We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Fantastic Honeymoon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Savannah Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Savannah Beach to your Saves list
Savannah Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hastings, Hastings, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hastings
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“What a Fantastic Honeymoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

We spent 10 wonderful days at this hotel in September. After reading a few of the reviews on here we were a bit concerned, but there was no need to worry, from the moment we got there the staff were instantly friendly, and welcomed us with a lovely rum punch! These are yummy! Our deluxe pool access room was lovely, with the biggest and most comfy bed we have ever slept in, our room was spotlessly cleaned every day with fresh towels, and beach towels. The food was lovely, with a great range of local dishes, the only downside was we would have liked to have seen the dinner menu at rachels change, but the food that we did have was wonderful, the gourmet burger is one of the best burgers we have ever tasted. Damien the virgin rep was always on hand, and didn't shy away from the guests. A great guy! We were lucky enough to see the turtles lay eggs on the hotel beach, a great once in a lifetime watch. Really made our stay special. All in all, the staff will do anything for you, and aim to please. They are all great! We would definitely go back to this hotel. What a great place to explore the wonders of Barbados. Keep up the good work guys!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahManagement, Manager at Savannah Beach, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,
What a pleasure it is to know that you chose us for this special time in your life. It is always rewarding to know that we lived up to every aspect of your expectation, from the food, to the rum punch, to the cleanliness of your room. You visited at a perfect time as our turtles are approaching their nesting season and it is always amazing to see nature at its best. At times you will also see part of the island's wildlife ~ our green monkeys on the beach. Although they shouldn't be petted or fed, they always make for a great photo. We will share your feedback with our team! We look forward to seeing you again on your first and many more anniversaries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    232
    73
    17
    18
See reviews for
169
351
12
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I booked the trip as a suprise for my wife for our silver anniversary, usually hard to please was blown away with the holiday. Food was great, all the staff were so lovely nothing was too much trouble, rooms have everything you need. The bar staff take time to make up cocktails for you whilst passing the time chatting (Ronal). An extraspecial thanks to the general manager who made our anniversary by seating us on the beach and having a special candle lit dinner prepared for us

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahManagement, Manager at Savannah Beach, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments. We always aim to please all our guests and take great pride in going the extra mile for special occasions like anniversaries, honeymoons and birthdays. Renelle and Mr Smith will be elated to know what a memorable impression their service and efforts had on your vacation. At the Savannah Beach Hotel our goal is to provide lifetime memories like your moonlight dinner on the beach. We sincerely look forward to many more special dinners as you celebrate several more anniversaries with us in Barbados!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Excellent hotel we stayed here for 3 weeks and found the quality of food, cleanliness and attention of staff to be a consistanly high level throughout our stay
The presentation and quality of dinner in Rachels restaurant is second to none
The management take a working interest in everyday running of the hotel and this is reflected in the way the staff have been trained
Will definiteyly stay at this hotel again next time we go to Barbados

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavannahManagement, Manager at Savannah Beach, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us! We the management team do take the continuous training of our staff to heart and are always thinking of ways to exceed the expectations of our guests. It is always rewarding to read comments such as yours that confirms our efforts and motivate us to continue leading our staff in the right direction. We hope that Savannah Beach will be your 'home away from home' and definitely look forward to seeing your again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

stayed at this hotel the first week in september what a lovley little hotel, we had a fabulous week
it is what it says 3 1/2 star hotel but a very good one i might add. It was actully really small and friendly. all british guests wich was a refreshing change everybody was so pleasant. Pool access room was fab, the bath rooms are a bit tired and need a revamp especially the bath tubs but this did not spoil our stay the shower was good enough.
The free shuttle bus to carlisle bay was great we used to go every morning then come back at 1 pm and have lunch, and then sit in the pool all afternoon.The entertainment was of good standard of a night time in drifters bar and the drinks a decent quality.
we also went to the board walk and had a meal out at tapas which was brilliant what a view from here and the food a really good standard.
met lots of nice people especially chris and dave thanks for the brilliant company please ring us i have lost your number . thanks everyone for a fab little holiday karen and mike x

Room Tip: pool access rooms loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Had a wonderful holiday recently at the Savannah. Pleasantly surprised at the rooms. Thought that the ones on the internet were deluxe rooms apparently not because we stayed in one just like the picture on the website. All the staff were very accommodating and their was a good selection of food in two of the three restaurants. The beach was okay for sunbathing but the sea was shallow and rocky and you needed to wear shoes in the water as there were urchins in the water too. I did, to the cost of $100, find out at a medical centre that there is nothing deadly poisonous in the Barbados water, so no need for a trip there if you get barbed by one of the urchins. The hotel offer a free bus service to a better beach and fantastic, beautiful, warm clear waters in Carlisle Bay and if you have paid for all inclusive deal you get free drinks at the hut on the beach at the CocoaCabana and sunbeds.
Whilst we were in the Savannah Beach Hotel were saw turtles laying their eggs in the beach. We would definately go back to this hotel. Great value for money.

