We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great family run hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amfitriti Hotel and Studios

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pefkos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amfitriti Hotel and Studios
Save
You added Amfitriti Hotel and Studios to your Saves list
Paralia Pefki, Pefkos 85107, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Pefkos B&B and Inns
Redditch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great family run hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

just returned from a ten night b&b stay.this is a great family run hotel-everybody was soo friendly also a great location between the beach and restaurants and was immaculately clean.the greek night was a good laughas well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    31
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
21
63
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed one week in May on a self catering basis. We have limited mobility and chose this hotel because it was near the beach.In the event we hardly used the beach at all.
We telephoned in advance and Mary had sorted out a room which was ideal for us; thankyou Mary for that.
The pool water was clean, clear and a comfortable temperature; the company was lively and entertaining; so we found ourselves spending much of the mornings and mid afternoons around the pool. This is a small hotel and you get to know your fellow guests fairly well. On this occasion I guess we were fortunate.
I would have to agree with an earlier review that the bar area is somewhat "neon". It looks terrific when you walk back in at night with the underwater pool lights adding the effect, but not very greek" holiday so we ate out.
We had intended to try as many restaurants as we could. But on the advice of earlier contributors, we tried Roumeli No 4 first and were so impressed we visited on 6 of the 7 nights of the holiday. The food was superb, the prices unbeleivably low and the ambiance was wonderfully "greek".
Tips and observations.
We paced it at @400m to Marias supermarket and @250m to the beach steps. It's a fair distance to carry 6 bottle pack of water from Marias and there is a steep slope on the way down to the beach. I suspect we managed because we were enjoying ourselves so much.
We slept with the balcony door open for 5 nights. It was very pleasant except for the occasional mosquito. In the end we closed the door and sprayed. Very soon I expect everyone will be needing aircon.
The beds are hard or firm depending on how well you sleep. This time firm for me and hard for wife. The opposite of Tenerife in March but fair's fair!
There were ants around the pool. Not enough to be anything of a nuisance to us but I could understand why some have problems in downstairs rooms if they do not keep food shut away in the fridge.
The little airplane only took off once in the week but we did not see any problem with dust although the wind was blowing directly from it to the pool. Ask at Fliers bar (end of the runway) if you fancy a trip.
Will we be going back. Probably, my wife is still hoping for a trip in the little airplane.
Will add some photos when we get them all downloaded.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel with a great location, excellent facilities and amazing staff. It's a family run business and is thus very friendly and homely. Eric, the owner, is an absolute gentleman and nothing is too much trouble for him or his staff.
The food is excellent. Freshly cooked and very tasty! The pool is great too.
The hotel is situated between the beach and the shops. Five minutes walk either way will get you to either location. You can walk to Lindos from here, which we did.
Lots of nice restaurants within walking distance.
This was our first visit to Greece, but the welcome we received and the quality of the accommodation and staff means it won't be our last and we will return. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at 2am and were met by a driver from the hotel who drove us to the hotel from the drop off point. The path up to the hotel is not suitable for coaches. We have never been to Greece before so had no idea what to expect. We read all the reviews on here and were a bit worried by what some people had written. All my worrying was for nothing. The hotel is lovely. Perfect location. 5 minute walk to the beach one way and the shops in the other direction. Our room is nice. It is Downstairs from reception so is nice and quiet. We have a lovely view of the mountains and is nice and cool on the evenings. The staff are very friendly. The food at the pool bar is great. Pool is very clean. We have already made some good friends with other guests. We would highly recommend this hotel and we will definitely be coming back!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at the Amfrititi in July 2012 for 2 weeks and had a fab time.
The rooms were typically greek, farely basic but clean and spacious. The pool area is clean and the bar area modern serving lovely food. Breakfast was ok, enough choice to satisfy us. The hotel is about 5 minutes walk along a dirt track to the beach and about 5-10 minutes walk from the main reasort where there is plenty of entertainment and restaurants to keep you busy.
We took a boat trip which was fabulous and a nice change from the pool or beach.

We also took a trip into Rhodes town by coach but booked this from a tourist shop in the town rather than the rep as it was much cheaper. This is a deffinate must as Rhodes town is beautiful! However beware when ordering drinks, a large beer in Rhodes Town is 4 pints served in a very large glass (Husbands was shaped like a boot) at a cost of 16 euro!! Just order a pint or a half!

I would not hesitate to go back to this hotel again, no faults at all!

