We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Leopoldo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Leopoldo to your Saves list
Hotel Leopoldo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Marconi 15 | Via Solferino 30, 57012 Castiglioncello, Rosignano Marittimo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Castiglioncell...
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed seven nights on our Italian summer vacation. Solid 3-star hotel located perfectly in Castiglioncello. Basic, clean rooms with air conditioning. Good, solid restautant and breakfast buffet. Staff friendly and helpful. Manager Roberto speaks excellent English, but other staff members appeared not to. Good cleaning and excellent wifi. Free parking. Access to recreational activities such as tennis are advertised, but we needed to arrange these ourselves as the hotel didn't have its own tennis facility. Hotel within walking distance to several local beaches, although these tended to be small, crowded and expensive. Bigger and free beaches within 15 minute car ride. Also worth knowing: hotel requires 50% payment for your stay in advance. Would stay here again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank SEJAMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hleopoldo, Direttore at Hotel Leopoldo, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear guest,
Many thanks for your nice review!
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff friendly and helpful.
As I told you, in CASTIGLIONCELLO we have a new tennis court (and also a swimming pool) in our RESIDENZA SOLFERINO: 2 km far from HOTEL LEOPOLDO, only 5 minutes by car.
Next time you will reserve your tennis hours at reception and, if you prefer not to use you car, I will be happy to provide a free taxi service for going there!
Come back soon in Castiglioncello...we will do our best to satisfy your demands :-))

Roberto Menichetti
HOTEL LEOPOLDO CASTIGLIONCELLO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

It was a nice stay in this Hotel. Roberto is super nice and helpfull.
+ late check in possible
+ free parking

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raf84zh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hleopoldo, Direttore at Hotel Leopoldo, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear guest,
Many thanks for your kind review!
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff friendly and attentive.
Come back soon in Castiglioncello :-))

Roberto Menichetti
HOTEL LEOPOLDO CASTIGLIONCELLO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earl Shilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Our sixth visit to Hotel Leopoldo over the last 10 years. It is a fantastic Hotel in the special town of Castiglioncello. We travel with 2 children (ages 6 & 8) so the mini suite is perfect with 2 bedrooms and bathroom. The main bedroom has a balcony with sea views (photos attached). The Hotel is good value with the mini suite at 159 Euros B&B in June.
Roberto, Fernando and all the staff are kind and helpful. Roberto gives good advice on the local restaurants, bathing establishments and travel. The Hotel has free Wi-Fi. The Rooms are very clean and spacious. Breakfast is continental and very nice. There is plenty of fruit, cereals, yoghurts and pastries. The Hotel is in a quiet area away from busy road. It is 100 metres to the beach and there is also a large park with a small fun fare, ice cream parlour and children's play area.

Room Tip: Pay for the little extra for the rooms with a balcony overlooking the pretty tree-lined street and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AndyEdwards1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hleopoldo, Direttore at Hotel Leopoldo, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Andy,
Thank you for taking the time to place your lovely review on Tripadvisor!
I was delighted to read you enjoyed our service and found your bedroom to be clean and well fitted.
On behalf of the team I look forward to welcome you back next year…for your seventh visit in Castiglioncello ;-))

Roberto Menichetti
HOTEL LEOPOLDO CASTIGLIONCELLO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We have stayed at the hotel Leopoldo for the past week. It has been a wonderful Italian experience. Everyone at the hotel from Fernando who is at the front desk at night to the director Roberto is warm and gracious. On the first morning, Roberto took the time to explain all of the places of interest in the area and gave us a map on which he highlighted all of the best restaurants. We went to most and were never disappointed! Breakfast in the morning is perfect with Yarris pouring a fantastic cappuccino. In the afternoon after walking along the sea walk we have a caffe on the hotel terrace. Roberto makes our dinner reservations for us after we have chosen our restaurant for the evening. Everyone takes the time to help my wife (who is studying Italian at the local Pasolini school) to fine tune her Italian. If we ever return to the beautiful town of Castiglioncello, we will certainly stay at the hotel Leopoldo! It is a beautiful jewel, a short walk from the piazza, close to everything, yet quiet and serene. Flowers outside and warm smiles inside welcome you to this lovely hotel. We give it our top recommendation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cthewrld18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hleopoldo, Direttore at Hotel Leopoldo, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
Dear guest,
Many thanks for your wonderful review!
We are all of us so happy that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff friendly and attentive.
We hope you will come back soon in Castiglioncello: we will do our best to satisfy your demands and to make your second visit really special :-)))

