We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island Blue - Relaxing Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Blue Hotel

Save Saved
You added Island Blue Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Island Blue Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Pefkos 85107, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 36 hotels in Pefkos
Witney, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Island Blue - Relaxing Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Have just returned from a relaxing week at the Island Blue. The rooms are very spacious with fridge with complementary water on arrival and a kettle. Sachets of tea and coffee would have been an added bonus especially arriving at 12.30am! Bathroom was a good size and shower was best we’ve ever had in Greece, always hot and didn’t flood everywhere! The hairdryer actually dried your hair quickly, which is much better than in some hotels. All balconies overlook the pool and are a good size. Only gripe was having to pay for safe at 25 euro for the week. Would have been happy to pay a deposit for key but as quite a new hotel was surprised it wasn’t electronic like many hotels today.

Spent a lot of time at pool as weather hotter than expected for 2nd week in October. Always very clean and tidy and no problem with sunbeds at that time of year. A few people were coming through from the other complex so don’t know if would be a problem in height of season. It says Island Blue guests have priority but how do they know where you are staying? Perhaps pool towels for the Island Blue guests would distinguish priority.

Breakfast was plentiful with something to suit all tastes. It was nice to eat outside. Did eat at the pool bar a couple of times for lunch but would have preferred some lighter meal options like omelette/toasted sandwiches. Had 2 very enjoyable meals in the Elia restaurant and all staff attentive both at breakfast and in the evening,

We paid the 38 euro to keep the room until 6pm which was well worth it, we even got clean towels which we weren’t expecting. Keeping the room made a really relaxing end to the holiday and would recommend it.

All in all had a very relaxing holiday and would return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guests
Many thanks for taking the time to write your great review of your stay here with us in October at the Island Blue Hotel. I am very happy that you had a great holiday.
Your comments are all very much appreciated and thank you for that. The points you raised will all be taken into consideration when reviewing the services and facilities we offer our guests in 2013.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future for another great stay.
Kind regards
Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    344
    72
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
132
230
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We have recently returned from our second visit to Island Blue. Having stayed at the Hotel the same time last year we knew the facilites etc would be excellent and we were not disappointed. The Staff, rooms, cleanliness and gardens are a credit to the Hotel. The only downside was as a previous reviewer has pointed out that people from other hotels are allowed to use the sunbeds and pool. We noticed that people suantered in, put their towels down and then disappeared for an hour or so. Whilst in September there were plenty of sunbeds I would not like to be there in the height of the season trying for a sunbed by the poolside restaurant. As mentioned earlier we could not fault the hotel therefore we did not mind paying to stay at a more expensive hotel but do feel aggrieved that people from outside the Hotel enoyed the same facilites for free. The question now is do you stay at a cheaper hotel then just walk around to the Island Blue and take advantage of the facilities for free?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Guests
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review of your second stay with us here at the Island Blue Hotel. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for all your comments whic do help us to review the facilities and services we offer our guests in resort. As stated in previous reponses to reviews about the sunbed situattion this will be review again before the summer 2013 season begins to find a solution to keep all of our customers happy.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Enjoyed a fantastic stay here in June. Very spacious and spotlessly clean apartments with a large shower room. plenty of wardrobe space. Beds quite comfy. We stayed on a b & b basis and found the breakfast ok. The pool was lovely, beach was nice and clean with some very good beach bars/restaurants overlooking the sea. The main strip was around a 10 minute walk away with a good selection of bars and restaurants our favourites are Kyma beach, & Dama Dama. overall we had a lovely holiday & a visit to lindos is a must.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Guests
Many thanks for taking the time to write your great review of your recent stay with us here at the Island Blue Hotel. I am very happy that you enjoyed your holiday with us here in Pefkos.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future for another great stay.
Kind regards
Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Returned yesterday from this fab hotel. Love it! Fantastic staff, so friendly and hardworking. Nothing is too much trouble. Stergos the pool barman is so thorough in his work and always has a smile. Thank you Stergos. Also the food in the Elia restaurant is much improved from last year and the restaurant seems much friendlier and the staff are always very happy under the guidance of Toni the manager who looks after his customers well. Nikos and all the boys and girls work so hard and are always smiling. So chilled out in there, it's fab. The rooms and grounds are kept spotless. I love the fact that its not a great big huge hotel and it is very peaceful and in a lovely spot near to the beach and main resort. Already booked up for next year. Excellent value for money. You get what you pay for! Also thanks to Katerina and Louise for sorting out my requests. Xxxxx

