We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Blue Hotel

Save Saved
You added Island Blue Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island Blue Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Pefkos 85107, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 35 hotels in Pefkos
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This was our first time to Pefkos and staying at the Island Blue hotel made it the best experience!

Everything about the hotel is attractive - the exterior buildings, the pool areas, the restaurant and the room interiors. Everywhere is very clean; the cleaners work extremely hard and are very friendly, despite the long hours they work. Breakfast includes a good selection of pastries, fruit, yoghurt, toast, cereal and beans, eggs etc. We only used the main Island Blue pool area and never had to reserve sunbeds, we were always able to get a couple no matter what time we went; this had a pretty 'chilled out' feeling so probably isn't the best suited pool area for children, I would assume the sister hotels have more child friendly set-ups. Access to the beach is quite unsafe (in my opinion) as it is down some very steep steps either via the Philosophia restaurant or (even more risky) via the Lindia Thalasso hotel, where the steps essentially lead you directly into the sea rather than on to sand, and is also quite rocky. The sea is crystal clear though so worth a look.

The Greek Night in the Elia restaurant is a fun night and good value for money - but be prepared to get involved in the dancing as they are quite insistent!

Pefkos itself is a lovely resort, very relaxed and very pretty. One thing I would say though (and is probably my only criticism regarding the Island Blue hotel) is that the resort is very hilly, so be prepared for some hard walking! But its worth it :)

If I was ever to return to Pefkos I would definitely come back to the Island Blue hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to write yur great review of your recent stay with us here at the Island Blue Hotel. I am very happy that you had a great holiday here in Pefkos.

All your comments are very much appreciated and its always great to hear that our valued customers are happy with our services and facilities.
The 2 sister hotels are very family oreintated as you say especially the Lindia Thalassa as tey have the kids club based there.

The steps from the Lindia Thalassa usually lead down to a stretch of beach in front of the hotel but sadly this summer the tide has been late to go out meaning the water stayed up to the steps. The nearest alternative was to use the Philosphia restaurant steps however we did have signs on our reception advising this was at guests own risk.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future,.

Kind regards

Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    326
    66
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
119
221
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I have stayed in more expensive hotels than this in Lindos/Pefkos and had far worse. Based upon price this hotel is a gem and I would not hesitate to recommend it. One note of caution is location which is at the top if a hill so either an appetite for walking or a short taxi ride is required to get anywhere. Still a great little hotel though!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to write yur great review of your recent stay with us here at the Island Blue Hotel. I am very happy that you had a great holiday here in Pefkos.

Thank you for your comments which are much appreciated although Im not entirely sure if you have reviewed the correct hotel as we are not based at the top of a hill?

We look forward to being able to welcome you to the hotel in the near future,.

Kind regards

Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had visited Pefkos in the late 90s and decided it was time to return; we are glad we did because the resort is still small and charming and the accommodation at Island Blue was top notch. The rooms were a good size, we had air con, a balcony and a fridge and the restaurant (we were half board) was very pleasant too with efficient staff. Only one real niggle, you had to pay cash for drinks etc rather than charging them to your room as we have become accustomed to on recent holidays. well worth a try!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to write yur great review of your recent stay with us here at the Island Blue Hotel. I am very happy that you had a great holiday here in Pefkos after many years away.

All your comments are very much appreciated and its always great to hear that our valued customers are happy with our services and facilities. All guests are able to charge drinks/food from the bars etc to their rooms so this is something I will look into with the F&B team as to why this was a problem during during your stay.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future and hopefully it will not be as long as last time!

Kind regards

Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Just returned from our second visit to Island Blue and had a fantastic time. In 2012 we stayed in a 2 bedroom appartment. These are spacious appartments with 2 bathrooms and a fully equipped kitchen. Perfect for our party of 2 adults and 1 child, along with a fair bit of extra baggage for our wedding in Lindos. This year we stayed in a triple room but it was still huge with plenty of storage so we didn't feel deprived of space. Also unlike some other hotels the 3rd bed was an actual bed and not a sofa or camp bed. A definate plus in my books. Only the 2 bedroom appartments have a kitchen so this year we made do with just a fridge but that was totally fine by us as with so many great places to eat out I had no intention of cooking! We were on the ground floor in K Block which meant we had a large shaded terrace, with a bit of privacy behind our own well manicured hedge row, and directly beyond that was the pool. Unlike the upper floors, accessed from the rear, we had a pool facing door which meant we could relax by the pool and our 10 year old son could chill out and watch cartoons back in the room whenever the sun got a bit much for him without ever being out of sight. The staff work tirelessly and I have to commend them as the rooms are all spotlessly clean and the overall general appearance of the hotel is smart and well maintained. Stergos, the pool barman deserves a special mention. A really nice chap who never stops working. Overall another fantastic holiday at a hotel I simply can't fault. Whether it be the location, the breakfast, the friendliness of the staff or the overall cleanliness of the place, it was all fantastic. I never thought I'd want to return to the same place year after year but I don't think we can resist returning again next year!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to write yur great review of your recent stay with us here at the Island Blue Hotel. I am very happy that you had a great holiday here once again in Pefkos and that you returned to stay with us.