Roberto Menichetti
HOTEL LEOPOLDO CASTIGLIONCELLO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA USA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Recently had a night at Hotel Leopoldo - (pity it wasn't longer) and enjoyed it very much. Roberto is very gracious, extremely helpful and attentive to your needs. Breakfast was FANTASTIC! Lovely location close to water. Would certainly come back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SandJgotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hleopoldo, Direttore at Hotel Leopoldo, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to let us know your lovely review: we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay!
We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming back on a future visit...for more than one night...we will suggest you other good restaurants and you will discover all limpid waters, rocky cliffs, little bays and romantic corners of CASTIGLIONCELLO :-))

Best regards

Roberto Menichetti
HOTEL LEOPOLDO CASTIGLIONCELLO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshikuku
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Roberto, the owner, is a very helpful, charming host and made us feel very comfortable. The hotel is perfectly located just a few meters away from the see.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Oshikuku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hleopoldo, Direttore at Hotel Leopoldo, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind feedback following your recent stay with us.
I'm delighted that you enjoyed our location and our service!
We very much hope to be able to welcome you back again very soon in Castiglioncello!!!

Kind regards

Roberto Menichetti
HOTEL LEOPOLDO CASTIGLIONCELLO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Inigoes, Maryland USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

We discovered Hotel Leopoldo during a trip to Italy in 2005. We come back every time we go to Italy. Roberto has always been a gracious host and we met the charming Fernando on this last trip. I highly recommend this treasure in Tuscany.

Room Tip: Try La Baracchina Restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Peggy072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castiglioncello
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atlantico
Hotel Atlantico
#3 of 12 in Castiglioncello
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Martini
Hotel Villa Martini
#1 of 12 in Castiglioncello
4.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Baia del Sorriso
Hotel Baia del Sorriso
#7 of 12 in Castiglioncello
3.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Parisi
Grand Hotel Villa Parisi
#2 of 12 in Castiglioncello
4.5 of 5 stars 73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#4 of 12 in Castiglioncello
4.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tirreno
Hotel Tirreno
#6 of 12 in Castiglioncello
4.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leopoldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leopoldo

Address: Via Marconi 15 | Via Solferino 30, 57012 Castiglioncello, Rosignano Marittimo, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Rosignano Marittimo > Castiglioncello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Castiglioncell...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Leopoldo 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Leopoldo - Residenza Solferino Castiglioncello. Una meravigliosa Villa Toscana di inizi '900 davanti al mare di Castiglioncello, il promontorio della Costa degli Etruschi piu bello e celebrato. L' Hotel Leopoldo dispone di camere doppie , triple e di suite. Fa parte dell'Hotel Leopoldo la Residenza Solferino, sulla collina di Castiglioncello,raggiungibile con la navetta, dove gli ospiti possono avere appartamenti e villette , mono e bilocali con piscina, campo da tennis e calcetto, Ping Pong , barbecue, giardino privato per chi ha il cane, parcheggio interno , Wi-Fi gratuito, aria condizionata. Gli ospiti dell'Hotel possono frequentare la piscina ed utilizzare i barbecue, il ping Pong ed i giardini della Residenza Solferino. L'Hotel Leopoldo si trova in posizione particolarmente favorevole e silenziosa, lontano dai rumori del traffico, nella quiete della Pineta Marradi, a soli 200 mt dal centro del paese e ad appena 60 metri dal mare lungo la passeggiata . Nelle varie baie e calette che caratterizzano la costa troverete acque cristalline e un panorama incantevole: i pini che quasi toccano l'acqua, le splendide scogliere, le piccole spiaggette, gli angoli romantici, l'intenso profumo di fiori e piante, il clima dolce in tutte le stagioni fanno del lungomare di Castiglioncello una specie di piccolo paradiso. Quanto alla spiaggia , ci sono almeno 10 stabilimenti balneari raggiungibili a piedi, da 60 a 500 m dall'albergo, normalmente aperti da maggio a settembre. Segnaliamo, inoltre, la possibilita di raggiungere agevolmente le famose spiagge bianche fra Rosignano e Vada, ad appena 3 km dall'albergo: una splendida spiaggia libera di sabbia davvero bianca, vera rarita nell'Italia continentale (non a caso e scelta tutto l'anno come location per molti servizi fotografici, calendari e video, prodotti anche all'estero) e ideale per una abbronzatura...tropicale! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Leopoldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leopoldo Hotel Castiglioncello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing