We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect location and a pile of brick” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Baia del Sorriso

Save Saved
You added Hotel Baia del Sorriso to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Baia del Sorriso
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Aurelia, 1023 | Baia del Quercetano, Castiglioncello, Rosignano Marittimo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Stockholm
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A perfect location and a pile of brick”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Arguably the best location in Castiglioncello, with a perfect view over the bay and a staircase down to the sea and the beach, but nevertheless not necessarily a good deal. The hotel as such offered a small room of rather substandard kind, with a distinct smell of bad pipeing, which although sprayed intensly by the staff recurred later in the day.

Unfortunately, the railway is on the same level as the hotel and only less than 100 m away, which makes you rise early, too early for vacationers like us at least

The breakfast was ok and served in a room with brillian view.

The staff in general was professional and attentive, but management was less charming, maybe trained in communist style touristic servicemanagement, not an all too pleasant experience.

Given the fact that the beach charged 14 Euros p d for two, the question boils down to, live in one of the central hotels with good maintenance and walk 400m to the over commercial beaches or go to the Baia del Sorriso and have a morning swim and then endure the lower quality of the hotel? I have now done both in Castiglioncello and will revert to the central hotels, as a personal choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAIACastiglioncello, Direttore at Hotel Baia del Sorriso, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Customer,

Thanks for posting your review on our hotel.

We are happy you have so much appreciated the breathtaking view over the crystal-clear sea of Quercetano Bay, which can be reached by a comfortable external staircase or by an internal lift, as well as the kindness and professionality of our staff.

We hope that this will make us forgive the small niggles you have found in our hotels, a beautiful early century Liberty villa that would require perhaps a little restyling.

Kindest regards.
Hotel Baia del Sorriso
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    49
    28
    16
    18
See reviews for
14
81
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas USA
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

Very old Hotel and very dated but pretext clean
Your shower is in the main bathroom with no shower or bathtub just a shower head next to the toilet and turn her on the drain is in the center of the bathroom floor and doesn't drain very quickly so you could need a snorkel !! Unique.
Get ready to walk up and down the stairs but as far as value it's very cheap for being on the ocean.
I came with a group of friends on a Mototour of Italy or I would have stayed somewhere a bit nicer.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAIACastiglioncello, Direttore at Hotel Baia del Sorriso, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Customer,
Thanks for posting your review on our hotel.
We are happy you have so much appreciated the breathtaking view over the crystal-clear sea of Quercetano Bay. We hope that this will make us forgive the small niggles you have found in our hotels, a beautiful early century Liberty villa that would require perhaps a little restyling.
From our hotel, overlooking the sea, you access the beach by a comfortable external staircase or by an internal lift.
Kindest regards.
Hotel Baia del Sorriso
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Rooms with perfect seaview. They are rather basic and small.
Staff is friendly and helpfull. Especially mrs. Dona Morozzi is a charming and professional receptionist.
Breakfast is Italian and poor (plastic cups !).
It's a pity that the hotel has no chairs etc on the beach. You have to rent chairs and umbrellas on a nearby beachbar.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Direttore at Hotel Baia del Sorriso, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Customer,

thank you for having published your review on our hotel. We are really happy you spent a very nice holiday.
We are glad that you fully appreciated the splendid location of our hotel, overlooking Quercetano Bay, and the splendid sea view enjoyed from all our rooms, but above all… what we put more passion in: the reception and care of our customers, unique and special, in a friendly but professional atmosphere (Donatella thank you really very much for the nomination!)
Our hotel, set in a unique cliff-top position , with direct access to the beach rocks by elevator or stairs, allows our guests both to stay on the beach free - in a not equipped area - or to rent umbrellas and sunbeds on the nearby Beach&Bar.
Hoping to meet you again, we send you our warmest regards.
Hotel Baia del Sorriso.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

The hotel's location is excellent, our room had a view on the below cliffs and the bay. The room was nice, and the staff was kind.

The hotel's restaurant was very good, with very nice personnel and wonderful fresh seafood.

