We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great holiday at savannah beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Savannah Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Savannah Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Savannah Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hastings, Hastings, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great holiday at savannah beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

just returned from savannah beach , 1 week stay, and we absolutely loved it. the hotel is amazing + clean, the staff are very welcoming and friendly, the food is great at rachels, and the link to copacabana beach where they put on a bus and keep the all inclusive running is great.
it was safe, secure and very friendly . . . . . recommend it and will go back again as soon as pocket allows !!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    290
    90
    22
    21
See reviews for
226
427
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
peterborough
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We've just got back on the 6th November having spent a perfect week here, other hotels could learn alot from this one as could the staff, both of which were perfect!! It was clean, well kept, the perfect size for a complex, the staff all clearly were proud of where they worked and always seemed like they wanted to be there instead of having to be. We were truly sorry to leave here, and both of us can't wait to go back, everyone was beyond friendly and always made you welcome with a genuine smile, Craig who is the G.M was cooking the BBQ one day, because he wanted to, something that would never happen elsewhere, he should be very proud of his hotel and every single one of the staff. I cannot say enough good things about being here, and would whole heartidly reccommend this place to anyone

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahManagement, Manager at Savannah Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Barbados! Thank you for sharing your comments, they are always beneficial to us when analyzing our service standards. Our General Manager Craig is very hands on and gets very involved in every aspect of the operation. His approach and style of management keeps the senior team and the line staff motivated and inspired on a daily basis. We are all very proud of the hotel and have a vested passion in the service we provide. The reward always comes when we read reviews such as yours which confirms that we are creating life long memories with the quality service that we thrive to deliver. We look forward to your next visit !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Yes, we loved every minute of our two-week stay. The fabulous staff, super comfy beds and furnishings, gorgeous beaches (yes you have two to choose from in the package - don't knock it!), the abundance and choice of good, tasty food, and the beautiful location, not to mention the wild monkeys and turtles! Go and enjoy!

If you only do one trip, make it a catamaran - we went with Cool Runnings and it was a magic five hours for only £60 each; well worth it!

Thanks to all the staff at the Savannah, Copacabana and Cool Runnings. We can't wait to see you again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The first thing that hits you about this hotel is how clean it it, and the staff are so friendly, which is not alway the case in Barbados. The room we were given on arrival was in the old part of the hotel and it is as described, historic and with character, and again very clean, would have been great for a one night stay but as it did not have a balcony and windows looked out onto the road to one side and the police station on the other it was not ideal for a 10 day holiday so we upgraded to a pool access room which was much cheaper to do with the hotel direct than with Virgin at the time of booking, so my advice would be 'see what you get given and upgrade once you get there.

Food was good, never a night when we could not find something that we liked, service at the bar and restaurants was very good and always with a smile.

While we were there the management had some guys working for 4 days solid removing stones from the beach and shoreline which made the access into the sea a lot less painful

On the hole a great little hotel especially if you can get a deal!

Room Tip: Upgrade rooms when you get there, its cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire,UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We're just back from a week here (Oct 20th-27th) and echo most of the reviews we read before we went. Having been taken over a year or so ago, It's still a work in progress and given that is reflected in the price, we had a great time. Eventually it will be an even better experience but at a higher cost! The strength of this place is the staff. Friendly and efficient from the welcome rum punch on arrival, to putting sun beds out on the beach through to drinks service on the beach (thanks Dexter) & good bar/dinner waitresses everyone is a credit to the hotel. There are areas for improvement though. For example, although the food in the a la carte restaurant (Rachels) was excellent we had a very leisurely service. We're used to holidaying in the Caribbean and enjoy a leisurely evening meal, however it was so leisurely you started to look around at who had been served in case they'd forgotten your course (one night they did!). Against this the water & wine top ups while waiting were very efficient so it really just needs a good restaurant manager to keep an eye on things and intervene before people get frustrated. The other, buffet style restaurant (Drifters) also has a good choice of food, and efficient drinks service so with a few tweaks the overall dining experience would be very good. The rooms are also fine. It's a small hotel so nowhere is too far. As previous reviews have said they could be improved (for example the bathrooms were unusually dark) but nothing major to make these very good as well. Onto the beach. Having read the reviews I was surprised how good it was. The area on the right of the hotel offered beds in the sun all day while there was plenty of shade to the left. Yes, the sea is rocky but I believe the hotel are looking to address this (& the beaches either side of the hotel are picture perfect) Do get out and explore, you can walk miles (especially left out of the hotel along the great new boardwalk where we got to release baby turtles into the sea) Finally, the drinks were good but could be improved by having the fab Mount Gay rum available on the all inclusive package. All small things but together would turn this from good to great. Go & enjoy :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisbech St Mary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at the Savannah for 10 nights. It's my second time to Barbados but my partners and daughters first.
Hotel was spotless , and the food was tasty but that depends on what type of food your into I enjoyed it partner not so much. We stayed in room 328 sea view absolutely huge for just 3 people, and spotlessly clean everyday . Staff were wonderful especially Dexter who brings drinks out to you on the beach, but all staff very helpfull . Our daughter met a little friend while we were out there called Lilly and it was fascinating to watch them looking for the sea turtles in early afternoon .
Beach is quite sweet really and the shade certainly a must it was so hot.
This goes out to anyone who does just go out for a holiday please try and get out and sea the island it just has so much to offer and Oistins on a Friday is absolutely heaving Saturday's not so much.
What ever happens chill and enjoy. We stayed from the 18th of Oct to the 28th of Oct.
We shall return one day.

