We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but......” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pefkos Village Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pefkos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pefkos Village Resort
Save Saved
You added Pefkos Village Resort to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Pefkos 85107, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Pefkos
nottingham
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at the Pefkos Village in August this year and the hotel was very clean and well kept, the food was also very nice and i would reccomend eating here. The bar in the evening is fine if you want to listen to the same music on repeat constantly, my husband had to download some music from our phones onto the computer for the bar man as he also was fed up of the same songs or background music. Barman may i add is very nice and helpful and if you talk to him too long he will get you very drunk on free shots so we ended up avoiding the bar some nights as we did not wish to offend him by saying no thanks. All staff are very pleaseant and friendly and always there to help. The hotel pool is extreamly nice and ideal if you have children as there is a park and a games area for them. The nearest beech to the hotel is, go out the gates turn right, follow the road round until you come to a kind of junction then turn left and follow this down to a small but pleasent beech with a taverna. If you follow the path to the right once you reach the beach it will take you over to the main big beech and save you the long walk down the main strip. Pefkos Village we was told by the agents is that its a 10minute walk to the main strip, well no its a ten min walk to the top of the hill to the nearest taverna then another 20 min steady walk to the strip. Now this is not long you may say but we went out for dinner around 6pm to 7pm and the sun was still as hot as it was in the day so it felt like hour walk. Once at the top of the hill it was a flat walk all the way. The main strip of ~Pefkos is not thriving with clubs and loud bars they are come in sit down and listen to music and chat bars which we personally do not mind. We would reccomend a bar called the pub the staff are very friendly and welcoming and one night when it was late we was talking to the owners and they said our hotel was to far to walk at this time of night and gave us a lift home. Also Angel bar is a very nice friendly var and child friendly with its own park area.
We did not eat out alot but we ate in the Nikolas which is at the top of the hill from the hotel and we ate here twice and both times the meal was fantastic. I nagged my husband to try the restaurant called the enigma as it looked very posh and inviting, sadly the meal was very poor for the price or even if you got it cheaper it was poor. Meals on average were around ten euros each depending on what you had. Beer was 3 euros for a large and Bottles tended to be about 4.50 euros. The beeches in Pefkos are beautiful and very sandy. There are plenty of places to eat and drink near by and you can see and feed a variety of different fish just by being waist height in the sea. Sunbeds for two people were 8 euros for the day and you never had to fight to get any as there were plenty to go round. Supermarkets here are reasonble also if you wish to eat in yr apartment as we did some nights and there is a Pharmacy on the main road which i can personally reccomend. Dont waste your time walking up to the bakery as its a steep hill and when you get there the cakes look amaing but then all taste the same. (despite what the rep will tell you). It is worth walking right along the main strip as there are lots of bars and restaurants for adults and children. Definatly try the Eclipse bar at the end if you have kids and walk all the way around once inside because you will be amazed at what you see! Whilst in Rhodes we wanted to visit Rhodes town but we decided this was to far to travel as it was we were told around a three hour bus journey so we went to the next resort along which was Lindos. We went by local bus which was air conditioned and costs 5 Euros for two. Lindos is a spectacular place very traditional and pretty to look at. the village climbed up from the beech up the side of the mountain were at the top you can find the Accroppolis(6euros each).If you go up the Accroppolis take plenty of water as it was amazngly hot when we were up there and few people were passing out with the heat as they were not prepared with water. The village was very hot as the streets are narrow and it has lots and lots of craft shops but you were never nagged to go in them. The beech here is also very good and the restaurants along the beech side were you can also get a boat are very good too. One day we went to Lindos by bus and another day we went by boat. Whilst in Lindos we visited ST Pauls Bay which is extreamly stunning and i can see why lots of people choose to get married here. On this holiday we chose not to do to many organised trips like we normally do and had a bit of a lazy one but it was the perfect place for a relaxing holiday. I would reccomend the Pefkos Village Resort if you dont mind the walk or you want to stay in the hotel and have a relaxing time but if you prefer to be closer to the main strip there are lots of other apartments and because Pefkos is not a 18-30's kind of place they were all very suitable. Taxi back to our hotel was 5 euros and you can get these on the main road at a properly signed taxi rank.
I loved Pefkos and would certaintly go back again.

