We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible - please be warned” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mokena Restaurant & Boutique Hotel

Mokena Restaurant & Boutique Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mokena Restaurant & Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Mokena Restaurant & Boutique Hotel
6 Church Street, Te Aroha 2971, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Te Aroha
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Terrible - please be warned”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We booked with the hotel directly online on the Mokena website. When we arrived they never had a record of our booking (despite taking full payment by credit card at the time of booking) and when i showed the booking confirmation - the cleaner/manager said sorry we have had someone living in the room for the last two months! She showed us another room and it was in such a shocking state we felt we could not possibly stay there. It really was SHOCKING. I asked for a refund - and the manager said she had no idea how to give one.... Long story short - they now don't have any record of receiving payment and decline to reimburse. I am placing my issue in legal hands. Apparently the owner has done a runner and the ex is trying to keep what cash she can make and is not paying up on much...

Avoid this place at all costs unless you want to be ripped off or unless you want fleas.

The Aroha Mountain Lodge is a better place to stay by far. They ended up fitting us in when we ran in horror from Mokena...

AVOID AT ALL COSTS

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    4
    0
    0
    4
See reviews for
4
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Hotel with character. We did stay in Queens Room with huge spa and nice view olf the mountain. There in Te Aroha, are only two pubs you can eat during public holiday. These two hotels are serving dinners in shifts. During low seas one day Grand Tavern is open for meals and on the other day is the Palace Hotel where we were,. Food was excellent.
Town? Is a very small , sleepy town with perhaps some future.This town was established as a SPA way before Rotorua and it does not stinks.
Mineral waters SPA simply fantastic (walking distance). You have to book in advanc these private, huge, wooden tubs for you naked enjoyment. Buzzer will notify you about you time so there is no pressure to watch the watch.Nice Stop before you reach Cathedral Cove.

Room Tip: There in Te Aroha are only two pubs you can eat during public holiday. These two hotels are serving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I have had the pleasure of staying twice at Mokena Hotel! The first time was so relaxing and enjoyable that when we had the opportunity to return to Te Aroha with other family members I had no hesitation in recommending that we all stay at Mokena. As usual Mokena was perfect. It is extremely comfortable and clean with appealing rooms, good beds and linen, great showers, warm cosy atmosphere and very welcoming hostess. The rooms are great and the guest lounge has everything a traveller may need for a night (or day) in - books, magazines, puzzles and games for the kids and a TV. We enjoyed the sauna after a days bike riding. Diane was very helpfull and obliging and both times she went out of her way to make sure we had an enjoyable stay. If you are looking for a flash, new, upmarket hotel don't go to Te Aroha, however if you like charming, old world style you will probably enjoy Mokena. This hotel is also extremely well priced and includes a continental breakfast! (I highly recommend the homemade toasted muesli!) We left relaxed, rested and thinking about a return visit!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahipara, New Zealand
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

We did the rail trail from waihi to te aroha. Before we left I browsed trip advisor for recommended accommodation and I read the terrible reviews for this property,( bar one). On the trail we met some people who had stayed the previous night and raved about the hospitality they had received at The Mokena and the 10 dollar steak meal they had had with the owners. So we rang to make a booking. I think we cycled by 5 times as the outside looks a little like a rundown boarding house. Finally we knocked on the door! The downstairs is old and wooden and all Axminster I agree. So let me say this before we saw the room, we paid $125 for a room, continential breakfast and dinner. We were apprehensive what to expect as we climbed the stairs to our room.. It was gorgeous!! Lovely sunny room, good linen, chaise lounge,comfortable large bed, heat pump and dressing gowns. The shower we chose was a double shower in a large tiled room, it was fantastic after a long days riding. As was the sauna! As was the dinner, and we relaxed both in our room and in the lounge reading the many up to date magazines. We almost felt pampered! It was a completely wonderful experience and we woke feeling refreshed and ready for a big days riding. There are some faulty towers components to this place, it's a large rabbit warren of a place which is probably a soak hole when it comes to money but for us it was perfect and great great value! Now there are 2 excellent reviews. We will be back te aroha is a treasure!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011 via mobile

We stayed at Mokena for two nights and its lovely ! It doesn't pretend to be a moderm brand new Hotel. So if you want that style of lodging why are you in Te Aroha. The managers are friendly and obliging with years of hospitality service behind them. Rooms are very comfortable, warm , clean and olde world charming !! We upgraded to the Queen Room with ensuite. However the shared bathrooms are spacious, clean and modern. We were very impressed with the Buffet on Sat night. Te Aroha is a lovely destination for a relaxing romantic weekend away. You can walk to great Restaurants ( Berlusconi is fabulous!), hot pools, interesting shops/cafes etc.