Thank you Savannah Thank you Barbados

Room Tip: Room 328 quite with a beautiful view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Booked thro Virgin Holidays brochure. Stayed October 2012. Just on the end of the rainy season. Hot and humid but lots of sun. The hotel is quite small 94 rooms. Some in the old collonial part of the building directly next to a bust road. The rest built around a narrow courtyard and pool. We had a delux courtyard view room. It was big and roomy with a king size bed, air con and ceiling fan. A good size bathroom and a large balcony overlooking the courtyard and pool with a view down to the beach.
The hotel has two bars (not 4 as shown in the brochure) Rachaels bar and restaurant in the old part of the building, and Drifters bar and buffet down on the beach. Breakfast is a buffet served in Rachaels. Lots of choice from healthy to full on . Lunch is a buffet served in Drifters , again a good choice. Dinner is either Table D ote or a la carte in Rachaels or buffet agin in Drifters. This however is not available Sunday and Wednesday. Entertainement 5 nights a week which was of a generaly very high quality.
The pool looks pretty but isnt very practical consists of a U shaped channel giving direct access from some of the courtyard rooms, and a seperate round pool with a swim up bar to Drifters. The pool is all 3ft 6inches deep so watch the younger children. The u shape channel isnt much more than a plunge pool being too narrow to swim in some places. The only area for sun beds is around the circular pool with room for approx 20 beds and is usually taken by those with youg children.
The beach is very pretty soft white coral sand with trees almost to the waterline. Plenty of beds which are well managed by the beach staff. Umberellas are available but in shorter supply, however the presence of trees on the beach gives an alternative. There is a beach club area to the left looking out to sea for an extra charge. its a decking boarded area with posh wooden beds and a higher level of service. this wasnt actualy mentioned by our rep though it is in the brochure. I didnt think it wirththe money as it has a constant flow of people walking through it and has no direct access to the beach and sea. To the right is a wooded area down to the sea and local parking area which is used by locals at the weekend.
The sea is very shallow and the bottom is mainly coral boulders making it difficult to swim it can also get a bit choppy in the afternoon (popular with local surfers further down). The hotel owners are trying to address this by removing the boulders and have plans to build a protective harbour wall.
The place is kept very clean and food hygene appears very good with staff regularly checking the temp of food trays etc. the head chef is often seen eating in the restuarant itself and its also popular with locals as a restaurant and conference centre.
The staff were very helpful and friendly.
There are beach sellers as it is a public beach but these are contolled by a fierce lady beach warden.
The hotel is located in the Garrison area with lots of local history, and the islands horse racing track is over the road
Not many negatives other than the system of issuing beach towels which has been addressed to the hotel. Also they used to have filter coffee machines in the room which arent now available being replaced with a kettle and sachets. We didnt try the tea but the coffee was dire.
Overall very good I would go again and recommend it.

Room Tip: Pick the Courtyard View rooms, a couple we met had a room in the older building which had no balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
0.4 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
2.9 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#1 of 8 in St Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 stars 1,156 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#3 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 stars 2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 stars 702 reviews
12.8 mi away
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa
Sugar Cane Club Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Saint Peter Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 781 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#8 of 50 in Christ Church Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savannah Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Beach Hotel

Address: Hastings, Hastings, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savannah Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the historic Garrison Savannah on the pristine coastline of Barbados, Savannah Beach Hotel is a beachfront four-star resort that easily ranks as one of the most idyllic destinations on the island. It is a Caribbean paradise that simply must be experienced! Forget everything you’ve ever known or experienced about all-inclusive hotels… Savannah is distinctly different. It is an all-inclusive hotel with style! Dive in… Savannah is an excellent choice for a relaxed Caribbean holiday. You are just steps from the beach, ensuring a blissful holiday in the Caribbean sun. Spoilt for choice, there are 2 swimming pools, 1 that meanders through the garden courtyard and has a 4-storey waterfall, the other is located down by the beach. When it comes to family holidays, children and teens are extremely well catered for at this hotel, there is an extensive family entertainment centre (opening Easter ’12) to keep even the most energetic children entertained! For those romantic moments, why not go down to the beach for a moonlight romantic stroll before heading to the late night bar. Live entertainment 5 nights per week, including themed nights and floor shows. Weekly manager’s barbecue party. Three restaurants; the main restaurant has a twist on Caribbean gourmet dining, open for buffet breakfast, buffet lunch and dinner 7 days a week. The Beach restaurant and bar is open 7 days a week for lunch and 5 days a week for dinner serving a wide range of barbecue, pastas, grilled fish and burgers for lunch and in the evening a themed dinner including Mexican, Indian, Chinese as well as Caribbean cuisine. There is also an Asian fusion* restaurant open 5 nights a week for dinner (16 years and over only, a supplement of $25 BDS per person will apply). 4 bars including a late night bar that opens from 11.00pm – 1.00am. Afternoon tea is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Savannah Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savannah Beach Hotel Hastings
Savannah Christ Church
Savannah Hotel Christ Church
Savannah Hotel Barbados
Savannah Barbados
Savannah Beach Hotel Barbados/Hastings

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savannah Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.