Room Tip: This hotel is not suitable for anyone that cannot cope well with steps. There are lots of them. Alt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was our 2nd visit to Barbados & we ended up staying at the Savannah Beach after originally booking Crystal Cove - Virgin told us they had made a mistake with pricing and wanted an extra £1200 from us (another story!). Savannah is lovely, clean and welcoming and the staff are the most friendly people we have ever encountered on holiday (we have been to several Caribbean destinations + other countries). The beach is nice however there are rocks in the sea so you need footwear to enter, on the plus side this appeared to be an ideal spot for turtle watching (they pop their heads up out of water during the day) and we were lucky enough to see some baby turtles that had hatched, and help carry them down to sea, as well as a large turtle digging a hole to lay her eggs..and green monkeys on a few occasions, truly amazing! Do make the most of the free shuttle bus to Carlisle Bay, aquamarine warm water & powder like sand, it is complete paradise:) My only criticism would be the lack of variety of food at the hotel, breakfast was fine & lunch to a certain degree but dinner was not so good & although we were all-inc we ate out on a few occasions which was a shame, I am a fussy eater but we did talk to other guests who had done the same. All in all this hotel is good value for money and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was our second Barbados holiday and we were a little bit apprehensive when I read a few reviews about staying at The Savannah Beach Hotel.

The hotel has been recently refurbished and I think only opened again last year.

All my fears were put to rest within minutes of being there. It was clean and well maintained and the majority of the staff couldn't do enough to help with any questions or requests. The place also looks amazing.

This was also our first time going all inclusive. So beyond saying that although the food was not the best, it was certaily more than acceptable. The service was also pretty good and it always helps when people look as though they are happy to be of service.

The down side.

The hotel beach left a bit to be desired. Hotel staff had to collect a lot of seaweed and other things that had washed up overnight. This had to be done most mornings throughout our holiday. It is also not possible to wade out into the sea unless wearing sandals due to rocks and pebbles, but this wasn't really a problem because it only took a couple of minutes walking either way on the beach to find a better spot.

All in all, I can honestly recommend this place and I would certaily go back again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Savannah Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Beach

Address: Hastings, Hastings, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savannah Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the historic Garrison Savannah on the pristine coastline of Barbados, Savannah Beach Hotel is a beachfront four-star resort that easily ranks as one of the most idyllic destinations on the island. It is a Caribbean paradise that simply must be experienced! Forget everything you’ve ever known or experienced about all-inclusive hotels… Savannah is distinctly different. It is an all-inclusive hotel with style! Dive in… Savannah is an excellent choice for a relaxed Caribbean holiday. You are just steps from the beach, ensuring a blissful holiday in the Caribbean sun. Spoilt for choice, there are 2 swimming pools, 1 that meanders through the garden courtyard and has a 4-storey waterfall, the other is located down by the beach. When it comes to family holidays, children and teens are extremely well catered for at this hotel, there is an extensive family entertainment centre (opening Easter ’12) to keep even the most energetic children entertained! For those romantic moments, why not go down to the beach for a moonlight romantic stroll before heading to the late night bar. Live entertainment 5 nights per week, including themed nights and floor shows. Weekly manager’s barbecue party. Three restaurants; the main restaurant has a twist on Caribbean gourmet dining, open for buffet breakfast, buffet lunch and dinner 7 days a week. The Beach restaurant and bar is open 7 days a week for lunch and 5 days a week for dinner serving a wide range of barbecue, pastas, grilled fish and burgers for lunch and in the evening a themed dinner including Mexican, Indian, Chinese as well as Caribbean cuisine. There is also an Asian fusion* restaurant open 5 nights a week for dinner (16 years and over only, a supplement of $25 BDS per person will apply). 4 bars including a late night bar that opens from 11.00pm – 1.00am. Afternoon tea is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Savannah Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savannah Beach Hotel Hastings
Savannah Christ Church
Savannah Hotel Christ Church
Savannah Hotel Barbados
Savannah Barbados
Savannah Beach Barbados/Hastings

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savannah Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.