Room Tip: Make sure you dont get the rooms wich we had, even tho very large and pleasent they were over the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stp86, Manager at Pefkos Village Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Nottingham241,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Pefkos Village and and also the resort of Pefkos.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Regards


Stefanos Pallas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    79
    20
    7
    4
See reviews for
113
126
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Not sure if I really want to write a review as it may encourage more visitors and I might find it harder to get a room in the future.
The focus of many previous reviews is that this hotel is not in the centre of Pefkos. That can be a problem for some but by venturing away from the main centre you may come something a bit special that makes the distance worth it. Far enough away to give the hotel an almost exclusive, boutique-type hotel feel; but close enough to enjoy all the benefits of a resort such as Pefkos this hotel will appeal to different types of holiday-makers.
With a limited amount of rooms available it never feels crowded but affords a camaraderie between everyone sharing the same experience.
Having stayed here several times, with the last time being a few years ago it was interesting to return to see how the hotel had developed and moved on. It was great to see the high standards we have previously enjoyed being maintained - the pool and sunbeds tidy and clean, the grounds looking superb and the food and bar area as good as ever. The rooms have an individual feel and certainly those behind the pool are more like mini-villas than apartments. Aircon is no more expensive than other hotels in Pefkos in our opinion (we have been visiting this resort for 11 years)
The team of people working at this hotel are excellent - customer-focused and professional but approachable and friendly. The maintenance team (groundsmen, cleaners) have done a great job again to keep the place looking so beautiful and inviting. The management team are obviously doing a fantastic job.
The downside? Well as per previous reviews its not in the centre of the resort. If that is definitely a problem then the hotel is not for you. However its fair to say the hotel is not isolated. There are plenty of bars, restaurants and pools close by if you want a change. Its only a 20 min walk or a short taxi ride to the centre and its position has a lot to offer - nice walks, views across the headland and quiet lanes to explore.
Look past the fact that this hotel is not right in the centre and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: rooms behind pool have a mini villa-like feel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stp86, Manager at Pefkos Village Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear kie9ward,

Many thanks for taking the time to post such a great review.

It is lovely to hear that on you return visit you found Pefkos Village Resort to be of the same high standard that you remembered.

We are pleased that once again you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards


Stefanos Pallas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

a great apartment, a bit out of Pefkos up a hilll, so if you dont want a 15 min stroll or 5 min taxi ride dont book here, rooms were very good, bar and food service was also very good, Donna is a star, and the evening barman looks after you very well.

we went for a wedding at they looked after us, and could not do enough for us, everybody in our party said they loved it there

overall very good for Greece, would go back.

Room Tip: all are very good, but to get in the apartments that sleep 3 (they start with a number 2 ie 201), yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stp86, Manager at Pefkos Village Resort, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Graham R,

Many thanks for posting your review on Pefkos Village Resort.

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Also, that you made use of the hotel bar and restaurant.

We would be happy to welcome you back in the future.

Regards


Stefanos Pallas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed at the village for two weeks it was fantastic, We were there for my sons Wedding in St Pauls Bay, antonio the barman was excellent he looked after us and made us feel very wellcome, Donna looked after us during the day time and was a wonderfull help, the food was amazing thanks to Marianthi , i would also like to thank Barry the night watchman,Michelle and Anthi-Maria for all there help.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stp86, Manager at Pefkos Village Resort, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear manxbhoy,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review.

It was lovely to be part of the special occasion of your son's wedding and we are really pleased to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us at Pefkos Village.

Your kind words will be passed on to the staff and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Regards


Stefanos Pallas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Cannot find any faults with hotel,staff etc. we had a very relaxing holiday here even the cats were friendly! Kavos taverna not far from village resort with a small beach should not be missed either! All in all we will definitely recommend Pefkos Village Resort to all our friends & we shall be back if we come to Rhodes again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stp86, Manager at Pefkos Village Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Lindsaywolves,

Thank you very much for posting your review of your time with us at Pefkos Village.

It is great to hear that it was your best holiday on Rhodes. What a compliment!

Also, that you will be recommending us to your friends.

We would love to welcome you back in the future.

Regards


Stefanos Pallas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

It's always difficult to give a slightly negative review when you've really enjoyed the holiday, but the more information people have the better able to make a judgement.

Pefkos Village Resort is as other reviewers have described on here. Overall it's a clean, friendly, welcoming place, with a great pool, nice rooms and helpful reception.

On arrival check in was fast and easy and we were directed to our room. We had room 118 which is ground floor (the resort is two storey) directly facing the pool and bar. A large apartment with double bedroom with plenty of storage, a good bathroom with bath and shower, and a living room with 2 single beds, table, chairs, telly and a good cooker. The rooms were cleaned every day except 1 and towels were changed once, so thats fine by us. We first went to Greece 30 years ago and whats available now is completely different to what it used to be! There was a large balconey, and overall the room was just right, with only slight issues. There was no washing up cloths, sponges etc, which you obviously need if self catering. The shower was very good apart from the last morning when we couldn't really get any hot water - up to then it was very hot and powerful. Being on the ground floor we were disturbed by the children running about upstairs and the chairs/tables etc being dragged around. Nothing major but slightly annoying.

The pool areas was very good, plenty of sunbeds, although I could see it being busy in the height of the season. Only one group of four did the towel thing, where they walked down very early, reserved their very special sunbeds, then walked off. There was shade or sun depending on the place you picked, and it was very quiet and relaxing. The WI-FI doesn't really reach there and is very hit and miss, so if that's important to you then be aware you really need to be sat in the bar.

