We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little place to stay for Greece” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island Blue Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Island Blue Hotel to your Saves list
Island Blue Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Pefkos 85107, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Pefkos
Brigg, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A great little place to stay for Greece”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We first went to Rhodes in 1988 and love the place. Our second visit was in Pefkos whilst going to our nieces wedding in Lindos in 2011 and stayed in Lindia Thalassa and saw Island Blue and thought for our next visit would like to stay here, and wasn't disappointed.
We have stayed in some gorgeous hotels in the past and know that Greek hotels are not as luxurious so this in our opinion was good for Greece!

My husband and myself went on holiday with my sister and her husband and we were all more than happy with the rooms and location of the hotel. They are very modern fairly new and well decked out and very clean.
There are several pools on the complex that Island Blue is part of and can have use of all of them but we used the 'adult' pool and walked to the beach from there which is about 3 minutes or so, so no biggy.

The breakfast is ok not great but not bad fairly basic.
We got chatting with a few guest at the hotel and some had said that the other apart hotels on the complex were cheaper but were studios or apartments and wernt as nice and not as new but still good value for money.

I would recommend this hotel to family and friends if staying in Pefkos.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to write your great review of your recent stay with us here at the Island Blue. I am very happy to hear that you had a great holiday here with us in Pefkos.

Thank you for all your great comments which are very much appreicated and do help us to review the facilities and services we offer our guests here in resort.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future for another great stay iwth us.

Kind regards

Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    82
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
144
254
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed here in September and got married in St Paul's Bay, Lindos, what a fabulous place.

The staff are constantly busy, if it's not cleaning the rooms it's sculpturing the bushes and they're all so very friendly!

We stayed in this hotel but did not get married there but even so when we got back we were treated like we were. I will not ruin the surprise for other couples but we never got chance to thank anyone (I think Louise) that organised our room when we returned for our wedding but I am taking this opportunity to say what a surprise! And thank you very much, we will definately be returning xxx

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to write your great review of your recent stay with us here at the Island Blue. I am very happy to hear that you had a great holiday here with us in Pefkos especially as you were here for such a special occasion for your wedding - congratulations!!

Thank you for all your great comments which are very much appreicated.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future for another great stay with us. Wishing you both all the very best for your future happiness.

Kind regards

Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Just returned from my second home. There aren't enough words to explain why I love this hotel so much. The wonderful staff, Katerina, Louise, Stergos, Toni, Diamond, Nikos, Rebecca, Maria and all the other girls and boys who work so hard and are so friendly and welcoming. We stayed half board again as the value for money is superb and the meals were fantastic. We ate in the most wonderful setting served by the fab waiters. Special thanks to Toni (restaurant manager) who has worked wonders in the restaurant. The rooms are fantastic. Spotlessly clean and the power shower was brilliant. The location is superb. The staff really are the best in the business. Well done to the hotel management. You know your job and it definitely shows. See you next year. I have so much faith in this hotel I always book up well in advance. Nothing else compares! X

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to write your great review of your recent stay with us here at the Island Blue. I am very happy to hear that you once again had a great holiday here with us in Pefkos.

Thank you for all your great comments which are very much appreicated and will of course be passed onto the staff.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future for another great stay with us.

Kind regards

Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Just returned from a week at Island Blue and agree with previous reviewers the staff are brilliant and rooms and breakfast of a high standard but......
It would be a huge improvement if free wifi was available throughout the hotel.
The facilities at Island Blue were solely for Island Blue Guests.
The room safe was included in the price ( as it is in most hotels of this standard )
I am surprised a previous reviewer managed to get a " Hello " from the hotel manager as we have stayed at all 3 sister hotels over the last 7 years and and he has never acknowledged us on any of our holidays but this is more than made up for by the rest of the staff who do recognise returning customers especially Katerina and the reception staff and Nikos and Stavros at Island Blue who are always extremely welcoming and helpful.
Overall a really good hotel and would highly recommend ( have already booked for next year )......
Oh and yes the orange juice was a bit of a let down but the porridge was a nice addition.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to write your great review of your recent stay with us here at the Island Blue. I am very happy to hear that you had another great holiday here with us in Pefkos.

Thank you for all your great comments which are very much appreicated and do help us to review the services and facilities we offer our guests in resort. We did try this summer with the free wifi at the bars but the signal strength is not strong enough hence the reason why we had to have the card system in place but this will be looked into again with the computer technicians in the winter months before next summer.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future for another great stay with us.

Kind regards

Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossett, West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Just returned from a lovely weeks stay. Greeted by friendly staff and whisked off by golf buggy to our room. Large room with three beds (very hard beds!) excellent wet room with a good power shower. Towels changed each day, and bed linen every other day. Kettle and mugs provided so you can make drinks in your room. Breakfast buffet style with lots of choice. Can recommend the porridge! Only complaint horrible orange juice drink why no fresh juice? Also fruit salad was a bit iffy tinned pineapple rings and peaches.
Pool area kept spotless plenty of sunbeds and parasols. Nice and quiet nearing the end of the season.
Few minutes walk away from Pefkos centre, lots of tavernas and restaurants to try, similiar menus on offer but lots of really good places to eat.
Had lunch in the Elias Restaurant in the hotel which had a good menu.
All in all a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to write your great review of your recent stay with us here at the Island Blue. I am very happy to hear that you had a great holiday here with us in Pefkos.

