We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Seaside Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Leopoldo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Leopoldo to your Saves list
Hotel Leopoldo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Marconi 15 | Via Solferino 30, 57012 Castiglioncello, Rosignano Marittimo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Douglasville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Seaside Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed 2 nights on our 2 week journey through Tuscany. It was the end of the season and we had the hotel virtually to ourselves. Staff was very nice and accommodating except for glitch at checkout when their credit card machine wouldn't work. All got resolved amicably. Front desk guy leaves at 2 pm and no one speaks english after that, but he gave us his cell phone # in the event we needed anything (we didn't). Agree with earlier post about needing updating, but it was clean and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    49
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
24
54
5
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Hotel Leopoldo is located in a great location, just a few meters from the sea and plenty of restaurants. The rooms are basic, but clean and the staff members are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good and free parking a great additional benefit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The hotel is located near the sea (3 minutes by foot) close to a beach, a small very nice port, and a large promenade along the sea (ideal to run in the morning).
People at reception are very nice. It is quite easy to park near the hotel in winter (It may be different in summer, with the tourists).
Rooms are small, quite old fashioned (a little refurbishment could be nice !), and very noisy (you can hear your neighbor coughing...).
Breakfast is ok, but there is not a big choice of products.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Scrupulously clean, on a street mercifully protected in the evenings from raucous motorbike traffic. Generous breakfast, short walk to everything of interest in Castiglioncello. The guy at the front desk is too busy-- tries to be cordial, but can't quite hide his impatience with enquiries.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are the quietest, but avoid them if Internet is important to you, as the sig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed seven nights on our Italian summer vacation. Solid 3-star hotel located perfectly in Castiglioncello. Basic, clean rooms with air conditioning. Good, solid restautant and breakfast buffet. Staff friendly and helpful. Manager Roberto speaks excellent English, but other staff members appeared not to. Good cleaning and excellent wifi. Free parking. Access to recreational activities such as tennis are advertised, but we needed to arrange these ourselves as the hotel didn't have its own tennis facility. Hotel within walking distance to several local beaches, although these tended to be small, crowded and expensive. Bigger and free beaches within 15 minute car ride. Also worth knowing: hotel requires 50% payment for your stay in advance. Would stay here again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hleopoldo, Direttore at Hotel Leopoldo, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear guest,
Many thanks for your nice review!
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff friendly and helpful.
As I told you, in CASTIGLIONCELLO we have a new tennis court (and also a swimming pool) in our RESIDENZA SOLFERINO: 2 km far from HOTEL LEOPOLDO, only 5 minutes by car.
Next time you will reserve your tennis hours at reception and, if you prefer not to use you car, I will be happy to provide a free taxi service for going there!
Come back soon in Castiglioncello...we will do our best to satisfy your demands :-))

Roberto Menichetti
HOTEL LEOPOLDO CASTIGLIONCELLO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

It was a nice stay in this Hotel. Roberto is super nice and helpfull.
+ late check in possible
+ free parking

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hleopoldo, Direttore at Hotel Leopoldo, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear guest,
Many thanks for your kind review!
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff friendly and attentive.
Come back soon in Castiglioncello :-))

Roberto Menichetti
HOTEL LEOPOLDO CASTIGLIONCELLO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earl Shilton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Our sixth visit to Hotel Leopoldo over the last 10 years. It is a fantastic Hotel in the special town of Castiglioncello. We travel with 2 children (ages 6 & 8) so the mini suite is perfect with 2 bedrooms and bathroom. The main bedroom has a balcony with sea views (photos attached). The Hotel is good value with the mini suite at 159 Euros B&B in June.
Roberto, Fernando and all the staff are kind and helpful. Roberto gives good advice on the local restaurants, bathing establishments and travel. The Hotel has free Wi-Fi. The Rooms are very clean and spacious. Breakfast is continental and very nice. There is plenty of fruit, cereals, yoghurts and pastries. The Hotel is in a quiet area away from busy road. It is 100 metres to the beach and there is also a large park with a small fun fare, ice cream parlour and children's play area.

Room Tip: Pay for the little extra for the rooms with a balcony overlooking the pretty tree-lined street and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hleopoldo, Direttore at Hotel Leopoldo, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Andy,
Thank you for taking the time to place your lovely review on Tripadvisor!
I was delighted to read you enjoyed our service and found your bedroom to be clean and well fitted.
On behalf of the team I look forward to welcome you back next year…for your seventh visit in Castiglioncello ;-))

Roberto Menichetti
HOTEL LEOPOLDO CASTIGLIONCELLO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Leopoldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leopoldo

Address: Via Marconi 15 | Via Solferino 30, 57012 Castiglioncello, Rosignano Marittimo, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Rosignano Marittimo > Castiglioncello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Castiglioncell...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leopoldo 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Leopoldo - Residenza Solferino Castiglioncello. Una meravigliosa Villa Toscana di inizi '900 davanti al mare di Castiglioncello, il promontorio della Costa degli Etruschi piu bello e celebrato. L' Hotel Leopoldo dispone di camere doppie , triple e di suite. Fa parte dell'Hotel Leopoldo la Residenza Solferino, sulla collina di Castiglioncello,raggiungibile con la navetta, dove gli ospiti possono avere appartamenti e villette , mono e bilocali con piscina, campo da tennis e calcetto, Ping Pong , barbecue, giardino privato per chi ha il cane, parcheggio interno , Wi-Fi gratuito, aria condizionata. Gli ospiti dell'Hotel possono frequentare la piscina ed utilizzare i barbecue, il ping Pong ed i giardini della Residenza Solferino. L'Hotel Leopoldo si trova in posizione particolarmente favorevole e silenziosa, lontano dai rumori del traffico, nella quiete della Pineta Marradi, a soli 200 mt dal centro del paese e ad appena 60 metri dal mare lungo la passeggiata . Nelle varie baie e calette che caratterizzano la costa troverete acque cristalline e un panorama incantevole: i pini che quasi toccano l'acqua, le splendide scogliere, le piccole spiaggette, gli angoli romantici, l'intenso profumo di fiori e piante, il clima dolce in tutte le stagioni fanno del lungomare di Castiglioncello una specie di piccolo paradiso. Quanto alla spiaggia , ci sono almeno 10 stabilimenti balneari raggiungibili a piedi, da 60 a 500 m dall'albergo, normalmente aperti da maggio a settembre. Segnaliamo, inoltre, la possibilita di raggiungere agevolmente le famose spiagge bianche fra Rosignano e Vada, ad appena 3 km dall'albergo: una splendida spiaggia libera di sabbia davvero bianca, vera rarita nell'Italia continentale (non a caso e scelta tutto l'anno come location per molti servizi fotografici, calendari e video, prodotti anche all'estero) e ideale per una abbronzatura...tropicale! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Leopoldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leopoldo Hotel Castiglioncello

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Leopoldo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.