We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matina Pefkos Aparthotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Matina Pefkos Aparthotel to your Saves list
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pefkos Rhodes, Pefkos 85107, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Pefkos
Halifax
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

After staying at other hotels previously my wife and I stayed here. It has everything you need. Rooms were clean and modern . It had two large pools with plenty of sunbeds. Good cafe and reataurant on site. Location almost on the beach. Perfect. Will definitley stay here again.
Our room had biigest balcony of all the rooms which overlooked the sea. What a gem.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos P, Manager at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear philheald,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and liked you room.

It's great to hear that you will definitely stay here again.

Kindest regards,

Stefanos Pallas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    153
    64
    14
    4
See reviews for
343
201
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Returned from 2 weeks at the matina on 18th September. Last there in 2007. We had almost forgotten what a lovely hotel in a fabulous location the Matina is. We were there as a couple and stayed in a one bed apartment which was very spacious and the beds were very comfortable. The staff are all very friendly and attentive with nothing too much trouble. Stergos especially was always cheerful and made everyone feel part of the "matina family" by remembering names. The snack bar provided excellent food especially the 'combo' pizza and the meltemi restaurant was fabulous - we wud recommend the lamb kleftika. There are also many other brilliant restaurants in the resort, namely Georges, armetas and the 3courses for €8.90 restaurant on the corner at top of road the matina is on. Hoping to return again in late June 2014. We do however agree with previous reviews in that the one improvement that may help holidaymakers on a budget would be to given option to pay for only one air con unit as required. We would have been happy with just the bedroom unit.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos P, Manager at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear ClasO1,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We are pleased you returned to visit us, and imagine you noticed some changes since 2007!

It's lovely to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed eating in our snack bars and onsite restaurant.

Unfortunately, if you were to cool the area of a 1-Bedroom Apt. with just 1 Air conditioning unit - the unit would overwork itself and eventually break down. I hope this makes sense.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kindest regards,

Stefanos Pallas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife, my daughter my son (16 and 13) and I stayed at the Matina from July 27 for 2 weeks in room 610 a one bed apartment, we travelled with Thomas cook . Check in was late at night and we were welcomed by Matina and pointed in the direction of our room .The supermarket on site was still open so I bought some essentials. The room we were allocated was basic and had a bit of a pool view as i had requested .The air con cost 180 euros for the 2 weeks and was very good we certainly needed it as the weather was hot .The bathroom had a shower over a bath with a shower curtain ,so no wet floor as you get with a shower tray in some places. The beds were extremely firm and took some getting used to. The complex had 2 big pools each with a snack bar, we chose to sunbathe around the one next to the peoples bar as it was quieter ,the other pool played music which wasn't a problem but we like to listen to our choice of music through our i pods etc. I would go down and choose sunbeds near the bar and we would pick up the free wi fi .On the first week it was easy to reserve a sunbed wherever you wanted but on the 2nd week of our holiday the hotel seemed busier and people were getting up earlier and bulk reserving the beds, there is a sign saying no reserving beds but people still do and no one stops them, there are plenty of beds anyway .We ate our first breakfast at Stergos bar next to the new pool and he was very polite and sociable towards us .My wife was given something different than what she ordered and my food was a little cold and we also wasn't given any cutlery to eat our cooked breakfasts with .Stergos did apologise but blamed it on the new waitress, and the fact that they had run out of stuff because it was a Sunday, i know it sounds petty but first impressions count, i think the reason the food was cold was that it is cooked at the peoples bar and walked through the complex to the bar so after that we ate at the peoples bar and everything was fine. There is a pool bar called the the oasis across from the Matina that was run by two very welcoming guys , we had a very good breakfast there several times. We never ate at the Meltemi restaurant which was joined on to the Matina complex even though you get 10% off the bill . The on site supermarket was very good and reasonably priced ,i used to buy refreshments , beer and snacks from there and consume it on my sunbed like most did and we weren't told it wasn't allowed even though there is a sign saying only drinks etc to bought from the snack bar to be consumed by the pool,it was a good way of saving money as drinks were twice as expensive from the bars .There is a games room with pool tables ,air hockey,ping pong etc and a large covered play area for toddlers and a kids club so it is ideal for families .The entertainment at the hotel is a Greek night on Fridays that you pay for and quiz nights twice a week but we went out every night .Location wise it is perfect at the bottom of the beach road so only 2 minutes from the beach and a short walk to bars and restaurants on the main strip .Pefkos is a quiet family resort with nightlife that doesn't get too lively .The beach is lovely which we went to several times but the sand was hot on your feet .Lindos is 8 euros in a taxi and is a beautiful place, we went there a few times for our nights out. We also went on an excursion to Rhodes town on an evening and we thought that was an amazing place. Most places In Pefkos the food and service was good but drinks prices varied i would recommend Smile Garden for an evening meal and the Matina or oasis bar for breakfast .Overall we enjoyed our holiday and would recommend Matina and Pefkos for a chilled family holiday .We would consider returning to the Matina as the people of Matina and Pefkos are lovely and very friendly and that's what makes your holiday special.

Room Tip: choose a sea view or pool view on upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos P, Manager at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear mcgann68,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our complex to be located in a great area of the resort.

Air Conditioning in a 1-Bedroom Apartment for 14 nights is 160Euros.

We can only apologise for the experience you had on your first day in Matin's Bar, and we hope that we resolved the problem for you and that all your meals afterwards were of a much higher standard.

