We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Coach House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bampton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Coach House
Save
You added The Coach House to your Saves list
Clanfield Road, Bampton OX18 2HG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Bampton B&B and Inns
Hornchurch
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed here for one night recently. Received a warm welcome from Robin the owner, who invited us to a cup of tea and homemade cake, plus a chat, in the courtyard. Lovely place to sit for a while enjoying a drink or read a book. Room was very pleasant if a bit tight due to it's location within the roof space of the building. In the room were homemade flapjacks and a small decanter of sherry and of course tea/coffee making facility. Breakfast was great. Prepared by Robin and Pip in their large open plan kitchen diner, while talking to us and other guests. Nice fresh fruit salad and samples of interesting cheeses and cold meats. It was a nice breakfast, and again their company was pleasant and interesting. Pip is an artist and her work is displayed around the house to be viewed.

Very pleasant all round.

Room Tip: Room was quite warm during the night. - I would ask about this if staying in the summer months as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
89
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
DFW Texas
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

What a wonderful find on the edge of the Cotswolds near Oxford. The Coach House was the prefect end to a two week holiday for our American family. A quaint B&B in a quaint town (not a village, we learned, because of the church...and anyone how has seen Downton Abbey will quickly recognize the church). After driving through the English countryside, this was the perfect stop before heading for Heathrow and the journey home.

Robin and Pip were wonderful host, as many reviewers have noted. This little inn in Bampton is not easy to find, but is worth the hunt. We have recommended the Coach House to many and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We are walking the Thames Path and this stay was our luxury. Pip and Robin could not have been more helpful. They collected us up from the riverside. A lovely house. Welcoming tea and homemade cake. A long bath to soak weary limbs. Very comfortable room and bed, not to mention the decanter of sherry. The longest breakfast menu we have ever seen in a B&B, beuatifully cooked and presented, and then Robin drove us to our next starting point to continue our walk. The whole experience was a highlight, and now we are trying to reroute the Thames so we can stay again!
Thank you for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Our hosts Robin and Pip could not have been more attentive. So just what did they do, you might ask?
On arrival we were treated to a warm welcome and a cup of tea and slice of delicious homemade cake. Fresh milk was provided in a flask for our hot room drinks, we also had a decanter of sherry in our rooms & a cookie jar full of flapjacks in case we were peckish!
We asked about local pubs & restaurants & at this point Robin produced a number sample menus for us, we made our choice & Robin not only booked it for us but drove us there and picked us up after the meal!
The breakfast menu was very comprehensive & was made up of mainly local produce, Robin cooked what ever combination we chose in front of us & it was delicious.(do not miss out this meal!)
We were visiting with friends & found the location to be very central for our 3 day tour of the Cotswolds. The big sliegh bed was very comfortable & the bathroom had the bonus of a large bath.
A word of warning about booking. We tried to book through Late rooms.com & it rejected several dates as "not available", however we tried the Coach House web site & booked the same dates with them with no problem. Would I go back - definately.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Just got back from a lovely weekend at the Coach House. Robin and Pip were very friendly and could not do enough for us. A cup of tea and a piece of cake was a lovely gesture when we arrived and much needed. Robin cooked wonderful breakfasts and we couldn't resist the piping hot croissants. Could not fault anything. We also had a great meal at the Biztro in the village. Can't wait to return!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We chose this b & b from a Smartbox that I bought for my husbands 30th birthday & what a fantastic choice we made. We arrived in Bampton at around 12.30 & although check in wasn't until 4.30 ish Robin & Pip were happy for us to drop our bags off so we could go for some lunch & explore our surroundings. We were greeted at the door by Robin who was so lovely, he helped us with our luggage & showed us our room, that although he said it wasn't quite ready it looked perfectly adequate to us. We asked him where we could go get some lunch & he recommended The Trout at Tadpole Bridge. We briefly met his wife Pip who was busy painting away (she's a professional artist & a bloody good one at that, you'll see many of her paintings dotted around).
We went for our lunch which was only a 10 minute drive away. We only wanted a light snack as we were booked in at Biztro for evening meal. The Trout doesn't really do light bites, but we both had a starter each & shared a bowl of chips which was rather scrummy. We sat by the nice hot wood burner which made it really cosy, lovely looking restaurant with very friendly staff.

After our look around & a trip to Oxford, we went back to The Coach House & was this time greeted at the door by Pip. She asked if we would like a tea or coffee & told us to come down when we were ready for it. We went up to our room to unpack & what a beautiful room it was. It was the smaller out of the 3 but absolutely gorgeous & oozing with character. There we found a decanter of sherry & a pot full of flap jack, what a lovely touch. We went downstairs for our tea & found ourselves in the kitchen/dining room which again was so homely & characterful. We enjoyed our welcome pot of tea & a slice of apple & ginger cake which was delicious!

We went out for our evening meal to Biztro which is a small Bistro in Bampton, about a 10 minute walk from The Coach House. We had a fab meal there, although very busy service was good & staff very attentive. Me & my husband both had steak which was very tasty & cooked beautifully. Would highly recommend going here, just as Pip had recommended it to us via our e-mails with her. When we wondered back we found a flask outside our room door which was full of fresh cold milk, again another lovely touch as I can't stand that awful long life uht stuff. There was a drawer in our room which had a jar of coffee, 3 boxes of different teas & some hot chocolate. We had a very comfortable night & got up nice & early, as we were only staying for one night. We went down for breakfast at 8.30, the first down. Robin had started getting things ready for breakfast, there was a very big selection. We both chose a full English (recommend this!!) but there were cereals etc & choice of juices. Robin cooked the food in front of us & it was all cooked fresh to order. After breakfast we went back to our room to pack then came down & bought a couple of Pips cards as a memento of our stay.

Would highly recommend staying here & wished we had booked an extra night. Pip & Robin were very attentive & helpful, they can recommend a few restaurants around the area for lunch & evening meals. Almost forgot, they also have a cute little dog called Widget but we didn't really get to see much of him, no bother at all if your not into dogs.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The Coach House offers a characterful and relaxed environment with great attention to detail. Situated in the beautiful village of Bampton the location is an ideal take off point from which to explore Oxford and the Cotswolds.
Hosts Robin and Pip couldn't have been more helpful and all with good gentle humour. The breakfast using all local products is to die for.
If you don't book this place you're missing a trick!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House

Address: Clanfield Road, Bampton OX18 2HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Bampton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coach House is a purpose built conversion of a 17th century coach house and stable block once part of College Farm in Bampton. The rooms are all on the first floor with charming beamed sloping ceilings and modern, elegant, en-suite bathrooms. It has a delightful breakfast room and a beautiful courtyard garden in which to sit if the English weather allows. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Coach House Hotel Bampton
The Coach House Bampton, Oxfordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.