We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Greek meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spitaki Taverna

Spitaki Taverna
In the middle of the village, Pefkos, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 55 Restaurants in Pefkos
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Tel no to restaurant: 22440 48002
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Traditional Greek meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Have eaten at Spitaki a few times over the years. The tables are set in an outdoor area with flowers and vines above. We ate chicken souvlaki and grilled pork with metaxa sauce. Most dishes in the restaurants are served with rice, chips or Greek potatoes and veg - the Greek potatoes are always good. The food was delicious, decent portion size and hot. The service friendly and relaxed. The restaurant setting makes it feel more traditional than some of the larger more modern places. I'll definitely go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    54
    15
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“lovely setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

This is a realy nice place with very welcoming staff and the food is served realy hot .Very traditional greek taverna with agood menu .The garlic lamb is excellent well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Amazing Food This is the only place to eat in Pefkos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We found this restaurant when we were looking for a place that sold authentic Greek food. Being on Rhodes you would think nothing could be easier however Pefkos is a British resort so everything comes with chips!
We were browsing the menus outside and noticed that this restaurant did actually have traditional Greek dishes and thought we would give it a try. We are so glad we did, the food is amazing. The first thing we noticed was there were Greek families eating in this place, and the owners seemed to know everyone. We later found out that people just keep coming back and we can understand why. The people who run the place, particularly Maria, Alexi and Costos are so friendly that you end up feeling like you have known them forever.
We discovered this place three days into our break and never ate anywhere else. Another nice thing is dishes are put in front of you to try and give your opinions. The next time we are in Rhodes regardless of where we are staying we will make a trek to this place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Overated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Sorry I just found this restaurant overrated. We had prawn sagnaki which was a little sickly and seafood pasta, very Greasy and boring steak. Wanted to like it cause they made effort to have us seated but wished they hadn't. But on plus side staff were lovely and maybe I just had a off day

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, Cheshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Stuffed Beefburger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

My husband had the stuffed beefburger, and it was excellent! I had a taste of his and wished i had ordered it. I had the lamb chops which is one of my favourites. We took some friends there with us one night and they where equally impressed, in fact we went again 2 or 3 times during our stay in Pefkos, i would highly recommend it. We are off to Pefkos in September 2014 and will definately be eating there again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spitaki Taverna also viewed

 

Been to Spitaki Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spitaki Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.