Breakfasts are good, nice selection and freshly prepared. We picked the B&B option offered by Thompson, and at £5 each I wouldn't bother. You can probably pick whatever you want for that price anyway, sometimes even less. It's a shame they only offer juice OR coffee, it's so usual nowadays to get both that we thought it strange. The only problem with breakfast is that they serve it from 9am. We missed several due to going on trips, setting off early etc. This wouldn't have mattered apart from us pre-booking it; this is something we've never done before and wouldn't do again, there is no value to be gained from it.

The staff are all friendly and helpful, Donna in the bar and the lady in reception (we didn't get her name unfortunately but we had a couple of chats with her).

Yes, the air conditioning is very expensive, at 90 euros for the week its the most we've ever seen. We didn't choose it, as we like to have the windows open and listen to the night sounds. I'm sure the actual cost is not mentioned in the Thompson brochure. Perhaps it should be so that it's not a surprise. Safetry deposit box was 14 euros for the week, which was very handy.

Having the windows open meant that we were badly disturbed by the extremely loud music from the bar, up to midnight every night. I'm not talking gentle sounds of Greek music, I'm talking REALLY LOUD rock/house/disco music. It was so bad that on the second morning we asked if it could be turned down. That night it was slightly lower, then BAM, back up the rest of the week. Trust me, I'm not exagerating when I say how loud it was, and one couple said that it's a clever way to get you to buy the air conditioning, so you could shut the doors/windows onto the patio. You could still hear the loud beat through the windows, so if this sort of thing annoys you, you need to think if this resort is for you. The place was full so we couldn't have moved if we had wanted to. I'm not sure that all rooms were affected, as there are three rows going back, but crikey it ruined our evenings! If we were to go back to Rhodes we would probably try the Babis apartments, which were 2 mins away. We passed it on our walk back each night, and there were several couples sat around the pool, quiet, relaxing, no music....then we arrived at ours...aaarrrggh!

It's 15/20 minutes walk into town, passing several tavernas. We liked Enigma and Nostalgie, but just pick the ones that look okay and they usually are. For trips we used Zorbas, which was cheap and reliable (Rhodes by Day, 11 euros). The glass bottomed boat to Lindos was great fun. Snorkelling on the beach is excellent. Bars are good. Food is good. Car hire is available and overall there is everything you need.

So, we would recommend the resort and the hotel, and the only decision is the loud music. If it's going to bother you then ask for a room at the back, second floor, and get air conditioning. Or go elsewhere. But if you do try Pefkos Village Resport you will like it and want to go back I'm sure. It's got really good reviews on here for a reason...it's really good.

Room Tip: If you need it to be quiet, ask for a 2nd floor room far away from the bar music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stp86, Manager at Pefkos Village Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear toptravellerKeighley,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We are very pleased that, overall, you enjoyed your stay with us but sorry that the noise from the bar disturbed you during the night.

We do hope that this wont put you off visiting us again in the future.

Regards


Stefanos Pallas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

PVR, Well done two more happy guests. This hotel is really a decent place too stay. Excellent staff, Donna on the pool bar, michelle on reception, and liza our housekeeper (Always a smile and cheerful). Everyone did a great job. We stayed self catering the apartment was good, everything we needed. Cleaned regularly, fresh towels, sheets. We ate a couple of times at the hotel the food was good, the second time we could,nt finish as our plates were full. The pool was good, no problem getting a sunbed at anytime of day. Theres a small beach about a 10 min walk away with sunbeds too hire which we found ok, clean. The centre of the resort what you would expect too find good choice of restaurants/bars. A few close about midnight but some stay open until much later, 2/3 AM. The hotel is at the bottom of a hill so if you have any walking difficulties this could be an issue, taxi into town a few mins and around 5 euros. (The hotel call taxis no problem). Overall would we stay again ?, yeah sure we would, we loved it. Just to mention thank you michelle for the help with changing our room swift and efficient. (This was nothing to do with the hotel it was personal choice) Thanks everyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stp86, Manager at Pefkos Village Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear luckyian,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your fantastic review regarding your stay with us.

We are pleased that you enjoyed all of our facilities. Your kind words will be passed onto the staff.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Regards


Stefanos Pallas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pefkos Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pefkos Village Resort

Address: Pefkos 85107, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pefkos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Pefkos
#9 Family Hotel in Pefkos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Pefkos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pefkos Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the outskirts of the resort and just 20 meters from a fantastic sandy bay, the Pefkos village Resort is the ideal place for a relaxing and unique holiday. The hotel is recently renovated and built in a traditional Greek style. The rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated. The complex is within a walking distance from the center of the resort and only 5 km from Lindos. most importantly the staff here will be more than happy to make sure you have a great holiday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pefkos Village Hotel Pefkos
Pefkos Village Resort Rhodes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pefkos Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.