We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pefkos Village Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pefkos Village Resort to your Saves list
Pefkos Village Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Pefkos 85107, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Pefkos
Frodsham, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Still Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2008

They say that you should never go back, as comparisons are always difficult and you run the risk of disappointment. In this case, however, there was no disappointment and Pefkos Village Resort is still as good as it was 2 years ago. This was my second visit to the resort with my daughter, having first stayed there in 2006. We stayed in room 123 (descibed elswhere on here as "the worst room in the complex", but perfectly adequate in my opinion. You do have to pay for the aircon, but we knew this in advance and it is essential. True, there is no view from the room, but we were really only in there to eat (breakfast), sleep and change. The couple in the room next door to us were disappointed that they didn't have a view & were given a different room within 2 days - so there is a way round things if you ask. Its also true that your key-card controls the electricity supply (including the fridge), but there are plenty of ways around this too. Probably the easiest is to ask for two cards & leave one in the socket when you go out (most people did this, but I'm not sure if there's a charge). The other way is simply to use another card of the same size (I used my library card!!). Its also true that the crickets wake up at 4:30, but thats just something you have to expect in Rhodes in June - there's really not much you can do about it! Ok that's enough on room 123 (I've included a photo for reference) - now onto the other parts of the resort. The pool is still great and I'm pleased to report that you could still get a sunbed at 10:30 most mornings. After this it could be a bit tight, but there were usually a few spare away from the main shaded area. The bar area and restaurant are still good, but the menu is a bit less extensive than it was two years ago and the cocktail list has disappeared, This I found a tad disappointing as they made one of the best "Old Fashioned's" I've ever had. That said, it still represents good value if you want to dine there. They've also introduced a barbecue on Tuesdays which is excellent value at €10 for adults and €6 for kids. This is followed by a Karaoke - not everyone's cup of tea I'll grant you, but great fun if you're into that sort of thing. My daughter and her new found friends thought it was great - and so did the majority of the people we met there. Now to a real disappontment - they've decided to hold a "games night" on Fridays. This consists of a very poor quiz, bingo (oh dear!) and a raffle (unnecessary). The last time we stayed here, there was a quiz which was genuinely fun and generated a bit of banter between the guests. This time we were presented with a sheet of A4 paper with a set of drawings on it. When we had finished this paper - that was it and we were on to the bingo. Don't get me wrong, I know a lot of people like the game (particularly kids) but there's no need for it here. My advice to the resort managers would be to ditch it quickly. Enough moaning!! The staff are still great and attended to everything we needed. My daughter managed to pick up an ear infection and they arranged for a doctor to come out to us within the hour.

We ventured down to the little beach at the end of the road and were pleasantly surprised. It's very quiet, very clean and shelves away gently so it's perfectly safe for kids. If you're brave enough to swim across the bay you'll get to see a few fish around the rocks too. The other beaches in Pefkos are just as good, but it take more of a hike to get there. It can be done in the middle of the day too - just take plenty of water and trust me, the hardest part is getting up the hill at the start! After that its much easier.

Our favourite restaurant this year was the Nikolas Taverna which is just round the corner from the resort. Good food, easy location, friendly staff and good value for money. Three courses plus drinks will set yo back around €40 for two people. Others I'd recommend in Pefkos are Georges, Nostalgia, Terpsis and Spitaki, the latter being particluarly good. Don't be tempted by "Kavos on the Beach" which is only 100m from the resort. Aside from the location, it offers nothing. Slow service, over-priced and probably the lowest quality we had in the two weeks we were there.

We hired a car for three days from Marathon at €125. There's plenty to explore on the island. Rhodes Town is a must for shopping. Lindos is good but can get very, very hot during the day. Kritinia, Kamiros and Monolithos are all worth a visit if you like history.

Well, I guess thats it. I wasn't disappointed by Pefkos Village Resort and I'll be back there again in the future.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Games night - a total waste of time.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    83
    22
    7
    4
See reviews for
114
134
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nevada13
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2008

We stayed in a spacious, one bed appt, which was the lower half of a house. The resort met all my expectations and I would have no hesitation in recommending it for couples and families. The staff were friendly and helpful.The pool area was lovely, with lots of shade. It was not not over crowded considering it was peak season and you could always get a sunbed. It is in a quiet location and takes about 20 minutes to walk in the centre of Pefkos. A taxi is about 5 euro, so worth it especially in the heat. Aircon is a bit pricy at 130 Euro for two weeks, but this seems to be standard for Rhodes. Recommend restaurants Enigma, Nostalgia and the Shanghai. Bars Fuse and Fuse 2.