Having read some reviews, I should add that all I heard at night was the sound of waves hitting the shore, and the staff spoke English and we received a breakfast usual in Italy.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAIACastiglioncello, Direttore at Hotel Baia del Sorriso, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Ryszka,
"thank you" from our staff for the wonderful review you have written about our hotel!
We are really happy you spent a very nice holiday. We are glad that you fully appreciated what we put more passion in: the reception and care of our customers, unique and special, the pleasures of Italian cooking, that can be enjoyed in our restaurant, the splendid location of our hotel overlooking Quercetano Bay.
Will you come back soon? We hope so. May your next stay be full of relax, culture, sunshine and baths, starry nights, but above all ... may your dreams be ever lulled by "the sound of waves hitting the shore." Thank you for this lovely and poetical picture...
Hotel Baia del Sorriso
the Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

I generally like hotels with character and this is one of such places. Our room had a breathtaking view from the balcony and was clean and comfortable in general. The breakfast was light but dinner excellent. On the negative side there is a railroad quite close to the hotel and the occasional trains make some noise that could bother some people. I also don't think you should actually consider this hotel for a "beach vacation" even though there is a beach - the seabed seems rocky and water unclear.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAIACastiglioncello, Direttore at Hotel Baia del Sorriso, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Dear Customer,
Thanks for posting your review on our hotel.
We are happy you have spent a very nice holiday, appreciating both the delights of our restaurant and the breathtaking view over the crystal-clear sea of Quercetano Bay.
We are really happy to announce that also this year the beach of Castiglioncello has been awarded with the Blue Flag: a very good reason to come back once again!
See you soon!
Kindest regards.
Hotel Baia del Sorriso
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

They really need to improve about almost everything, service is the worst, rooms are awful. I think I said enough.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAIACastiglioncello, Direttore at Hotel Baia del Sorriso, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Dear Customer,
thank you very much for having posted your comments on our hotel. We apologize that your stay hasn’t been so good as expected. In particular, we regret that our staff, always so helpful and friendly, was up to your expectations. I apologize for this, assuring you for the future an increasing attention to the quality of our services. We firmly believe that any criticism is a starting point, a stimulus and incentive for all of us to get better and better and to engage with more passion and determination in our job.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Lovely location and marvelous view from our window. The room wasn't too large but didn't feel uncomfortable. The bathroom was ok, everything worked. The windows have to stay closed or the noise of the trains passing by from the near railway will not allow you to sleep. However, since the air conditioning was well working, we could keep the windows closed and we slept fine. We had dinner at the hotel, the staff was efficient and nice with the guests, the food was ok (no fine dining to be expected) but overall the impression was pleasant.
Breakfast instead was extremely disappointing. The buffet was sadly empty, just bread (low quality), one type of pastries (empty croissants), one type of cold cuts, no cheese, no eggs. Plenty of jams (to fill up the empty space on the table), one type of fruit juice, no glasses available (only plastic cups!!!). On top of this, the very little food that was supposed to be available was already finished by 8:30 when we went for breakfast, breakfast time being indicated from 8 to 10 am (!!). The staff (different from the staff serving dinner) was there but not helping much and rather slow.
I do think this hotel is a bit overpriced. Should they improve their overall service, though, I wouldn’t mind staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAIACastiglioncello, Direttore at Hotel Baia del Sorriso, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Dear Customer,
thanks for posting your review on our hotel. We are particularly pleased for your appreciation about our restaurant, which offers a wide choice of sea and earth dishes of the best culinary traditions of our region. Thank you very much for your compliments about the room, all sea view, overlooking the beautiful Quercetano Bay.
We apologize that breakfast was not up to your expectations, but we assure you that from this year on the buffet will be much more rich and cured for delighting our customers since morning.
Hoping to meet you again, we send you our warmest regards.
Hotel Baia del Sorriso.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Baia del Sorriso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baia del Sorriso

Address: Via Aurelia, 1023 | Baia del Quercetano, Castiglioncello, Rosignano Marittimo, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Rosignano Marittimo > Castiglioncello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in Castiglioncell...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baia del Sorriso 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Baia del Sorriso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Baia del Sorriso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.