We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Baia del Sorriso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Horrible!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We travelled to this "hotel" from Hungary by car, and never ever met such negligent hotel management and poor service before anywhere in Europe. There is no parking space for foreign travellers, only for guest from Italy and for the hotel manager (who parked his BMW in two parking places... no comment..). The bathroom was terrible, the shower tap didn't work. There was no fridge in the room.
No one from the hotel staff speaks English/German/French or any languages other than Italian so they could not manage our complaints - this was very comfortable to them. We had to call the our travel agent on the 4th day, when we didn't get coffee for breakfast unless we paid extra money for it (we paid for halfboard in advance), because they didn't filled up the buffet - no coffee, no bread, no ham, no rolls, no cheese, nothing at breakfast time. The travel agency said the hotel staff speaks English, they just didn't want to speak English so they don’t need to care about customer complaints.

Restaurant: we had a very rude young girl ("waitress...") for dinners, and always had to wait between the courses around 30 minutes... We ordered wine, and got an open bottle - the girl simply put the open bottle of wine (8 EUR / 0,375 l) on the table and went away. At the first dinner I found a piece of metal (!!!) in the boiled peas. No one cared about this fact from the staff. On the last evening the girl was so rude that she took the fork and the plate from the hand of a Czech lady next to our table - she couldn't finish her dinner. The situation was so embarrassing.. the poor lady began to cry.
We think that the hotel may great financial problems as they provide hardly any service for your money.
Do not book and pay in advance, because you won't get anything for your money. After a horrible week we stayed there we stayed a few days in another hotel in the North of Italy, which was super.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAIACastiglioncello, Direttore at Hotel Baia del Sorriso, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Dear Customer,
Thank you for having published your review on our hotel.
We are really sorry that your stay did not live up your expectations. What surprise are the contents of your critics.
Our reception staff speaks fluently (in addition to Italian) English, French, Spanish, Russian, Czech, Polish and Ukrainian. A receptionist is Russian mother tongue, another is interpreter, graduated in English and French. Not bad for a three star hotel!!!
Our hotel has two unattended car parks: one has 14 parking spaces, the other has about 35 places and is located 150 meters from the hotel. A staircase (about 40 steps) connects the hotel directly to the parking. As you know well ... of course there are no signs denying access to not Italian guests. It would be really ridiculous, considering that most of our guests are foreigners!!! All our guests are obviously treated and served with the same care and professionality by our staff.
Our cuisine is at the highest level, as demonstrated by the several acknowledgments received from many of our guests, breakfast buffet is always rich and various.
Our staff is particularly ready to satisfy any request. Scenes like the one you described in have never occurred and never will happen in our hotel. No waitress has never dreamed or allowed to prevent a customer to finish his dinner. As regards the closing scene you have described ( “the poor lady began to cry..”), any comment is redundant.
Congratulations for the great inventiveness and vivid fantasy you are fitted of: have you ever thought about being a writer?
Kindest regards.
Hotel Baia del Sorriso
the Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    53
    31
    17
    18
See reviews for
17
88
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Arrival: No parking space (despite what they advertise)- we were told to take our car half a mile up the road and take the steps back down to the hotel. Later we found out at least half the spaces are taken by the staff.

1st night dinner. A plate of uncooked rice (not risotto) followed by a plate of peas with bits of fish and a piece of metal hidden in the "food"- Simply disgusting!

Disgusting was also the state of the bathroom...

Staff do not speak English - or pretend they don't- Basically, it's impossible to communicate with them.

No coffee for breakfast- we had to beg them to bring some coffee to the breakfast buffet table- They didn't really understand why we wanted coffee in the morning.

The next morning they gave our table to someone else- despite the room numbers being displayed on each table- when we asked them what to do they told us "No Problem! - Iz okay!" but when we also asked for plates they were surprised and did not understand why we needed plates to eat our breakfast from.

All in all these people will take your money happily and feel no shame in giving you nothing in return. A huge let down!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAIACastiglioncello, Direttore at Hotel Baia del Sorriso, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Dear Customer,
Thank you for having published your review on our hotel.
We are really very sorry that your stay did not live up your expectations. What surprise are criticisms about our cuisine, that is at the highest level, as demonstrated by the several acknowledgments received from many of our guests. Our staff is particularly ready to satisfy any request, breakfast buffet is rich and various. Our reception staff speaks fluently, in addition to Italian, English, French, Spanish, Russian, Czech, Polish and Ukrainian. A receptionist is Russian mother tongue, another is interpreter, graduated in English and French. Our hotel has two unattended car parks: one has 14 parking spaces, the other has about 35 places and is located 150 meters from the hotel. A staircase (about 40 steps) connects the hotel directly to the parking.
Hoping for a next visit, in order to personally verify the services that our structure offers, Yours faithfully
Hotel Baia del Sorriso
the Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

Heavily overpriced, pretentions and impressions from pictures and description give false and flattered image
So called private beach was also used by non-hotelguests simply by entering through a non closed doorway in a wall on the side of the beach.
Sea in front polluted by organic sea residues, on the bottom by litter, plastics and paper waste
NO AIR CONDITIONING, no insect prevention on balcony-doors/windows. Small rooms, poor sanitary with flushing problems and outdated, no outlet of improvised shower cabin so water poored out over bathroom floor.
Plastic balcony chairs completely worn out
Parking problems near the hotel so cars had to stand on dark and unguarded parking ground on opposite side of the road, over 100 steps higher
It looks great but disappointed after short time

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2007

This hotel is run down, neglected and the furniture and decor is dated. It stands on a 4* site overlooking the bay but the hotel has sadly been neglected. Although it is classed as a 3* it should only be a 1*. A hotel with a lot of potential which is wasted. There is a terraced area overlooking the bay - but no furniture on it! The restaurant appears to be run as a separate concern. The breakfast buffet is behind a curtain at night time and when the curtain is drawn back in the morning - all the cakes and pastries are pre-wrapped! The room which we had was on the third floor was like something from a holiday camp chalet. The bathroom was "interesting" to say the least. The toilet and shower were behind a plastic shower curtain so in effect one could shower whilst sitting on the toilet! The bar area appeard to be a hatch from the reception area. An extremley disappointing 2 nights stay!

  • Liked — Checking out!
  • Disliked — The room
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAIACastiglioncello, Direttore at Hotel Baia del Sorriso, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Customer, Thank you for posting your comments on our hotel.
We are sorry that your stay was not up to your expectations. In particular, we were surprised by the definition of the room assigned to you. Our rooms, from which you can enjoy an unparalleled view of the Bay of Quercetano, are all with sea view, some with balcony. Our structure, an Art Nouveau villa of the century, would require perhaps some minor restoration. We are confident that the unique location of our hotel will give us some small distraction in the restyling .. We would like to reassure you that our standard has improved greatly from your last visit, and that for the future we will pay increasing attention to the quality of our services to meet more and more of our loyal clients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Baia del Sorriso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baia del Sorriso

Address: Via Aurelia, 1023 | Baia del Quercetano, Castiglioncello, Rosignano Marittimo, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Rosignano Marittimo > Castiglioncello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Castiglioncell...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baia del Sorriso 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Baia del Sorriso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Baia del Sorriso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.