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Guests
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a great review of your recent stay with us here at the Island Blue Hotel again. I am very happy that once again you had an excellent holiday here with us.
Thank you for all your great comments, which are very much appreciated and will of course be passed onto the staff mentioned.
We very much look forward to welcoming you both back to the hotel next year for another great holiday with us.
Kind Regards
Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORWICH
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed in this lovely hotel for a week in September the weather was great and the hotel superb, the rooms are very spacious and modern and very clean, the beds were very comfy and the shower very powerful and always plenty of hot water. We stayed on a B&B basis and there was always lots of choice and set out very well. I would recommend this hotel to anyone it is one of the best ones i have stayed in and can't wait to return. Thanks for a great time

Room Tip: All rooms look good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guests
Many thanks for taking the time to write your great review of your recent stay with us here at the Island Blue Hotel. I am very happy that you enjoyed your holiday here in Pefkos.
Thank you for all your great comments which are very much appreciated.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future for another great holiday with us.
Kind regards
Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Like all the reviews say this hotel is brilliant - so not much to add really!
Booked based on the reviews on here and wasn't disappointed. Lovely greeting on arrival, noticed the owners recognising some guests which is always a good sign!
Rooms are immaculate and modern and much better to have a ground floor room as you walk straight out onto your own large patio area then straight out to the pool but the walls and plants give you enough privacy. Our room lead out to the small church which was nice. We ended up with a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom appt with a kitchen area so was great to spread out, unpack and have his and hers bathroom! Kitchen had more than enough - we never cooked but could have quite easily. Rooms are kept clean and tidy by friendly maids and had a TV with some UK channels.
Breakfast was well worth the money and the food at the pool bar was really good. We did notice some families who were obviously from the adjoining hotels using the pool EVERY day but it wasn't really a problem as there were plenty of sunloungers - just a bit cheeky when they reserved the sunbeds that weren't strictly theirs every day! Tried a few restaurants in the main resort area, but the best by far is Philosophia tucked away near the hotel way from the hustle and bustle. Bit more pricey but definitely get what you pay for ... gorgeous food (not just the usual greek selection), good service, nice atmosphere and amazing location. The best tables are situated looking over the sea - the first time we went we were a bit later so managed to get one but booked one for our last night to ensure we got one.
As we've had a few 'active' holidays recently we chose not to do much on this one! We visited Lindos for the day and took a taxi 8euros each way. Lovely place to visit - acropolis worth the climb for history and the views and a wander round the town and along the beach well worth it. The rest of the time we spent on the beach (nice sand, fairly cheap sun beds, clear water) or around the pool. Saw a number of weddings taking place and spent the week planning renewing our vows at the hotel!
This place really is as good as the reviews say - quite simple - great accommodation in a great place with amazing customer service!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Guests
Many thanks for taking the time to write your great review of your stay with us here at the Island Blue Hotel. I am very happy that you chose to holiday with us based on our reviews and that you had an excellent holiday here in Pefkos.
Thank you for all your comments which are very muich appreciated and do help us to review all the facilities and services we offer all of our guests in our hotels.
We very much look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Firstly this was my first time in Greece, the hotel is very well kept on arrival we were greeted by the hotel team checking was easy and quick, after a quick buggy ride with cases to our room nice touch, our room had a balcony over looking the pool.The rooms are spotlessly clean and cleaned and fresh towels daily excellent. We stayed b&b a good choice, the pool area was very clean and the pool bar was run by Stergo fantastic bar man very friendly and so efficient. The were a few down sides for a quality hotel 25E for a safe key and Wifi was expensive ! things that you would expect free from a quality hotel. Overall very good would return there.

Room Tip: Pool view not ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IoannidisGroupHotels, General Manager at Island Blue Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Guests
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a great review of your stay with us here at the Island Blue hotel. I am very happy that you had a great holiday here with us.
Thank you for all your comments which are very much appreciated.
The safe and wifi is advertised both online on the hotels/Thomson's website as well as the brochures that this is a chargeable extra in resort.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future for another great stay.
Kind regards
Antonis Stavroulis - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Blue Hotel

Address: Pefkos 85107, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pefkos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pefkos
#3 Family Hotel in Pefkos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Island Blue Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a world of Sun kissed days and deep blue Seas...Enjoy the fabled Greek hospitality...Welcome to our World...Spread over a 12000m2 area, this newly built (2009) complex has 34 self catering apartments & 52 guestrooms. Modern in design , the complex is adjacent to Pefki Islands Resort.Two expansive pools with separate children’s swimming pools & free sun beds are available, along with pool bar, billiards, game room, playground, snack bar, restaurant & a nearby super market.A brand new restaurant and Lounge Bar named ELIA is now open on our new complex ISLAND BLUE HOTEL. It is open for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner.You can make reservations or arrangements for all your special occasions at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Island Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Blue Hotel Pefkos, Rhodes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Blue Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.