We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy and good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant La Rascasse

Restaurant La Rascasse
Quai d'Honneur | - Port de Plaisance, 20217 Saint Florent, Corsica, France
04 95 37 06 99
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 49 Restaurants in Saint Florent
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Laren, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Trendy and good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Our first night in Saint Florent was spent a La Rascasse, “a creative restaurant”. This place, on the water front, looked nice, trendy, with a menu to fit. Prices were a little steep, it seemed, but this was our first night on Corsica. We did not know yet that prices are quite steep everywhere.
We tasted a fish soup and fish carpaccio, both well executed. Wine was good (but here also goes that prices are steep (everywhere), even for local wines). Mains were good, a chicken stewed in beer and fish. I had sort of a ‘grand dessert’, which was nice but missable. Staff was very friendly, but there seemd to be too many present, which led to wine glasses being filled after about every sip. Bill totalled to 120 euros excluding tip.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    23
    10
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Very detailed menu that I found hard to translate but all very tasty and well presented. Harbour front to watch the world go by.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We chose to go to the Rascasse Brasserie 137 which is on the ground floor below the main restaurant.The menu looked tempting and we decided to go for the set menu at 29 euros.

We started with the fish soup, one of our favourite starters. Certainly an attempt had been made to be creative for which the restaurant upstairs is famed but it didn't work for the fish soup which was brought in a tumbler covered in foam which looked more like a cappuccino. Only four croutons were supplied and a minimum of aoili.

The main course was even smaller. We had the signature rascasse which was served on a large plate with a small depression in the middle. It was in this depression we found our rascasse. Three mouthfuls later it was gone. Delicous maybe, but hardly satisfying.

It was at this point that I realised that there would be room for some cheese This was an extra 9 euros for which I received two thin almost translucent slices of cheese. The dessert, a chestnut confection, was tasty but again only a small portion.

We cannot complain about the creativity or the flavours but the small servings were not in our opinion compatible with brasserie style eating.

Service was only average with an exceptionally long wait for our bill and even longer for the machine to be brought to our table for a credit card payment..

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Very nice atmosphere on the port with very good food. It is definetly worth a try. the food is mostly local with a tad of sophistication

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilthoven, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Vieuw at the harbour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

When you have dinner here you see the ships in front of you. Food is modern,creative?? the music is creative,please change that.The wine is outside your reach so sometimes we have to wait for serving.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant La Rascasse also viewed

Saint Florent, Haute-Corse
Saint Florent, Haute-Corse
 
Saint Florent, Haute-Corse
Saint Florent, Haute-Corse
 

Been to Restaurant La Rascasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant La Rascasse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.