beach Barbados/Hastings

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savannah Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.