We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable stay x” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Savannah Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Savannah Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Savannah Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hastings, Hastings, Barbados   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“enjoyable stay x”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

we stayed for a week 12th march. we booked in the virgin sale and paid £642 each. the hotel reception gives a wrong impression as the rest of hotel and its rooms are lovely. the food was good with some great dishes.though breakfast choice was a bit limited. the staff are wonderful , and the pool bar stayed open till aleast 1am . the hotel is in a great spot just a short bus ride into bridgetown. we went out everyday there is great sports bars locally and for a night out we headed for st lawrence gap. all in all a nice caribbean stay x

Room Tip: our room over looked the pool and was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    269
    85
    20
    21
See reviews for
198
406
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

I don’t even know where to start with my review. I would not stay at this hotel again, unless they want to rebook me for 5 free night stay, to make me write a better review, or make me think it was just a OFF 5 Nights for them. I didn’t like my room accommodations, which I went to front desk to request an upgrade. We were advised that we were not in the best rooms available due to the fact that we booked it through an agent. I was told the manager who can give me the upgrade rates was off for the day upon his return in the morning he would give me a call. This trip was taken back in March 2012 & it is now April 2012 & I am still awaiting a call back….. The place is an all inclusive resort yet it never felt that way. You can only eat certain places & at certain times. Every time we sat down for food or drinks we were asked our room number, but observing others, the same line of questing was not applied. The Hotels beach is like one of the worst beaches in Barbados. Due to this fact they offer special accommodations to bus you over to another beach, which we were not made aware of until the last day in Barbados. We had to ASK for New Clean beach towels every morning. The only plus side to this hotel is that there was a handful friendly workers, we wanted to make sure we were enjoying our stay, so they told us about certain accommodations we were not made aware of, as well as island activities to take advantage of. If it were not for those handful or workers & a few lovely locals, I am not sure I would of enjoyed my stay in Barbados. Due to those people I will be returning back to Barbados sometime in the near future, but will make sure not to stay anywhere near this Hotel AGAIN………..

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Travelled with Virgin Airlines and from start to finish this was a perfect holiday, Stayed at this hotel from 24th March for 8 nights, Rooms were spacious, clean and with a lovely comfortable bed, plenty of storage space, air con and ceiling fan were a blessing, both of which worked, flat screen TV,furniture on the balcony was very comfortable. All the staff were very friendly and helpfull, all areas of hotel were very well maintained and although situated on different levels was as per brochure. Beach was literally the other side of a white picket fence adjacent to the Drifters Beach bar. Food here at lunchtime and evening was always hot and a good selection of courses. Good buffet breakfast at top of the property, The swimming pool has a meandering feel to it and was very clean and the water temperature was always good.

Solange the Virgin holiday rep was very helpful with advice and arranging the excursions if you had not already pre arranged them, gave you plenty of local information regarding transport etc, the hotel has a free shuttle bus this goes to an adjacent beach for free, hotel situated near to Bridgetown, well worth a visit.Not too sure if this is a location for children there does not seem to be enough for them to do. Beach was cleaned of seaweed when we were there. As with all hotels a few guests had issues with the location/facilities and where possible the hotel tried to sort these issues as soon as possible. This is a place that we will be visiting again as soon as we can, if the staff read this thanks again everyone. Be happy explore enjoy yourself this is a very beautiful island with so many friendly happy people, chill, work on Bajan timing and this can be perfect for you. A quick word of warning however, please do not be fooled by the strength of the sun even on cloudy mornings a very high sun factor is required, and keep hydrated is a must.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are exactly this, we had a garden suite on a corner location which was cool in the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We have just returned from a two week stay (17 - 31 March) at the Savannah Beach.

Rooms were great, we stayed in a deluxe king with pool view which had all we needed from a room whilst on holiday - It was clean, spacious, secure and included a safe, plenty of storage, working A/C, a fridge and a big comfy bed. The room also had a new flat screen tv (mainly American Channels), iron, ironing board, tea / coffee machine, hair dryers and some excellent furniture (internal and external). The food was pretty good and on occasion excellent - 1 a-la-carte (Rachels), 1 buffet (Drifters) and 1 fusion (Chop Stix where you pay a supplement).