All your comments are very much appreciated and its always great to hear that our valued customers are happy with our services and facilities. Your comments will of course be passed onto the staff concerned.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future, for another great stay with us.

Kind regards

Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich Cheshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We have just returned after a fortnight at the Island Blue Hotel, we were there for our wedding which was at St Pauls Bay, nothing to do with the hotel but there was 28 of us out there most of whom where staying in Island Blue, Pefki and Lindia, we saw lots of wedding parties there this year, it is getting a bit like a production line but having said that we had the most amazing wedding, the hotel is superb, the staff are fantastic and cant do enough for you, we did the Greek night in Elia resturant which was a really good night and the food was lovely with plenty of choice for everyone. breakfast and aircon are included if you stay at Island Blue, we was glad of the aircon and the breakfast was very nice every morning and something for everyone again. We love Pefkos and there as some lovely resturants there, our favourites were Spitaki and Dama Dama who were always so welcoming and friendly with lovely food to be had at both. If i had one little niggle it would be the sunbed situation, we liked it at the top pool near Elia which i thought was just for adults but there seemed to be kids in it a couple of times but also very difficult to get a bed up there as people put towels on them to reserve and then wander off, which is a little annoying when some of them arent even staying at Island Blue, but i would still return to this lovely hotel in this lovely resort and a lot of our guests who came for the wedding said they would definitely return and recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to write yur great review of your recent stay with us here at the Island Blue Hotel. I am very happy that you had a great holiday here in Pefkos expecially as you were her for such a special occasion for your wedding! Congratulations!

All your comments are very much appreciated and its always great to hear that our valued customers are happy with our services and facilities. The top pool by the Elia is not specifically adults only but as there is no childrens pool here it tends to attract just the adults. The situation wiht towel reserving will be looked into as we do advise guests not to reserve beds in all pools.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future,.

Kind regards

Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Having travelled to most of the Greek Island this new complex Island Blue is a Diamond in the complex shared with Pefki island and Lindi Thilassa. Island Blue is a more upmarket set of apartments rooms are more spacious and better equipped the complex has a beautiful chapel for weddings and receptions can be held at the Elia Restaurant. We have been coming to this complex for 5 years and cannot fault the staff and the food the people here take you to their hearts it's a pleasure to come back and see them xx

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to write yur great review of your recent stay with us here at the Island Blue Hotel. I am very happy that you had a great holiday here in Pefkos.

All your comments are very much appreciated and its always great to hear that our valued customers are happy with our services and facilities.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future,.

Kind regards

Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

I have never written a review before but for this hotel I just had too.Just got back from here,and the overall experience was faultless. Location,standard of rooms ,service,breakfast and the cleanliness of hotel is fantastic. It exceeded my expectations which is hard to do ! We also got married on the Veranda and Louise and her team did a fantastic job and also Laura from Thomson weddings did a brilliant job and the food at Elia restaurant for our reception was amazing, the roof top terrace was a perfect setting for a memorable day. We will return and I would recommend this hotel to all ages, and also if you wished to get married to . Also having the other two properties so close was great for family and friends .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Guests

Many thanks for taking the time to write your great review of your stay with us here at the Island Blue hotel. I am very happy that you and your family had a great holiday with us.

Many thanks for all your fantastic comments which are very much appreciated. Thank you for choosing our hotel to have your special wedding day and it was a pleasure to look after your and your family for such a special occasion. The day was beautiful and we hope you hold many happy memories.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future for another great stay and wishi you both all the very best for your futre happiness together.

Kind regards

Antonis Stavroulis- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Island Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Blue Hotel

Address: Pefkos 85107, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pefkos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pefkos
#2 Family Hotel in Pefkos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Island Blue Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a world of Sun kissed days and deep blue Seas...Enjoy the fabled Greek hospitality...Welcome to our World...Spread over a 12000m2 area, this newly built (2009) complex has 34 self catering apartments & 52 guestrooms. Modern in design , the complex is adjacent to Pefki Islands Resort.Two expansive pools with separate children’s swimming pools & free sun beds are available, along with pool bar, billiards, game room, playground, snack bar, restaurant & a nearby super market.A brand new restaurant and Lounge Bar named ELIA is now open on our new complex ISLAND BLUE HOTEL. It is open for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner.You can make reservations or arrangements for all your special occasions at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Island Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Blue Hotel Pefkos, Rhodes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Blue Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.