We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Atlantico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Atlantico to your Saves list
Hotel Atlantico
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Diego Martelli 12, 57012 Castiglioncello, Rosignano Marittimo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Castiglioncell...
Certificate of Excellence
Cinto Euganeo, Italy
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I absolutely loved this hotel. It is run by a wonderful family: nonna; son; daughter in law; grandson - all incredibly helpful and friendly. When I arrived at the station I phoned and nonna herself came to meet me! I stayed in, what they referred to as, a dependence. This is a villa, two doors down from the hotel itself. It has a lovely garden and pool. My room had a big terrace overlooking these and I was more than content during my visit. The decor was a bit strange: flock wallpaper on the doors, (!), but the rooms themselves were extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean. The air-conditioning was very effective - the weather was pretty warm outside. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the beach, which was excellent. I would recommend Bagni Italia as the beach area with, by far, the best facilities - I didn't like Bagno Roma where I spent my first day: not clean enough for me and the loo was smelly. These little details can make or break a holiday. The hotel is very central and close to several restaurants and shops. Breakfast at Hotel Atlantico was fabulous. Warm croissants/cornetti; cakes; yoghurt; fruit; ham; cheese and excellent coffee. This is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in for ages. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony. The villa is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    72
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
40
49
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

A cozy small family hotel, located in the heart of the city, easy access to amenities and beaches. Availability of parking spaces.
Friendly and helpful staff, good cleaning.
From the lack of a very poor choice for breakfast, mostly homemade pastries, tasty but very much of her: (

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

For 3 boat crews we had 7 rooms over 2 weeks, we were given a warm welcome on day 1 that was warmer on the day we left, great people, always very helpful, it is not the Ritz but it is clean and tidy, and great value for money. The breakfast choices were cereals, meats and cheeses, yogurt and fruit, loads of home made cakes plus eggs cooked to order. The orange juice was fresh as you feed the oranges into the machine that squashed them for you.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

The hotel is strategically located, has an indoor pool which is convenient, however you can hear all that is goin on in the neighbouring rooms and bathrooms. The rooms are small with no practical surfaces to place your toiletries, computer, books, etc. i asked if they had a microwave oven to heat up my baby's food and they looked at me like i had asked for a golden dragon egg. Not worth the price they charge and we will not be coming back here.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

The hotel is split across 2 buildings. The first (main building) houses the reception, couple of seating areas/ rooms/ bar dining room, indoor swimming pool and some rooms (with lift access). The second houses more rooms, a conservatory and the outdoor swimming pool.

We stayed in the second building which is lovely. The only downside was that we were on the top floor (3 floors) and this meant climbing the stairs, as no lift in this building, so if you have young children or are less mobile make sure you are clear when booking.

The rooms are clean and spacious and some days we were the only people at the outdoor pool.

The village itself is small, but perfectly formed :). With some lovely restaurants, shops, bars and a few beaches (on which you will be charged approx 25 euros for 2 beds for a day).

Our 5 days here were just enough and I would recommend Castglioncello & Hotel Atlantico.

FYI - Castiglioncello is busier on the weekends as this seems to be a resort where the local Italians visit. Also train travel was cheap & easy :)

Room Tip: Make sure you do mention if you are unable to use stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I was looking for a hotel on the coast near Pisa for a short stay to get over our flight from Australia. We run a cooking school in Lucca and it's important to get a few days R&R before diving into it. We had considered Cinque Terre but we had a car with a lot of luggage, plus wanted to be closer to Pisa Airport. After lots of research, I chose Castiglioncello and Hotel Atlantico and we were so pleased with our choice.
The hotel is lovely and the town is charming - it is a 5 minute walk to both sides of the penisula.
Senora Guiletta and her family & staff are most hospitable. Our room was spacious and opened onto a good sized terrace. The breakast choices were plentiful with a fresh OJ machine. WE ate dinner in the restaurant once. The primi pastas were homemade and very tasty. We weren't overwhelmed by the secondi. My husband's scalopinni with mozzarella was just that. A pale piece of meat smothered in melted cheese, no tomato sauce or anything else. However the service was good.
There is an outdoor pool, behind another building. The staff insisted on showing us how to get to it - takes two minutes and brought us drinks.
The indoor pool will make it a very desirable hotel in the chillier months.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

We were a group of 9 plus our local tour guide, Maria. We were met immediately by the concierge, Alessandro, who directed us to our villa in which we each were assigned a room. Our room was sufficiently roomy, for a European room, and very attractive. While the bathroom was a little small it was adequate and nice. The room we had was shiny clean and fresh. We were pleased to have a private balcony surrounded by big trees with table and chairs to relax in. The birds were wildly active and chirping all day long. The weather was great all week long. But best of all, the staff, from Alessandro to Signora Julietta, the owner, was all very accommodating and friendly. The foods served especially for dinner each night was delicious and we were offered great varieties. None of us was disappointed and nothing had to be sent back. Our pictures of this hotel came out lovely and we are proud to show them to our friends. This family-owned and run hotel was a delight to experience. Some reviews show there is no outdoor pool; we stayed in one of their villas closest to the square at the end of the block.and there definitely was an outdoor pool; I have pictures to prove it. Ask the staff where the outdoor pool is, they will direct you or let you know if it is off-limits. It is too bad some didn't see it.

Room Tip: Get Maria D'Arrigo of A Touch of Tuscany Tours
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castiglioncello
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Parisi
Grand Hotel Villa Parisi
#2 of 12 in Castiglioncello
4.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Leopoldo
Hotel Leopoldo
#6 of 12 in Castiglioncello
4.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Baia del Sorriso
Hotel Baia del Sorriso
#7 of 12 in Castiglioncello
3.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#4 of 12 in Castiglioncello
4.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Martini
Hotel Villa Martini
#1 of 12 in Castiglioncello
4.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Guerrini Hotel
Guerrini Hotel
#8 of 12 in Castiglioncello
3.5 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantico

Address: Via Diego Martelli 12, 57012 Castiglioncello, Rosignano Marittimo, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Rosignano Marittimo > Castiglioncello
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Castiglioncell...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Atlantico 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantico Hotel Castiglioncello

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Atlantico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.