Room Tip: Do not order a large bear in Rhodes town unless your very thirsty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is our 3rd stay at the Amfitriti but it's 5 years since our last visit. The hotel has been refurbished since we were last here but, while it's still nice, we actually preferred it before! However, that is very much down to personal taste. The bar area is a bit too neon now for us and we feel that it has lost some of it's s charm. That said, the furniture is really nice and it does look very smart. The best part of the hotel is definitely the people who own/run it, they really are lovely. The food at the bar is great and the drinks are fab, watch out for the Zombie cocktail!
We love the location. It is really close to the beach and a very pleasant 5 minute stroll to the bars and restaurants in the main area of Pefkos. There are some excellent places to eat. Our favourites are the Spitaki Grill, Terpsis and the Kavos Taverna which is a little further out but well worth a walk or a short taxi drive.
The small plane taking off across the road from the Amfitriti is really quite a feature! It is true that it does send up quite a dust storm and the parasols at the hotel do show the signs. It really didn't bother us much though and we enjoyed seeing it come and go. The pool is nice and clean although it does look a little bit cloudy, possibly due to the dust. Not a problem but if you want a change the Kelari Bar a few minutes walk away (past Fuse Bar on the opposite side) has a great pool, quite big and crystal clear.
Our only real disappointment with the Amfitriti is the room we were in. Both previous times we have stayed the room has been far better and we wouldn't go back unless we were sure we wouldn't be placed in this type of room again. The room was under the reception just down the steps from the pool area. It was clean and the furniture was fine but the room was very small and dark. It had too few sockets which meant we had to have the kettle on the bed side table! You really couldn't have any food in here at all unless it can be kept in the fridge because it is over run with ants. We don't self cater but wanted some cereal for breakfast but both boxes had to be thrown away on the first morning because they were literally full of ants. The bathroom was large and had everything you needed apart from a shower curtain. But we asked and by Thursday we did have one which solved the problem. In all, we liked the hotel and thought it was good value but would only go back if we could be sure of a better room.

Room Tip: Ask for one that is not ground floor to avoid this type under reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton on Trent
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have stayed here many times and have just got back from this years holiday at The Amphi. Having read the reviews, the majority I agree with, some I think are harsh and one I believe is sour grapes for not getting there own way, but I except that everyone is entitled to their opinion. The Amphitriti cannot be blamed for what the travel agents print in their brochures or put on their websites, they can inform the relevant tour operators that changes have been made, but then it's up to the companies to update their brochure details, but they are not going to do this after the brochure has been printed.
The hotel is run by a lovely family, who try their best to meet guests special requests and sort any problems as quickly as possible. I do think that sometimes due to a misunderstanding in translation some answers maybe misinterpreted. Being cheerful works both ways, if you say Kalimera (goodmorning) efharisto (thank you) or just a plain and simple hello, nobody will ever ignore you, why would they? We have never experienced any problems with anyone at the hotel.
The accommodation at the hotel is not and has never claimed to be 5*. It is clean rooms, all en suite with various views around the hotel. Some rooms are classed as sea view, but because these are all towards the front they have the sun beating on them all day, so they are also the hottest. These rooms also face the pool area, so may not be the quietest either.
The bar area has recently been refurbished and looks lovely. The drinks prices are very fair and food is also available up to a certain time in the evening. There are lovely restaurants/tavernas nearby if you like a stroll out in the evening. We always carry a torch with us as the road leading up to the main street can be quite dark in places.
The hotel is in a fabulous location for easy access to the beach, glass bottomed boat and to get to the main stretch of Pefkos. If you hire a car, there are some parking spaces at the hotel. Driving south and then following the road round to the other side of the island is a nice easy drive, but going into Rhodes town can be daunting, however there are plenty of coach trips available in local tour shops to Rhodes Old town at competitive prices.
In my honest opinion, if you are looking for luxury and 5* trimmings, then you are looking at the wrong hotel, but if you are looking for value for money, in a nice, clean friendly hotel then go ahead and book.
Just remember when reading the reviews different people expect different things and so no matter what , the hotel will never please everyone all the time and some people want caviare on fish finger prices!!

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back of the hotel tend to be quieter and cooler. Rooms at the front facing the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amfitriti Hotel and Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amfitriti Hotel and Studios

Address: Paralia Pefki, Pefkos 85107, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Pefkos
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Pefkos
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Amfitriti Hotel And Studios Pefkos, Rhodes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amfitriti Hotel and Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.