We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest regards,

Stefanos Pallas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Our lasr day here at matina and very sad to leave! The new rooms are stunning as are the pools and restaurant and of course location. Thanks to all the excellent staff especially Amy and Anna. Our first holiday in Pefcos and we hope to bring our family here in May. I would recommend This hotel and resort to anyone ( apart from binge drinking yobs thank goodness). Thanks so much to all for a perfect holiday xx

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos P, Manager at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear christinec394,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your first stay with us and that you liked Pefkos as a resort.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest regards,

Stefanos Pallas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Arrived back in the UK after a 7 hour delay, and am missing the Matina already. We have had a wonderful time in a well run clean, and friendly hotel, the staff were all polite and helpful, and after emailing Amy a month before we arrived, we were put in a top floor room in the quieter part of the complex as requested. The 2 pools were great, and we were only 150 yards from the beach. Overall we would rate our 1 week stay at the Matina (Sept 11th-Sept 18th) as a 10/10. We look forward to returning next year and will be looking at staying for 2 weeks.
Well done to the Matina and Amy in particular.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos P, Manager at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Steve H,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and it's fantastic that you will be returning next year!

We look forward to seeing you then.

Kindest regards,

Stefanos Pallas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks at the end of August 2013. Everything was brilliant. Stayed in a 3 bed studio which had everything we wanted, Small kitchen area fully equipped with fridge hot plate microwave, kettle and toaster. All crockery and utensils, Very clean and modern bathroom with a bath and a shower. All towels and bed linen changed every other day. 2 lovely pools with loads of sunbeds. 2 bars/snack bars. Lovely restaurant, ate there 3 times and every meal was top notch. All the staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. 3 nights a week they had a quiz evening run by an Australian chap who also had a really good singing voice. This was a brilliant evening and well worth attending.
Hotel was 2 mins walk from the beach , had its own supermarket and within easy reach of numerous restaurants and bars, An excellent place

Room Tip: We were on the top floor, 3 floors up, with llovely view of the pool. Lower rooms may have been noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos P, Manager at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Margaret E,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to all be helpful and friendly.
Also, it's great to hear you ate in our onsite restaurant Meltemi 3 times and enjoyed your meals with us.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest regards,

Stefanos Pallas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My review title may sound contradictory and I hope to explain.

We visited in late July but I have deliberately left it until now, mid September, to post my review. This should be long enough to shake off my post holiday blues and to post something objective.

As family of 4, this was our first visit to Matina and we absolutely loved it, and I have no hesitation whatsoever in wholeheartedly recommending.

However, things could be done to make it even better – minor but noteworthy (Stefanos Pallas – I hope you are taking note ;-)

First and foremost I would give ALL of the staff we encountered nothing less than 10/10 - their friendliness, helpfulness and overall attitude to their guests was nothing less than fantastic. A couple of people however deserve special recognition – and quite frankly – a rather large bonus in their wage.

Many months’s before we ever arrived, I was emailing Amy, who managed to make sense of my vague requests and allocated room 612 which has a fantastic view of both pools and the sea - near enough perfect. Nothing seems to be too much trouble for her and that same friendly manner was apparent throughout our stay.

‘Cheeky’ Lucy – on the pool bar, is a 100% total and utter star. You simply could not wish to meet a nicer person. She makes a point of going out of her way to welcome everyone and goes far more than simply pass the time of day. There is no doubt that on many evenings when we had dined out – that we preferred to have a coffee and Metaxa at ‘Lucy’s bar’, rather than elsewhere.

Now, the constructive criticism:

Please pay attention to the detail in the rooms … the sort of thing that people do not necessarily feel the need to complain about whilst there but that they then go away and grumble about – much like myself.

Room 612 - Fab views front and back - but the air-con badly needed servicing or re-gassing. I did not fully appreciate this until we switched rooms on our final day for a late checkout. It was annoying to then fully appreciate we had not had anywhere near the full benefit of the £160 Euro cost for our stay. Also, the trim running along the bottom of the mirror in the bathroom was loose and needed re-fastening. The drawer base in the dressing table unit had bulged out so it caught every time the drawer was opened. Last but not least – the beds were somewhat uncomfortable – being very very firm.

Now – to keep this in perspective – this was nothing major and nothing that we complained about during our stay – but on a general level……….. it was the type of thing that should have been noticed and rectified without prompting.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos P, Manager at Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear SkiptonFamily,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would definitely recommend our complex.

It's great you found the room you were allocated to be suited to your needs.

We will definitely pass on your kinds words to our staff and let Lucia know how much you enjoyed your time in Matina's Bar with her.

Please note, we do a thorough check in all our rooms at the beginning of the season - since mid-May we are full and this means we do not always get chance to do another thorough check as often as we would like - which is why we urge our guests - if you have any problems or issues - no matter how small, please report them to us and we can try our best to resolve them.

We have made a note of your issues and they will be resolved where possible.

Overall, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest regards,

Stefanos Pallas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Matina Pefkos Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matina Pefkos Aparthotel

Address: Pefkos Rhodes, Pefkos 85107, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pefkos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Pefkos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Pefkos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Matina Pefkos Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 50 metres from Pefkos main beach, the Matina hotel is the perfect location for a relaxing yet unforgettable holiday. The peaceful location and the friendly, fun atmosphere appeal to all types of guests, from families to couples and everything in between. Most importantly, we, the management and all staff at the hotel will do our very best to ensure the only thought in your mind when leaving the hotel is the idea of coming back again! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Matina Pefkos Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matina Aparthotel Hotel Pefkos
Matina Pefkos Aparthotel Rhodes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matina Pefkos Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.