The beach was OK, but when the carpet of sea-weed arrived we preferred to take the shuttle (or walk) to the hotels beach bar / area on the adjacent Carlise Beach (you can use your AI for drinks, but food is charged). NB: I was surprised the hotel didn't clear the seaweed up faster, but they got there in the end!

The staff here are - in the main - great and cannot do enough for you. You get to know many on first name terms and there are far too many to mention here. I will pick-out Kimisha as she was great - taking time to learn our names from the outset and always ready with a big smile.

I thought that the management let the staff down a bit at times, but it is clear that feedback is taken on board and changes are taking place at the hotel. Organisation (even for the carribean) was poor, especially at busy meal times - but to be fair we saw improvements throughout our stay that suggest they are getting on-top of many of the issues I had read about in previous revews and those I saw during my stay - Not everyone will agree as I know a few guests who had on-going issues with the hotel.

A few other quick points:

- I'd suggest that the steps around the grounds make it unsuitable for pushchairs and people with walking difficulties - even the lifts (when they work!) don't help much;

- great location for getting out and about (local buses are great fun!). Oistins on a Friday night a must and given it's so close horse racing (opposite the hotel every other Sat during season) and Cricket at the Oval;

- driving is fine and a great way to get around the island, maps and signage can be less than helpful / accurate (watch out for pot-holes and take a compass!!);

- Hotel runs a shuttle service to beach and The Gap (be great if both had extended hours - especially the beach, but still pretty good);

- a small shop (primarily gifts and essentials) has just opened on site. There's a Pharmacy opposite and a mini-mart a 5 minute walk away;

- I don't see it as a venue for kids between 7 and 16 as site not big enough and not enough to do, also pools not really suitable for games (it does look like the hotel is trying to accommodate this age group soon with work going on to introduce a 'games room' - I'll be interested in how that fairs);

- If you fancy breaking out from the AI food, but not venturing too far - try 39 Steps (literally next door). Had a great meal there (about £35 / head).

For us - Outside of school holidays this hotel may just become a bit of a gem. I'm sure we'll be back (and we don't go back anywhere!).

One final note - The Virgin Rep is great. Solange can't do enough for you and if you read this thanks for sorting out tickets and transport for a bunch of us to go to the WI vs. Australia 20/20 - a fantastic afternoon out.

Room Tip: Rooms are many and varied and it depends what you want / need. We had 364 and it was well positioned...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 10 nights 19th - 29th March.

Check in was quite a slow process, but there were quite a few people checking in from our flight. Room was great, bed really comfortable and room kept clean.
Food was good in Drifters (Beach Bar) if only they had enough cutlery that you could get for yourself, the food was readily available but you always needed to wait to get something to eat it with.
Food in Rachel's buffet breakfast was good and the evening a la carte meals were really excellent, portions were small but was very tasty, albeit service is very hit and miss. They do try exceptionally hard, but their is no sense of urgency in what they are doing or if you ask for anything - think this must be the Bajan way, perhaps if we could be like this all the time we would be more chilled out!!
The beach has plenty of sunbeds and yes, a lot of it is in the shade, but you can get int the sun and believe me, it is very deceiving and you get burnt very quickly and very easily.

Yes, there are things that can be improved on, but all in all a good holiday, we would stay here again. Go with an open mind and remember time is on your side and just go with the flow, otherwise frustration will eat you up..

Also Solange the rep is very good at giving information on the island, there are a lot of things you can get to yourself on local transport, don't be put off, you will save money and have a great experience in doing so. Have fun.

Room Tip: Our room was great Courtyard view 4th floor (top) plenty of sun in the afternoon and very quiet in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Stayed at Savannah Beach 1 week from 16th March. I have stayed in Barbados many times and love the Island and it`s people very much. The hotel rooms and public areas are lovely and very well maintained. The location is on the beach, but as many people say it is very shaded with trees, and has shallow waters with rocks underfoot. If that doesn`t worry you then there are plenty of sunbeds to go around. The pool is small and more of a wading pool really as only 3ft 6 deep throughout.
Having said all that, it WAS all OK. The reason I have given it an average score is because there is something very missing. The hotel doesn`t buzz,- it isn`t colourful and cheerful (as Barbados usually is) and the staff just don`t seem to buzz either! credit where credit is due to certain exceptions - and Solange the rep is lovely. I think they need some team building and some sense of "family" to the hotel.

Room Tip: 3rd floor pool view. The pool access rooms seemed very closed in under the trees etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Well what can I say about the Savannah?
The rooms themselves were clean and tidy and we slept very well,but other guests who had stayed in the plantation house complained about the noise from the road and had been moved to other rooms.
The beach was small and shaded by a few trees and it was very stoney in the sea but as other reviews say it was only a short walk either way to another beach around the corner.We opted to get the shuttle bus most mornings to Carlisle beach and well it was fantastic.Free sun loungers and drinks(food you had to pay for) and great swimming,snorkelling etc.
Food,breakfast for me was the best ,great choice,but what let it down where the staff,although to be fair most were helpful but they were very slow at clearing the tables,often when you sat down there was no cups,cutlery etc and often you had to go hunting for stuff from other tables.
We had heard mixed reviews from other guests about lunch and dinner,running out of food and drink etc.We only ate a couple of lunches there and it was nearly the same food both days.to be honest I would opt to eat out like we did every night,we found great places to eat in St Lawrence Gap(the shuttle bus also takes you there) and then came back for the evening entertainment most nights which was quiet good,everyone having a good old dance.
If your hiring a car a couple of days would be enough to get you out and about and if you want to hire a mini moke(convertible ) I would book well in advance.
In time the Savannah could be a great place but the staff could really do with customer training.

Room Tip: Get a room with a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Savannah Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Beach Hotel

Address: Hastings, Hastings, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savannah Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the historic Garrison Savannah on the pristine coastline of Barbados, Savannah Beach Hotel is a beachfront four-star resort that easily ranks as one of the most idyllic destinations on the island. It is a Caribbean paradise that simply must be experienced! Forget everything you’ve ever known or experienced about all-inclusive hotels… Savannah is distinctly different. It is an all-inclusive hotel with style! Dive in… Savannah is an excellent choice for a relaxed Caribbean holiday. You are just steps from the beach, ensuring a blissful holiday in the Caribbean sun. Spoilt for choice, there are 2 swimming pools, 1 that meanders through the garden courtyard and has a 4-storey waterfall, the other is located down by the beach. When it comes to family holidays, children and teens are extremely well catered for at this hotel, there is an extensive family entertainment centre (opening Easter ’12) to keep even the most energetic children entertained! For those romantic moments, why not go down to the beach for a moonlight romantic stroll before heading to the late night bar. Live entertainment 5 nights per week, including themed nights and floor shows. Weekly manager’s barbecue party. Three restaurants; the main restaurant has a twist on Caribbean gourmet dining, open for buffet breakfast, buffet lunch and dinner 7 days a week. The Beach restaurant and bar is open 7 days a week for lunch and 5 days a week for dinner serving a wide range of barbecue, pastas, grilled fish and burgers for lunch and in the evening a themed dinner including Mexican, Indian, Chinese as well as Caribbean cuisine. There is also an Asian fusion* restaurant open 5 nights a week for dinner (16 years and over only, a supplement of $25 BDS per person will apply). 4 bars including a late night bar that opens from 11.00pm – 1.00am. Afternoon tea is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Regatta Hotels, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Savannah Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savannah Beach Hotel Hastings
Savannah Christ Church
Savannah Hotel Christ Church
Savannah Hotel Barbados
Savannah Barbados
Savannah Beach Hotel Barbados/Hastings

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savannah Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.