We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge Let-Down! You pay-you get nothing but trouble” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Baia del Sorriso

Save Saved
You added Hotel Baia del Sorriso to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Baia del Sorriso
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Aurelia, 1023 | Baia del Quercetano, Castiglioncello, Rosignano Marittimo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Huge Let-Down! You pay-you get nothing but trouble”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Arrival: No parking space (despite what they advertise)- we were told to take our car half a mile up the road and take the steps back down to the hotel. Later we found out at least half the spaces are taken by the staff.

1st night dinner. A plate of uncooked rice (not risotto) followed by a plate of peas with bits of fish and a piece of metal hidden in the "food"- Simply disgusting!

Disgusting was also the state of the bathroom...

Staff do not speak English - or pretend they don't- Basically, it's impossible to communicate with them.

No coffee for breakfast- we had to beg them to bring some coffee to the breakfast buffet table- They didn't really understand why we wanted coffee in the morning.

The next morning they gave our table to someone else- despite the room numbers being displayed on each table- when we asked them what to do they told us "No Problem! - Iz okay!" but when we also asked for plates they were surprised and did not understand why we needed plates to eat our breakfast from.

All in all these people will take your money happily and feel no shame in giving you nothing in return. A huge let down!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAIACastiglioncello, Direttore at Hotel Baia del Sorriso, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Dear Customer,
Thank you for having published your review on our hotel.
We are really very sorry that your stay did not live up your expectations. What surprise are criticisms about our cuisine, that is at the highest level, as demonstrated by the several acknowledgments received from many of our guests. Our staff is particularly ready to satisfy any request, breakfast buffet is rich and various. Our reception staff speaks fluently, in addition to Italian, English, French, Spanish, Russian, Czech, Polish and Ukrainian. A receptionist is Russian mother tongue, another is interpreter, graduated in English and French. Our hotel has two unattended car parks: one has 14 parking spaces, the other has about 35 places and is located 150 meters from the hotel. A staircase (about 40 steps) connects the hotel directly to the parking.
Hoping for a next visit, in order to personally verify the services that our structure offers, Yours faithfully
Hotel Baia del Sorriso
the Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    48
    28
    16
    18
See reviews for
14
80
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

Heavily overpriced, pretentions and impressions from pictures and description give false and flattered image
So called private beach was also used by non-hotelguests simply by entering through a non closed doorway in a wall on the side of the beach.
Sea in front polluted by organic sea residues, on the bottom by litter, plastics and paper waste
NO AIR CONDITIONING, no insect prevention on balcony-doors/windows. Small rooms, poor sanitary with flushing problems and outdated, no outlet of improvised shower cabin so water poored out over bathroom floor.
Plastic balcony chairs completely worn out
Parking problems near the hotel so cars had to stand on dark and unguarded parking ground on opposite side of the road, over 100 steps higher
It looks great but disappointed after short time

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2007

This hotel is run down, neglected and the furniture and decor is dated. It stands on a 4* site overlooking the bay but the hotel has sadly been neglected. Although it is classed as a 3* it should only be a 1*. A hotel with a lot of potential which is wasted. There is a terraced area overlooking the bay - but no furniture on it! The restaurant appears to be run as a separate concern. The breakfast buffet is behind a curtain at night time and when the curtain is drawn back in the morning - all the cakes and pastries are pre-wrapped! The room which we had was on the third floor was like something from a holiday camp chalet. The bathroom was "interesting" to say the least. The toilet and shower were behind a plastic shower curtain so in effect one could shower whilst sitting on the toilet! The bar area appeard to be a hatch from the reception area. An extremley disappointing 2 nights stay!

  • Liked — Checking out!
  • Disliked — The room
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAIACastiglioncello, Direttore at Hotel Baia del Sorriso, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Customer, Thank you for posting your comments on our hotel.
We are sorry that your stay was not up to your expectations. In particular, we were surprised by the definition of the room assigned to you. Our rooms, from which you can enjoy an unparalleled view of the Bay of Quercetano, are all with sea view, some with balcony. Our structure, an Art Nouveau villa of the century, would require perhaps some minor restoration. We are confident that the unique location of our hotel will give us some small distraction in the restyling .. We would like to reassure you that our standard has improved greatly from your last visit, and that for the future we will pay increasing attention to the quality of our services to meet more and more of our loyal clients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Baia del Sorriso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baia del Sorriso

Address: Via Aurelia, 1023 | Baia del Quercetano, Castiglioncello, Rosignano Marittimo, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Rosignano Marittimo > Castiglioncello
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in Castiglioncell...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baia del Sorriso 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Baia del Sorriso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Baia del Sorriso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.