We will return I am sure. Ignore the disgraceful reviews previously posted and come and see for yourself. We are so pleased we chose Mokena. Thanks !!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

This hotel is terrible and not recommended. We went to this hotel intending to have a romantic getaway which was completely ruined by our experience there. We booked this hotel because we thought it was a HOTEL and all that goes with the meaning of the word. This was NOT the case. For starters, the website and especially the pictures are deceptive. Our room was much smaller than pictured and described and was furnished in a substandard manner and it was also not particularly clean. No-one expects polyester sheets in a hotel. Or mangy flea market furniture. The rest of the hotel appears to have seen better days, long ago. The staff were rude and unpleasant and even when they attempted to be polite they didn't manage it well. Our room wasn't serviced at all and when we asked why, they said they don't service the rooms using a very nasty tone. It was like Fawlty Towers without the fun. In fact, it was so appalling and the horrible attitude of the staff made us feel so bad that we almost left after just a few hours. Te Aroha itself is lovely and we will visit again but will never stay here and will NEVER recommend this place to anyone else. There is plenty of other fine-looking accommodation in Te Aroha to choose from.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

it all started well,
after a long drive to the town of te aroha we were looking forward to our boutique hotel experience, and as a couple with 3 young kids, a night away in a romantic hotel was just what the dr ordered.
we arrived at the hotel around 3ish, checked in and were impressed by the recepion area, all olde worldy and a quite the scene setter, just what we were expecting from our stay, axminster carpet, lots of dark exposed timberwork and the typical nick nack ornaments you would expect in an old hotel of this era.
unfortunately........................thats where it ended for us...... the axminster carpet disappears on the first landing of the stairs and is replaced with cheap, worn, grey polypropolene carpet..............
we were shown our room........... some of the highlights>
nipple pink walls, painted directly over wallpaper, probably some time in the 1970's.
a drafty old sash window which wont close properly.
an old master print adorned the wall, recently rescued from the flea market.
a view of construction mess left on the deck directly outside window.
tatty furniture which was not old enough to be period, just old enough to be in need of a one way ticket to the dump.
an airconditioner unit............without remote so we were unable to turn it on.
the bed was comfy though.
facitities............what can i say............shared shower area and toilets half way up the hallway, although recently renovated and clean, still something of a grab and dash from room to bathroom, nothing like a relaxing stroll to the communal bathrooms and back again to let you feel comfortable in your stay.
library area for reading,
tiny communal kitchenette for tea and coffe, and breakfast making in the morning, the electrical switchboard sitting open, dirty and dusty above the work surface, and more worryingly the fuse pulled for the fire alarm!!!!.
we paid for a room for two, dinner for two at the buffet, and breakfast for two in the morning.
we wandered te aroha for the afternoon, checked out the pools and found a wonderful cafe "Banco" which does fantastic coffee and food, with real friendly and genuinely friendly people, before returning to the hotel for out evening meal.
we arrived and headed to the dining room, the receptionist/owner was busy with another couple when we arrived, but ordered us to stop so she could show us to our table, she was very short, and of angry tone.
we were shown to our table, even though the place was practically empty (with one other couple in the dining room), for some reason she sat us right next to the couple at reception, it just made us feel like we were not welcome to sit and enjoy our meal without someone within a metre of us........
looked up to see a massive crack in the ceiling held closed by an off cut of timber, 6 inch nails and then painted white.....................classy.
food.............great spread, would have been fantastic if it was not cold, and if it was not covered with cheap aluminium throw away baking dishes instead of actual proper lids, it may well have been warm.
we ate, i was hungry and even though cold, the food was still reasonably tasty.
we were offered a coffee at the end of our meal, which was cool, what i wasnt expecting was a bill at the end of the meal for a coffee.
not a big deal ,i sauntered up to the bar to pay for the coffee, and mentioned that i was a little surprised to recieve the bill, only to be verbally attacked by the receptionist/owner, made feel stupid, run down and challenged to come up with names of places which provide free coffee all of which occured in the bar area of the dining room.
i was so angry and shocked that we paid and retired to our room for the night.
breakfast.................not the continental breakfast i would have expected, a carton each of cheap "fruit drink" with genuine orange flavour, a pottle of yoghurt and bread to make toast with.......instant coffee............ didnt even look at the selection of cereal by this stage.
this is where you realise that you cant boil the jug and make toast at the same time without blowing the fuses on the electrical switchboard, this is where you realise that have no where to sit and eat your meal...............this is where we packed and left.
there was no one at reception when we left in order to make any complaint, which we feel would have fallen on deaf ears anyhow considering the attitude of the owner the night before.
i want to know where the boutique hotel shown in the website is?.............
i want to know where that place is, so we can go and have our romantic getaway that we paid for.
we feel ripped off, offended and completely led up the garden path.
boutique hotel?.......................not even a boutique backpackers, ....... at best, given the room, food, service and attitude we recieved...................backpackers.

the place must be making alot of money, or the owners/managers have money to burn. The last time i looked , te aroha was a town declining in numbers, somewhere that would be in need of the tourist dollar, and they would be welcomed and incouraged to return and spend their hard earned dollar.
pity really, ...........................................mokena Boutique hotel....................we'll not return,
id rather pay to have a red hot poker poked in my eye.................at least you know EXACTLY what you are going to get out of the experience from the get go.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mokena Restaurant & Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mokena Restaurant & Boutique Hotel

Address: 6 Church Street, Te Aroha 2971, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Te Aroha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Te Aroha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Mokena Restaurant & Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mokena Restaurant & Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.