  • Liked — pool and accommmodation
  • Disliked — sometimes poor tv reception
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2008

Me and my wife stayed at the Pefkos Village in June 2008.First of all the reason we booked it was because the hotel had good reviews on tripadvisor and we liked the photos of the hotel and rooms.Wee bit off advice to anyone going there is that the photos you see are off the 1 and 2 bedroom apartments,we ended up in the studios and although was nothing like it,was clean and had everything a studio should have even a kettle(rare in Greece) etc.Not trying to put anyone off going there but we did find a couple off cockroaches in our room which we reported to the receptionist and our rep and they were not very helpful saying that we should expect them in this climate.Anyone staying in the studios should try puting a towel under your front door,does help to keep them out.We stayed at room 121,at least we still had the sun on our balcony till 8.30pm.The hotel itself is very nice,gardens,pool area etc.Food at the hotel is reasonable as well.The barman at the hotel called Atonis should get our best staff award because he was funny and always enteraining even when there is nothing on at the hotel and serves you up a few free drinks.The walk up to the Town Centre is not for the elderly or people with walking difficulties as it is about a 20min walk uphill.There are bars and restaurants on the way up though so you don't have to go right into the Centre.Not had a bad meal in the full 2 weeks there,love the food and the Greeks because everyone really friendly,definitly would go back but not to the studios.

  • Liked — reception,pool and the food
  • Disliked — the studios need upgrading to the same spec as the apartments
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, Merseyside
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

Returned on Wednesday 30th July from a 2 week stay at the Pefkos Village. We had a good time, but we were expecting a great time. Myself and the wife had a studio for 2 people (Room 123) which was poor, probably the worst on the complex. It was dark and dingy due to a massive pine tree just outside the window. The tree housed 1000 crickets and the noise was deafening as soon as the sun appeared at about 4:30 am so you couldn’t leave the window open. Air conditioning was extra and was ridiculously priced – we had two apartments so would have had to pay twice. You shouldn’t have to pay extra for it when the temperature is in the 40s. Take a couple of small fans, as we did, and forget the aircon, but hide them during the day as you aren’t supposed to use them (they use too much electricity). There was a toaster, kettle, microwave and 2 electric rings and 1 socket for all 4. The key card from the room also turns the electricity on. When you go out for the day, the electricity goes off, including the fridge, so everything defrosts/warms up. The lock on the bathroom door was faulty and it wouldn’t open from the outside – we had to use a knife. On the plus side, it was very clean with bedding and towels changed 6 days a week.

My 2 daughters and a friend had a 1 bedroom apartment which was worlds apart from ours. It was on the first floor and was light and airy with modern décor, immaculately finished. They had the same issue with the fridge as our room, but theirs was newer and more efficient so it stayed cooler for longer. We didn’t pay for aircon, but it used to come on at random times – it did this in other apartments too – which was a welcome break from the incessant heat.

The complex is good. It is clean and well laid out. The pool is adequate and the sunbeds comfy. The pool is surrounded by sun shades and the beds are on wheels so you could wheel in and out of the sun as required. We strolled down at around 9:15ish and only about 15% of the beds had been taken. By about 11:30, it was incredibly hot. Around 4:30pm, it was cool enough to lie outside comfortably and a lot of people were drifting back to their rooms by then. You could sunbathe until around 7:00pm.

The staff are friendly, some more than others, and extremely laid-back (inefficient, the Spanish call it), but then I would be if I had to work in stifling heat.

Pefkos is nice with a good selection of bars and restaurants and all major sporting events available somewhere. The best restaurant – Lindos Cuisine on the main strip. The complex is a twenty minute walk from the town. At first, it was a pleasant stroll. After 2 weeks, it was just a pain in the backside – take water and a hat if you do it during the day. You pass a couple of restaurants on the way – Kavos (good location, beach prices, bland food), and Nikolas (much better). You have to go out because entertainment at the complex is poor. Tuesdays, there is the Barbeque at 8 (very good) followed by Karaoke at 9 (atrocious). My advice, eat then scarper. On Fridays, there is the Quiz and bingo. Hmmmm. And that’s it. Poor for a complex so far out of town.

There is a small beach a couple of minutes walk from the complex but there are no facilities at all and no shade. The beaches in the town are small and every available inch is filled with sunbeds and parasols which you have to pay for.
We enjoyed our stay but it could have been better if we had thrown (even) more money at it. Would we come back to Pefkos? Probably. Would we stay here again? Probably not – there is accommodation closer to town with as good, if not better facilities. But don’t be put off, you will enjoy it too. Unless you get room 123 (or 124 or 125) in which case, don’t unpack, just ask for another room.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, if you wanted, you could spend your whole holiday there. Friendly staff.
  • Disliked — The location; paying for aircon; Room 123
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

We stayed here during the last week of July 2008. We stayed in the one bed appartment which was to accomodate 4 of us.

