We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up the hill a bit but worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna Nikolas Restaurant

Taverna Nikolas Restaurant
Main Street, Pefkos, Greece
30 22440 48394
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 51 restaurants in Pefkos
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neath
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Up the hill a bit but worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This was up the hill past Pefkos Garden and take a sharp right at the top, its then about 400 metres up the (flat) road.

Vine leaves were the best we had in Pefkos. The stifado was very good, too.

Though well worth a visit we did find this taverna to be the most expensive we visited in the 14 nights we were in resort. About 70-80 euros for three courses for three people with bread, water and a litre of house wine. Worth a visit though.

Good, friendly and attentive service.

Bernard

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    170
    53
    11
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
west mids
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“what a setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Just got back from two weeks in Pefkos. Just out side the vilage up the hill is a jem of a taverna the food is to die for We ate there several times and had no complates at all the host Nikolas and his wife are very welcoming and you are made to feel very spiecal. The prices are very good. The veg is grown on site so every thing is nice and fresh. We will go back soon a we go back to Pefos

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Nicholas taverna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

We spent two weeks in Pefkos and our first and last meals and many inbetween have to be in the Nicholas. We have spent many nights in this well run taverna. Food is fabulous there Lamb shank in balsamic vinegar is a great favourite. The owner Nicholas is a charming front of house and very proud of his lovely home grown vegetables which are served with every meal. House wine is fantastic and great value. Once again thank you to Nicholas taverna for helping to make our Holiday so enjoyable. Yamas from Scotand

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The food was nice, although the meatballs weren't the best and the lamb chop was mainly bone. I'd go back though

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Little way out of Pefkos but worth the walk. Great food, staff friendly, very reasonable.
If you want to enjoy the fantastic views suggest you visit Island in June not September when nights are drawing in
!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Nikolas Restaurant also viewed

 
Pefkos, Rhodes
 

Been to Taverna Nikolas Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna Nikolas Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.