Thank you for all your great comments which are very much appreicated. All your comments with regards the breakfast will be addressed and looked into before the next season starts.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future for another great stay wih us.

kind regards

Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This was our third stay at the Island Blue and we have already booked up again for next year, so I think we can be counted as very satisfied customers!

Last year there were problems with accommodating everyone at breakfast; this year that had been solved and there were plenty of tables available at all arrival times. The breakfast food quality, choice and service are up there with the best.

The room was spacious and well-equipped, huge shower, superb maid service and free air conditioning. The hotel has 3 great swimming pools with ample sunbeds and a popular pool bar.

With one exception (although very efficient in other regards), the staff recognise and greet returning guests enthusiastically and genuinely. Even the manager says Hello, how often does that happen in a hotel? Particular praise goes as ever to the wonderful Katerina in charge of reservations, the lovely Maria in the restaurant, George the maintenance man (and outstanding bazouki player on the Greek Night) and of course Kostas! (pool bar manager at the Pefki Islands and brilliant Greek dancer at the Island Blue on the Greek Night).

Just a couple of comments as to how things could be made even better:

1. I agree with the previous reviewer about the hotel's facilities being used by the sister hotels' guests. It does detract from your holiday experience when you see people using 'your' facilities that they have paid much less for.

2. There is free WiFi in the restaurant which is great - but if this was extended to the whole hotel it would make for a real 4 Star holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to write your great review of your recent stay with us here at the Island Blue. I am very happy to hear that you had a great holiday here with us in Pefkos.

Thank you for all your great comments which are very much appreicated and do help us to review the services and facilities we offer our guests here in resort. We did try this summer to have free wifi at all pool bars etc but the signal strength was a problem due to the size and distance of the routers hence why we had the card system in place. This will be reviewed over the winter time again before next season to see if this problem can be fixed.
All pools in the resort are free for anybody to use regardless if they are staying there or not as they are free of charge but again we are trying to look into a solution to suit everyone with regards this issue.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future for another great stay with us.

kind regards

Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel, set just outside the main strip in Pefkos, so it is a bit quieter.
We went there for the first time in June this year and were very impressed.
Lovely modern rooms, spacious, helpful and friendly staff, and very clean. Breakfast is the usual buffet style, but absolutely fine, with things cooked to order if you ask.

So why the low rating.....Well the Management need to determine what they want this hotel to be.... The Island Blue is a high quality hotel but part of a chain. 2 of its sister hotels sit next to it - Pefki Island and Lindia Thalassa - and they are a bit cheaper and the facilities are not as nice. So what happens is that a lot of people from these hotels, walk into the Island Blue and use its facilities, meaning they are getting a lot of the benefits without paying the price. There is a beautiful pool are outside the Island Blu restaurant, but viurtually evey day we were there we were flanked on either side by guests from the other hotels. This makes it busier than it should be and some guest therefore not even able to use there own facilities...We spoke to a few people that were a bit upset about this..There are signs saying that Islad Blue guests take preference, but this is not enforced in any way..
What need to happen is that the hotel should be fenced off from its sister hotels, or have areas specifically reserved for Island Blu guests only. Better still make it an adult only hotel encouraging families to use its sister hotels.
If this issue was sorted it would by far be the best hotel in Pefkos.
Would probably return, but definitely return if this issue was sorted.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guests

Many thanks for taking the time tow write your review of your recent stay with us here at the Island Blue hotel. I am happy to hear that you had a great holiday here in Pefkos.

Thank you for all your comments which are very much appreciated and do help us to review the services and facilities we offer our guests here in resort.
The hotel has an official 3 star rating but because it is a new hotel and we have more than 94% scoting from Thomson guests on the feedback the hotel was then upgraded in their brochures to PLatinum - the only 3 star in Greece in what is usually only for 4/5 star hotels. The star ratings are based on facilities provided in the hotel and this is why it is a 3+ star.
With all accomodations the pools and sunbeds are free of charge to all guests and we do try to find a way of limiting the number of outside guests using Island Blue facilities. This agin will be reviewed in the winter time as to a solution for this.
It is not an adult only hotel as we have family rooms within the buildings and families are very important to us and would not wish to isolate any of our guests.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future for another great stay with us.

Kind regards

Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Blue Hotel

Address: Pefkos 85107, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pefkos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pefkos
#2 Family Hotel in Pefkos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Island Blue Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a world of Sun kissed days and deep blue Seas...Enjoy the fabled Greek hospitality...Welcome to our World...Spread over a 12000m2 area, this newly built (2009) complex has 34 self catering apartments & 52 guestrooms. Modern in design , the complex is adjacent to Pefki Islands Resort.Two expansive pools with separate children’s swimming pools & free sun beds are available, along with pool bar, billiards, game room, playground, snack bar, restaurant & a nearby super market.A brand new restaurant and Lounge Bar named ELIA is now open on our new complex ISLAND BLUE HOTEL. It is open for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner.You can make reservations or arrangements for all your special occasions at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Island Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Blue Hotel Pefkos, Rhodes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Blue Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.