The accom was spacious, kitchen very clean (4 ring hob and microwave) some cooking equip/utensils but not alot. Bathroom was in fact 'wetroom' bath with shower plus dedicated shower cubicle all in very good condition and tastefully decorated in black/gray/white.

Pool very clean and well looked after, plenty of sunbeds. Probably not enough room around the pool area and occasionally times felt like on top of each other but not real problem as most of time pool area was quiet with plenty of change over days and people on trips or down the beach(see below).

Bar and Restaurant. Excellent, friendly service from Stefanos and his colleagues behind the bar. Pricing fair. The restaurant offers a breakfast/lunch menu plus evening meal menu. Food very good standard and very reasonably priced, so much so that it proved far more cost effective to eat in the restaurant on the complex that cook in the appartment. If you don't feel like dining out you can get the meal delivered to the appartment and just eat on the appartment terrace and chill out.

We found all the staff exceptionally helpfull, cheerfull and friendly.
The resort gets a big thumbs up if you are looking for a small complex, a quiet and relaxing atmosphere.

There is a beach located directly down the lane from the carpark, literally five minutes walk. Very quiet indeed, excellent swimming especially for snorkelling, plenty of fish to see. But you will need to take a sun parasole (6 Euros at the resort mini mart).

Other places of note are the Taverna Nicholas which is just 5-10 mins walk up the hill from the complex. Excellent dining and not too expensive (bottle of house rose 10 euros = £8) try the Seafood Spaghetti or the Grilled Vegetables.
Dining out in Pefkos centre is varied from Chinese/Indian to trad Greek. I would advise to steer clear of the Cheapy 3 Courses for 7 Euro places. They tend to be a bit pack em in, feed em up and ship em out quick. The food is not too brilliant either.

There is a very smart bar (no name) just as you enter Pefkos next to the Pharmacy. Here you will get complimentary peanuts and crisps, staff very friendly.

Word of warning regarding the pharmacy. We had to pick up some medicine from the chap that runs this place. It cost us about £12 for something that costs £4 back in UK so make sure you take out all medicines with you.

Taxis journey to Lindos in the evening very worth while and should cost about 8 Euros.

  • Liked — Quiet and Friendly
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

My daughter and I had a fabulous 2 weeks here last summer. The studio was well furnished and equipped and to an excellent standard. I had read the reviews on Trip Advisor prior to booking and I wasn't disappointed. The aircon is an additional charge but totally essential in the August heat. Luckily as we had just the 1 room we only had to pay for 1 air con unit. The pool was exceptionally clean and the sunloungers were very comfy. The pool isn't large and the area around the pool did get a little cramped. The only downside was getting constantly splashed by big kids and their daft parents. Inflatables should not really be used in the pool as it really isn't big enough. The garden area was also well maintained. The mini-market was well stocked and not over-priced. In a good location, lovely and quiet but walking to the resort centre in the middle of the day really would be a no-no!! Some great restaurants nearby and plenty of smallish mini-markets to choose from. Didn't hire a car or venture outside of Pefkos. Have to say, went for relaxing holoday and this was a perfect getaway.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2008

We stayed in the Pefkos Village Apartments in Pefkos for 2 weeks, the apartments are lovely, they are well above the usual standard expected in greece, the only downside is the distance to the town and beach which is about a 20 min walk, which is usual circumstances is fine, but in 40 degree plus heat it is too far, we had to hire a car for the time we were there, which incidentally only cost 160 euro for the 9 days we had it, we visited rhodes town several times also lindos and drove all over the island to various beaches, we like Glystra which is just past Lardos, and also Tsambika which is towards Rhodes Town, would definately go back to Rhodes, but maybe not to the Pefkos Village Apartments in July Aug Time because of the distance to the beach in the heat.

  • Liked — clean, superior accomodation
  • Disliked — too far to town and beach
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pefkos Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pefkos Village Resort

Address: Pefkos 85107, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pefkos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Pefkos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Pefkos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pefkos Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the outskirts of the resort and just 20 meters from a fantastic sandy bay, the Pefkos village Resort is the ideal place for a relaxing and unique holiday. The hotel is recently renovated and built in a traditional Greek style. The rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated. The complex is within a walking distance from the center of the resort and only 5 km from Lindos. most importantly the staff here will be more than happy to make sure you have a great holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pefkos Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pefkos Village Hotel Pefkos
Pefkos Village Resort Rhodes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pefkos Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.